Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best
This film is a classic! I can't imagine anyone else playing this role other than Bette. She really owns it. Crawford, on other hand, was decent, but I'm sure anyone else could have replaced her...OUCH!! This dvd also comes with lot's of great extras---totally recommend it.
Published on May 14 2009 by Adriana Isabel Pena

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She's now known as Geriatric Jane
I had wanted to see this movie for yonks. I had assumed that Bette Davis' character had never been a star, and that she was only cruel to Joan Crawford's character because SHE had been a child star! Once all this confusion was cleared up, I began to actually watch the film.
Bette Davis was excellent as Baby Jane because she was so ugly, unpredictable and desperate...
Published on Jan. 25 2001 by Michelle K. Rogers


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, May 14 2009
By 
Adriana Isabel Pena (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whatever Happened to Baby Jane (DVD)
This film is a classic! I can't imagine anyone else playing this role other than Bette. She really owns it. Crawford, on other hand, was decent, but I'm sure anyone else could have replaced her...OUCH!! This dvd also comes with lot's of great extras---totally recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whatever happened to baby jane is such a riot!, Feb. 12 2009
This review is from: Whatever Happened to Baby Jane (DVD)
If you have a wicked cruel sense of humour and a drama queen sister you love to hate, this is the movie for you two to watch. My 12 year old niece was surprised how entertaining this old black and white movie was, she still raves about this film and still sings the theme song "letter to daddy" to this very day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic suspense..., Jan. 25 2010
By 
Raymond A. Smith (Surrey, B.C. Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whatever Happened to Baby Jane (DVD)
Bette Davis and Joan Crawford at their finest! They hated each other off screen and it translates wonderfully on screen! It is yet again another film that proves that you can have suspense, and frightening scenes WITHOUT gore or computer generated effects. It relies on lighting, sound and acting TALENT to get the message across.The picture and sound quality is amazing and reproduces well through 5.1 surround sound. For fans of smart horror as appossed to "Shock Schlok" I highly recommend this film as well as "Hush, hush sweet Charlotte"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, June 6 2009
By 
Snugs (Calgary, Alberta) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whatever Happened to Baby Jane (DVD)
What can you say about a movie starring Bette Davis and Joan Crawford. An absolute classic and just as good today as when it was released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She's now known as Geriatric Jane, Jan. 25 2001
By 
Michelle K. Rogers (Land Downunder) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had wanted to see this movie for yonks. I had assumed that Bette Davis' character had never been a star, and that she was only cruel to Joan Crawford's character because SHE had been a child star! Once all this confusion was cleared up, I began to actually watch the film.
Bette Davis was excellent as Baby Jane because she was so ugly, unpredictable and desperate. She never missed a beat... unless she was having a particularly insane day. You know what it's like when you're stuck in the past and you can't get over the fact that you're not five years old anymore... you don't know what that's like? Oh, good.
There are a couple of slip ups in the movie, deeming it a little unrealistic, but if you didn't let them pass, you'd have the movie end prematurely I guess.
It is kind of haunting and sad to see the photos and memoirs of both women when they were young, loved and famous. It really shows what damage you can do to yourself when you're not willing to age gracefully. (Take note, Melanie Griffith)
This was quite a demented flick, and I was left with a slightly off after-taste once it ended. It makes you wonder if Shirley Temple was ever that crazy, or maybe whether Macauley Culkin is going to end up in an asylum. Worth a look, but not if you're looking for a reason to smile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 8 2014
Betty Davis and Joan Crawford amazing in this movie especially Betty Davis. Movie is before its time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2006 Warner Two-Disc Special Edition DVD, April 20 2014
By 
Keith Little - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whatever Happened to Baby Jane (DVD)
You get 2 discs in this DVD set. Great film, I highly recommend it.

Disc 1 - What Ever Happened To Baby Jane? - 1962, 134 mins, B&W, widescreen 1.85:1, audio: English & French Dolby Digital Mono, subtitles: English, French & Spanish, scene selection. Extras: commentary by Charles Busch & John Epperson, theatrical trailer (2:23)

Disc 2 - Featurettes & documentaries - Bette And Joan: Blind Ambition (29:45), Behind The Scenes With Baby Jane (6:37), excerpt from 1962 Andy Williams TV show (2:04), All About Bette (48:08), Film Profile: Joan Crawford (28:34)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There is something relevant in this picture for any sibling!, April 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dear Sirs/ Dear Madams:

I originally saw this picture in the 70's on late night TV and was blown away by it's insight into sibling rivalry and history.

Having the DVD will only serve to reinforce my belief every time I watch it.

Lewis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An older Davis making a masterpiece horror story!, Sept. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A menacing Betty Davis along with an elegant famous sister make a stunning modern horror story. A definite MUST SEE for teenagers and adults-no youngsters or easily frightened seniors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars whatever happened to baby jane, Aug. 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Whatever Happened to Baby Jane (DVD)
this movie is a classic, very very good even if it's an older movie, betty davis & joan crawford are very good actresses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whatever Happened to Baby Jane
CDN$ 18.70
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews