Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SG-1 Season Four -- A Clear Triumph
I must say that Stargate SG-1 Season Four is, by far, my favorite season of them all. The year opens with a terrific conclusion to the climactic cliffhanger. "Small Victories" shows us just what a mess the Replicator bugs can be for Earth. "Window of Opportunity" is a delightful tale of time-travel with a unique twist where Jack and Teal'c can't get out of the same...
Published on June 4 2003 by David T. Read

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Brief Candle
This season is when Jonathan Glassner, one of the creators of the show, leaves for whatever reason, and the show takes a turn for the worse. There are still some excellent episodes (The Light, Absolute Power), but before, every episode was excellent. This season the cast is also joined by two certain writers (who I will not name) who from the first episode (Window of...
Published on June 25 2003 by Tyr Anasazi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SG-1 Season Four -- A Clear Triumph, June 4 2003
By 
David T. Read (DuQuoin, IL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I must say that Stargate SG-1 Season Four is, by far, my favorite season of them all. The year opens with a terrific conclusion to the climactic cliffhanger. "Small Victories" shows us just what a mess the Replicator bugs can be for Earth. "Window of Opportunity" is a delightful tale of time-travel with a unique twist where Jack and Teal'c can't get out of the same ten-hour cycle! "Tangent" shows us just what we get if we "slap a USAF sticker on the side of a death glider" and call it ours. Great acting by Richard Dean Anderson and Christopher Judge, though they are sitting down most of the time. Other top episodes from this season include "The Curse," "The Serpent's Venom," "Chain Reaction," "The First Ones," "2010," "Absolute Power," and the ultimate blowout for Apophis in "Exodus," which sends our heroes hurtling into their next adventure for a new year! Season Four is a definite triumph for the Stargate legacy, where stories are followed up and new ones are born. At this point the show had totally come into its own, and it is shown in the development of the characters, the top-notched scripts, stomach aches of laughs, and a plethora of absorbing and entertaining plot threads that will have viewers drooling for the next season. Plus, this is the first boxed set with commentaries! Hours of entertainment right there! Plus the usual special features. So fork over that tad bit of cash and plug in for Season four. Get ready for Sci-fi at its finest hour!
...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent show, Jan. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season 4 (DVD)
The dvd set arrived quickly and was in excellent condition, both inside and out. Very please with my order. Would definitely order again. Still need seasons 5 - 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Science Fiction, Dec 31 2012
By 
M. Cook "Ballroomdancer" (Kelowna, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season 4 (DVD)
I bought this for my husband (he now has the full set) and he has watched it more than once. I don't understand the fascination, but he loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purchase a set today!, March 4 2004
By 
David Hepworth "xmedheadx" (Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While perhaps not as strong as season three, season four promises to entertain. I felt that there were very few episodes in this season that could be considered "okay" - most of them were either excellent or pathetic. Nothing in between. Fortunately for the viewers, most of the episodes were excellent.
New to the sets are director commentaries for each episode! While the extras on these boxed sets continue to disappoint, there is at least a little more to be found.
Definitely a must buy for both fans and newcomers to the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very best Sci-Fi show available on DVD!, May 6 2007
By 
D. Landry (Ottawa) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1: Season 4 (DVD)
Being a huge fan of Stargate SG-1 since the beginning, I had to purchase this season to add to my collection.

This show had a great idea to have a stargate that let's you travel through many dimensions and galaxies. The unusual storyline and cast is excellent! Whether you like sci-fi or not, this is fun to watch since it touches a lot of issues such as dealing with different kinds of nations and their beliefs, friendships, enemies, adventures and even comedy.

You will see the characters develop over time, the quirky unexpected humor, the use of an alien who doesn't fully understand human life on earth, the struggle of the oppressed, the lengths humans go in order to survive, politics and government bureaucracy.

This show is awsome on many different levels. On top of it all, they always keep the price very affordable. Money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars stargat en francais, Aug. 1 2004
By 
Martin Ruel (canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
j aimerais s avoir quand il vous sortir les stargat (sg1)en francais pour le canada. ses bien plat il sorte la premiere saison et apres il nous l aisse sur notre appetie...
il sont sortie pour l europe mes les dvd ne sont pas compatible pour l amerique du nord.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War and Politics in Outer Space, April 18 2004
By 
Andrew "Radaar" (Chicago, IL, USA) - See all my reviews
The Replicators. The Russians. The Aschen. These are only a few of the new enemies presented this year, in Stargate: SG-1 (okay, so technically, the Replicators were introduced last year). These new baddies made a lot of trouble this year for the SGC in what is definitely the best season yet. We learn more about the Replicators this year when Sam (Amanda Tapping) is brought to an Asgard-controlled planet to help defend the O'Neill, the Asgard's newest and most advanced ship ever. Also, the Russians retrieve the Giza gate from the bottom of the ocean from when Thor's ship, the Beliskner, crashed, while the SGC is now using the Antarctica gate. And, 10 years in the future, an advanced race, known as the Aschen, are quietly wiping out the human race by making humans infertile.
These are just a handful of the amazing new stories that occurred this year. It seems that Col. O'Neill (Richard Dean Anderson), Maj. Carter, Dr. Jackson (Michael Shanks), and Teal'c (Christopher Judge) can never catch a break. This year, not only have their alien enemies become more powerful than ever, especially Apophis (Peter Williams), their enemies on Earth have truly become a threat. Senator Kinsey (Ronny Cox), the man who tried to shut down the SGC in Season 1, has been linked to the rogue sector of the NID, the civillian organization responsible for the theft of numerous alien technologies over the last few years.
The stories this year are better than ever, especially with an increasing number of arcs occurring. Episodes like "Crossroads" and "The Serpent's Venom" were expertly executed, and had immense emotional effects on our heroes. However, I have to praise the stand-alones this year, especially "Window of Opportunity" and "The Other Side", which have never been better.
I guess the only thing that I didn't like about this season is that the Asgard were only in one episode, and the Tollan and the Nox were nowhere to be found. Oh well.
If you have seen the previous three seasons and are still skeptical about this show, I urge you to watch Season 4; I guarantee your interest in this show will quickly increase.
Some other great episodes are:
"Small Victories", "Upgrades", "Watergate", "Point of No Return", "Tangent", "The Curse", "Chain Reaction", "2010", "Absolute Power", "Double Jeopardy", and "Exodus".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Stargate is fine..., April 5 2004
By 
S. MacDonald (Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The show is fantastic, though I found the menus on the DVD less than beautiful. I was also kind of disappointed that after buying seasons 4, 5 and 6 all at once and under the understanding that they were closed captioned, that they are in fact NOT and subtitles are NOT available. I really think that amazon should consider adding a SUBTITLES: Yes/No area to their review.
However, the show itself rocked :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good television 4 years running, Jan. 21 2004
By 
A. Burchfield (Conway, Missouri USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've always liked Stargate, 4th season is no exception although I did think it might be just a lilttle darker in tone at times. The writers/ producers continue to come up with a wide variety of plots, writing, great sets and some interesting characters.
The most unusual set was in the season opener "Small Victories" in which O'Neill and Teal'c do battle with the Replicators on board a Russian submarine, it really is a Russian submarine.
I thought one of the most unusual characters was that of the Goa'uld Osiris, portrayed by Anna-Louise Plowman (the best role I've seen her in). In this one a former colleague of Daniel Jackson's, Sarah Gardner, is finally revealed to have been posessed by the Osiris symbiote after examining some Egyptian artifacts at their University. Plowman does that role so well, its a shame we don't see her more often. You always have Richard Dean Anderson doing his oddball bit, the best guest oddball was Willie Garson in "Point of no Return", playing the part of a delusional little guy who thinks he's an alien, turns out he is. That story was fun but definitely not one of the more serious episodes of the season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Colors washed out, Dec 27 2003
By A Customer
Just one disappointment - although the picture quality is excellent, the color reproduction is not. The colors are all somewhat washed out compared to the broadcast signal. Light yellows become white, for example. I don't know if this is true for the other seasons, but the difference here between the DVD and recorded episodes is dramatic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbf8f1d98)

This product

Stargate SG-1: Season 4
Stargate SG-1: Season 4 by Richard Dean Anderson (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 37.98 CDN$ 24.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews