Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ivabeen in Ivalice
It's been years waiting for a new story in the ever-expanding universe of Final Fantasy. SquareEnix has tried very very hard not to disappoint, and so far they are sending the series off from the PS2 platform deliciously. This edition continues to grow the established stories, delving into the world of Ivalice from Final Fantasy Tactics.

It's safe to say that...
Published on Nov. 1 2006 by Brackynews

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre at best, and had no idea what the story was about.
I honestly had no idea what the heck the story was about the whole time I was playing. It made very little sense to me. The soundtrack is pretty good and the game is beautiful. The battle system was interesting and felt like a relief in contrast to previous FF's.

This doesn't really live up to the FF series.
Published 3 months ago by Adge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ivabeen in Ivalice, Nov. 1 2006
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
It's been years waiting for a new story in the ever-expanding universe of Final Fantasy. SquareEnix has tried very very hard not to disappoint, and so far they are sending the series off from the PS2 platform deliciously. This edition continues to grow the established stories, delving into the world of Ivalice from Final Fantasy Tactics.

It's safe to say that better graphics and sound will not be found on the PS2 for the remainder of its lifecycle. On a widescreen, 720p television, you would almost not believe this console is mere Y2K technology.

While long-time players might balk at the new battle system, it has been refined since the early demos to flow quickly and offer a minimum of tedious button-pressing. Those that wish to micromanage can still do so in a Wait Battle system, with no autopilot. The AI, especially of the monsters, is the most organic I've seen in any offline RPG. Efficient control over the survival of your party takes planning and logic skills, a refreshing dalliance from mindless leveling up to boost stats.

This opinion is writ after only 5 solid hours of play, but so far there is no disappointment to be found. Not even in the voice-over cast. Well done SQEX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow, April 17 2007
By 
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
First off you should know I've played the majority of the FF games out there, all the way back from the Super Nintendo days. This by far is my new favorite from the company. The story and dialogue is very mature, which is a welcome change and kept me glued and addicted to see more. So mature it could be written as a play along the likes of Hamlet or some other Shakespearian work, no joke! The setting of the game takes place in Ivalice, which is the same world that the popular Final Fantasy Tactics takes place in, and the equally if not more excellent game, Vagrant Story on PSone.

There is more textures on all of the games environments and characters than were in FFX or it's sequel, which makes for a stunning and more realistic look to the game overall. In past games you would run through static environments. However that is not the case this time around, you are able to move the camera around freely as all the environments are in 3D. I haven't played FFXI but I imagine that is where the camera system came from. Before I get into gameplay I just want to state first that this game is long! I've been playing for over 40 hours and I feel like I'm still quiet away from the end, but 40 hours of fun! Ahem, anyway, the gameplay and combat system have completely been revamped, you don't randomly teleport into a different screen to fight enemies for example, as all the enemies are running around in the environments and you can see them! This is very nice, besides it being more realistic you can choose to avoid or to fight easier than past games. The thing is, you'll WANT to fight the enemies, because the combat system is more intuitive and more fun than it has ever been in the past with the new "Gambit System," in a way it streamlines the fighting and at the same time it adds depth to game play that was growing stale, you'll have to play to see what I mean. The character building is more open, and customizable which is also very welcome! I don't want to go on too long so I'll stop there. Oh, and one last thing I want to mention, some of the environments are just massive, almost ridicously so, which is a good thing!

Ok, let's do a brief recap, great mature engaging story, interesting characters, nicely detailed and gorgeous environments and graphics, fresh and engaging game play, hours and hours of game play, massive environments and deeper more intuitive battle system. What is there not to like? I'm very hard to get praise out of, but this game impressed me, this makes previous Final Fantasies look just silly and not worth my time.

For PS2 it is a must own for all RPG fanatics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre at best, and had no idea what the story was about., July 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I honestly had no idea what the heck the story was about the whole time I was playing. It made very little sense to me. The soundtrack is pretty good and the game is beautiful. The battle system was interesting and felt like a relief in contrast to previous FF's.

This doesn't really live up to the FF series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars :), May 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Picked this final fantasy up for my collection, also it's one of the best to come out for the ps2. Delivery was very fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars game came on time and is in good condition, March 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
It was slightly late, due to it arriving on a weekend, but the product is working like brand new. I don't regret the purchase at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Favourite, March 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
I've played almost all of the games in the final fantasy series, and this one is one of my favourites. Great story, great gameplay, characters and sidequests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, Feb. 24 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Great Games - Would recommend to anyone who plays the FF series.
Easy way to burn 40 hours of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars finally bought it out, May 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Was always playing this from the PS2 hard drive, was skippy though, thought i'd try out the real thing. Wish it wasn't the Greatest Hits, but ah well, good times with this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't Go Wrong, March 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
This game is definantly one of the top FF games in my personal opinion. Great for all ages: young people who just want a good play, and for older players who need a tactically complex secret filled adventure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 29 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Final Fantasy XII - PlayStation 2 (Video Game)
Item as described. Thank u for fast shipping as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Final Fantasy XII - PlayStation 2
Final Fantasy XII - PlayStation 2 by Square Enix (PlayStation2)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 11.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews