Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now it all makes sense...
I have always believed that Stargate SG-1 is one of the best things happening on TV, and I see no reason to change my mind now.
There have been rumors going around for a year or so that the final season is near. Now, with the premier of "Stargate Atlantis" on sci-fi the intent of the show's producers is clear - the tablet found at the end of season 6 that...
Published on July 17 2004 by swingreen

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars CHEAP DVDs QUALITY
PRODUCT SKIPS RIGHT AFTER THE LION MASCOT. I WAS TOLD TO BUY ANOTHER DVD. HOW DISPOSABLE WE ARE? NOT THE FIRST TIME MASSIVE AMOUNTS OF COPIED DVDs WERE CHEAPLY MADE. NEED BETTER QUALITY DVDs. OTHERWISE STARGATE SG-1 ITSELF SERIES IS THE BEST!!! TOO BAD THE QUALITY OF DVDs HAS TO AFFECT IT.
Published on Oct. 25 2010 by LAFREN


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The best-written sci-fi show ever, and the coolest, too., March 13 2004
By A Customer
Stargate SG-1 is something of an oddball show to the uninitiated. One one hand, it revolves around sci-fi elements that range from the totally unique (the USAF secretly liberating enslaved humans from false gods) to the "planet-of-the-week" themes of a show like Star Trek. In this respect, Stargate SG-1 does television sci-fi as well as anyone ever has before. At it's best, it's as good as Star Trek or Babylon Five ever was. At it's worst, it's better than those shows at their worst.
But that's only half the story. This show is also a bona fide military action show produced with the full cooperation of the United States Air Force and done with an attention to detail that makes it extremely realistic once you get past the sci-fi elements. Not that the stargate itself exists, of course, but the way the Air Force characters interact, the protocols they follow, etc. is all dead-on accurate. In fact, the "daily life" scenes around the SGC more accurately capture the feel of military life than ANY other TV show ever done. JAG is probably the only other show that even comes close to showing this level of respect for military personnel, and even that show takes a lot more liberties with official protocol than does Stargate.
It means a lot that they show proper respect to the Air Force by paying attention to the smaller details: not allowing Col. O'Neill and Major Carter to act on their attraction to one another, cutting Amanda Tapping's hair when it got longer than what Air Force regulation would really allow, using real-life hardware alongside the fictional alien ones and allowing the human-made weapons to hold their own (and in some cases like with the P-90's, be superior to the aliens own weapons).
It's my theory that the success of Stargate SG-1 is at least partially due to it's crossover appeal. It draws in the regular sci-fi fans, but it also appeals to the military audience as well. Fans of Star Trek and JAG can equally enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost gets the five stars!, March 11 2004
By 
E. C. Manning "CarterMackenzie (Beth)" (Lower Hutt, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This series is definitely a favourite of mine. I love the stories, and the acting is great as expected! The DVD is extra special with the audio commentaries that always have me laughing outloud (especially Martin Wood's and Peter Deluise)! And extra bonus was the Director's Featurettes, again by Martin and Peter - they're brilliant to watch!
My only complaint - and why it doesn't get the five stars - Where on earth are the captions!!! This is really sad in this day in age for a DVD to be released without captions for the deaf and hearing impaired!!!
Great DVD, but for that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, March 8 2004
By A Customer
The 2 part season opener is great, like a full length feature movie. There are a few weak moments in the set but overall it easily qualifies for the 5 star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Six seasons in and stronger than ever, March 6 2004
By 
S. Collier "spcolli" (Millersville, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As I've only watched Stargate as it has come out on DVD, I had no idea what to expect from season six, especially with several of my Daniel Jackson-obsessed friends bemoaning his loss during this season's run. But Jackson or no, season six is a remarkable addition to the Stargate timeline.
The first few shows of the season are in that uncomfortable place of having a few very good elements (the introduction of Jonas Quinn, for me, being one of them) and a few rather questionable ones (as in the episode "Frozen," where the A-story of finding the preserved body of an apparently 'ancient' advanced human is taken over by the B-story of how this human carries a deadly virus, the episode ending up focusing more on how to cure the virus, forgetting entirely about *explaining* the virus and the human who carried it).
However, with the episode "Nightwalkers," with its stylized cinematography and old-school body-snatchers storyline, the season comes into its own, and the episodes that follow only get more interesting. Viewers will need a fairly keen memory of shows in seasons past as nearly every episode relies on information learned years ago, but I believe the shows hold up nicely on their own as well, simply through the sophistication of the show's ability to put new twists on classic SF and general drama plots.
Not to mention, the show begins to more openly acknowledge and poke fun at other classic science fiction shows, such as Alf (mentioned in "Sight Unseen") and Star Trek (particularly in the episodes "Unnatural Selection," in which O'Neill suggests calling their new spaceship the 'Enterprise,' and "The Other Guys," in which two bumbling scientists try to play heroes and end up nearly ruining an undercover mission-- look for the Klingon Bat'leth used as a random set-decoration in the Goa'uld/Tok'ra's throne room).
Stargate fans tend to be very critical of Corin Nemec and his character Jonas Quinn, as he is technically the season six replacement for Michael Shanks's Dr. Jackson, but Jonas is a refreshing change in the line-up. Where in seasons four and five, Jackson came off as slightly bitter, bored, and morose (seemingly reflecting Shanks's own attitude at the time), Jonas is optimistic, curious, and energetic, and provides a good counterpoint to O'Neill, Carter, and Teal'c and their team dynamic. Much as I like Daniel, it actually makes me sad that Corin Nemec left the show when Shanks asked to come back in season seven.
The production values of the show in season six are stellar, with solid scripts, cinematography, directing, sound editing, soundtrack, and, most notably, special effects. Looking back at season one, Stargate has come a long way in what they are capable of in the realm of computer graphics. Of course, the slightly under-whelming Asgard puppets are still dragged out on occasion, but the writers have enough self-awareness to let the characters make fun of the suddenly non-CG Asgard (from "Unnatural Selection"-- O'Neill: "I thought you were going for a new body." Thor: "This is my new body." O'Neill: "...Right.").
The DVD set for this season is also leaps and bounds ahead of the past collections. The digital transfer is beautiful, and holds up well on a 43" LCD flatscreen, owing to the improved method of filming used in Stargate's production begun in season five. The 5.1 Dolby sound is, as usual, more than adequate. The DVD finally includes the actual opening sequence used in the airing of the show, instead of the 'cross-eyed Ra' opening from the Stargate film that was inexplicably used for the past few seasons. The graphic design for the DVD cases and menus has finally been updated and looks more subtly sophisticated than before, though using a font for the episode titles that looks strangely like the one used by Lucasfilm for the titles of the Star Wars prequels (a moot point, I know, but strange nonetheless). The Directors Series featurettes included for almost every episode are a welcome addition and a nice attempt at reaching out to the DVD audience, some of them providing amusing and/or unique looks into the production, others doing little more than recapping the episode and showing a few moments from the other side of the camera. The inclusion of audio commentaries once again (as done in seasons four and five) is equally welcome, and provide both insight (from directors, writers, actors, visual effects supervisors) and humor (particularly from director Peter DeLuise and actor Gary Jones, who plays the recurring character of the nearly-nameless technician, who has appeared in every episode since the beginning of the series).
Compared to the often-dull seventh season of Stargate currently running (where B-stories consistently eat their A-stories, and Richard Dean Anderson is barely an on-screen presence) and the horror that has become of the Star Trek franchise, "Enterprise," season six is looking to be the pinnacle of current televised science fiction. Huzzah to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best show ever made, March 5 2004
By 
This is one of the best shows I have ever seen. I love Star Trek, and it used to be my number one show. Stargate is far better than any Star Trek. I love the dark humor they display at times. I could go on talking about the show. Please see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looking for a fantastic show to watch?, March 5 2004
Well, you've come to the right place. I was never a sci-fi fan until I started watching this show. To date, this has been the only show to have me laughing, crying, and sitting on the edge of my seat all in one episode. My favorite thing about this show is the dynamics of the characters. When one member of the team is in trouble, the rest are there to help at any cost. In "Abyss", Daniel Jackson returns to his friend's (Colonel O'neill)aid as he is being tortured. Back on Earth, the rest of the team desperatly tries to figure a way to get their firend home. This is just one example of the many great episodes you will find in this season. This is an exceptional show. I really hope you can enjoy it as much as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take a Lesson in Fair Price Paramount, March 3 2004
I'm a fan of Star Trek, but Stargate SG-1 is great. In fact better than the last two Star Trek series. Why do I buy every single season of Stargate but not Star Trek? Paramount's greed. I bought all the orignal series Star Trek seasons, but I wasn't happy with the price or the fact they only had two episodes per DVD disk. After buying three seasons of ST:TNG for one hundred dollars plus, I had enough of their greed. The same goes for Twentieth Century Fox's X-Files. There just isn't any excuse for a season costing over a hundred dollars. You can't tell me that they can't sell their seasons for the same kind of price as Stargate SG-1. I highly recommend all the seasons of SG-1. The cast, stories, music, production values, and direction make this one of the best TV series I have ever seen. The bottomline is this is an exceptional value and I commend MGM for selling this series for such a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my best Purchases, March 3 2004
By 
Organic (wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
This season of Stargate is one of my alltime favorite purchases from the internet or even from a store. This show is awesome, and is highly recommended. I also got great value and benefitted from the books "Wisdom Daddy Taught Me" and "Secrets of Sensual Lovemaking" and the video "Rawfully Good," and the awesome instructional dvd "New Sex Now."
I would enthusiasticly advise any of my friends to buy all of the above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best tv series ever, Feb. 25 2004
By 
"aslwsapcjs" (Suwanee, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
this is the absolute best series ever especially for people who enjoy fantasy, comedy, action, sci fi, and adventure. I could sit and watch this series all day long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars While still good, it could be better., Feb. 9 2004
By 
Adam (Ann Arbor, MI) - See all my reviews
Having watched the series from its beginnings on Showtime, I can honestly say that the blending of sci-fi and mythology is one of the best I have ever seen. Season 6, having aired on Sci-fi channel as opposed to Showtime, I was leery of what they might do to the already well formed storylines, but was pleasantly surprised at the production quality and continuation of the storyline. Though the story as of late hasn't been up to par with the rest of the series, it is still a lot better than anything out there for sci-fi fans. For the disillusioned fans of Star Trek (due to the horrible Enterprise series), I recommend the entire series and the new episodes on the Sci-fi channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x10b6af18)

This product

Stargate SG-1: Season 6
Stargate SG-1: Season 6 by Richard Dean Anderson (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 37.98 CDN$ 35.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews