Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute riot! Hilarious! Great musical!
Matthew Broddick, although usually a 2-D actor had an amazing performance, along with Will Ferrel and the others. This movie was hilarious and the musical parts were good. The writing was witty and it had good timing, "Oola Dance" was priceless and it was all in all a fun film.
Published on June 5 2006 by RICK

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Highlight, Uma shows her Thurman's
Max Bialystock (Nathan Lane) did it again. Yep his plays are flops. Leo Bloom (Matthew Broderick) accountant inadvertently suggests that one can make a mint by selling more than 100% of a flop production. This sets Max in motion to produce the floppiest play yet.
Will their scheme succeed?

Well ever since his successes in his youth Matthew Broderick has...
Published on May 25 2006 by bernie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute riot! Hilarious! Great musical!, June 5 2006
This review is from: The Producers (2005) (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Matthew Broddick, although usually a 2-D actor had an amazing performance, along with Will Ferrel and the others. This movie was hilarious and the musical parts were good. The writing was witty and it had good timing, "Oola Dance" was priceless and it was all in all a fun film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lane and Broderick rock, June 27 2011
This review is from: The Producers (2005) (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Make sure you see the original before you see this one. This is a simple and quite a funnymovie, a real compliement to the original cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully Campy and Fun and Entertaining. A Treat!, June 28 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I thought this movie was a wonderfully wacky, over-the-top, campy musical comedy - campy and wonderfully entertaining! Nathan Lane was great, and although it took a little while to get used to Mathew Broderick in this unfamiliar character, I found him warm and sympathetic - and I didn't know he could sing either! I was surprised (in a good way) as to how many other "name" actors (Uma Thurman being one) were in this film!
If you're looking for a subtle comedy - what are you thinking? This is Mel Brooks!
If you just want an energetic entertaining romp, this is your ticket! I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Highlight, Uma shows her Thurman's, May 25 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Producers (2005) (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Max Bialystock (Nathan Lane) did it again. Yep his plays are flops. Leo Bloom (Matthew Broderick) accountant inadvertently suggests that one can make a mint by selling more than 100% of a flop production. This sets Max in motion to produce the floppiest play yet.
Will their scheme succeed?

Well ever since his successes in his youth Matthew Broderick has had a string of mediocre movies. The string has finally broken with this less than mediocre production. One plus is that they did not try to mimic the original film. The addition of several new musical pieces and keeping "Springtime for Hitler" shows a great effort at creativity while retaining the essence of the story. However the musical pieces were more vulgar than funny and relied of base language and gestures than on skill or relevancy.

There were some good actors such as Hilda the wrong way pigeon. And Uma looked like she had fun in this one. However most of the actors including Matthew Broderick looked like they were just walking through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over the top, Oct. 20 2008
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Producers (2005) (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Max Bialystock (Nathan Lane) is a loser as a Broadway producer, but his accountant Leo Bloom (Matthew Broderick) helps him come with up with a plan to produce the worst show ever on the Great White Way, one they know will close after only one performance, and then abscond with the money they raised. The show they're sure will bomb is called "Springtime for Hitler."

Based on Mel Brooks' Broadway musical that was based on his non-musical movie, this is pretty much a filmed stage play starring the play's two leads, Lane and Broderick. I like Nathan Lane, but this is too much of a good thing; he's too loud, too mincing, and too broad and is exhausting to watch. Broderick is full of wide-eyed, Ferris Bueller-charm and likeability, but he is tiresome after a while, too. Will Farrell was completely awful as the Nazi-loving playwright and really ruined the show for me. All the dialogue is SHOUTED as if they're still trying to reach the last row of the balcony and they all seem so enamored of themselves and their material that it's off-putting.

I liked the original Producers back in 1968, which was nutty and wacky and funny; this time around, the movie is too big for the big screen. I grew weary and wanted it to end. I can certainly see how charming Lane and Broderick would be on the stage, especially if you're seated 100 feet from them. They're adorable and talented and the story is funny; it just doesn't work on the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars i just didn't get it at all, Oct. 30 2007
This review is from: The Producers (2005) (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Well,i tried to watch this movie,i really did.but i had to quit
watching after 30 minutes.this movie is based on the musical of the
same name,and it shows.it plays like a musical all right,but in my mind
they forgot the movie.i mean,i just didn't think there was any flow to
the things at all. everything felt kinda disjointed.the actors(Matthew
Broderick,Nathan Lane and even the extras)seem to play their parts as
if they are actually in a Broadway musical,rather than a theatrical
movie.at least that's the impression i had.but then, that could be the
whole point.but it just didn't work for me.i think you have to have a
certain sense of humour in order to enjoy this movie.i only watched 30
minutes,but that was enough for me to know it wasn't my type of
movie.if you like musicals,you probably will like this movie,but then
again,you could simply go see the exact same thing on stage.in my
opinion The Producers(2005)version is a 0/10.not because it's an awful
movie,but because it didn't resonate with me at all.but others may
enjoy it and find it very funny.if you like this film,you might also
want to check out the 1968 version starring Gene Wilder and Zero
Mostel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Producers (2005) (Widescreen) (Bilingual)
The Producers (2005) (Widescreen) (Bilingual) by Susan Stroman (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews