Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must own, from someone who actually owns the game.
Unlike the rest of the reviewers, I actually own this game. I have played it's competitor's on other systems, and I am glad to say that this is a great title for the PS3. It stands amoung the best first person shooters out for any system right now. If you have never played the first game, or it's PSP conterpart, then you may not understand the story fully. However this...
Published on March 13 2009 by E. Vallee

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great looking game, but everything else is horrible.
Quick review

Pros
*Great graphics
*does a great job transitioning 1st person actions (ie, jumping, reloading etc) animations are great.
*Modest length story mode

Cons
*Poor weapon balance, weapons don't have a satisfying punch to them.
*only able to hold 1 main weapon and 1 pistol causing you to miss out on experiencing the...
Published on Dec 12 2009 by K. T. Khan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must own, from someone who actually owns the game., March 13 2009
By 
E. Vallee "Digital Sith" (BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Killzone 2 - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
Unlike the rest of the reviewers, I actually own this game. I have played it's competitor's on other systems, and I am glad to say that this is a great title for the PS3. It stands amoung the best first person shooters out for any system right now. If you have never played the first game, or it's PSP conterpart, then you may not understand the story fully. However this should not stop you from playing it. It is a wonderful action game, with plenty of weapons and awesome moments to keep you glued to your controller until the credits. The single player is shorter than you may wish, but the multiplayer is solid and will last you alot longer. The graphics are stunning, and one of the nice touches is that your weapons feel weighted down giving them a more realistic feel. If you own a PS3, then you owe it to yourself to play this game. It is one of the best titles for the PS3. It is more challenging than the Resistance series, and much more enjoyable. You can tell that this game has been polished from the ground up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Game, Jan. 8 2009
By 
T. Huynh (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Killzone 2 - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
Disclaimer: This is my impression from playing the beta(s). I haven't had a chance to play the Single Player yet, but I will Day One when I pick up this game.

I was lucky to take part in the closed beta, Phase 2 & 3 out of 3 phases.
the changes from Phase 2 to 3 were huge and improved so I'm confident the final product will be even better.

I've played both Killzone 1 and Killzone: Liberation and so I'm comfortable with the Killzone Universe.
I was never a big fan of Killzone 1. It was good but not great. It wasn't terrible either.
The improvements are astounding compared to Killzone 1.

When I was in the KZ2 beta I put in KZ1 to see the differences and enhancement they've made for the sequel and I'm not over-exaggerating when I say it's a HUGE improvement. I also put in CoD4 and Resistance 2 since they are both FPS games to compare with KZ2 and Killzone 2 is just better and more solid.

The graphics are simply breathtaking and the controls are very spot on. The guns feel good in your hands and the gameplay is very fun. It really does feel like you're in a war zone when you're playing against 31 other players online.

The "Dynamic Objectives" is simply awesome. You no longer finish a round log out then wait and go into a different mode. It's one long continuous mode that happens right after one another without leaving the game. So it will be Capture, Assassinate, Protect, ect. all in one round of play. Of course you can create your own room with your own tailored Modes if you wanted, as well. Or join other rooms that have your favorite modes.

The online stats and upgrades are awesome. You can mix and match your class to your desire.
But you can only hold 2 different classes with each one character.

If you like the feel of CoD4 or CoD:WaW then you will love Killzone 2.

Sure, the graphics are amazing and one of the best, but what's more important is the gameplay and it is rock solid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, March 14 2009
By 
Dale Watson "D-Wizzo" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Killzone 2 - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
I am not a first person shooter fan, but after seeing the visuals on this game and hearing the hype I thought I would give it a go. I was definitely not disappointed. This is a fantastic game that looks and feels great. The first player is good fun, but the raison d'etre for this game is really the multiplayer. It is well thought out and the personal achievements keep you coming back for more.

Even for gamers that don't usually do FPS. A must have for PS3 owners and one of my favourite games on the system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best shooters on the PS3, Nov. 29 2009
By 
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Killzone 2 - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
Killzone 2 is an excellent buy. I bought it a couple of days after downloading the demo, because the demo was so good. I must say Guerilla nailed it this time. Here's why you should buy Killzone 2.

1. The game looks extremely good. So good that I can honestly say there is no other shooter out there that looks like KZ2. Not even MW2.
2. The gameplay mechanics are terrific. Actions are a little slow, but that does not slow down the game in anyway and actually feels real. For example, you move slower if you have a Sub machine gun and faster if you have a shotgun.
3. I have played the game 253 hrs online. It is very very good. It's by and large a game in itself and is very addictive.

The only disappointments for me were
1. The only flaw for me was that the story is not explained at all. All the more confusing because the Killzone universe has an excellent story which can be learned at the game's website.
2. None of the DLC is free. I expected atleast some DLC to be free, after all they are just giving new multiplayer maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must buy if you own a PS3, June 21 2009
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Killzone 2 - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
I couldn't find a place in town that had this game to rent, so I went to gameaccess.ca (good site! 2 games out for CAD$24.95/month, less if you pay for more months at once, no late fees).
Anyway
This has to be one of the best first-person shooters I've played on a console. I played the demo and thought, meh...
That all changed when I got my hands on the full version.
I haven't finished the single-player campaign yet, as I've been addicted to the multiplayer portion of the game.
Some people may lament the sluggishness of the controls, but I feel that it adds much-needed weight to the character (Guerrila has also recently added a "high precision" mode to their control system, negating many of the most vocal complaints).
Unlike some other FPSs, when you shoot another player or an NPC, the animations make it feel like your bullets are actually having an effect.
It's much more of a tactical shooter and less of a run-and-gun shooter...
If you've gotten used to the fast pace of Resistance 2, prepare to be disappointed. This game is meant to be played smarter, not harder.
Oh, also, if you have a headset, the voice chat is proximity-sensitive; that is, if someone is on the other side of the map, you can't hear them unless you're in their squad.
The graphics are amazing, and really show off the power of the PS3.
If you're a fan of first-person shooters on a console, this is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great shooter game, no better shooter game out there, May 28 2009
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Killzone 2 - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
Yes I own Killzone 2 PSNID: "CEMH"

Like every shooter the story is just a side kicker. The real fun is in well... shooting people online and tea bagging if your into that sort of thing. The only other shooter games are Halo 3(sticky nade KaBoom!) and Gears of War 2(Lancer Ya! Love the gore) but both lose out to this game.

I've played all 3 so I can compare. Yes graphics better on K2, H3 is old, GofW2 has gore. Controls better on Xbox360 because its only good for shooter games duh, but not for fighting games like Streetfighter or SCIV. PS3 controller good for any type of game. The cool thing in K2 though is if your a sniper in scope mode and you need to adjust your aim a little, just move the PS controller to fix your aim thanks to the SixAxis funtion, just remember its always on when sniping.

Story? Who gives a... Shooter games are not well known for a good story just look at Gears of War 2. The stories are flat dead, only thing good is the action cut scenes and enemies you get to shoot.

Online gameplay. K2 is great for this and up to 32 players. There are differnt classes and each has its own advantages like Support gets Drone Turrents, Tactical-Spawn Grenade(Great for the big maps and when needing to hold an area), Heavy-Armor w/extra health, Sniper-Cloak w/fliter(Awsome), and Sabotour-Disguise. Including secondary ablitities which can be used in any class. Each map is well detailed, different in size and bonus is most maps are not mirrored(meaning half the map is the same as the other half), multiple gameplay type on one map(CTF, then Body Count, then...) Makes for a very intense online game and no lag problems(For me anywayz).

H3 all maps are mirrored, only one type of gameplay each time on a map, you can change your look, can't choose own map since its random(sad), if someone leaves game stops to unload them and no one can enter during gameplay(very sad), but you get sticky nades and are able to tea bag players. Its been like this since the 1st Halo. WTF!!!

GofW2 Gore, Gore, Gore!!! Slice them, pop their heads off, curb stomp(Forgot about the curb stomp LOL) all results in pools of blood.

Overall Killzone 2 is the better shooter game out right now because to me it just way better in the variety you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great graphics, story lacking, April 28 2009
By 
Graham Knowles "Graham K" (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Killzone 2 - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
Killzone 2 is a strong follow-up to Killzone on PS2. It has an excellent multiplayer experience with a lot variety of game style, and a solid user base that makes finding a 48 player game easy.
The single player mode is fun, and encourages you to play through in a couple of days (14 hrs was how long it took me), but I question replay value. One issue was the lack of a strong story.
If you are a multiplayer fan, than this is going to be one of the best games for you on the PS3. If you are buying for the single player campaign - RENT IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST GAME OF THE YEAR, March 28 2009
By 
Germain C. Yung (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Killzone 2 - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
There are only a few words to rate this game. It is nearly flawless.
The only thing I feel is the game is too short. I want it more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Shooter Game, Aug. 5 2010
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Killzone 2 - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
This is game as much awesome as Metal Gear Solid 4. Visually this game has the best graphics to offer when it was released. Good way to use PS3's hardware. Gameplay is what you expect fun and intense.. you wont want to leave this game till the very end. Its THAT addictive. Recommended to all FPS addicts and those who don't try Shooters, try it you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The FPS to get on the PS3, April 19 2009
By 
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Ce commentaire est de: Killzone 2 - PlayStation 3 (Video Game)
If you like Shooter and Action, Killzone2 is THE Best Shooter on the PS3.

Single player campaign is very good and immersing. Multiplayer is a blast with its classes and badge system.

if you're hesitating, don't, you won't regret your choice. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Killzone 2 - PlayStation 3
Killzone 2 - PlayStation 3 by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
CDN$ 29.99 CDN$ 12.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews