Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally entertaining., April 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emperor of the North (DVD)
Best railroad movie ever. Incredible film with a superb cast depicting the depression era. Lee Marvin and Enrest Borgnine at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREAT TRAIN ADVENTURE, March 24 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: EMPEROR OF THE NORTH (DVD)
A fantastic action drama about hobo's in hard times hitching their way across america on trains. Lee Marvin and Keith Carradine are two such hobo's who dare to ride engine #19; who's conductor is Shack, (A big tough psycho played to perfection by Ernest Borgnine) who has no problem in lethaly dissposing of any freeloaders. Great cinamatography, and a great theme song sung by Marty Robbins. Kind of a precursor to the 1985 action hit RUNNAWAY TRAIN, only set during the time of the depresion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, March 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emperor of the North (DVD)
The best movie ever. I ordered this for my husband and I agree with him very very good. Like my husband says this film is 20 years old don't you know this is good?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, Nov. 10 2013
By 
Diane Edwards - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Emperor of the North (DVD)
If you like Lee Marvin and Ernest Borgnine you will enjoy this movie. I liked it very much and look forward to watching it again in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great actors, June 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: EMPEROR OF THE NORTH (DVD)
Have not seen this movie yet. Bought it as a gift waiting to watch it with my friend, soon I hope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, tough if flawed Aldrich character study, April 11 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Emperor of the North (DVD)
Interesting, quasi-political film of depression era hobo (Lee Marvin) -
famous within hobo circles for being able to ride any train - trying to
ride one guarded by meanest guy in the world (Ernest Borgnine). He
picks up a young protégé (a very young Keith Carradine) along the
way who -- after much resistance - he accepts as the start of the
next generation of men who live by their wits and go their own way.

The acting is solid throughout. The score is a bit much at times, and
some of the writing is variable, but there are good scenes and
thoughtful ideas about the battle between 'freedom' and playing by the
rules along the way.

Aka 'The Emperor of the North Pole'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, tough if flawed Aldrich character study, April 11 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: EMPEROR OF THE NORTH (DVD)
Interesting, quasi-political film of depression era hobo (Lee Marvin) -
famous within hobo circles for being able to ride any train - trying to
ride one guarded by meanest guy in the world (Ernest Borgnine). He
picks up a young protégé (a very young Keith Carradine) along the
way who -- after much resistance - he accepts as the start of the
next generation of men who live by their wits and go their own way.

The acting is solid throughout. The score is a bit much at times, and
some of the writing is variable, but there are good scenes and
thoughtful ideas about the battle between 'freedom' and playing by the
rules along the way.

Aka 'The Emperor of the North Pole'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars steam locomotives, June 6 2010
By 
A. Shaw "al599" (Pictou, Nova Scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Emperor of the North (DVD)
A good movie only for the steam locomotives. It's not a great movie but Lee Marvin & Ernest Borgenine are pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

EMPEROR OF THE NORTH
CDN$ 24.93
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews