Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars According to Leonard Maltin, this film is a BOMB
I am writing this review to one of my favorite childhood films as an act of furious rebellion against Leonard Maltin's unjust "BOMB" rating in his Movie/Video Guide. Is the 1974 disaster classic "Earthquake" a BOMB? (Shaking head "No" in best Maltin fashion) Certainly not! Is "Earthquake" a five star film? (Shaking head "Yes") Of course it is!
"Earthquake" lovers...
Published on May 3 2003 by Chris K. Wilson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Too many disaster movies. WAY too many!!
In the 1970's, Hollywood seemed to fall in love with a new genre of movie: the disaster film. By, the time "Earthquake" was released in 1974, film audiences had already been treated to big guns of the disaster movie canon: "Airport", "Poseidon Adventure", and "The Towering Inferno". By now, Hollywood had perfected the disaster film formula. It includes the macho...
Published on July 5 2002 by Patrick L. Randall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The only decent dvd made by Goodtimes Video, Nov. 4 2003
By 
CALLAHAN "HARRY" (San Francisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Earthquake [Import] (DVD)
This classic movie was somehow given to the "Goodtimes Video Company" that is know for releasing horrible picture quality on their dvds. "Earthquake" however is decent. The picture quality is as good as the vhs video release and the only bonus to this dvd is the fact is is in widescreen format. Goodtimes Video Company is the worst company to buy from in my opinion. I avoid buying from Goodtimes like the plague. I would say this dvd is excellent quality comparred to anything else I've seen from Goodtimes besides "Airport 75". The quality of picture is just like the video. No new enhancments or re digitalized or anything. The picture is as good (if not a touch better) than what you'd see on vhs or television, so it is worht buying for a low cost.The sound quality SHOULD'VE been redone in DTS or Dolby Digital just because of the old Senssurround that went with this movie. However the sound quality on this dvd is in mono, the quality is not that bad for what you've heard before on vhs or television. I would say, if this is the only release on DVD available, it is worth buying if you loved this movie.The ONLY other dvd release by Goodtimes Video that was done ok was "Airport 75". ALL other dvds released by this company have been horrible and not worth a nickle. "Airport 77" was absolutly horrendous to watch on their dvd. Bad picture (dark) and had a soundtrack suppossedly called Dolby Digital that in my opinion was a lie because all I heard was mono.Anyways, "Earthquake" was an ok buy at a low enough cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thrills, Chills, and Fun!, June 16 2003
By 
sweetmolly (RICHMOND, VA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Earthquake [Import] (DVD)
"Earthquake" was a late entry into the early '70s Disaster film mania, and the audiences had become a little jaded after whetting their appetites on "Towering Inferno" and "The Poseidon Adventure." But hey! "Earthquake" has its own charms and some surprisingly good special effects.
Charlton Heston is in his stone-faced glory playing a heroic engineer who is trying to save Los Angeles from a devastating 7.2 earthquake. Dams break, buildings tumble, glass flies, panic and hysteria reign. Beautiful Ava Gardner (who looked as if she was seriously wondering what in the [heck] she was doing in this movie) plays Heston's spoiled, expensive wife. To give Heston the proper angst, he has reluctantly fallen in love with the nubile Genevieve Bujold who fetchingly needs rescuing quite often. The ending surprised me; I wonder if Charlton insisted upon it.
"Earthquake" delivers. If your expectations are for deep characterizations and startling ambiguities; you will be disappointed. If you want a couple hours of thrills and mindless fun, "Earthquake" will satisfy. My only complaints are the overly long set-up before the earthquake begins and a vague sadness that I haven't the facilities for "Sensurround."
-sweetmolly-Amazon.com Reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thrills, Chills, and Fun!, June 16 2003
By 
sweetmolly (RICHMOND, VA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Earthquake [Import] (DVD)
"Earthquake" was a late entry into the early '70s Disaster film mania, and the audiences had become a little jaded after whetting their appetites on "Towering Inferno" and "The Poseidon Adventure." But hey! "Earthquake" has its own charms and some surprisingly good special effects.
Charlton Heston is in his stone-faced glory playing a heroic engineer who is trying to save Los Angeles from a devastating 7.2 earthquake. Dams break, buildings tumble, glass flies, panic and hysteria reign. Beautiful Ava Gardner ... plays Heston's spoiled, expensive wife. To give Heston the proper angst, he has reluctantly fallen in love with the nubile Genevieve Bujold who fetchingly needs rescuing quite often. The ending surprised me; I wonder if Charlton insisted upon it.
"Earthquake" delivers. If your expectations are for deep characterizations and startling ambiguities; you will be disappointed. If you want a couple hours of thrills and mindless fun, "Earthquake" will satisfy. My only complaints are the overly long set-up before the earthquake begins and a vague sadness that I haven't the facilities for "Sensurround."
-sweetmolly-Amazon Reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars According to Leonard Maltin, this film is a BOMB, May 3 2003
By 
Chris K. Wilson "Chris Kent" (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Earthquake [Import] (DVD)
I am writing this review to one of my favorite childhood films as an act of furious rebellion against Leonard Maltin's unjust "BOMB" rating in his Movie/Video Guide. Is the 1974 disaster classic "Earthquake" a BOMB? (Shaking head "No" in best Maltin fashion) Certainly not! Is "Earthquake" a five star film? (Shaking head "Yes") Of course it is!
"Earthquake" lovers across the globe must unite. We cannot allow Maltin's terrible injustice to continue a day longer! I say lobby for two stars today. Tomorrow? Perhaps four. But the "Earthquake" rebellion is still in its infancy, and we must take whatever star we can get.
Granted, we cannot watch this film in Sensurround (as I did as a child), but we can turn the volume up to maximum power during the main earthquake sequence. For those unaware, "Earthquake" won two Academy Awards for special effects. And the special effects, even by today's computer generated standards, are extraordinary. From dams bursting, to building's collapsing, to Walter Matthau trying to sip his giggling shot of whiskey, the action sequences in this film are unforgettable.
Let's not forget Charlton Heston's modified Blazer (complete with telephone!), which has to be one of the coolest movie autos since Steve McQueen's "Bullitt" Mustang. Of course, I have always tried to figure out how Lorne Greene could have fathered Ava Gardner at the tender age of seven. But hey! Weirder things in cinema history have happened (Kevin Costner following "Waterworld" with "The Postman" comes to mind).
But I digress. What I love about "Earthquake" is the beautiful Genevieve Bujold ("You made love to me with such anger.") as Chuck's mistress. She's a great cinema beauty. I love the salty George Kennedy as the tough cop we would all like to have on our block ("Earthquakes bring out the worst in people."). I love the seedy bar he goes to after a bad day on the job, complete with bald pool sharks, beads hanging in the doorway and the already-mentioned Mr. Matthau ("Bobby Riggs!") adorned in plaid bell bottoms and maroon pimp hat. Let's not forget Richard Roundtree as motorcycle daredevil Miles Quade ("Baby I'm tuned to just the right pitch!"), preparing for his loop-de-loop stunt just as the earthquake hits.
And finally, the moral choice Charlton Heston is forced to make by the film's conclusion. His wife (Ava Gardner) is being swept away in a flood, a few dyed hairs out of place, her white pants suit literally getting soaked! Chuck looks up through the manhole opening, where he can see the lovely Ms. Bujold staring back with concern. Paradise. Passion. A new start with the woman of his middle age dreams. What's he gonna do!?
By the film's final scene, the distinguished Lloyd Nolan stares at the crumbled buildings amidst the smoke and fire, dirt and sweat covering his tired face. He says to no one in particular, "This used to be a hell of a town." George Kennedy, tears in his eyes, shakes his head in agreement as John Williams' terrific musical score closes the show.
To call "Earthquake" a BOMB is entirely missing the point of why we watch and love films. "Caligula" is a BOMB. "Earthquake" is an immensely watchable, loveable pet. A testament of an era, line after quotable line, glorious like a funhouse at the local carnival. A few mirrors may be cracked and the hinges may squeak, but Mr. Maltin, this funhouse makes me smile. If "Earthquake" is a BOMB, then I wish Hollywood would make more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Jennings Lang does it again....., Dec 29 2002
By 
S. Smith "ltcolkiranerys" (Arvada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Earthquake [Import] (DVD)
As a producer the late Jennings Lang has been known for doing really lame sequels to movies like Airport, but on occasion he's turned out some cracking good movies, and Earthquake is one of these. Set in Southern California along the San Andreas Fault line, Earthquake is the story of several people who are brought together when the mother of all quakes hits LA: Stewart Graff (Charlton Heston), an ex-football player-turned construction engineer who is cheating on his demanding, attention-hungry wife (Ava Gardner) with the widow of a man he had once worked with (Genevieve Bujold); Sam Royce (the late Lorne Greene), Graff's father-in-law and boss; Lew Slade (Airport perennial George Kennedy), a tough LA cop who has just been put on suspension and who now finds himself helping with the rescue efforts following the quake; Miles Quade (Shaft's Richard Roundtree), a daredevil motorcyclist who is also pressed into service in the rescue efforts; and Victoria Principal as the sister of Quade's manager and best friend, who is also the recipient of some very unwelcome attention from a young man (Marjoe Gortner) who works at the grocery store where she shops and who is also an Army reservist who is pressed into service to prevent looting in the aftermath of the quake.
Although I found Earthquake to be a very entertaining film, I did have some problems with the DVD release. For one thing, there are no special features on it apart from some production notes on the film. You would think that a movie that inspired a ride at Universal Studios' theme parks would have some featurettes from the surviving cast and crew, but nada! I also had issues with the fact that certain scenes included in several television airings as well as the original theatrical release were left out of both the VHS and DVD releases, scenes that I felt were somewhat important to the story and should have been included, at the very least in a "deleted scenes" section of the DVD. Despite all this I found myself enjoying the movie and would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Real Disaster, Nov. 3 2002
This review is from: Earthquake (VHS Tape)
Although I usually get a kick out of watching the Seventies' disaster flicks, I have to say I was kind of hoping the quake would kill off most of the cast in this one, since the characters are so underdeveloped and unlikeable, I didn't care what happened to any of them. Charlton Heston, jaw firmly clenched, stars as an engineer in a bad marriage and beginning an affair with struggling actress Genevieve Bujold. His wife is played by a screeching, over the top Ava Gardner, and her father is played by Lorne Greene (ok ... think about that for a moment) who happens to be Heston's boss. Others include the necessary George Kennedy as a frustrated cop, Richard Roundtree as a daredevil motorcyclist, and Victoria Principal as Roundtree's partner's sister. If you thought Principal had big hair in her Eighties' soap opera days, get a load of the 'do they put her into in this film. I don't know how she managed not to tip over from the weight of it! She must have been left with back problems. But back to the story, or what there is of it. A huge earthquake strikes Los Angeles, placing the lives of all these fine citizens in peril. Skyscrapers fall, buildings explode, fires are everywhere, floods begin. Other than a mild interest in the Bujold character and her son (she's the only touch of class in this movie), I didn't like or care about anybody else, and if you don't have that, the film is pretty much over after the special effects stop. The effects are good for the most part, but the script and direction and acting are so poor they ruin the rest of the film. It's a disaster alright, but probably not in the way the producers intended it to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Too many disaster movies. WAY too many!!, July 5 2002
By 
Patrick L. Randall (Silver Spring, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Earthquake [Import] (DVD)
In the 1970's, Hollywood seemed to fall in love with a new genre of movie: the disaster film. By, the time "Earthquake" was released in 1974, film audiences had already been treated to big guns of the disaster movie canon: "Airport", "Poseidon Adventure", and "The Towering Inferno". By now, Hollywood had perfected the disaster film formula. It includes the macho leading man who has all the answers and leads people to safety (while typically battling a failing marriage and worrying about his mistress), the all-star cast, the clueless people who ignore warning signs and act stupid when the disaster occurs, the silly rescue sequences, the cheesy (but fun) special effects of the disaster, and, most importantly, George Kennedy(!). The macho guy in this movie is ... Charlton Heston, who is dealing with a crumbling marriage to Ava Gardner while carrying on an affair with a young Genevieve Bujold. All the while, his business partner and father-in-law, Lorne Greene, turns a blind eye to the marital problems. There are a few scenes where some scientists predict the earthquake coming and where some dam workers are affected by the early tremors. There are a few other generic 'slice-of-life' caricatures going about their lives completely oblivious of the impending doom. None of the characters are the tiniest bit memorable. Once the earthquake actually starts, the movie gets moderately entertaining. The special effects are cheesy, but it still is amusing to watch. Of course, the earthquake is the big thing in this movie. The story had little cohesion prior to the disaster and almost none after the disaster. There are just a bunch of rescue attempts and scenes of general anarchy in the aftermath. All in all, there is very little to recommend this movie. It is nothing more than a generic, paint-by-numbers disaster flick. But, if you like the disaster movie genre and it comes on a local TV station some Saturday afternoon, it may be worth a little bit of time watching... like when you're doing your laundry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic 'disaster'..., Dec 8 2002
This review is from: Earthquake [Import] (DVD)
The most catastrophic earthquake hits Southern California, levels Los Angeles and with it, changes the lives of all people who live there. 'Grand Hotel' formula with larger than life acting, plus some of the most chilling special effects ever filmed. Earthquake still remains one of the most successful disaster movies in film history. Charlton Heston plays the construction engineer, Ava Gardner is his spoiled, rich wife & George Kenedy plays the tough cop. Also starring Lorne Greene, Genevieve Bujold, Marjoe Gortner, Lloyd Nolan, Barry Sullivan, Victoria Principal & Richard Rowntree watch out for Walter Matthau in a cameo role.
An average DVD presentation, the PAL version released in some European countries is much superior than this one (with Charlton Heston & Ava Gardner on the cover) & includes 4.1 Sensurround & presented in 2:35:1 Anamorphic Widescreen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Goodtimes deserves credit for fine DVD release!, Jan. 8 2003
By 
Christian Lehrer "Christian Lehrer" (Bay Point, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Earthquake [Import] (DVD)
"Earthquake" was a great 70's disaster movie starring Charlton Heston, Lorne Greene, Richard Roundtree, Genevieve Bujold, Victoria Principal, George Kennedy and many others. I was very happy to find that the Goodtimes release of Universals "Earthquake" was widescreen and in dolby stereo surround. The picture and sound quality exceeded my expectations which were low due to the budget price. Frankly, I didn't buy this movie on Laserdisc because the MCA-Universal release was priced a little to high for a seventies disaster flick. I hope Universal will continue to license Goodtimes to issue many of its older films. I like the prices and am amazed by the overall quality I am finding. Thanks, CAL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Special Effects!, March 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Earthquake [Import] (DVD)
Yeah this movie is probably kind of dated but I still have good memories of watching Earthquake on TV with my family when I was a little kid and wouldn't mind watching it again and maybe even having it in my DVD collection, I remember that there were a lot of characters and some of the dialogue and plot was kind of cheesy but the special effects were impressive and Charleton Heston is one of the best actors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Earthquake
Earthquake by Mark Robson (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews