Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality Scenic Film With A Great Sense Of Humor
I just saw this film in San Francisco. To be honest, I wasn't expecting much from this troll myth but some gory violence and primitive script spoken with unintelligible accent.

So I was more than pleasantly surprised when the impacting music and the spectacular pristine scenery quickly took me into the world where a giant's young son experiences a major trauma...
Published on July 6 2006 by Mic Murdoch

versus
7 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars stinky
This movie makes me embaressed to be both a Canadian and a fan of the fantasy genre. I can only assume that the author of the previous review was involved in the making of the film, due to the fact that I have never seen such over the top praise of such an amateurish, unfunny, boring, uninspired and ultimately uninteresting production. Yes the scenery is pretty, but...
Published on June 2 2006 by J. Fernando


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Beowulf and Grendel - a legend, Nov. 20 2010
This review is from: Beowulf and Grendel (Widescreen) (DVD)
As most legends go, the story is quite intricate. I had never heard of it and found it quite interesting. The movie is somewhat gory, as a lot of other movies these days, but the acting takes you beyond this (mostly). I will definitely watch it again... and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beowulf the Anti-Hero, Sept. 6 2006
By 
This review is from: Beowulf and Grendel (Widescreen) (DVD)
If you are expecting a literal retelling of the epic, heroic poem, you won't get it from this movie. That's not a criticism on my part. I love the poem as it is, but Gunnarsson has consciously and cleverly stripped away the epic and the heroic from the film, and left us with the bare human elements. We can feel sympathy for Grendel in the film the way we cannot in the poem. Similarily, in the poem, Beowulf fights the good fight wihtout doubt about his rightness to do so. In the movie, Beowulf overtly denies his title "the hero". In a way, Gunnarsson mirrors the original author of the poem. He also took his material, a heroic epic of a pagan hero monster-killer, by then describing events already two centuries old, and converted it into an elegiaic epic acceptable to his now Christian audience. Gunnarsson has taken an 8th century dark ages tale and perhaps made it more accessible to a 21st century audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Tale Well Told, May 19 2012
By 
Daffy Bibliophile (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Beowulf and Grendel (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a great movie that is well worth a look. The production values are excellent, the scenery spectacular, and the characters well cast. Apart from the expected swordplay, there's also humanity in the characters and a surprising thread of humour running through the film (who says the old Norse didn't enjoy a good joke over a few beers).

This movie is not a CGI-generated swords and fantasy production from Hollywood, it's a well-made interpretation of the old Anglo-Saxon epic poem. I didn't find the plot overly complex despite what some claim, but it is a movie that requires the viewers to pay attention in order to follow along and that's not a hard thing to do at all.

Just a heads up for parents: there is profanity and two short sex scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Nov. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beowulf and Grendel (DVD)
Gerard Butler was great as always. Very good story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, Nov. 1 2011
By 
This review is from: Beowulf and Grendel (Widescreen) (DVD)
I thought this was an OK movie. It only deals with a portion of the Beowolf novel. It is certainly a good effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars stinky, June 2 2006
By 
J. Fernando (Toronto) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beowulf and Grendel (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie makes me embaressed to be both a Canadian and a fan of the fantasy genre. I can only assume that the author of the previous review was involved in the making of the film, due to the fact that I have never seen such over the top praise of such an amateurish, unfunny, boring, uninspired and ultimately uninteresting production. Yes the scenery is pretty, but believe me, that's all this movie has going for it. I'm done wasting any more effort on reviewing a movie which has already stolen 2 hours of my life. Take heed, you have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beowulf and Grendel (Widescreen)
Beowulf and Grendel (Widescreen) by Sturla Gunnarsson (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 70.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews