Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best Star Wars movie.
I love the Star wars saga, but I think that they only sell the Star wars trillogy nowdays, so it was hard to find this jem, but here it is.
Published 12 months ago by william schuberg

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Original Trilogy,Once More"
INTRO:For the first time on DVD in 2006 the "original" films of the Star Wars trilogy were released,fans are finally getting the chance to see the original movies,"IV:A New Hope","V:The Empire Strikes Back" and "VI:Return Of The Jedi" as they were shown in theaters back in 1977,1980 and 1983 respectively.Altought those DVDs are said to be for a limited time only,its...
Published on Sept. 3 2007 by Tommy Sixx Morais


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars This is the best Star Wars movie., July 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love the Star wars saga, but I think that they only sell the Star wars trillogy nowdays, so it was hard to find this jem, but here it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, April 28 2013
By 
Jason I. Pyne "pinner75" (ontario, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great movie. It brought me back to my childhood, and it's obviously a timeless film. My kids love it as much as me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the greatest sequels ever, July 19 2004
in this one,the deathstar is being rebuilt and the rebels go nuke it again.after a smorgasboard of malfunctions with the millenium falcon,they are trapped with the empire.also,luke goes into jedi training with yoda.eventualy,he and darth are throwing down at the end.i think the only person with a non-star wars related job after this was harrison ford-han solo.but he never did jack that even came close to the same awesomeness youll see in this set.the kids will love it too.george lucas is the directer.i dont know what hes done besides the star wars set but they are all over the top awesome.all 5 are in the top 20 best selling movies ever.this is a film that most anyone will enjoy.a lot of people say they dont like all that science fiction/star wars/star trek junk.id like to make a definate distinction.star trek is a boring bunch of non sense and star wars rules.there are a couple gross parts but nothing too bad.just ugly monsters like the sluggish jabba the hut and luke and yoda hanging around the swamp a lot.there is really only one chick.this uptight princess named leia.shes pretty in the face when shes not moving it but has a really bad haircut.also,it was during a time before fashion was of the upmost importance,so she runs around in a spacesuit a lot.never accept any review that says this movie is anything less then spectacular.the special effects set the abselute standard at the time.they are still pretty cool now.this is part 2 of the series and after it is the return of the jedi.then 2 prequels[before the first one entitled star wars].i guess theres another one coming out next summer.so,it goes 1-star wars:the new hope,2-empire strikes back,3-return of the jedi then the 3 before those but released later 4-phantom menance,5-attack of the clones,then there is an animated short film that ties up those and sets up the final episode called6-clone wars.the last,yet to be released film is episode 3 leading into star wars.did you get all that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "The Original Trilogy,Once More", Sept. 3 2007
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
INTRO:For the first time on DVD in 2006 the "original" films of the Star Wars trilogy were released,fans are finally getting the chance to see the original movies,"IV:A New Hope","V:The Empire Strikes Back" and "VI:Return Of The Jedi" as they were shown in theaters back in 1977,1980 and 1983 respectively.Altought those DVDs are said to be for a limited time only,its almost sure that there is going to be another version or release of those "as seen in theaters movies" in a special edition sometime soon.

ORGINAL,REALLY?:This is said to be the original movies,but still some of the mistakes like the blue rod wich held the Millenium Falcon model,that were present in the original version are not present here,making of them not so original,but i beleve that those are minor changes that don`t affect the movie in any way and doesn`t prevent it of being good.

THE MOVIE ITSELF:1980`s Episode V:The Empire Strikes Back is the second movie of the Star Wars series,once again featuring Luke and CO. in this sequel to "A New Hope" they ecounter once again with Darth Vader in perhaps the most beloved Star Wars film,Episode V is a great enjoyable movie from beggening to end.While it might seem dated compared to the prequel trilogy in terms off sounds and effects it remains amazing.

TWO DISCS?:It is a very nice option to choose between two versions of the same movie,the original version and the special edition version.That way you can choose wich you want to watch and compare the two releases,but why didn`t they make a box set ainvailable as well as the separate movies,it would have contained the three movies togheter,seems like a no-brainer to me.

ONCE AGAIN:This marks the what?4rth or 5th time the original Star Wars trilogy has been released!Enough is enough!In 1992 it was released on VHS as "the orginal,one last time",then the 1996 "special dedition also on VHS.In 2004 it was once again released this time on DVD with a bonus disc and then the nest year,2005 they released the same set without the bonus disc and in 2006 this "original and special editions" two discs set of "A New Hope","The Empire Strikes Back" and "Return Of The Jedi".So my question i:how many more times must the original Star Wars trilogy be released?Bad news a boxed set of the 6 Star Wars movies in a "special edition" with changes will be released....

OVERRAL:Its great to have those original movies but there still some changes(minus one star),and its another re-re-re-re...-release(minus one star also).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ordering The Empire strikes back, June 15 2011
This review is from: Star Wars V: The Empire Strikes Back (Widescreen Limited Edition) (DVD)
i ordered a replacement copy of one of my favourite movies (lent it to someone who didn't return it). It took forever to arrive since it was coming from the States and -when I complained to the supplier about why it was taking so many weeks- i got a very curt message back. Won't be using them again. It arrived in a very flimsy envelope without any padding. Did I say I won't be using them again.

The movie however - what bliss to have it back. Why is there ever any debate about which is the best Star Wars movie?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Series, July 14 2004
Carrie Fisher once stated the SW series is like ice cream (nice simile). All being good, however ESB being the best flavor. I agree with her statement.
My dissertation,lol,on the film is near the final when Vader tells Luke that he is the father. On a Freudian level, this could be called the Oedipus complex theory with Luke deciding to not join his father. I presume Luke was apprehensive to join in because he believed it was a confidence game that would result in his own termination/castration. Just a speculative theory.
No matter what, enjoy this wonderful work.
When ESB was released in 1997 I had a standing date to go see it on the big screen. Way back in 1980, I remember being on summer vacation and going to see it for the first time. When the movie ended, I could not believe that we (the audience) were left hanging on a cliff for the next 3 years. Talk about tease, lol.......:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Star Wars Saga Continues. . ., March 11 2004
By 
Brendan L. Agnew "rothwyn" (Nowheresville, OK, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"My ally is the Force, and a powerful ally it is."
- Yoda
It was a dark time for the Rebellion.
The now-famous scroll of yellow letters over the movie screen set the tone for the second chapter in George Lucas's Star Wars saga. In The Empire Strikes Back, we see a darker side to the conflict that was first introduced in the swashbuckling Star Wars. The stakes are higher, the battles are more tense, and the characters grow. In the same vein as the matinee movie serials that Lucas was honoring with these movies, Empire begins with a bang and ends on a cliffhangar, but, from beginning to end, showcases the best that the Star Wars Trilogy has to offer.
The Rebellion has just been driven from their base, and are set upon on all sides by the numerically superior Imerial Fleet, leaving the heroes scattered. Luke, yearning to finish his Jedi training, sets out to find a reclusive master, and must come to terms with his first defeat. Han and Leia travel to a magnificent city in the clouds, only to meet with betrayel at the hands of an old friend. Darth Vader, more sinister and evil than ever, has concocted a plan to capture Luke and turn him to the Dark Side of the Force, using Han and Leia as bait.
Lucas handed the directing reins over to Irvin Kershner (Never Say Never Again), who infuses his own brand of vision into Lucas's story, creating a much darker, character-driven narrative, and, arguable, the best film in the series. My first experience with the saga, Empire holds a special place in my heart. Either way, The Empire Strikes Back is filled with exotic worlds, fierce space battles, and climactic lightsaber duels.
The Special Edition of Empire adds less than it's predecessor, mainly placing in bits and pieces of effects shots that were never finished, and giving more substance to the ice monster that attacks Luke early in the film. However, the meat of the film is untouched, thankfully, and simply looks the best it has in more than twenty years. When it comes to film, there are movies, then there's Star Wars, and Empire holds its own against the original with talent to spare.
If you own Star Wars, chances are you own The Empire Strikes Back. If not, give yourself a good kick in the butt, and get it. NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It was a dark time for the Rebellion..., Feb. 13 2004
By 
Michael J. Chrush (Kent, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Hence it seems to be a dark time for us as STAR WARS fans left hanging in the dark for the great mystery of how EPISODE 3 is going to transpire. After mixed bag reviews to EPISODES 1 and 2, I like many can only hope for the best. However I must remind myself there are only movies and very classy entertaining movies at that.
So what has been changed with the already perfect, in my opinion, STAR WARS: EPISODE 5 - THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK? For starters one may want to familiarize themselves with Donald F. Glut's storybook novelization to read any scenes that are not included in the original 1980 release. Despite many of the key scenes occuring out of sequence in the novel and comic book version - for instance, the Bounty Hunters are introduced following Yoda bringing Luke's X-Wing out of the swamp, and the arrival at Cloud City occuring after Luke's imaginary duel with Darth Vader inside the dark cave. What has been changed?
There are many unnecessary, in my opinion, changes seen throughout. When R2-D2 is nearly swallowed by the swamp monster, Luke's "You're lucky you don't taste very good!" is changed to "You were lucky to get out of there!" WHAT? WHY? A more visual look at the Wampa eating carrion while Luke struggles to free himself from the ice cavern. Plus an actual look at Luke slashing off the monsters' arm. The best changes made are a wider view of Cloud City. There are open windows making the city look more like a real metropolis instead of a very confined set as it was in the original 1980 release. When Luke takes his fall from the reactor core, his cry as he falls is a recycled sound effect of the Emperor falling down the shaft in RETURN OF THE JEDI. There are also added scenes of Darth Vader's shuttle departing for the EXECUTOR Star Destroyer's landing platform, which looks very similar to the set used for the uncompleted Death Star in RETURN OF THE JEDI. Probably recycled footage.
What's still missing? Following Luke's recovery from the Bacta Tank there was to have been a scene where 2-1B the medical droid removes an adhesive mask from Luke's face to heal the injury scars, and rebel officers discovering Luke's dead tauntaun. Plus the capture of a wampa, and Threepio removing the warning sticker to lead stormtroopers to their "Wampa Chow" fate. Also missing are longer scenes during Luke's Jedi Training where he levitates glowing magical balls or cleaves sticks with his lightsaber. Also missing for probably good reason is Han Solo enduring the shock torture which was to have gone longer, but according to interviews director Irvin Kershner cut it short, fearing it would be too gruesome for chidren. As if stuffing Luke inside a dead tauntaun wasn't bad enough. It's also strange that the Computer Graphics crew weren't able to remove the classic bloopers where Luke flees from the Wampa cave with his lightsaber activated just after you hear him turn it off, and C-3PO's body on the conveyor belt with the camera crew briefly reflected. I'm not going to argue anyhow because EMPIRE still remains a classic entry in the series as it is. It's one of those movies that stands alone as a great film in a series.
As an added bonus the Special Edition trailers to THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK and RETURN OF THE JEDI are also included on this video release.
All things considered, it's a shame that only the SPECIAL EDITION films will be released on DVD on September 21, 2004. If George Lucas really wanted to monopolize on the Star Wars franchise he should have both the original and special edition releases available in the same set. Similar to how on some DVDs one side is standard edition and the other is widescreen format. That would be some heavy duty technology to pull that off, but it would be worth it. Still I am definitely going to buy the DVD releases, since I strongly feel that the films will be given their long overdue justice - not to mention fantastic picture and sound quality, which with STAR WARS is a must. I also hope for Special Features the original, yes you read me correctly, ORIGINAL trailers will be included. After 2005 when EPISODE 3 is released, fans all over Earth will no doubt have their visual dreams realized - if still lacking the old time freshness.
MAY THE FORCE BE WITH YOU!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars we are back again!, Jan. 20 2004
Empire strikes back is not like two towers.Years have passed since new hope.Apooohyy is mad.he's even more out to get the webels than ever and never before.It's kinda funny how Darth Vader seems to know so much about Lukey Skywalker.He wants that kid when in the last movie he doesn't even now that there is a Luke Skywalker in the alliance.!!!! Lukey is rollicking off in the snow playing around with han solo exploring snow caves and hoppin on Tauntauns! But bad things happen and Luke is kiddnapped by a stupid Wampa that is hungry and doesn't realize that Lukey has gotten to be the GREATEST JEDI! Not quite yet.Ol'Ben Kenobi as a Marley Ghost(like in the movie musical Scrooge) tells him he has to see the weird little alien Yoda.THEN LUKEY WILL BE THE GRREATEST!!!!!
Leia seems to have gotten more lovin mushy on Han Solo but WON'T admit it! She seems like she's not as toughy any more.Han saves helpless kid from Wampa teeth! Empire blasts the snow cave
to bits, and the rebels are 'omeless. They try to escape but not many make it for there's a lota popping off at them from Vaders guns.Now Wukey hates Phoooeeeyy,and wants to KILLUM EM!
Lukey goes to Yodey on Dagobah and learns to not give in to hate.When Vader kidnaps poor luke's buddies with the help of Han
Solo's bad ol' bUddy Lando, Wukey rushes into Vader's trap to save his friends. Aphooooeeey forces Lukey high above a trash pit into a brilliant lightsaber Duel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!will Lukey give in? and join Vader in asassinating Darthy's Sithy Master,
PULPATINE?(Pilpaton,Palpatine)? Chewie the magic walking carpet
might save the day with his howling and blasting everything in sight!With the help of Highness Princess Leier and Lando who twice double-crosses Han and Vader. The SCUM! Will Threepio ever be able to talk again after being destroyed by his old maker Anakin's stormtroopers? Oh you don't know who Anakin is?Watch the prequels with Padme-Ani lovie story.I'll give you a hint:Ah...Pooh....Ah...Pooh...Ah.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LUKE, I AM YOUR FATHER!!!!!!, Jan. 7 2004
By A Customer
ONE QUESTION AND ONE COMMENT - WHERE ARE THE FREAKIN DVD'S!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews