Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle boutiques-francophones Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports summer Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars20
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$29.74+ $4.99 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 16, 2009
I have played through the campaign at least 100 times. Not in single player though which is still a lot fun. But once you start playing the campaign on co-op mode, you never get tired of it. This long lasting appeal alone makes it best game I ever played. I do recommend gears 2, but don't miss out on this beacuse you got gears 2 already. I am notabig fan of gears multiplyer but heard good things about it. Topnotch graphics, thanks to the wonderful Unreal 3 engine. Ignore the reviewsthat hate the game beacause it's not on ps3. You shouldn't have xbox 360 if you don't have this game.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon October 5, 2007
In late 2006,Gears Of Wars is released for the XBOX 360 but actually was supposed to be released 6 months earlier then its release date of November 2006.Gears revolutionizes the FPS shooter games with its killer cover system and more but actually its the best thing that happened to the FPS games since Half-Life or Halo.Gears was Microsoft`s console seller during the holiday period of 2006,a game with such a reputation better be awesome,and that`s precisely what Gears Of Wars is.

You play as Marcus Fenix,an inmate once left to die.Now you must save the world from hordes of Locusts,monsters that attack everything in sight and kill every one of them and that is what you will do troughout the game.The Locusts need to be killed but there are much more serious ennemies such as the powerfull Beserker,and of course no great game is complete without a massive epic battle with the final boss,in this case General RAAM.

Gears introduces a new cover system that is highly effective and appreciated.That gives you the chance the shoot the ennemy from many angles and when you are covered simply press the A button to move to the other side of the doorway.The reload technique is also pretty effective,and the best of all is killing the ennemy with the chainsaw that is located under a specific gun,just great guitly pleasure.

GOW is actually worth playing all the way trought,it ain`t that long however about 8 hours to finnish,depending on how good you are.Its a great story mode and those 8 hours were some of the greatest moments of my gaming life and it was well worth,it really used your brain to figure what to do to get to the next part of the game and develop techniques against the ennemies.

Everyone i know who played Gears were blowned away by the game and all still talk about it,its a console seller game and one that will be remembered for years and consoles to come.A few games are going to be remembered from the XBOX 360,and im happy to say Gears Of War will be one them and high on the list!It is already influential,and its influence can be seen in games like "Bioshock" who is really good by the way.

Online is good and pretty fun,there a few good types of games to choose from and its entertaining.Multiplayer on the other hand is awfull.Its just a matter of who kills who first,and its in rounds so the player who has the most rounds won,wins.I skip it and go for the story mode or online,you can also do the story mode in co-op wich is really nice.Gears takes the mutiplayer experience to great highs with its online multplayer.

There is no point in hidding it,Gears was made and plays as if it was a movie,the cinematics are amazing and can compared to a movie.Even the characters could be movie characters,Marcus Fenix and the other have voices and characteristics that could fit very well into a movie.I actually like the feeling that its a movie,and there is even a possibility that GOW WILL be a movie latter on.The ending of the game leaves room for a sequel,a sequel we can only hope will as good as the first wich is not an easy task to complete.

The game`s graphics are probably the best seen on the XBOX 360 to this point,for anyone who didn`t think it didn`t the graphical edge over the other consoles,take at look at this on a HD-TV with HDMI.Anyway,that ain`t really point,its just that Gears has incredible graphics all the way and everything is extremely well detailed from monsters to rocks.I never imagined graphics being this good before GOW was released,the graphics really are that good!

Overral,Gears Of Wars is one the most satisfying and fun game i played in my life.If you are mature enough,like FPS and aren`t a pussy i say this game is for you!The highest rating it can get is not enough,highly recommended,5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2007
Of all the shooting games I played, this one was different. You could really feel the atmosphere as the ground shakes beneath you character. You know, how dead corpses were hanging from trees right? You get close to the dead and you see and hear the flies buzzing over their remains. You have this zoom while you run and turn quickly. The weapons are nicely detailed. This is just to name a few. In other words the graphics were amazing. It was a bit short but real challenging on the last difficulty level. You had a chainsaw for close ranges attacks. The saw basically cut your enemies in two. It's real handy when you run out of ammo. The co-op mode for this game was real strong. The only negative is that the friendly A.I. is a bit lacklustre. During battles they have a tendancy to stand right in front of you. Opposed to enemy A.I. that sometimes go crazy. The only thing left to do is to fix the small bugs. I just know there's going to be a sequel and I can't wait to try it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2006
Too much fun. For once the hype came through in a finished product. This game rocks. Immersive gameplay coupled with gourgeous graphics. Heck, the curb stomp and chainsaw animations are almost worth the price of admission alone.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2015
Killing machine. Very nice game even if it is a little dated for 2015. You have to play this one before doing the other 2.

A well balanced shootter with plenty of amo and a nice story line that develops in the 2 other games. I prefer this serie to Halo.

The last boss is pretty tough :P
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2007
Gears of War for the xbox 360 is the best game yet. Any and all that like frist person shooters games will like this one. The detail that they put into this game will make your head spin. I find that the more you play this game the better it get. I hope you all have as much fun playing this game as I did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2007
gears of war is amazing! simply worth all the money and more.a must have for any person a fan of monster shooting games.the game its self isnt very long but its still very very fun.people if you dont have this or if u dont have an x-box 360 go get one when ever u can u will not be disapointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 21, 2007
This is an amazing experience, gotta try it before u knock it. I bought this for the single player an now play a hell of a lot more multiplayer. Gotta try it but it aint for the squeamish kill or be killed online. If u wanna play look me up under Awesomo7451.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
The game was perfect! No scratch or anything, I'm very happy with my order :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2006
It is pretty obvious why this game got the Game of the Year award, it is just plain fun, the storyline isn't good at the beginning, but it gets slightly better!

Co-op mode is just great in this game, if someone dies, you just walk up to them and press the X button to heal them, but if you both die, you have to start over from the last checkpoint.

Your guns also have chainsaws on the ends, creating interesting melee attacks (grind 'em up).

This is an essential Xbox 360 game, and you WILL be very pleased with this!

5 stars for fun

5 stars overall
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.