Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once bitten - you'll want even more
For those of you (or should I say "us") who really got into Kate Beckinsale's azz-kicking gory days in Underworld, here's your chance for more of the same. Even though three years have passed in our time, Evolution takes up right where the first movie ended, but thanks to the magic of flashbacks we get some more background info on the blood feud and how it all began...
Published on July 13 2006 by Amanda Richards

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Violent
Great storey line loved it,just sooooo much gore and violence. This was probably the best for it's story in the series but the worst for gore.
Published on Sept. 12 2011 by Imoano


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once bitten - you'll want even more, July 13 2006
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
For those of you (or should I say "us") who really got into Kate Beckinsale's azz-kicking gory days in Underworld, here's your chance for more of the same. Even though three years have passed in our time, Evolution takes up right where the first movie ended, but thanks to the magic of flashbacks we get some more background info on the blood feud and how it all began.

Way, way back, Alexander Corvinus had two sons, Marcus (Tony Curran) and William. The first was bitten by a bat and became a Death Dealer with the fangs to prove it, and the second was bitten by a wolf to become the forefather and prototype for the Lycans who get all furry and howl at the sight of a full moon. William however, was unable to control his blood lust, and made quite a nuisance of himself, until he was hunted down and locked away forever, much to Marcus's dismay and anger. Having been double crossed by Viktor (Bill Nighy), Marcus is out for revenge, and of course for blood.

Back to present day, the war between Vampire and Lycan continues, and Marcus is awakened with some new tricks up his wings and a burning desire to set William free. Standing in his way is Selene, the hottest vampire action heroine in recent movie history (Beckinsale naturally) and her trusty sidekick Michael the hybrid (Scott Speedman). Between them they unknowingly hold the key and the map to William's prison, and soon find themselves in Marcus's sights.

In between the fighting and hiding from the sun and such activities, the two leading characters manage to squeeze in a little nookie time, which of course provides some eye-candy for us the viewers with its strategic placement between all the carnage. The story line is a bit confusing if you haven't been making notes, and don't ever ask Selene her age, but as far as action, CGI and drama goes, this one is a non-stop thrill. Recommended for vampire lovers and blood suckers everywhere.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but so entertaining that doesn t matter too much..., Jan. 8 2007
By 
M. B. Alcat "Curiosity killed the cat, but sa... (Hanoi, Vietnam) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Underworld: Evolution (Full Screen Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
"Underworld: evolution" is the sequel to "Underworld", the supernatural thriller regarding an old feud between vampires and lycans, and as such is more of the same. By that, I mean uncomplicated fun for those who from time to time enjoy watching a fast paced film that has elements of fantasy in it, and that lacks food for thought but makes up for that with lots of entertainment value.

Are you, like me, one of those people I mentioned above? If the answer is no, do not lose your time, this film is probably not the right one for you. If the answer is yes, I recommend you watch this movie, but only after having enjoyed the first one.

Now I am going to talk a little about the plot of "Underworld: evolution", so if you still have to watch the first movie in the series stop reading now, in order to avoid spoilers. The plot of this sequels picks up where the last one left off, and does an excellent job of allowing us to catch up with Selene (Kate Beckinsale), the beautiful vampire death-dealer, and Michael (Scott Speedman), the young lycan she has feelings for. Michael was turned by Selene into a hybrid of lycan and vampire in order to be saved from certain death, but that act of defiance and the fact that Selene killed an ancient vampire ruler to protect Michael, means that they are both on the run.

But what exactly has Michael turned into, and will they be able to survive? And what will happen when Marcus (Tony Curran), another of the vampire elders, turns into a hybrid of a different kind, and finally achieves the power to free his dangerous brother, William (Brian Steele)? Things become even more complicated when we find out that Marcus was the father of all vampires, as William was the father of all lycans. On top of everything, Marcus and William s father, Alexander Corvinus (Sir Derek Jacobi), decides to meddle and help Selene and Michael to stop his sons. The alternative is chaos, and a world full of crazed lycans running free and wreaking havoc.

In my opinion, Len Wiseman (director) and Danny McBride (scriptwriter) did a great job filling some of the blanks left in the first movie, and continuing to tell us about an alternate universe where vampire and lycans fight for supremacy among mankind. The result is that their story is more believable, and thus more engaging.

All in all, I can say that I really enjoyed watching this film, and that I believe that is even better than the first one. Of course, "Underworld: evolution" is not perfect, but it is so entertaining that does t matter too much. Highly recommended!

Belen Alcat

PS1: To Len Wiseman,please hurry up and make another sequel, I want to know what happens next to Selene and Michael :)

PS2: To parents, this movie has quite a lot of violence and a nude scene, so it is not adequate for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Violent, Sept. 12 2011
Great storey line loved it,just sooooo much gore and violence. This was probably the best for it's story in the series but the worst for gore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, but MUCH BETTER, July 7 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Underworld took the world by storm as a much more action packed Vampire versus Werewolf film. Kate Beckensale is awesome as Serena, an avid hunter and killer of werewolves. She is the center and anchor for the entire series, which now numbers three. I have the first in Bluray, which tempted me into buying this, the second installment, also in Bluray. When Rise of the Lycans comes down in price, I will buy it also. This is simply one of the best Vampire movies that I have seen, albeit a bit dark. This is corrected by being Bluray, which does not change the darkness, but increases the clarity to a point that perfectly visible scenes are possible. Now the darkness of the movie does not hide, but simply enhances the viewers immersion into the film. A must for Vampire fans - all three installments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of the many in this great series of dark movies, July 17 2014
By 
John Turcotte - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the many in this great series of dark movies. If you like this plot then try all the others because they are well produced and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific action packed movie with lots of Kate Beckinsdale, Nov. 25 2012
By 
Keith Smith "Keith" (Winnipeg, MB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
It was good to see the Underworld franchise get back to having Kate Beckinsdale and her leather catsuit play a prominent role.

This was a terrific action-packed movie. The plot was good, the acting was good, I'm a happy customer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Underworld: Evolution (Full Screen Special Edition) (Bilingual)
Used & New from: CDN$ 2.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews