Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars must have for the car
i got it for the car for unexpected situations, but i find i keep bringing it into the house because i'm too lazy to find my other pliers and just need one for small jobs. Think i'm going to buy another one for the house now.
Published 1 month ago by abc

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The low price saves it
I am resisting an urge to be harsh in my review of this multitool, but I keep reminding myself that it is half the price of my Leatherman Wave and a quarter of the price of my Charge TTi.

The good:

- It's a good-looking little tool. The handles have a nice, clean finish.
- It's a lot cheaper than higher-end multitools, but much higher quality...
Published on Jan. 26 2012 by Claudio Puviani


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The low price saves it, Jan. 26 2012
By 
This review is from: Gerber 04171 Suspension Butterfly Opening Multi-Plier, with Sheath (Sports)
I am resisting an urge to be harsh in my review of this multitool, but I keep reminding myself that it is half the price of my Leatherman Wave and a quarter of the price of my Charge TTi.

The good:

- It's a good-looking little tool. The handles have a nice, clean finish.
- It's a lot cheaper than higher-end multitools, but much higher quality than the ultra-cheap, no-name brand ones you get in the tool aisle of your local hardware store.
- The pliers deploy very smoothly.
- For those who like this sort of thing, the pliers are spring-loaded.
- All the tools, except the pliers/wire cutters, are outside-accessible.
- All the tools lock.
- The outside tools seem reasonably solid.
- The lanyard ring is easy to deploy.
- The nylon sheath can be worn horizontally or vertically on a belt.

The bad:

- The blades are ridiculously short for a tool of this size. They're barely 1/4" longer than the blade on my keychain tool!
- The "patented Saf.T.PlusTM lock system" is clumsy and gets in the way of one-handed operation. Looks good, works awful!
- The wire cutter has a visible gap -- it won't even dent paper -- and the wire stripper is too wide to handle small gauge wires.
- The spring on the pliers is weak and mushy. It doesn't affect the operation, but it makes the tool feel cheaper.
- It's way heavier than it has any business being. Even the Leatherman Wave weighs less and it packs a lot more tools that are bigger, too.
- The asymmetric shape, thinner at one end than the other, makes it more difficult to fit in sheaths or pockets.
- The scissors are almost unusably small.
- No file. Even my keychain tool (a Gerber Vise) has a file!

The bottom line is that for a low-end multitool, it's pretty nice. It looks good enough to make a nice gift for someone who isn't a multitool fanatic, and it has a useful selection of tools. But you do get what you pay for and it can't stand up to the high-end multitools, either in quality or in function. If you plan to use it for serious work, I suggest you double down and get one of the better tools from Leatherman, Gerber, SOG or Victorinox. But for casual use, this is fine.

By the way, aside from the design of the handle, this tool is the same as the "Bear Grylls Survival Series Ultimate Multi Tool" that sells for $20-$25 more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad choice, not a great one either, Nov. 9 2013
This review is from: Gerber 04171 Suspension Butterfly Opening Multi-Plier, with Sheath (Sports)
I was attracted to this tool mainly because of its looks. The skeletonized body and the well-designed lock-release mechanism are good selling points. The tool also has a large selection of useful tools. However, all of that is offset by various flaws. The washers used between each tool are incredibly thick, adding weight and bulk to the tool for no good reason I can see. It would be a much better tool with thinner washers in my opinion. The tools and blades are quite short, which reduces their usefulness. The plier handles are quite far apart when the pliers are closed. There's no reason for this either, as far as I can see, and makes it quite uncomfortable for all but the largest hands. This could have been easily remedied in design also.

Overall, I can't say it isn't a good value for the money. On paper at least, it has an impressive list of features for the price, but where it falls short is in the utility. None of the tools work as well as they could. For that reason, I feel I am being charitable in giving it 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great quality - well made., March 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 04171 Suspension Butterfly Opening Multi-Plier, with Sheath (Sports)
Very well made - folds down into a small unit with a nylon carrying holster, The closing mechanism for some of the tools seems a bit tight, and awkward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must have for the car, March 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 04171 Suspension Butterfly Opening Multi-Plier, with Sheath (Sports)
i got it for the car for unexpected situations, but i find i keep bringing it into the house because i'm too lazy to find my other pliers and just need one for small jobs. Think i'm going to buy another one for the house now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Smooth Action with spring assist, Feb. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 04171 Suspension Butterfly Opening Multi-Plier, with Sheath (Sports)
This is a nice every day tool you won't feel bad putting to work. It sits in the palm well even tho it's much smaller than you'd imagine from the listing. All the tools are finished nicely and lock into place securely; no worries about them snapping shut on my fingers.
My favourite part of this multi-tool is the lanyard hole, it can stay in the open position and not interfere with the tool being holstered in a pouch.

I rated it 3/5 just because it feels a bit small and it just doesn't excite me much. To be fair, if I rated it purely on it's merits and not emotional reaction this tool would easily get a 4/5 all day long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its ok, Oct. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 04171 Suspension Butterfly Opening Multi-Plier, with Sheath (Sports)
blades are pretty small for the size of the tool, pliers are great though i dont really know what else to say but i need a few more words to sumbit this its like a word minimum or something
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product., July 14 2013
By 
Roy Lumley (Little Current, ON. Can.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 04171 Suspension Butterfly Opening Multi-Plier, with Sheath (Sports)
Well worth the price. I found a use for all of the attachments. I recommend this to the handy man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get what you pay for, Dec 14 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Gerber 04171 Suspension Butterfly Opening Multi-Plier, with Sheath (Sports)
Its a gerber, what can i say......It is what it is. A multi use gadget tat would look good in any stocking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful portable multifunction tool, June 1 2012
This review is from: Gerber 04171 Suspension Butterfly Opening Multi-Plier, with Sheath (Sports)
This Gerber Multifunction tool is very useful for somebody who needs it for work. does't take much space on the belt and it comes with a black nylon sheath. I've made a lot of research before buying and found a impresive variety of multifunction tool present on the market with price range very wide. A lot of brands each with different or similar function mutltitool, but when it comes to price/quality, Gerber's reputation preceed's them and for the price of this item depending on your needs, it's very complete. Plus it comes with a black nylon sheath wich is very practical for portable purposes like work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb31558f4)

This product

Gerber 04171 Suspension Butterfly Opening Multi-Plier, with Sheath
CDN$ 37.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews