Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better romantic comedy movies out there
If you love romantic comedies, you'll probably love Imagine Me & You. While it does feature a wedding in the beginning and then finding true love at the end, plotted out in somewhat predictable fashion, the "chase" inbetween these two events is delightful to watch. The concept of the film is love at first sight. That a person can feel so greatly connected with another...
Published on Jan. 5 2007 by bev (btvsrocks)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
It was a bit missing in the plot but it was a cute movie.
Published 5 months ago by Azizi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better romantic comedy movies out there, Jan. 5 2007
By 
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [Import] (DVD)
If you love romantic comedies, you'll probably love Imagine Me & You. While it does feature a wedding in the beginning and then finding true love at the end, plotted out in somewhat predictable fashion, the "chase" inbetween these two events is delightful to watch. The concept of the film is love at first sight. That a person can feel so greatly connected with another person through one mere look. Granted, this film concept isn't all that avant-garde since there have been plenty before with the same theme, but in Imagine Me & You, this is a story about love at first sight between two females. It actually kind of reminds me of another Piper Perabo movie, Lost and Delirious, which focuses on the concept of love that sees past gender boundaries and is just love as it is, between two people regardless of gender (and other variables).

All the characters in this movie are just so endearing and entertaining to watch that you can't help but like/love them all. With Luce and Heck both vying for Rachel, you, as the viewer, will find it hard to choose who you want her to ultimately end up with because they are are both equally charming. Of course, the way these romantic comedies go, you can easily guess who she'll end up with from the beginning scenes. While you cannot necessarily fault the predictability of the film, inherent in the entire genre pretty much, as a strike against the film altogether, I did feel there were some weak spots in the film. From what I understand, director and writer Ol Parker was constrained to a 90 minute time frame for his film. That, ultimately, may have very well inhibited his ability to fully tell the story of these characters. To me, the storyline felt loose and lacking in some respects. Given, it is a story about love at first sight so rationale and character context be damned, but regardless, it didn't seem to paint a full picture of some of the main characters to make them truly compelling (it was really the acting and casting that saved them). However, Heck was not one of these characters because we the audience could see many dimensions of him: he was scared of heights, loved to cook for people, hated his job, scared to lose Rachel, often embarrassed himself, adored by Rachel's family (especially her little sister, H), etc. Little if anything is known about the other two protagonists, Rachel and Luce. I'm not even really sure what Rachel's job was besides that it involved sitting in front of or near a computer. The two, when compared to Heck, did not seem as multi-faceted and therefore, for me at least, as compelling.

Which brings me back to why the acting and casting saved the characters and by extension, the film as well. Lena Headey (Luce) and Matthew Goode (Heck) stood out particularly for me in this case. Lena Headey, especially, brought to her character a certain spark and spellbinding quality that I'm not sure I've ever witnessed on screen before -- or at least recently. Anthony Head (Rachel's father), who you may know as Giles from Buffy the Vampire Slayer, was also tremendous in his role, playing an adorable fumbling, kind of aloof father and husband in the movie. The only American actor in the cast, Piper Perabo (Rachel), actually does pull of a believable English accent and if there were any slip ups, they were hardly noticeable.

All in all, even with my quibbles, I still think this movie is deserving of its praise. It's heartwarming enough to watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy together, June 28 2009
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [Import] (DVD)
"Imagine me and you, I do
I think about you day and night, it's only right
To think about the girl you love and hold her tight
So happy together"
(The Turtles)

Short Attention Span Summary (SASS):

1. Boy marries girl
2. Girl sees girl across the crowded room
3. Girl finds reasons to keep seeing girl
4. Delightful romantic comedy follows with great music and energetic dance sequence via Dance Dance Revolution
5. ... and everyone lives happily, even though not necessarily together

Piper Perabo and Lena Headey are the shining stars of this British romantic comedy, which leaves you with both a good feeling and a catchy song which you won't be able to stop singing for weeks after seeing the movie.

Recommended for anyone who believes in love at first sight, and those who take a little longer.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Imagine Me You, Aug. 17 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [Import] (DVD)
If you are looking for light British entertainment dealing with a slightly off center theme this is a great movie. Piper Perabo and Lena Headey are great in their roles carrying them off in an easy, believable fashion. The supporting cast were excellent, especially Boo Jackson. The shopping and arcade scenes could have been used to develop a little more depth in the movie; it seems like a missed opportunity. As well the scenes around Mathew Goode and his job didn't seem to add to the movie at all or maybe not being British I missed the connection. However the movie did flow with those one or two exceptions and was fun to watch.

Overall a good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Feel Good Movie About Love At First Sight, May 15 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [Import] (DVD)
In the beginning there was Meg Ryan. Then came Julia Roberts. Followed by Sandra Bullock. All fine actresses who know how to excel in the lead role of a romantic comedy. Yet Piper Perabo rivals all three. The supporting ensemble of Lena Headey as Rachel's (Piper's) love interest, Matthew Goode as her newly-minted husband, and Celia Imre and Anthony Head as Rachel's parents, is second to none. Kudos to the producers, writers and director for not immersing the movie in lesbian ideology or excessive physical (read sexual) portrayal. Neither were needed and the movie was better for its absence. In reality, the lesbian theme is almost irrelevant to the story. The storyline focused simply on love at first sight and Rachel's dilemma and decision to pursue it.

For those not familiar with Piper Perabo's work, check out Coyote Ugly (2000), Lost & Delirious (2001), Covert Affairs (TV series - 2010 to date). Reputed to be one of the entertainment world's most gracious and respectful actresses who flies beneath the radar when it comes to self (absorbed) promotion, Piper projects a 'feel good' approach to her work. Great little movie. It almost begged for additional story time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quite charming romantic comedy, May 26 2006
By 
R (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [Import] (DVD)
Imagine Me & You is most charming romantic comedy I had the occasion to see.

I found it original and was pleasantly surprised by some unexpected turns included in the plot.

The cast is absolutely fabulous. Piper Perabo (Lost and Delerious) shows once again how talented she is. She shines in dramatic scenes as well as in light, comical ones. Lena Headey (The Brothers Grimm), whom I discovered thanks to this movie, is one of the most natural actresses I had the occasion to see. Matthew Goode, as the fiancé, and Darren Boyd, his best friend, are both funny and touching. It was a pleasure to see Anthony Stewart Head (Buffy The Vampire Slayer) again. He and Celia Imrie made quite a couple! Ol Parker (writer/director) created a smart, witty and entertaining film. I highly recommend it. It is beautiful, funny and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best, Feb. 17 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [Import] (DVD)
This movie is probably the best lesbian movie in existence. It's the style of any other romcom but two women happen to fall in love and we need more movies like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just charming ... you're pulling for all characters!, Dec 5 2009
By 
Susan Fisher - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [Import] (DVD)
What a charming movie. Each character is likeable and so it created an interesting love triangle. It was hard to know which one to pull for! The whole British setting was lovely and the music interesting. Lena Heady is sublime ... she started the Terminator Sarah Connor show after this movie. I wasn't expecting much but it was a nice surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Delightful, July 25 2006
By 
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [Import] (DVD)
I had never heard of this movie until a friend recommended it to me , describing it simply as a movie about "love at first sight". It was that and so much more. Delightfully quick witted and had some wonderful awkward moments that happen between people when life isn't scripted. All the actors represented their characters well and its one of the few movies where I liked ALL the characters. A movie for anyone who enjoyed DEBS, Bend it Like Beckham, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars speedy, Cheap, Fantastic and Lovely, June 7 2009
By 
R. Martin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me and You [Import] (DVD)
Not only is this film excellent, fantastic, lovely and beautiful it's rather a good soulful movie. I love it to bits. Apart from that, It made it's way to my home speedy fast and Amazon always has exceptional prices. You have to look for the deals and this one was bang on. Great movie for your buck! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 11 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Imagine Me & You (DVD)
It was a bit missing in the plot but it was a cute movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Imagine Me and You [Import]
Imagine Me and You [Import] by Ol Parker (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 16.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews