Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The best.
My favourite. Listenable from start to finish. Has some absolutely classic songs. Some musical groups may have
experimented with some substances around this time. Listening to it is a Trip , and a worthwhile voyage.
Highly recommended.
Published 11 days ago by Big Bill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Will not play on some CD players
I have never had a CD like this. It will play on only 2 of the 4 CD players that I own. The music is good but my expectations were very high. Maybe that is why I find it is good but not stellar.
Published on Jan. 31 2010 by Jim S


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Experimental Moodies, May 9 2003
By 
Alan Caylow (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
With the huge success of their landmark classical-meets-rock album, 1967's "Days Of Future Passed," and it's smash hit single, "Nights In White Satin," the Moody Blues had beaten the odds & successfully transformed from the rhythm & blues combo of "Go Now" fame, to the masterful progressive-rock band known the world over. For the follow-up disc, 1968's "In Search Of The Lost Chord," the Moodies decided to retain the classical instruments from their previous hit album, with one major difference: they would play all the instruments themselves, including cello, oboe, harp, harpsicord, and, for a touch of Indian-flavored music, sitar. "In Search Of The Lost Chord" is arguably the Moody Blues' most psychedelic album, but it is also one of their all-time greats. Bassist John Lodge's rockin' "Ride My See-Saw," and flautist Ray Thomas' wonderful ode to Timothy Leary, "Legend Of A Mind," remain Moody Blues concert staples to this day. There's also Thomas' playful "Dr. Livingstone, I Presume," the experimental delights of Lodge's "House Of Four Doors" (with "Legend Of A Mind" sandwiched within it), guitarist Justin Hayward's beautiful "Voices In The Sky," "Visions Of Paradise," and "The Actor," keyboardist Mike Pinder's spacious "The Best Way To Travel," and the spiritual "Om," and drummer Graeme Edge's fine poetry in the forms of "Departure" and "The Word." Marvelously written, played, & sung by the band, handsomely produced by Tony Clarke, and remastered for superior sound quality, "In Search Of The Lost Chord" remains one of the Moody Blues' finest works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Controversial Moodies, April 30 2003
The Moody Blues has to be one of the most controversial rock/pop bands to emerge from the 1960's. The band has been enormously popular, had several hit songs, and sold lots of albums. But despite the public popularity, these guys were savaged by many critics. A critic in the "Rolling Stone Album Guide" comments "no major band has so relentlessly parlayed nonsense...were it not for their titanic success, in fact, they might easily be dismissed as an odd and overlong joke." The article goes on to describe the Moodies as bombastic, pretentious and pompous, with their biggest hits "tricked out with furiously strummed acoustic guitars [like those] from the Who".
That's pretty harsh stuff. If they're so bad, why have they been so popular? To be fair, their lyrics are often a little corny, especially now. Further, they probably weren't as musically creative as the Beatles, the Who, or some others. Nevertheless, the were among the first to experiment with the idea of the concept album, among the first to make effective use of sythesizers, and among the first to employ symphonic sounds in a rock format. Most especially, though, many simply found the Moodies' music nice to listen to. Their songs were based on pleasant melodies and featured nice harmonies. Critics may look for depth and originality, but the average consumer just wants a good sound. The Moody Blues, at their best, delivered that big time.
IN SEARCH OF THE LOST CHORD was the band's second attempt at a concept album (DAYS OF FUTURE PASSED was the first, but was somewhat different because of the attempt to connect the songs with orchestral interludes). It was based around a consideration of "levels of consciousness" and eastern philosophical ideas that had been popularized at the time (circa 1967-8) by the Beatles. Lyrically, it may come across now as a little silly (if you don't recall the times or find such speculation of interest), but the music still sounds good. Much of the album has a bright, airy quality. Acoustic guitars and flutes dominate many of the cuts. The melodies are soft, but the tunes remain lively. I never hear this album without finding something from it playing in my mind hours later.
I originally bought this album soon after it was released. Now, I have it on CD as well. It's a purchase I have never regretted, and I still listen to it. It may not be brilliant and it may be a bit dated, but the sound is good. Compared to most of the contemporary rock music I've heard, it's great. Take a "trip around the bay" with these guys. You'll probably be glad you did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great one from the Moodies, April 13 2003
By 
MurrayTheCat (upstate New York) - See all my reviews
IN SEARCH OF THE LOST CHORD (1968) was the second album by The Moody Blues with Hayward and Lodge, and is still thought to be their best by many. I won't make that claim here; I am such a fan of this beguiling group that I find it exceedingly difficult to single out just one "best" from such a string of great albums. I will admit this has always been one of my favorites. It is a masterpiece that followed a masterpiece (DAYS OF FUTURE PAST--one of the few rock albums to extensively and successfully employ an orchestra without being the least bit haughty).
IN SEARCH OF THE LOST CHORD is filled with the group's euphoric music, which both explores the cosmos and comforts us with their emblematic, tuneful bliss. There is a remarkable, youthful enthusiasm in both the music and the lyrics, and the album is loaded with songs of unique, psychedelic charm. "Ride My See-Saw" has a mesmerizing groove, but it's intelligently energetic. "Voices In The Sky," "Visions Of Paradise" and "The Actor" are pure ecstasy, with such heavenly mixes of instrumental textures and heartfelt vocals. I don't find "Dr. Livingstone, I Presume" inferior in any way; in fact it's delightful (pay no attention to the detractors if you prefer inventiveness over trendiness). "Legend Of A Mind" is as haunting as you could ask for, and the instrumental break from 2:42 to 4:59 still takes me to OMville. "House Of Four Doors" is mysteriously enchanting, beautiful...captivating. This and "Part 2" frame "Legend Of A Mind" perfectly. And, how can any psychedelia-loving soul not delight in "The Best Way To Travel"? The meditative "OM" completes this musical treasure piece in splendid fashion.
The 60s was more than protests and flower power (the media has its way of warping and commercializing everything, including history!). It was a very revolutionary time for music. The music on this glorious album was highly original back then--still is! Nothing sounded like this before the late 60s. I have a tendency to harp on this: the changes--truly creative changes--that took place in the short span of eight years from 1965 to 1973 were extraordinary. That was an amazing time period that produced some amazing works of art. This album is one of them, and I cannot recommend it enough to those who love the stuff.
Cheers,
Murray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Mystical Journey, Feb. 9 2003
By 
"terry808" (Thomaston, GA 30286) - See all my reviews
This album could be the most exquisite and fantastical album ever written by this band. The entire album flows together as one, making it a journey through exotic soundscapes. From cascading harps, to journeys through the jungle, through mysterious territory, to paradise and on to the meaning within ourselves. A creative earthy experience is in store throuout the album as it flows gently through mystical truth and excursions. Wonderful melodys with acoustic guitars, electric guitars, and eastern insturments (tabla and Sitar), enhance the beauty and create an album completely different than any other they have accomplished. To me this is the best album and always provides a fantastic listening experience.
Ben.
the 15 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Some great stuff, but... Uneven, Oct. 24 2002
By 
Tracy Deaton (Port Orchard, WA) - See all my reviews
This is by far the weakest of the Moodies' 1st 7 albums. "Departure," "Ride My See-Saw," "Legend of a Mind," "Voices in the Sky," "The Actor" & "The Word" R all classics -- they've all got that great "moody" atmosphere, & the vocals & keyboards R gorgeous. But the rest is WILDLY uneven, & "Om" is the stupidest thing the Moodies ever did.
The rest is no bargain: "Dr. Livingstone I Presume" is silly; "House of Four Doors" is pointless & endless; "Best Way to Travel" is a weak Mike Pinder tune; "Visions of Paradise" is a not-quite-good Justin Hayward number. None of these tracks will change yr life.
A bonus track would've helped: On the 2-album THIS IS THE MOODY BLUES best-of you'll find "Simple Game," the original B-side 2 the "Ride My See-Saw" single -- I think it's Mike Pinder's best song EVER (those "doo-doo-doo" choruses'll get U every time!), & they shoulda included it here. Woulda raised my rating 2 3-1/2 stars at least!
Overall: This is the most dated & uneven Moodies LP. I'd save buying it til U have the rest of the 1st 7, LONG DISTANCE VOYAGER, Hayward & Lodge's BLUE JAYS, & THE PRESENT. This sure ain't no 4got10 classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the most cohesive of the Moody Blues albums, Oct. 19 2002
By 
J. Polsgrove "tucson_deadhead" (Uh, Arizona) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this album and I've owned it since it came out. I now have the remastered version on CD, and the sound is stunning. Perhaps more than any other Moody Blues album, this one flows seamlessly from slow, melodic waves to high peaks and all points in between. The classic "Legend of a Mind" (Timothy Leary's dead...) is reason alone to buy this. The album opens with the self-titled "In Search of the Lost Chord" and the listener is taken on an aural journey that is unmatched by any other group of the era. It's not all serious stuff, though. The delightful "Dr. Livingstone, I Presume" shows the Moodies didn't take everything seriously. But it's with House of Four Doors, which leads into Legend of a Mind, that the album hits its pace and the listener is carried effortlessly from the homage to the then-very-much-alive Leary through an epic journey with such classics as Voices in the Sky, the surreal The Best Way to Travel, on to Visions of Paradise, the profound The Actor, on to The Word, and finally Om, which closes out the album much as In Search of the Lost Chord opened it. The Moody Blues produced some great music in their heyday, but many of their albums were a mix of top-quality tunes and other meanderings that sound more like filler than transitions. With In Search of the Lost Chord, the Moody Blues, in my opinion, found their voice and it rings clearly and seamlessly from beginning to end. This is absolutely a stunning album, and the remastered audio makes listening to the tiny nuances such a joy. Buy this. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Way To Travel, June 27 2002
By 
Katie (Seattle, Wa) - See all my reviews
This album is so undescribable. See, it came right after Days of Future Passed (which was also excellent), and I believe the band may have been a bit more comfortable because now they had a record deal and everything. Justin's voice seems to have matured in some way- yet he sounds the same. I say this because if there was a song that ever made me cry it would be The Actor. By far the greatest song on the album (but the whole thing is fantastic). The sound of Justin's voice is so mysterious. He sounds so sad, and then the words are so emotional. I die when Justin sings- The sound I've heard in you hello-oh darling, you're almost part of me, oh darling, you're all I'll ever see.
Yeah! So buy the CD, you'll have no regrets. Moodies albums are the only ones I can listen to from beginning to end, usually I find myself skipping around on the CD's of other artist's- not so here. Enjoy. Oh and I would have given it all of the stars in the universe, but that's just not physically possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True Progressive Rock, May 29 2002
By 
Lonnie E. Holder "The Review's the Thing" (Columbus, Indiana, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Many groups have been described as "progressive rock" during various times in their careers. To truly understand the definition of progressive rock, put yourself in 1968 listening to this album for the first time. The Moody Blues surpassed the Beatles with exquisitely complex orchestrations, using instruments that often were (and are) played only in obscure classical presentations. The lyrics are often incredibly spiritual without being denominational and without offending any specific denomination, a difficult feat in any era.
This album was a follow up to the ground-breaking "Days of Future Passed" album, and set the expectations for all future Moodies albums. So many groups get into a groove, and keep playing that groove endlessly and monotonously. The Moodies made seven concept albums in a row, none of which was identical. Most were only similar in that they had elements of fantasy, science fiction, and hope for a better world and a better life. The expectations for each Moodies album was (and continues to be): what unusual thing are they going to try to do this time?
In this album they played with using instruments to achieve various effects, such as the doors opening on the "House of Four Doors", and the combination of instruments on "Om" that evokes a feel of India without being Indian. The use of the sitar on this album is one of the best in a rock album, if not the best.
This album ranks as one of my all time favorites. There is no need to evaluate individual songs because they are all very good. This album deserves to be ranked with albums such as "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" and Led Zeppelin's Runes or ZOSO album.
In some ways you may consider this album as a peak for the Moodies, and their subsequent albums are continually compared to "Days" and to "The Lost Chord." Fortunately the Moodies have never been disheartened by the unexpected success of their first two albums, and have kept on making more music.
If you are new to the Moodies, you will find this album to be one of their best. However, you will find that even an "average" Moodies album is better than the "best" of many other groups. Typical criticism of a Moodies' album comes from comparison to other Moodies' albums, because it is difficult to compare the Moodies to other groups.
If you like this album, you may also enjoy "To All Our Children's Children's Children," "On the Threshold of a Dream" and "Every Good Boy Deserves Favour." Each of these is similarly experimental, with varying degrees of success.
Regardless of your feelings toward this album, it helped defined progressive rock as a genre with the few other progressive rock groups of the late 60s and early 70s, and will always hold a special place for those who looked for the next evolution of rock music beyond the Beatles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars True Progressive Rock, May 29 2002
By 
Lonnie E. Holder "The Review's the Thing" (Columbus, Indiana, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Many groups have been described as "progressive rock" during various times in their careers. To truly understand the definition of progressive rock, put yourself in 1968 listening to this album for the first time. The Moody Blues surpassed the Beatles with exquisitely complex orchestrations, using instruments that often were (and are) played only in obscure classical presentations. The lyrics are often incredibly spiritual without being denominational and without offending any specific denomination, a difficult feat in any era.
This album was a follow up to the ground-breaking "Days of Future Passed" album, and set the expectations for all future Moodies albums. So many groups get into a groove, and keep playing that groove endlessly and monotonously. The Moodies made seven concept albums in a row, none of which was identical. Most were only similar in that they had elements of fantasy, science fiction, and hope for a better world and a better life. The expectations for each Moodies album was (and continues to be): what unusual thing are they going to try to do this time?
In this album they played with using instruments to achieve various effects, such as the doors opening on the "House of Four Doors", and the combination of instruments on "Om" that evokes a feel of India without being Indian. The use of the sitar on this album is one of the best in a rock album, if not the best.
This album ranks as one of my all time favorites. There is no need to evaluate individual songs because they are all very good. This album deserves to be ranked with albums such as "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" and Led Zeppelin's Runes or ZOSO album.
In some ways you may consider this album as a peak for the Moodies, and their subsequent albums are continually compared to "Days" and to "The Lost Chord." Fortunately the Moodies have never been disheartened by the unexpected success of their first two albums, and have kept on making more music. If you are new to the Moodies, you will find this album to be one of their best. If you like this album, you may also enjoy "To All Our Children's Children's Children," "On the Threshold of a Dream" and "Every Good Boy Deserves Favour." Each of these is similarly experimental, with varying degrees of success.
Regardless of your feelings toward this album, it helped defined progressive rock as a genre with the few other progressive rock groups of the late 60s and early 70s, and will always hold a special place for those who looked for the next evolution of rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take a ride then a journey, May 26 2002
This CD starts off with "Ride My See-Saw," one of the all-time classics, written by Moody Blues bass guitarist John Lodge. With supercharged acoustic rhythm guitar, scintillating leads, and wonderful vocal harmonies and mellotron, it is an absolutely breathtaking, electrifying masterwork. I am always mesmerized by its majesty and power, and it is one of my personal top five rock songs ever.
On the remainder of "In Search of the Lost Chord," the music and verselines are sweet-sounding but rarely cloyed like those of its predecessor, "Days of Future Passed." Orchestral-type overlays are employed at times, but nothing resembling what was in "Days." The music is elegant English minstrel psychedelia of the late '60s, employing woodwinds at times, in addition to cello and mellotron, autoharp and harpsichord, and frequent pretty vocal harmonies. A sitar can also be detected on a few tracks, evoking Eastern mysticism.
Like Love's "Forever Changes," this CD has interesting musical arrangements, and from the preceding discussion it might be inferred that there is more in common between the two, which there is, even in the voices of the singers. But the songs here are stronger and catchier, and the lyrics are less eccentric, better and prettier, often evoking images of nature. This is all seen as the real journey begins, with "Dr. Livingston, I Presume." The search takes us to "Legend of a Mind" ("Timothy Leary's Dead") and its psychedelia, first somber and later majestic; soars upward with the lovely "Voices in the Sky"; and captivates with the beautiful "Visions of Paradise." We reach Nirvana with the concluder "Om," leaving us enriched musically and, I guess, spiritually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae51abf4)

This product

In Search Of The Lost Chord
In Search Of The Lost Chord by Moody Blues (Audio CD - 2008)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews