Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An exciting show to look out for
Billed "the scariest TV show ever" before its release, the show certainly doesn't flinch away from the great visuals and dark mood. I can't confirm if this is the case (having seen plenty of horror movies and therefore largely desensitized), but I wouldn't be surprised--the atmosphere throughout the episodes are decidedly creepy, a little uncomfortable, and there are more...
Published on July 31 2006 by Curio

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pochette très abimée
Le colis est arrivé un peu tard, mais ce n'est qu'un détail. Par contre, la pochette est très abimée et c'est profond donc la pochette contenant les cds aussi est abimée. C'est très dommage car cet item aurait mérité un 5 étoiles grace au prix..
Published 1 month ago by Pamela


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An exciting show to look out for, July 31 2006
By 
Curio (Calgary, Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supernatural: The Complete First Season (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Billed "the scariest TV show ever" before its release, the show certainly doesn't flinch away from the great visuals and dark mood. I can't confirm if this is the case (having seen plenty of horror movies and therefore largely desensitized), but I wouldn't be surprised--the atmosphere throughout the episodes are decidedly creepy, a little uncomfortable, and there are more than a few moments when you'd like to back up a little in some of the closer shots, and I just don't recall this ever happening before in other television series!

There is an excellent X-Files-y feel to the show, but it manages to be more lighthearted and "cool," due in large part to the convincing and enjoyable fraternal chemistry between stars Padalecki and Ackles, whose acting comes off as natural and comfortable. Centred entirely on supernatural events (lacking thankfully from The X-File's sometimes tiring theme of government conspiracy and aliens) based on actual urban legends, it's satisfying to see some of the stories we've all heard growing up unfold and be addressed on the screen. Of course it's a fictional storyline, but in a sense, this gives it more "credibility," where other shows like Buffy, Angel, and Charmed, while fun, you know plenty of the mythology is made up.

I wish I could give this a 4.5, because the show is lacking little from an enthusiastic 5. My biggest regret is that much of the show's episodes are stand-alone, addressing the main plotline only occasionally. This is partly understandable, as there wouldn't be much if the brothers' goals were so quickly dealt with, and the huge variety of urban legends cannot possibly all relate to their quest. But at times, I still felt myself hoping for a return to the main issue in the middle of a batch of stand-alones, the story arcs, if you will, from other shows such as Lost that keep the pace steady and on track. Fortunately, whenever the main story is explored, they are always outstanding episodes, with heightened tension and action, all culminating to an impressive season finale.

In conclusion, there's very little not to like in Supernatural: it has charm, humour, excitement, chills, and thrills, things you'd think all TV shows by now would have learned to include.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pochette très abimée, June 23 2014
This review is from: Supernatural: The Complete First Season (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Le colis est arrivé un peu tard, mais ce n'est qu'un détail. Par contre, la pochette est très abimée et c'est profond donc la pochette contenant les cds aussi est abimée. C'est très dommage car cet item aurait mérité un 5 étoiles grace au prix..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars best show out there, Dec 31 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
love the show good to start from the beginning, quality is top notch but sadly there's not much in the way extras
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressed, Dec 30 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: The Complete First Season (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Arrived in record time. It was exactly what I wanted. Much easier than driving to a store to look for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, July 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had started watching and decided I wanted to buy the whole seasons. The price is excellent considering it's BluRay and also at stores near me DVDs were twice the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spoiler Free Review - Incredible Show, Sept. 19 2009
By 
Taylor Y. (Saskatchewan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supernatural: The Complete First Season (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Combine two brothers, some salt, a lot of artillery, demons, rock and roll, and some chills - what do you get? Well, Supernatural! Not to mention the well-placed humour, interesting ghoul "fun facts", and it's filmed in the coolest place on Earth: Canada! (Vancouver to be specific).

DVD BOX REVIEW

I love it. Last disc has a lot of the "behind-the-scene" stuff like bloopers and a day in the life of Jensen and Jared. Some complain there isn't enough stuff on the DVDs - more episode commentary would be nice, but it's a great package for an underrated show.

SHOW REVIEW

I have to admit, the show does start off more gory than I'd like - I am not a horror-flick watcher in any means. But Dean's charm, Sam's puppy eyes, and the intense storyline kept me going. The "blood-and-bones" aspect does tone down for many episodes, and taps into the emotions and spirituality of humans (and demons!), which is the aspect I really enjoy the most.

I highly recommend giving this show a look. It isn't just a "horror/slash" television show. It's a well-written show about the fears and tears of life - with just a pinch of demon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Show., July 14 2007
By 
Laura S. Hirtle "Laura" (Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Supernatural: The Complete First Season (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I've just recently started watching Supernatural and this box set was a great way to get into the show. The commentaries (though sparse) are really interesting and the documentary extras give great insight into the shows production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, May 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Supernatural: The Complete First Season (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This season terrifies me, but I love watching it for its great writing and wonderful acting.
Some people say you can skip this season, but I disagree; you need this season to establish who the Winchester brothers are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars En français, Dec 3 2010
À tous ceux qui se demandent pourquoi ils ont resortis les anciennes saisons de Supernatural, ils ont décidés de mettre le doublage en français sur les dvd. Ils ont bien fait, ça faisait un moment qu'on les attendait. Les saisons 1, 2, 3 et 4 qui ont sortis le 19 octobre sont maintenant disponible en français. La jacquette du coffret est en français puisqu'ils ont mis le titre français de la série: "Surnaturel" mais l'intérieur du coffret est en anglais (pour les 3 premiers coffrets). Pour la 4ième saison, le coffret est juste en français, mais il n'y a rien d'écris à l'intérieur concernant les épisodes de la saison 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Series, Special Features Lacking, June 12 2007
By 
Saffron Scott (Winnipeg, Mb) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Supernatural: The Complete First Season (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Well produced, beautifully shot and full of just the right mix of scares and laughs, Supernatural is the first WB series since Buffy went legit (and got boring) worth watching in a long time.

The first season is much more "Horror Movie of the Week" than the second, with only bits and pieces of the overall story arc thrown in to hold it together but in doing so it makes most episodes much more enjoyable to watch as one-offs. Its funny, its tight, its genuinely scary. You can tell that the actors are having fun doing it, and in turn you have fun coming along for the ride. There are very few weak episodes in Season One and as the tension mounts and we start careening toward the season finale it really grabs for your guts and doesn't let go for a second.

The only beef I have with the box set is the special features. They're seriously lacking, and the few commentaries (except for the one for the pilot) feel slapped together and tacked on as an after thought. Start-up websites have better official galleries. The behind the scenes featurettes lack too. Movie Television (CA) shot and aired better, more in depth and amusing stuff than what appears on the DVD set. The DVD-ROM features do make up for it a bit, but you have to take it to your computer to enjoy the really good stuff online.

Hopefully now that the show has found an audience and is guaranteed for a Season Three WB/CW will put more thought and work into the special features of the Season Two box set, but for now we'll just have to wait on that.

If you love the show, and enjoy watching the episodes then the box set won't disappoint. Buy it, watch it with your friends and enjoy! If, however, you're a DVD junkie who puts more worth in the special behind the scenes features than the show itself, you may be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Supernatural: The Complete First Season (Sous-titres français)
CDN$ 33.74 CDN$ 18.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews