Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Existential Cowboy
I saw this with my friends when I was a kid - we went around quoting Old Mose, whom we all loved - "Thank you for those kind words." - it did not matter he was somewhat crazed; that made him all the more sympathetic and loveable. I don't know how much we liked the movie otherwise because it is not totally action-packed. Having seen it now, as an adult, I see that John...
Published on Jan. 10 2010 by Johnny Darkness

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars John Wayne western
Touted as one of the most popular, yet understated western movies starring John Wayne. I enjoyed the sweeping panoramas and the epic feel; however, John Wayne is not academy material. Not recommended unless a diehard Wayne fan.
Published 16 months ago by Paul Desjardins


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Existential Cowboy, Jan. 10 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I saw this with my friends when I was a kid - we went around quoting Old Mose, whom we all loved - "Thank you for those kind words." - it did not matter he was somewhat crazed; that made him all the more sympathetic and loveable. I don't know how much we liked the movie otherwise because it is not totally action-packed. Having seen it now, as an adult, I see that John Ford (and, perhaps John Wayne) had other concerns: racism, sexism, political intransigence, the concept of family, and the loner. This movie, set in Texas but obviously filmed (beautifully) in Monument Valley, is more about character. And the possibility of change. And, perhaps, the impossibility of change; or, the shattering of growth by an overwhelming sense of loss (Wayne's character: the war, and the woman). Ford is a master director - I recommend watching the Special Feature in which the movie is explained, showing all the incredible framing of shots, the backlighting, the pacing of shots.... Aw, just watch it and forget any prejudices you have against John Wayne. It is a beauty.The Searchers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Searchers, Dec 17 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Searchers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Believe this is my favorite film and to have it on DVD Blu-rae excellent, John Wayne,s very best. Should have won Acadeny Award
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another John Wayne Western hit movie, Jan. 7 2014
By 
John R. Moore "seahawk05" (Niagara, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
In this western the DUKE plays a darker role, more out for vengeance than justice. Still, we are entertained as the Duke searches for a young relative taken by Indians. During the search of many years, his vengeance is worn down until he finally locates her and returns her home. This is a good family movie that tells a sad part of the American western history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Searchers, Aug. 16 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Any good one for the Duke, very enjoyable movie and I am very happy to add it to my Duke collection. A must buy for collectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars John Wayne western, Dec 8 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Touted as one of the most popular, yet understated western movies starring John Wayne. I enjoyed the sweeping panoramas and the epic feel; however, John Wayne is not academy material. Not recommended unless a diehard Wayne fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprising back up feature, Jan. 14 2012
This review is from: The Searchers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It's easy to see why The Searchers is so high on so many "best of" lists. The appreciation special feature helps put the film in its cultural context. The Blu-ray image is, of course, a joy to watch, and the beauty of Monument Valley shines through. The real surprise is how pleasant the "Behind the Camera" features are. They were originally fillers for the WB Television programs, but they have a life of their own as contemporary making of features. And for Star Trek fans, watching Jeffrey Hunter is a surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Imitation widescreen presentation! How sad!!, Jan. 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Searchers (DVD)
A fantastic movie and a true classic - and certainly one that really shines when presented in its true widescreen aspect ratio. That said, SHAME on Warner Brothers for butchering this issue with a "imitation" widescreen format (hence my 1-star rating). The packaging claims both Standard format and "matted" widescreen are on the dvd - the latter (at least for WB) means that they take the (already width-cropped) standard screen version and simply [take] huge strips off of the top and bottom of the picture to make the shape approximately 1:85:1 (so an HDTV format screen is filled, no doubt). The result is that when watching this "widescreen" version, one is seeing far less picture than even in the Standard format! I have verified this by comparing the two dvd sides (one standard, the other "widescreen") to one another and to a true widescreen tape that I have. Those reviewers that have been raving about this widescreen presentation, have a look at the standard format side of the disk to see more of the movie ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Searchers or The Oppressors? Stereotypes Natives, Feb. 5 2000
By 
Chris LaBarbera (Hanover, New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Searchers (VHS Tape)
This movie is a classic example of the "cowboy vs. Indians" media push in the United States-- which all too often ends up with a skewed, barbaric picture of Native Americans and a completely inaccurate portrayal of Native culture and rituals. Movies like this have the widespread popularity to change or shape public opionion, and in this movie it has done this in the worst way.
As the cowboys search for their niece who was "kidnapped by Indians," we are given a cruel vision of Natives...one might be tempted to think that Natives are mystical and grim, seeking to kinap whites and covert them to their "savage ways." Contrary to this film, I think it's important to note Native Americans DO NOT kipnap children.
The kidnapped white children in the film were depicted as insane and animal-like after spending years with the Natives; the viewer knows that it was living with the Natives and their culture that had turned them into such mindless wild creatures. Need I point out the misconceptions? Native culture is not savage and inhumane, and the Native American ways of life will make a white person, in the words of John Wayne, "Like they're not even white." Did I mention how this line alone perpetuates the notion that white culture is something orderly and intellectual while Native American culture is chaotic and beastly?
Native American women, as shown in "The Searchers," amongst others, are passive and coy; women in the film seem to submit to the white man, and follow him around in ignorant and loving bliss. However, the role of women in Native American cultures is hardly passive; often women make important political and economic decisions, they sometimes held the right of choosing when a tribe will go to battle, and they had profound influence in the farming culture of Native Americans. Native American women were some of the hardest working people in American history. Native women also voted in tribal elections long before the 1920's. Make no mistake about this one, Native American women are not wooed by the white man's "superior" ways and will not follow him like an obedient pet. Native American women are strong, and always have been extraordinarily independent from masculinist stereotypes.
I hope this has been helpful for you. Above all, I think "The Searchers" needs to be treated more as a cultural/hisorical movie than a "great action Western." The unfortunate part is that this movie tells a profoundly sad and discriminatory story, one which I hope America frees itself from believing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Average Transfer of A True John Ford Classic!, March 5 2005
By 
Nix Pix (Windsor, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Searchers (DVD)
John Ford was a master craftsman of the American cinema. Though he dabbled in melodrama and action during his directorial career, his everlasting contribution to the movies remains in those galvanic distillations of the old west put forth by an unparalleled series of legendary films. "The Searchers" ranks among his most finely wrought and meticulously hand crafted projects. Indeed it seems to be the film in which the culmination of Ford's own commitment to the power, beauty and frailty of the western frontier tragically come together in a revisionist perspective that exposes both its grandeur and its flaws. The film stars the iconic John Wayne as Ethan Edwards - a strangely majestic antihero who vows bloody revenge after his cousin and family are slaughtered by marauding Comanches. But Ethan's search for his surviving niece (Natalie Wood) becomes a sinister and all-consuming obsession when he learns that she - having been abducted while still a child - has now adopted the ways of her captors and, at least in Ethan's mind, has become one of them. The film tackles racism in the form of Ethan's distrust of one time family friend (Jeffrey Hunter) who is part Cherokee and the sweep and spectacle of Death Valley has never been quite so poignantly captured on film.
THE TRANSFER: While Warner Home Video has made "The Searchers" available in anamorphic widescreen in a print that is light years ahead of anything the film has looked like before for the home film enthusiast, compared to more current DVD releases, the visual splendor of the transfer falls short of expectations. Though colors are rich there's something of a muddiness and lack of balance to them in many of the indoor scenes. Also, several scenes appear to be suffering slightly from color shrinkage, creating a slightly out of focus image quality that is distracting. Age related artifacts are present but do not distract so much as the digital anomalies of pixelization and edge enhancement which greatly plague the background information in most of the long shots. A slight shimmering is inherent in all of the scenes. Black and contrast levels can be solid at times, while sometimes appearing slightly pasty. Ditto for the unnatural flesh tones which are either overly pink or a ruddy orange. The audio has been remastered and delivers a nice expansive presentation which is in keeping with the vintage of the original sound elements.
EXTRAS: Not this time around. Sadly, this film deserves a documentary.
BOTTOM LINE: "The Searchers" is a masterful western, on par with "Stagecoach" and "High Noon". Definitely one to add to your film library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, Aug. 11 2011
This review is from: The Searchers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Blu came in packaging, was quick. no scratches & excellent condition and it came on time no problems with the seller, would buy from him again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2dcde10)

This product

The Searchers: 50th Anniversary Ultimate Collector's Edition [Import]
CDN$ 31.98 CDN$ 22.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews