Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Deatheaters and *gasp* Dates!
Now in his fourth year at school, Harry Potter (Dan Radcliffe) becomes unwittingly involved in the infamous "Tri-Wizard Tournament," wherein champions from Hogwarts and two visiting wizarding schools face frightening challenges in the hope of winning eternal glory. With help from his buddies Ron and Hermione, Harry battles dragons, survives underwater, and faces a...
Published on Sept. 2 2010 by Kona

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Coffrets Harry Potter Ultimate Version boxset
Je ne sais pas pour vous, mais "The Ultimate version" d'un film ou d'une série devrait contenir plus qu'un DVD "Special Edition".
Le documentaire inclus dans les différents coffrets sur les différents composants(personnages, créature, musique...) du film est vraiment intéressant. Les petits côtés comme les cartes des...
Published on Jan. 9 2011 by Rilla


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Coffrets Harry Potter Ultimate Version boxset, Jan. 9 2011
Je ne sais pas pour vous, mais "The Ultimate version" d'un film ou d'une série devrait contenir plus qu'un DVD "Special Edition".
Le documentaire inclus dans les différents coffrets sur les différents composants(personnages, créature, musique...) du film est vraiment intéressant. Les petits côtés comme les cartes des personnages et l'album photo sont chouettes surtout pour les fans, mais soyons honnête le plus important reste le film et ce n'est même pas une version prolongé, je veux que les scènes supplémentaire ne sont pas inclus dans le film (pour le 3e et 4e film), il s'agit en fait des mêmes films qui sont offert dans la version "Special Edition" de 2 DVD. Je ne dirai pas comme RICK "rdthomp17" qu'il s'agit d'un mauvais achat, mais tout de même je m'attendais à beaucoup mieux.
Finalement, je ne sais pas si c'est moi, mais j'ai acheté le coffret de la Coupe de feu sur Amazon.ca et elle ne contient même pas la piste audio française.

***
I do not know for you, but "The Ultimate version" of a movie or a series should contain more that a DVD " SPECIAL EDITION ".
The documentary included in the various box set on the various components(characters, creature, music) of the movie is really interesting. The collectibles as the cards of the characters and the photo album are great especially for the fans, but let us be honest the most important is the movie and it's not even a prolonged version, the additional scenes are not included in the movie (for the 3rd (prisonners of azkaban) and 4th movie (Goblet of fire), it's in fact about the same movies which are offered in the version " Special Edition " of 2 DVD. I'm not saying like RICK "rdthomp17": "this is a piece of scrap", but I expected much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just not as good as the book, Oct. 9 2010
By 
Sharon E. Leighton (New Brunswick) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As a Harry Potter fan, I recently decided to see once more all the earlier Potter movies. Each is, of course, very different from the book on which it is based, because movies and books are different art forms. However, the "Goblet of Fire" was much less enjoyable than either the book or the earlier movies. So much was left out that I was left feeling a little breathless and disoriented, wondering how much sense the movie could have made to people who had not read the book. I shared my DVD with a friend who has read none of the books, and had to explain a lot of things to her, just so she could make sense out of the action. For example, the movie shows Neville's unhappiness over the Crucio curse, but the only reference to the impact that curse has had on his own life is one very quick mention of the use of the curse on some people whose last name is the same as his. A person unfamiliar with the book would have to be very alert to notice the connection, and even then, they would be left wondering, well, are these people related to Neville, and what exactly happened to them? Considering how essential Neville's growth from an emotionally damaged, frightened child to an heroic youth ready to do anything to conquer the evil that destroyed his parents is to the series as a whole, this was an unforgiveable gap. Movie adaptations of novels have to condense whole chapters into short segments of action, but this movie went too far, condensed too much, and left out too much that mattered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deatheaters and *gasp* Dates!, Sept. 2 2010
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Widescreen Two-Disc Deluxe Edition) (Harry Potter 4) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Now in his fourth year at school, Harry Potter (Dan Radcliffe) becomes unwittingly involved in the infamous "Tri-Wizard Tournament," wherein champions from Hogwarts and two visiting wizarding schools face frightening challenges in the hope of winning eternal glory. With help from his buddies Ron and Hermione, Harry battles dragons, survives underwater, and faces a terrifying maze. Equally scary for him: He must choose a date for the Yule Ball. He has his eyes on the lovely Cho Chang but is too shy to ask her. Lord Voldemort and his Deatheaters play a prominent part in this installment as Harry faces a life and death duel.

The movie is very well written and the acting is good, too. The three kids are now playing 14-year olds and are showing a greater range of emotions. There is much humor when it comes to dealing with the opposite sex, a talent the usually capable Harry seems to lack. Watching the three at the Yule Ball is sweet and awful, as these things tend to be at that age.

The soundtrack and special effects are wonderful as usual and the suspenseful story is acceptable and enjoyable for children over eight as well as older audiences. If you're a Potter fan, you're sure to enjoy "Goblet of Fire." This is the best of the series so far and definitely lives up to all expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars up to this point, the series had been getting better all the time, Oct. 2 2009
By 
The 4th film was, after all, a bit of letdown, in that, up til now, each one was better than the last. This was the one directed by Mike Newell (the first Brit) and moves us into a more grown up world. We also finally meet the evil Lord Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes) in the reincarnated flesh.

But it really just didn't work for me as well as 2-3. Stripping away all the trappings of the wonder of being at a magical school should have worked, but it didn't, somehow. Maybe because there was no contrast. Maybe because showing sinister things is not as impactful as showing normal everyday happenings, with sinister overtones (this is what worked so well in Twin Peaks). The stakes weren't as high in #3, but the whole thing was so wonderfully packaged by Cuaron. It was a sheer visual delight, with details in every corner. Newell does away with all of that, and Harry's world just seems like he's in a normal fantasy world/alternate universe, as opposed to a secret world, hidden right under our noses.

The showdown with Voldemort was a letdown too. I don't know how the book portrays him, but here he's a screaming, wild madman, as opposed to some sort of evil genius.

I still enjoyed it. They dealt with the maturation of the characters well (including the raging hormones). But it wasn't as fun as #2 or #3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very impressive !!!, Aug. 9 2007
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I read the books of harry potter and own em and when i read book 4 it was really an unbelivable experience it was longer but how good!The autor j.k rowling really take you and make you feel like you were in front of everything that was was happening i wasnt just reading the book i was sort of living it and every time i stopped reading it was like;oh were am i?

And i got that same reaction with the movie the producers have done so well the harry potter universe is hard to imagine and they captured it with so much class and the actors really do well while being part of it.The characters have grown a lot since the first movie and the producers really made that hapen.

With the harry potter movies you really felt like the books and to reproduce such a long book to a movie with the same essence its unbelivable the animation,the story ,everything here is great.They captured most of the imporant parts and cut the less important but the result is very impressive.But the movie is for older audiences then the first 3 so they rated it pg-13.

They argue with harry potter`s lenght yes its very long about 2 hours and a half but you get so much in the movie the first 3 movies were very surprising with amazing effects but consider that each year it gets more long,more complicated than before and the 4 says it all.

They grown the characters over the years but there is a major change here as they experiment relashionships and other things.Also the arrival of the tri wizard tournament changes things.3 Schools including hogwarts are competing and competitors must be a certain age ,and the competitors must throw their name in the cup.3 Names are chosen one from each school,but after harry`s name gets picked.

And the story really take place itself.The story is darker than before and as voldemort`s return and the cemetary scenes proves it but it isnt an horror movie.Many events like voldemort`s sign in the sky to the other hogwart competior`s dead keep the movie nonstop action and your heart pumping.The tournaments has the 3 events like in the book in wich the 3 round the other hogwart competitor dies.

Harry must also deals with arrogant Rita Skeeter who try to write fake news of him,like his pretended loving relationship with hermione.Hermione gets invited to the ball by proffesional quiditch player Victor Krum while Harry and Ron dont get succes with the girls.

All that to say this movie is totaly awesome Harry Potter fan or not dont miss it really impressive had the best special effects of the 4 movies and is truly outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Entertainment, June 22 2007
The movie was basically about Harry's name oddly getting put into the goblet of fire which is really a goblet but has fire or something coming out of it.
I loved this movie! I saw it in the theaters and it was excellent. If you had read the books you would understand it more. Harry boards the train to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, where he will attend his fourth year of magical education. Shortly after his reunion with his best friends, Ron (Rupert Grint) and Hermione (Emma Watson), Harry is introduced to another Defense Against the Dark Arts teacher: the grizzled Mad-Eye Moody (Brendan Gleeson), who agreed to take on the infamous "DADA" professorship as a personal favour to Headmaster Dumbledore (Michael Gambon). Of course, Harry's wishes for an uneventful school year are almost immediately shattered when he is unexpectedly chosen, along with fellow student Cedric Diggory (Robert Pattinson), as Hogwarts' representatives in the Tri-Wizard Tournament, which awards whoever completes three magical tasks the most skillfully with a thousand-galleon purse and the admiration of the international wizard community. There are 3 tasks, the first one is trying to get a dragons egg from a dragon and the task was hard but Harry completed it. The next task was saving your best friends who had been put to sleep under water. You had to swim underwater and dodge several dangerous things. The third task is the last task and is the hardest, it's a huge maze that you have to go through and there is a port key in the middle. But the other people selected to try and win the cups, went with Harry. They both touched the triwizard cup, and they touched it at the same time because they were friends and they thought it was only fair. But what they didn't know was that it was a port key to a place that Harry kept having nightmares about Lord Voldermort, who rose again and was going to kill Harry. Diggory who goes along with Harry sadly dies and this was a part in the movie where I was crying because it was very upsetting. He doesn't kill Harry though, because he uses a powerful curse and his parents are kind of like his guardian angels. So they helped him beat Lord Voldermort , calming him down and telling him that he need to let go of the curse because they had spells against each other and Harry's was reaching Lord Voldermort. They told him to grab Diggory and the port key and get back to where all the people were waiting for the people to grab the port key and come out of the maze. When Harry came out everyone was really happy. Then he started crying and said that Diggory died and they had to pull Harry away from Diggory. The person who put Harry's name in the goblet of fire was really drinking polly juice to look like a professor.

Harry Potter and Goblet of Fire is both entertaining and full of suspense It will hold you to your seat until the end of the movie If you like a movie that keeps you guessing till the end, this is the movie is for you. I hope you watch this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Devils Are Inside The Walls, Jan. 23 2007
Based on the fourth book in J.K Rowling's "Harry Potter" series, "The Goblet of Fire" first hit the big screem in 2005. The film opens at the Weasley family home on the morning of the Quidditch World Cup Final. Although between Ireland and Bulgaria, the match is being played in England, and Harry, Hermione and most of the Weasley clan will be going to it. While Harry finds the event hugely enjoyable, it all goes pear-shaped : the celebrations are ruined by the appearance of a group of Death Eaters (supporters of Voldemort) and the appearance of the Dark Mark (Voldemort's symbol) in the sky.

The international theme continues, however - on reaching Hogwarts, the pupils find out that a Tri-Wizard Tournament will be held during the school year. This is a very famous, not to mention vey dangerous, competition between the three largest European Schools of Wizardry and Witchcraft - Hogwarts, Beauxbatons and Durmstrang. One champion is selected to represent each school and - due to the difficulty and danger of the tasks involved - the Ministry has decided that only students of 17 and over will be allowed to enter. Naturally, this means that - if the rules are adhered to - Harry won't be allowed to enter. Among the visiting students from Beauxbatons and Durmstrang are Victor Krum - who played Seeker for Bulgaria in the World Cup Final - and the highly attractive Fleur Delacour. The visiting students, obviously don't arrive unsupervised - the Headmistress from Beauxbatons is Madame Maxime (who, incredibly, is around even taller than Hagrid) and Professor Karkaroff (a former Death Eater), from Durmstrang.

Inevitably, there's another new Defence Against The Dark Arts teacher at Hogwarts - this year, it's an ex-Auror by the name of Mad-Eye Mooney. An Auror is a Dark Wizard Catcher, and Mooney is widely regarded as one of the best ever. He is now, however, considered a little paranoid - for example, he drinks only (and often) out of his own hip flask. 'Mad Eye' is a pretty apt nickname - he has one 'normal' eye and one magical eye, which can see through doors, walls, invisibility cloaks and even through the back of his own head. There's more to be coped with than new teachers though - there's the expolsive combination of teenage hormones and the impending Yule Ball. Harry has taken a shine to Cho Chang (Ravenclaw's very pretty Seeker, who also has a disarming Scottish accent). Ron, meanwhile, seems somewhat torn between Fleur and - would you believe - Hermione !

In print, "The Goblet of Fire" was comfortably the longest book Rowling had written at that point. Similarly, this is also a pretty long movie - though it certainly doesn't drag and is far from boring. Understandably, certain sections have been dropped or tweaked (dammit, no Veela !!), though it's hard to complain as they don't make the film any less enjoyable. Like "The Prisoner of Azkaban", the film is quite dark and the effects are very impressive - particularly the horntail. Ron has a tough year, not only falling out with Harry at one point and (later) Hermione, but also having to wear some horrendous dress robes. There are also some laughs, though - some of them centred around Harry's and Ron's attempts to get dates for the Yule Ball.

Some of the supporting characters make big contributions to the movie. Brendan Gleeson is absolutely fantastic as Mad Eye, while Neville is becoming as likeable on-screen as he is in print. Rita Skeeter, played by Miranda Richardson, makes her first appearance. Skeeter is a thoroughly dislikeable hack from the Daily Prophet, who provides some very comic moments. Jarvis Cocker, Pulp's lead singer, appears as the vocalist of the magically popular beat-combo Wyrd Sisters - the band have been hired to play at the Yule Ball. Moaning Myrtle also makes a very welcome reappearance - all too brief, though welcome all the same.

A hugely enjoyable movie and well worth owning. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You will have choose between what is easy and what is right, June 29 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Harry and his friends are now young ladies and gentlemen. An international Quiditch event is taking place. To get there one has to use a port key (an innocuous looking device that transports one to a different location). Things do not go as well as planned and now a dark element has been added.

Also this year is the tri-wizard tournament in which a hero from each of three learning institutes must compete in unknown events. This is to promote friendship among the institutes. The opportunity is open to only potential contestants of seventeen years. They must enter his/her name into the goblet of fire for selection. So you can imagine everyone's surprise to find fourteen year old Harry's name in the Goblet. How did his name get in the goblet? Will Harry accept the challenge? And if so how will he fair?

We get to see all the characters for the book come to life. Most of the relevant story is included. Among the parts that were left out, I was hoping for the Blast-Ended Skrewts and the male wizard wearing the dress to get plenty of air around his private parts.

The series of Harry films has also matured with each rendition. It took several tries, some better than others but this one has the feel of the book and even with the short time it plays has shown the real feel of the ongoing story of the struggle between Harry and he who must not be named. This includes the larger picture of more than just good verses evil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars READ THE BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!, March 7 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (Widescreen Two-Disc Deluxe Edition) (Harry Potter 4) (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I was so eager to see this movie, I can't tell you. But I watched it and was- bewildered. There was no flow, it was like ( and really this is what they did) they took the most interesting parts and just mashed them together. There was no explaining on anything you were just supposed to know. They relied too heavily on views having read the books so they could understand, but I don't see how any reader could liked his. This is not well done, half the most entertain things are left out. And the acting, come on, I know Daniel Radcliffe is just a kid, but come on no emotion no nothing it looked more like he was just reading a book. Another thing, one of my favourite things in this series is the friendship between Harry Ron and Hermione, you see nothing of that. sure there's the "touching" reunion between Harry and Ron, but nothing more. Hardly any interaction between the three of them. Oh yes and the supposed romance between Hermione and Ron, well in this movie, I don't like Ron. Ralph Fiennes as Voldamort (SP?) was good, but what was up with the "because I am a kind lord' or whatever crap. Kind lord, him? come on even the murdering psycho knows he's not "kind". this was a huge disappointment. the cast was dreadful, the directing was terrible. I know they couldn't put everything into it, and I'm honestly glad that they didn't put SPEW into it. They should have split the movie into two parts. it was the only way they could have given justice to a fabulous book, rather than slaughter it, into unrecognizable heap of garbage. the only thing I can honestly say I liked about this movie was....... hang on it's coming to me..... nope, nothing, I was looking forward to Order of the Phoenix but after this catastrophe and waste of money I'm seriously considering just skipping it altogether. save your money read the book and marvel at the skill of JKR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love this movie!!, Jan. 26 2011
I am a huge Harry Potter fan, and this was one of my favorite movies! Looks fantastic on BluRay (just recently upgraded)and was looking forward to getting the Ultimate Edition. It looks fabulous. All of the extras are great, and well worth watching. The only issue I had with this is that it was only the theatrical release on it! Having bought the first 2 ultimate editions which had the extended version as well as the theatrical one, I thought that this would have it as well. It didn't. Very dissapointed!! Most especially since Warner Bros first advertised (a couple of years ago!) that when they brought these ultimate editions out, all of the movies would have an extended version. There was no warning that this one (and Azkaban) wouldn't be extended. Oh well, what can you do. I would have bought it knowing that anyway, just would have been nice to be warned!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews