Customer Reviews


145 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fried Green Tomatoes
One of my all favourites. Initially, the DVD stopped playing at 1 hr 30 mins - no problem for Amazon. I had the option of a replacement or my money back and chose to get a replacement. Amazon emailed a return postage paid label and return coding slip and sent a replacement out immediately which I received very quickly. I even got an email letting me know they had...
Published on Jan. 8 2012 by Dee

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Director Avnet gets a C-minus for ignoring lesbian subtext
Fanny Flagg's novel, though intentionally or nor,portrayed a lesbian subtext relationship between Idgy and Ruth. Even though these heroines were never found between the sheets they definately had a romantic relationship. The book does a much better job at looking at this dynamic; two women who are devoted to each other beyond any other relationship. When, in the...
Published on July 6 1999


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fried Green Tomatoes, Jan. 8 2012
This review is from: Fried Green Tomatoes (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
One of my all favourites. Initially, the DVD stopped playing at 1 hr 30 mins - no problem for Amazon. I had the option of a replacement or my money back and chose to get a replacement. Amazon emailed a return postage paid label and return coding slip and sent a replacement out immediately which I received very quickly. I even got an email letting me know they had received the one I had returned.

I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. One I have seen several times but the story is so engaging I wanted in my collection of favourites. Kathy Bates is great, so is Jessica Tandy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un excellent film mais des infos fausses quant aux langues disponibles sur DVD, Oct. 22 2009
By 
Alain Vezina "Vélogre" (Québec, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Je ne veux qu'avertir que cet excellent film, dans l'édition ici présentée, ne comporte pas de piste en français, comme cela est faussement annoncé.

Il faudrait que Amazon veille à beaucoup plus de rigueur à cet égard. J'ai déjà vécu la situation inverse ou la piste française était présente pour un DVD qui affichait ne pas en disposer.

Ça me semble très très important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Southern Storytelling on the Screen, July 5 2004
By 
EquesNiger (Koeln, Germany) - See all my reviews
I'm always surprised how badly great storytelling makes it to the screen. Particularly, great Southern stories, which tend to make it to the big screen replete with caricatures and stereotypes. I recall, with particular sadness, the movie adaptation of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. While this adaptation to the screen of Flagg's tremendously moving novel does have its share of simple, stereotypical southern "archetypes", these are largely drawn from Flagg's book, and are largely essential to the story. It is, without a doubt, one of the most enjoyable movies I have ever seen and, ten years after first seeing it, it still brings raucous laughter and tears to my eyes. It's the classic "story within the story", and begins with the introduction of a tenacious elderly widow to a repressed younger southern housewife in a nursing home in rural Alabama. What starts off to the housewife as polite and indulgent small talk of past acquaintances with a likely senile elderly woman turns rapidly into an engrossing story with what must be the best "hook line" in storytelling ("Why anybody would have thought she killed that man is beyond me!"). This story then becomes a parable which the housewife uses to change her life for the better.
While certainly a moral parable of the greater value systems of past times, and of loyalty and courage in the face of bigotry and oppression, the story never loses its infectious humor, despite some genuinely tragic events. The lesbian theme of the book is only mildly hinted at, and one would almost overlook it were one not to deliberately search for it. Some of the more brutal aspects of the book are retained, with the rampant racism and wife-abuse still harrowingly reflected, if toned down. Consequently, younger viewers may best appreciate the film in the company of an adult. Regardless, this is one of the best "feeling good" movies I have ever seen, and being a Southerner from an area very near that depicted in the book, makes me pine for the South in profound ways. It's a film about empowerment and, more importantly, the empowerment one gains through friends, and through standing up for one's friends, and through an unshakable belief in self-respect.
No little credit for the success of the film goes to the incredibly strong performances of Masterson as the tom-boyish Idgie Threadgood, and Marie Louise-Parker as Ruth Jamison, along with the underrated performance of Stan Shaw, one of TV's great character actors, as Big George. However, the film's strongest performances come from three grande dames of the screen (and stage): Cicely Tyson, as Sissy, Jessica Tandy, as Ninny Threadgood, and Kathy Bates, as Evelyn Couch. While Tandy and Bates have received their due, Tyson's performance, as always, is often overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Towanda Strikes Again, Jan. 17 2004
On DVD that is. When I heard this movie was coming out on DVD, I was more than overwhelmed. I had so badly been wanting to own this movie, and now I do. Don't think once about buying this movie, it'll keep you wanting to watch again and again. It gives you a sense of comedy and drama without ever dropping either category.
Evelyn Couch (The always wonderful Kathy Bates) has a pretty routine life. Go to marriage counseling, make her husbands dinner, and go to bed. That is until she meets Ninny (Jessica Tandy) an elderly lady living in a rest home near her house. Evelyns curiosity is growing as Ninny tells a story about two women she knew in time. The story is about stubborn Idgie (Mary Stuart-Masterson) who has stayed away from home ever since her older brothers death. Her and Ruth (Mary Louise-Parker) a family friend come to visit for the summer start to hit it off, and son become the best of friends. While Idgie the bee charmer collects honey, Ruth gets out more and learns to have fun. As the two become even closer, they decided, why not start a business? In the sleepy town of Whistle Stop, Ruth and Idgies cafe shall add a little spice to the town, and even attract some out of town visitors. Whether welcome, or unwelcome, the customers will play a big role in the story. Through everything, abusive husbands, Ku Klux Klansman, Trains, and deaths, the two will stay close friends. Evelyn is soon also giving herself more self respect, and is coming back more and more to hear Niny's story, even becoming part of the story herself. Ninny and Evelyn soon become close friends too, and learn the valuable lesson to like things while they last.
Impeccable. Everything about this movie is flawless. With the directors commentary on the DVD, you find out new information about the film that interesting, and funny. You even get Sipseys recipes from the Whistle Stop Cafe itself. 5 stars for a movie to be cherished forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On boy, oh boy, oh boy, Dec 24 2003
By 
Peggy Vincent "author and reader" (Oakland, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie gets high marks in every category for faithfulness to the original book by Fannie Flagg. Kathy Bates plays an ignored wife just trying desperately to get her husband's attention. She visits her mother-in-law at a nursing home, but the nasty old woman throws things at her and she retreats to the community room to eat candy from her purse - and there she meets a lonely old woman (Jessica Tandy, so you just KNOW how good this movie will be!) whose tale of a lifelong friendship between Izzy and Ruth (Mary Stuart Masterson and Mary-Louise Parker) begins to help Bates change her life.
The story of Izzy and Ruth is told in flashback, back to the days during the Depression when they ran The Whistlestop Café by the side of the train tracks in a No Place little town in Georgia. The relationship of the two women to each other, to Ruth's son and her abusive ex-husband, to the African-American figures who carry epic roles, and to the families involved on both sides of the color line. It's a story of triumph over huge odds, of love and friendship, of personal growth and ultimately of dignity.
And it's funny as all get-out. Highest, highest rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fried Green Tomatoes, Oct. 29 2003
By A Customer
Reviewed Date: October 2003
Studio: Universal Studios
Genre: Drama
Exposure: Color
Running Time: 130 Minutes
Rating: PG-13
Release Year: 1991
Directed By: Jon Aunet
Starring: Kathy Bates, Mary Stuart Masterson, Mary-Louise Parker, and Jessica Tandy.
Co-Starring: Gailard Sartain, Stan Shaw, Cicely Tyson, Gary Basaraba, Grace Zabriskie, Richard Riehle, Grayson Fricke, Lashondra Phillips, Enjolik Oree, Nick Searcy, and Ginny Parker.
If you want to see a good movie for the whole family, "Fried Green Tomatoes" is the movie for you. It shows friendship, compassion, humor, laughter, and real life encounters.
The setting takes place in the late 1980's and takes you back in time a half century to the town of Whistle Stop, Alabama.
"Fried Green Tomatoes" is a movie for anyone. It can make the best of us laugh and cry through the entire movie. "Fried Green Tomatoes" is a movie that gives you two different stories within itself. One story takes you back to the 1930's. The other part of the story takes place in the 1980's between Ninny Threadgooda, telling the story of her past to help her new friend Evelyn get her life together.
The frienships made within the movie show that this woman do hold their friendships in very high regards. The friendship in the 1930's would help both women to get through some really tough times. The friendship in the 1980's between Ninny and Evelyn keep these two ladies on track.
I give this movie 5 stars because it is a movie for anyone. Also because it shows how good friends will help a loved one in need of there help at a drop of a hat. This movie is just a well rounded movie, filled with emotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Film, Aug. 31 2003
By 
Bruce A. Nelson "sydpink" (Worcester, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There's really nothing not to like here. Everything comes together like a Renoir painting. It's a gentle, beautiful film about friendship and how relationships can help us grow as human beings. It's lovely to look at. The sequences from 1930's Alabama are lush and rich in lighting, color and costume (outstanding cinematography by Geoffrey Simpson). Fanny Flagg's and Carol Sobieski's script is moving as the characters lack Southern rural stereotypes and are displayed as individuals and real people.
As expected, excellent performances from Kathy Bates, Jessica Tandy, Mary Stuart Masterson and Mary-Louise Parker. Anyone of them could have walked away with an Oscar. To Ms. Parker's credit, her performance here could have catapulted her to vast commercial success, yet she followed her muse and heart via the theater instead. Although the various stories and themes are interesting, funny, nostalgic and sometimes tragic, the film is driven more by the characters and how the Evelyn/Ninny relationship (Bates/Tandy) parallels Ruth/Idgie (Parker/Masterson). It never bores as the characters and settings are so richly portrayed.
Director Jon Avnet, his cast and crew are to be congratulated. Fried Green Tomatoes is truly a work of art, one of the best films of the 1990's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ONE VISIT TO WHISTLE STOP NOT ENOUGH!, March 9 2003
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
Based on the novel by Fannie Flagg, "Fried Green Tomatoes" follows the exploits of Iggie Threadgoode, a tomboy who, after the loss of her beloved brother, endears herself to an upright young woman. In between their relationship the issues of racial tension, spousal abuse and murder are dealt with, maturely and honestly. This is the sort of film often disparagingly refered to as a woman's picture, but so full of charm, grace, intelligence and poignant performances that one could easily be a guy and cry by the end of the final fade out.
Universal Studios has done an exceptional job on this DVD. You not only get the extended director's cut of the film but a keen documentary and a host of other intelligent special features that, for once, do not satisfy simply superficial demands for "made-up" extras.
The print used to remaster the film has been well preserved and is beautifully represented. There is some minor pixelization, edge enhancement, shimmering details and faint (I mean faint) aliasing problems but nothing that will rob you from experiencing this movie with the greatest of emotional depth. If you have never seen this movie, it is on my top ten list of American films I think every living person should be required to see. Another is "The Shawshank Redemption". Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What's more to say..., Aug. 22 2002
By 
R. Gawlitta "Coolmoan" (Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA) - See all my reviews
I watched this after a few years, and was taken in, totally, all over again. Jon Avnet's debut as director is certainly admirable, as are the well received performances of Kathy Bates & Jessica Tandy. Fannie Flagg's novel provided a perfect opportunity for some great female performances. The Oscar nominated screenplay of Ms. Flagg & Carol Sobieski only lost the Oscar because it was up against another Woman-driven script, "Thelma & Louise" (which won). How often will that happen again? The real driving forces in this film are the performances of Mary Stuart Masterson and Mary Louise Parker (unappreciated, both, with a respectable body of work behind them) Chris O'Donnell, just before his remarkable performance in "Scent of a Woman", made a big impression. It seems strange to me that I remember Lesbian overtones from the press about this film and, though, understandable, I don't know why friendship films like "Butch Cassidy" or "Thelma" or the original Oscar-winner "Wings" never got that buzz. People in love, even platonically, should be applauded. There's not enough love out there, lately...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A feast of delectable entertainment, Jan. 25 2002
By 
Kenton Larsen (Winnipeg, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In an era where most women's film roles are confined to stereotypical sex objects and second bananas, Fried Green Tomatoes is a breath of fresh air.
The film, directed by Jon Avnet, boasts not one, but four strong women's roles. They are executed to near perfection by actresses Kathy Bates, Mary Stuart Masterson, Mary-Louise Parker and Jessica Tandy.
Adapted from from Fannie Flagg's novel, Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, the film tells two fascinating, intertwining stories.
The first centers on the Bates character, a middle-aged woman attempting to make sense of life and menopause. She meets a nursing home resident played by Tandy, whom she visits for solace. Tandy shares her recollections of life in her hometown of Whistle Stop, which become the film's second story.
Tandy and Bates are excellent, as one might expect from two Oscar winners. The star turns, however, come courtesy of Parker and Masterson; their performances make the flashback sequences the most beautiful and telling parts of the film.
Though some might dismiss Fried Green Tomatoes as strictly the stuff of sentimentalists, it offers more than just good feelings. In one scene, there is a surprising act of violence that culminates in a scene of disgustingly fitting logic, and racial attitudes are also explored.
No matter how you slice it, Fried Green Tomatoes is a feast of delectable entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fried Green Tomatoes (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 5.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews