Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty fun
i just finished this game like an hour ago and its pretty awesome.

first id like to say that the controls are hard to get used to but once u no how to use them, there awesome.

the storyline is ok a bit of the usual(girl gets kidnapped guy saves girl thing)but with a cool japanese culture twist.

as for the graphics there pretty much...
Published on April 5 2007 by snow lover

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shoot & Sword - Less than you expect
I was looking forward to try an FPS (First Person Shooter) utilizing the revolutionary Wii remote unit. Before the Wii, there has been many debates and argumentation how the "regular" console controllers can handle this kind of game experience vs. the PC mouse + keyboard approach. For me, the later turned out to be much more efficient and favorable. So here comes the Red...
Published on Jan. 24 2007 by Istvan SZENTMIKLOSI


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shoot & Sword - Less than you expect, Jan. 24 2007
By 
Istvan SZENTMIKLOSI "It3llig3nc3" (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Steel - Wii (Video Game)
I was looking forward to try an FPS (First Person Shooter) utilizing the revolutionary Wii remote unit. Before the Wii, there has been many debates and argumentation how the "regular" console controllers can handle this kind of game experience vs. the PC mouse + keyboard approach. For me, the later turned out to be much more efficient and favorable. So here comes the Red Steel for Wii: a point and shoot approach topped with sword-fight sessions where the motion sensor can work at it’s best.

High expectations.

I’m not going to comment on the storyline – whoever is curious about spoilers can find a lot over the internet. I’d rather talk about the visual experience though before getting to the controls and the “fun factor”. I must say that I can’t ignore the fact that we’re in 2007 (or late 2006 when the game got released) so when it comes to visual experience from consoles or computers I expect a lot. Especially from an FPS type game. The Wii does not come out strong on this point. It is very disappointing to see the simplicity of the visuals, even if I account for the fact that the Wii is not supposed to be a super high-end graphical engine. It is also worth to mention that I played this game both on a 32” regular TV so as on a 60” HDTV. The later one is a full disappointment. In my opinion the Wii should not really be used on large screen TVs since it’s maximum 480p capability severely limits the visual experience you can get out of it.

Back to the game. So how does the new Wii remote control deal with the job? At first it’s strange but you can get the feel of it. As one progresses and improves things gets better. My personal say however is, that without some re-thinking of the control method, the PC mouse is still unbeatable in precision and enjoyment.

The “Red Steel solution” is very efficient when it comes to shooting at enemies: the “point and shoot” (you have to aim the remote to the enemy) is great not to mention the “fun” factor of the impression of using a “real gun”. The problem comes because the pointing function is also used to make the player’s viewpoint turn. So if the player points to the right edge of the screen the viewpoint turns right. It was/is very “unnatural” for me. I’d rather use some buttons if nothing else to do that. To further increase complications, if the player points outside of the screen are (the controller looses the screen) the viewpoint gets into a spinning until the pointer finds its way back to the “sensible” area. When it gets to multiplayer games where screen is halved or cut into 4 quarters this gets even more annoying.

What I would have expected to see is more an approach like on the slot-machine shooters with a point-aim-fire system: the player has a fixed path movement around the map and the point is to use the virtual gun to aim only. Obviously this reduces somehow the interactivity but yet could be a better fit to the Wii concept.

Swordplay. This is really a point where the program and especially the Wii controller shine. The sword-fights are really fun and enjoyable. Too bad, the insertion of this segment into the game breaks the concept and illogical. As another reviewer on the internet wisely put: since Indiana Jones we know that if you have a gun you don’t engage in close-up fight with an enemy who only has a sword. You shoot him from the safe distance. Same applies to Red Steel: equipped with armor and heavy guns why stop to sword fight with a guy who only has a baseball bat????

After all this, with a below average visual experience, simple storyline, and questionable control mechanism in my book this game can not get more than 3 stars. It’s a fair work without re-play value – except the multiplayer mode. But for that there are much better options than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty fun, April 5 2007
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Steel - Wii (Video Game)
i just finished this game like an hour ago and its pretty awesome.

first id like to say that the controls are hard to get used to but once u no how to use them, there awesome.

the storyline is ok a bit of the usual(girl gets kidnapped guy saves girl thing)but with a cool japanese culture twist.

as for the graphics there pretty much last-gen with a little twist here and there but while im shooting or swinging my sword for my life, i couldnt care less about graphics.

now for the gameplay its pretty cool with all the diff. places and destroyable stuff(water pipes breaking, crates exploding,walls falling apart make for pretty awesome gameplay.

graphics 3/5

storyline 3/5

controls 4/5

gameplay 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't hold as well as other Wii launch titles, Jan. 10 2011
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Steel - Wii (Video Game)
Red Steel was one of the most popular launch games for the Nintendo Wii back in late 2006 largely due to Nintendo's advertising for the game. The game was one of the more mature titles (rated T for Teen) of the Wii launch games. I didn't get to play Red Steel at launch because I couldn't get a Nintendo Wii until 2008. About two years ago I found this game used for $ 4.99 at a local EB games store; I figured I'd buy it since I've always wanted to give it a try. I probably would have been more impressed with Red Steel if I had played it at launch but today it still comes off as a fun launch title even though it suffers from a few flaws.

The story was based on Japanese mobs, known as Yakuza. You play as Scott Monroe and you're engaged to some girl and just about to see her father for the very first time. The meeting is ruined by the mafia, you then have to save the father, rescue the girl and so on. As far as storyline goes this is acceptable and it works. The Japanese feel of the game is something that I thought was very cool. With Red Steel being one of the launch games you obviously couldn't expect to be perfect, and it certainly wasn't. The controls are fairly simple, you push doors with the nunchuk and shoot and aim with the Wiimote basically. The camera is flawed, sometimes if you move the Wiimote slightly too fast the camera will move where you didn't want it to which can get a little frustrating. You get used to the flawed camera, it doesn't ruin the game but it's not one of the best camera responses I've ever seen. In comparison to games that came after it, Red Steel has very poor controls. You get used to the shooting easily but the swordsfighting with the katana feels awkward because the controls aren't as responsive as they should be resulting in the fights having no realistic feeling whatsoever. The swordsfights aren't fun at all because you have to block your opponent multiple times before being able to attack in most cases, plus most of the time they are just too easy to beat. The graphics were at times good and other times bad, it's not one of the Wii's best looking games let's keep it at that. Despite all this the game manages to pull you in and you're kind feeling the intensity and the stress all the way trough.

Today, more than four years after the launch of the Nintendo Wii some of the launch titles are still very good games, such as Twilight Princess and Rayman Raving Rabids. Unfortunately, Red Steel while providing good action fun is not one of those launch titles that stood the test of time very well. There was initially a lot of hype around Red Steel when it came out; it was one of Nintendo's most hyped games. For $4.99 I can't say that I'm disappointed, the game provides some fun and is entertaining but it's not one of the best Wii games. To the game's credit, it was one of the first Wii titles so it's understandable that it was basically a game that tested the Wii, it also must have been much better back then. The game is a bit dated and is not quite up to the Wii standards we've come to expect and does get a bit repetitive but it remains a fun launch title after all. I'm not all criticizing I'm being objective, so games stand the test of times better than others. If you're curious it's a game that you might want to rent before buying. Overall I rate it 3/5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Multi-Player Action!, Jan. 11 2010
By 
J. Chao "Legend Hunter" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Steel - Wii (Video Game)
This game was a lot of fun! The control took a little getting used to, but once you do, you can master it pretty easily (except the sword fighting where some actions are difficult to do).

I enjoyed the storyline even though it is a little bit cliche. The storyline is interesting for the most part and does take you across different cities from Japan to U.S.A. To take note though, I am a sucker for the whole rescuing your girlfriend from Yakuza thugs type so if you are not, this game may not suit you.

The multi-player action is awesome and I love playing it with friends. It is a lot of fun and the only complaint is that some maps are pretty small and leaves room for camping and such. I think the replay value is high in this game and I recommend it to all people that enjoy a first player person shooter game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent game, but could be better., June 29 2009
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Steel - Wii (Video Game)
This is a fun game overall. And I'm sure that when it first came out, it was more "cutting edge" than it is compared to games now. A few problems I had though: It was short (and fairly easy), the controls 'could' be picky at times, making combo moves infuriating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, Feb. 9 2007
Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Steel - Wii (Video Game)
I think this is a excellent game. It might take a little while to get used to the controls, but once you've figured it out it's very easy and precise. The swordfighting is quite fun and multiplayer is great. It has a very good storyline, the graphics are good, the music is good, and it does have replay value. I think it's certainly worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long and fun with very few drawbacks., Oct. 15 2011
Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Red Steel - Wii (Video Game)
Redsteel is a fun, lengthy FPS that tried something new(swordplay).The Shooting in the game feels different than Call of Duty or Goldeneye, but once you get used to it, you`ll like it just as much, if not more. The Swordplay, however, sounds good on paper, but because of the limited accuracy of the Wii Remote, the sword rarely swings in the same direction you did with the Remote, making attempting combos nearly infurriating.Luckily, the swordplay only happens at certain events, so don`t worry about this affecting the game a lot. For this, you`d be much better off going with the Wii Motion-Plus required Red Steel 2. In the game, you`re about to meet you`re fionces father, when he is killed by a gang, and your fionce is kidnapped, sending you on a generic save-the-girl story. The voice acting is pretty good, and the graphics are better than a lot of Wii games. There`s not a lot of weapons in the game, but what`s there is look and sound realistic.
Despite the blood on the cover and the title of the game, there is very little blood in the game, with the only exceptions when you shoot hanging fish in the restaurant level, and a barely noticible amount in a comic book-style cutscene. Overall, this is a great game with a generic story slapped onto it, but definetly worth the ten dollars I paid for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, July 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Red Steel - Wii (Video Game)
Awfully
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Steel - Wii
Red Steel - Wii by Ubisoft (Nintendo Wii)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 13.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews