sports Tools Registry summer boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Music Deals Store

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars179
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 144 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on January 8, 2012
One of my all favourites. Initially, the DVD stopped playing at 1 hr 30 mins - no problem for Amazon. I had the option of a replacement or my money back and chose to get a replacement. Amazon emailed a return postage paid label and return coding slip and sent a replacement out immediately which I received very quickly. I even got an email letting me know they had received the one I had returned.

I thoroughly enjoyed the movie. One I have seen several times but the story is so engaging I wanted in my collection of favourites. Kathy Bates is great, so is Jessica Tandy.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2009
Je ne veux qu'avertir que cet excellent film, dans l'édition ici présentée, ne comporte pas de piste en français, comme cela est faussement annoncé.

Il faudrait que Amazon veille à beaucoup plus de rigueur à cet égard. J'ai déjà vécu la situation inverse ou la piste française était présente pour un DVD qui affichait ne pas en disposer.

Ça me semble très très important.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2004
I'm always surprised how badly great storytelling makes it to the screen. Particularly, great Southern stories, which tend to make it to the big screen replete with caricatures and stereotypes. I recall, with particular sadness, the movie adaptation of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. While this adaptation to the screen of Flagg's tremendously moving novel does have its share of simple, stereotypical southern "archetypes", these are largely drawn from Flagg's book, and are largely essential to the story. It is, without a doubt, one of the most enjoyable movies I have ever seen and, ten years after first seeing it, it still brings raucous laughter and tears to my eyes. It's the classic "story within the story", and begins with the introduction of a tenacious elderly widow to a repressed younger southern housewife in a nursing home in rural Alabama. What starts off to the housewife as polite and indulgent small talk of past acquaintances with a likely senile elderly woman turns rapidly into an engrossing story with what must be the best "hook line" in storytelling ("Why anybody would have thought she killed that man is beyond me!"). This story then becomes a parable which the housewife uses to change her life for the better.
While certainly a moral parable of the greater value systems of past times, and of loyalty and courage in the face of bigotry and oppression, the story never loses its infectious humor, despite some genuinely tragic events. The lesbian theme of the book is only mildly hinted at, and one would almost overlook it were one not to deliberately search for it. Some of the more brutal aspects of the book are retained, with the rampant racism and wife-abuse still harrowingly reflected, if toned down. Consequently, younger viewers may best appreciate the film in the company of an adult. Regardless, this is one of the best "feeling good" movies I have ever seen, and being a Southerner from an area very near that depicted in the book, makes me pine for the South in profound ways. It's a film about empowerment and, more importantly, the empowerment one gains through friends, and through standing up for one's friends, and through an unshakable belief in self-respect.
No little credit for the success of the film goes to the incredibly strong performances of Masterson as the tom-boyish Idgie Threadgood, and Marie Louise-Parker as Ruth Jamison, along with the underrated performance of Stan Shaw, one of TV's great character actors, as Big George. However, the film's strongest performances come from three grande dames of the screen (and stage): Cicely Tyson, as Sissy, Jessica Tandy, as Ninny Threadgood, and Kathy Bates, as Evelyn Couch. While Tandy and Bates have received their due, Tyson's performance, as always, is often overlooked.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2003
This movie gets high marks in every category for faithfulness to the original book by Fannie Flagg. Kathy Bates plays an ignored wife just trying desperately to get her husband's attention. She visits her mother-in-law at a nursing home, but the nasty old woman throws things at her and she retreats to the community room to eat candy from her purse - and there she meets a lonely old woman (Jessica Tandy, so you just KNOW how good this movie will be!) whose tale of a lifelong friendship between Izzy and Ruth (Mary Stuart Masterson and Mary-Louise Parker) begins to help Bates change her life.
The story of Izzy and Ruth is told in flashback, back to the days during the Depression when they ran The Whistlestop Café by the side of the train tracks in a No Place little town in Georgia. The relationship of the two women to each other, to Ruth's son and her abusive ex-husband, to the African-American figures who carry epic roles, and to the families involved on both sides of the color line. It's a story of triumph over huge odds, of love and friendship, of personal growth and ultimately of dignity.
And it's funny as all get-out. Highest, highest rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2003
Reviewed Date: October 2003
Studio: Universal Studios
Genre: Drama
Exposure: Color
Running Time: 130 Minutes
Rating: PG-13
Release Year: 1991
Directed By: Jon Aunet
Starring: Kathy Bates, Mary Stuart Masterson, Mary-Louise Parker, and Jessica Tandy.
Co-Starring: Gailard Sartain, Stan Shaw, Cicely Tyson, Gary Basaraba, Grace Zabriskie, Richard Riehle, Grayson Fricke, Lashondra Phillips, Enjolik Oree, Nick Searcy, and Ginny Parker.
If you want to see a good movie for the whole family, "Fried Green Tomatoes" is the movie for you. It shows friendship, compassion, humor, laughter, and real life encounters.
The setting takes place in the late 1980's and takes you back in time a half century to the town of Whistle Stop, Alabama.
"Fried Green Tomatoes" is a movie for anyone. It can make the best of us laugh and cry through the entire movie. "Fried Green Tomatoes" is a movie that gives you two different stories within itself. One story takes you back to the 1930's. The other part of the story takes place in the 1980's between Ninny Threadgooda, telling the story of her past to help her new friend Evelyn get her life together.
The frienships made within the movie show that this woman do hold their friendships in very high regards. The friendship in the 1930's would help both women to get through some really tough times. The friendship in the 1980's between Ninny and Evelyn keep these two ladies on track.
I give this movie 5 stars because it is a movie for anyone. Also because it shows how good friends will help a loved one in need of there help at a drop of a hat. This movie is just a well rounded movie, filled with emotion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2000
If you haven't seen Fried Green Tomatoes, don't wait, here it is. One of the best films of the 90's, it's one of those films where everything seems to come together seamlessly. Featuring wonderful, underrated performances, particularily by Mary-Louise Parker (Grand Canyon), Mary Stuart Masterson (Some Kind of Wonderful), Jessica Tandy (nominated for an Oscar for this performance) and also noteworthy supporting performances by Gailard Sartain as Ed Couch, Stan Shaw as Big George, Richard Riehle as Reverend Scroggins, Nancy Moore Atchison as the youngest Idgie, Raynor Scheine as Curtis Smoote and Chris O"Donnell, in one of his first film performances, shines as Buddy Threadgoode. The film, based on the novel by Fanny Flagg (aka the actress Patricia Neal-remember her in Hud?) interweaves tales which illuminate the hopes, dreams, struggles, heartbreak and loves of several women; the stages of understanding women go through in consciousness raising; and four stages of a womans life: childhood, adolescence, adulthood and old age. Although it's definitely a chick flick, men are, or should be, interested in what makes women tick and here's a good start. Directed by Jon Avnet (Up Close & Personal), music by Thomas Newman, cinema photography by Geoffrey Simpson (Little Women) and co-written by Fanny Flagg and Carol Sobieski (Oscar nomination for best adaped screenplay).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2001
I've read Fannie Flagg's book which eventually became this movie. The book was very good and this video is even better. It brings to life this small sleepy town and its characters. The acting was fantastic.
Better yet is the opportunity to visit the small community where the film was made. That's right--go to Juliette, Georgia to see Smokey Lonesome's shack. See that fabulous barbeque pit where Frank Bennett became so tasty even though he was a dispicable man. See the headstone of Buddy Jrs arm. Tour Ruth & Idgy's home. Look at the spillway where Idgy fished and the railroad tracks that took Buddy's life and Buddy Jrs arm. BUT most importantly--enter The Whistlestop Cafe and sit down for an order of Fried Green Tomatoes. That's right--the cafe is there and open to the public. You'll never forget your visit to this little community. AND it will help even more to bring to life this wonderful film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2000
I recently purchased a copy of this film to add to my video collection. I saw it when it first came out and loved it and still enjoy it as much today. You become especially bonded with the characters in this movie and it is very well acted. The story line, blending modern day with those of days gone by gives you a little extra for your money. Kathy Bates is absolutely outstanding in this film as is Jessica Tandy, a long-time favorite of mine. You can't help but fall in love with Idgy and her Huck Finn type personality and the gentle yet strong, Ruth. I movie worth owning and watching regularly, just to bring up your spirits and make you feel good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2000
I love movies with a historical theme and this movie shows life in the early years of the 1900's and through the depression era.
The two main characters - Ruth and Idgy (sp?)are very strong women who have hard lives but continue to rise above their challenges and not lose their humanity and compassion. These woman are interesting because they show their willingness and ability to take a strong moral stand and not back down - even when their very lives are threatened.
And the characters are all so interesting and believable. It is quite an intense little movie.
Leaves you thinking about the characters, long after the movie has ended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2003
This is such a onderful movie. Based on the award winning novel by Fannie Flagg, this movie is about a troubled woman Evelyn Couch, who makes friends with a lady in a local nursing home, and listens to stories about her family. Many of which are shown in the film. Some parts are funny like when Evelyn Couch (Kathy Bates) rear-ends the Volkswagen six times. Some parts are sad like when Buddy gets hit by a train. Some are even scary like when the KKK arrives and takes Ruth's baby. But I really get a big laugh out of the joke about the lake being carried over to Georgia.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$4.88