Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dumbo (70th Anniversary Edition) blu ray...another timeless classic from Disney
Before discussing the video, we should bring back a little history about under what conditions Dumbo was made. Dumbo was the fourth feature film by Disney: 1) Snow White and The Seven Dwarfs (1937), Pinocchio (1940) and Fantasia (1940). After excessive spending on Fantasia, and despite the popularity and critical acclaim heaped upon Snow White, Pinocchio and Fantasia,...
Published on Sept. 20 2011 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute Movie With a Good Message about Not Being Mean!
I watched Dumbo with my nephews and a kid I used to babysit when I was a teenager and I thought it was such a cute movie and also very heartwarming and I liked the message that the movie was trying to make about not being cruel and teasing because someone is different like say for example not making fun of someone for having large ears, etc. Basically I think this is just...
Published on March 11 2004 by Calinira


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dumbo (70th Anniversary Edition) blu ray...another timeless classic from Disney, Sept. 20 2011
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Before discussing the video, we should bring back a little history about under what conditions Dumbo was made. Dumbo was the fourth feature film by Disney: 1) Snow White and The Seven Dwarfs (1937), Pinocchio (1940) and Fantasia (1940). After excessive spending on Fantasia, and despite the popularity and critical acclaim heaped upon Snow White, Pinocchio and Fantasia, these films were not moneymakers and Disney studio was almost bankrupt. Additionally, due to the war in Europe, they were cutoff from the overseas market. So, what Disney needed was an inexpensive box office success, and Dumbo was to be it. It would be a relatively short film with a concise story and low production costs that would appeal to a wide audience.

At first glance, and in the context of Disney's own efforts up to then, Dumbo appears less artistic, more cartoony than the three earlier films. In the case of Dumbo, this art has been pared down to the absolute minimum, consistent with pleasing audiences and making money. And Dumbo did make a profit, and is credited for having saved the studio.

VIDEO:

This 70th Anniversary Edition film comes in AVC/MPEG-4 1080p 1.37:1. Although this film was made with a lower budget compared to Fantasia or Pinocchio, and the restoration was not as detailed as Pinocchio and Sleeping Beauty, the final result is still a very pleasing and amazing picture. Colours are solid and vibrant at times. The transfer is so clear and sharp that strokes from a paintbrush are often noticeable, as well as slight aging of the print and faint blemishes. Dumbo here showcases deep blacks up through clean whites. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

Dumbo's soundtrack has been fully restored and given a brand new lossless DTS-HD Master Audio 7.1 mix that is spacious and dynamic. However, the purists would have preferred that the original Mono and a new Mono lossless track be included.

The film won an Oscar for Best Musical Score and a nomination for the song "Baby Mine". And look at how Disney dramatizes the song in a series of mother and child tableaux, alternating sentiment with deft humour. At least the song had the good taste to lose to the Meryl Steep of composers: Jerome Kern, for "The Last Time I Saw Paris." (4/5)

Dumbo is such a good film, that you can completely understand it without audio, solely based upon its plotting and the characters' expressions. That said, note that neither Dumbo nor his mother talk. Their actions certainly do speak louder than words.

The film is pure emotion; a sweet tale of keeping up one's spirits even in the worst of times. Dumbo is a distillation of everything Disney animators had learned to that point. Animation, remember, is not the art of painting, but bringing drawings to life - to animate the inanimate. It isn't animals that they are breathing life into, it is drawings of animals, or people, or tress, or anything they choose. Its precision in storytelling (film was only 64 minutes long) is groundbreaking for an animated feature.

Dumbo is a sweet and short film about an outsider utilizing his scorned assets to his advantage. Compared to its 60th Anniversary DVD edition, both the video and audio are vastly improved. It is a timeless classic that the whole family will enjoy...again and again. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is exactly what I wanted, May 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Walt Disney movies are part of the collection that I have for my children. I love every single one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Family Feature, May 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great film for all the family. Walt Disney was on a roll and number one in animated feature films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have!, April 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Doesn't get any better than Dumbo for a 3-4 year old. My daughter was completely taken with the story of Dumbo and got emotional during the movie. I ordered this on a Wednesday morning and had it Friday afternoon!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dumbo, Feb. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love this movie. Makes me cry every time. The case was in excellent condition and the visuals are awesome. Recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic restored!, Jan. 24 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Despite its writing issues which are strictly a product of society in its time (and a great teaching opportunity now), I was happy to see this classic brighter and ready for the Blu-Ray era in this release.

My son and I love this disc and he still occasionally wants to see it despite being 8 as I write this.

Paul
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute Movie With a Good Message about Not Being Mean!, March 11 2004
This review is from: Dumbo (VHS Tape)
I watched Dumbo with my nephews and a kid I used to babysit when I was a teenager and I thought it was such a cute movie and also very heartwarming and I liked the message that the movie was trying to make about not being cruel and teasing because someone is different like say for example not making fun of someone for having large ears, etc. Basically I think this is just a really cute movie and I enjoyed watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely wonderful in every way, Sept. 15 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dumbo (Big Top Edition) (DVD)
For some reason, I never saw most of the Disney classic movies when I was growing up - but I'm certainly having a good time watching them all these years later. Dumbo, of course, may be the most beloved Disney film of them all - despite the fact that it is relatively short (64 minutes), sports a pretty simplistic style of animation, and features a main character that never speaks a single word. The film's popularity is due in large part to the story itself, as there is a little bit of Dumbo in all of us. At some time, we've all been embarrassed by our appearance, laughed at and snubbed by those around us, and been made to feel like a complete loser.

Everyone knows the story already. Poor little Dumbo, with his big ears, is ridiculed and called a freak by the other elephants, harassed by kids going in to see the circus, separated from his mother, and eventually made into a clown, the very embodiment of his unhappy life. Only little Timothy Mouse befriends him, and his spirit of optimism and commitment to help Dumbo prove himself are needed more than ever when things go from bad to worse. In the end, the very thing that makes Dumbo different turns out to be the source of his greatest strength. The message of the film is pretty simple: believe in yourself, even when others put you down and, for heaven's sake, don't make fun of someone just because he looks different. Dumbo is also a story about love, particularly the love between a mother and child, and the importance of friendship.

Classic Disney films such as this are both wonderful and remarkable - yet so many of them are also sad. I imagine that children, while they will certainly understand the themes of this story, don't connect to the film on the same emotional level as I do as an adult. I really got emotional watching this - right from the start, with the sadness exuded by Mrs. Jumbo as she watches children being delivered to seemingly every one but her. It's tough watching Dumbo suffer ridicule and embarrass himself further by tripping over his big ears, suffer a cruel separation from his mother, and mope around with those tears spilling out of his big blue eyes, but I made it through all of that OK. Then came the scene where he visits his mother in her solitary confinement. If Leonard Maltin can admit that this film makes him cry every time he watches it, so can I. I don't know how anyone can get through that visitation scene without shedding at least one tear.

I said the animation was relatively simplistic, but that does not mean it isn't spellbinding, nor does it mean you won't encounter any scenes that are rather stunning in detail. Some of the professionals interviewed in a 15-minute featurette included on the DVD do a great job of pointing out the most remarkable scenes (and everyone has something to say about the Pink Elephant sequence, which is just bizarre and certainly memorable). Other special features include an audio commentary by film historian John Canemaker, a short, one-minute introduction to the film by Walt Disney himself, a photo gallery of conception art and storyboards, a video of the song "Baby Mine" performed by Jim Brickman with Kassie DePalva, and two short cartoons, Elmer Elephant and The Flying Mouse. Additional bonus materials aimed more specifically at young viewers are Sing Along Songs for Look Out for Mr. Stork and Casey Junior, a DVD storybook which children can read along with, and a "My First Circus" game that teaches children about the different kinds of animals normally found in a circus.

In a perfect world, Disney would just send a free copy of Dumbo to every set of parents in the country. Since that isn't economically feasible, I hope that as many parents as possible do make Dumbo a part of their children's young lives. This classic animated film is everything you would expect from Walt Disney - and more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Any Disney Fans, June 3 2004
By A Customer
This is definetly one of the greatest Walt Disney films ever made even though there were failures in Pinnochio and Fantasia. I saw this film when I was born in Charleston S.C. in 1991.
I thought it was cute especially the scene where Dumbo gets drunk. But the ringmaster (Ugh) he was terrible and abused Dumbo's mother. I wonder what Dumbo II is going to be like. Do any Disney fans know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Third Disney Favorite!, May 21 2004
By 
Debi Crabtree "robertcrabtree3000" (Chattanooga, TN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I watched this all the time as a young'n and hadn't seen it again years, but I decided to pick it up after downloading the "Baby Mine" song. Its got some of the finest animated sequences anyone can offer: The faceless roustabouts setting up the "Big Top," the parade of the ghostly, pink elephants, the loud-mouthed crows.
You can NEVER write a proper review about Dumbo without mentioning the powerful "Baby Mine" scene. It made me cry the first 2 of 3 times I watched it! A heart-breaking scene like that fits the sugar-coated ending perfectly!
As the story goes: baby-delivering storks are making a couple of deliveries to a zoo. Everyone gets a baby of their own (the bears, tigers, hippos, everybody), all except an awaiting, would-be mother elephant called Mrs. Jumbo. Soon, Jumbo and the rest of the criiters are loaded aboard the circus train, Casey Junior, and Jumbo still hasn't recieved an infant of her own! But a late delivery soon arrives for Jumbo. All the other lady elephants are very desperate to see Jumbo's child, when they do, they think he's the cutest creature on earth, until he sneezes! The sneeze reveals the baby pachederm to have abnormaly large ears! They begin constantly taunting and teasing the lil guy about his physical problem, they even nick-name him "Dumbo" because they think his ears make him look so.....dumb. But Mrs. Jumbo loves Dumbo reguardless of the size of his ears. The trouble starts when the circus opens a bunch of kids enter the Big Top to see all the animals. A ugly boy taunts Dumbo about his ears even worse than the "normal" elephants did, this makes Mrs. Jumbo mad as he11! She loses her self control and attacks the children (you go Jumbo)! The ringmaster is enraged by Mrs. Jumbo's actions and sentences her to "solitary confinement," leaving little Dumbo all alone (for only a little while). Dumbo is eventually befriended by a rodent known as Timothy Q. Mouse, who believes that Dumbo can be as big a success as the other elephants. As Timothy and Dumbo pursue the road to fame, comedy, tragedy, and even macabre ensues as Dumbo meets up with a bunch of (...) clowns, ghostly pink elephants, and flock of loud-mouthed crows.
Dumbo is an often overlooked gem that EVERYONE should see! It is so simple, it is classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dumbo (Big Top Edition)
Dumbo (Big Top Edition) by Wilfred Jackson (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 36.99 CDN$ 21.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews