Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Bogart classic
Director: John Huston
Format: Black & White
Studio: Warner Studios
Video Release Date: February 1, 2000
Cast:
Humphrey Bogart ... Private Detective Sam Spade
Mary Astor ... Brigid O'Shaughnessy
Gladys George ... Iva Archer
Peter Lorre ... Joel Cairo
Barton MacLane ... Det. Lt. Dundy
Lee Patrick ... Effie Perine...
Published on June 29 2004 by Joseph H Pierre

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warners Doesn't Do It Again
Warner Brothers has one of the greatest film catalogs of any studio; yet they don't appear to take their DVD issues very seriously. Who on earth would put "Goodfellas" on two sides of a disc? or not release the "Director's Cut" version of "Eyes Wide Shut" (imagine the added revenue if they had)? or release a slapdash collection of...
Published on Feb. 21 2000 by Nowhere Man


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great film, underwhelming DVD, May 8 2000
By 
Roquentin (Austin, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Maltese Falcon (DVD)
Another DVD for which the makers seemed more concerned with rushing out a DVD than taking the opportunity to clean up the audio and video and make it the definitive release this classic deserves. Picture quality is noticeably inconsistent; audio flutters and is recorded too low--there is white noise during the quieter moments at normal playing volume. A VHS-quality release, but at least it won't degrade with repeated viewings. The extras are worthwhile, except for the ill-conceived cast bios, which fool one into thinking there's supposed to be more, when in fact there's only one bio--Bogart's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say, it is the Maltese Falcon, April 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Maltese Falcon (DVD)
Finally, I have a good copy of this movie that I can enjoy anytime. Bye, I'm off to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Commande non reçue, Feb. 23 2012
This review is from: The Maltese Falcon: Three-Disc Special Edition (DVD)
Je n'ai pas reçu cette commande et j'aimerais recevoir une explication. Je ne sais pas si ce message répond correctement à votre question, mais je l'espère.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Maltese Falcon (1941) ... Humphrey Bogart ... John Huston (Director) (2010)", March 23 2011
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Warner Bros. Pictures presents "MALTESE FALCON" (1941) (101 min/B&W) -- Starring Humphrey Bogart, Mary Astor, Sydney Greenstreet, Barton MacLane & & Peter Lorre

Directed by John Huston

Outstanding detective drama with Bogey as Dashiell Hammett's creation Sam Spade finding himself surrounded by shadey characters all greedily fighting for possession of a statue of a falcon containing priceless jewels. John Huston's first directorial effort (which he also scripted) moves at lightning pace.

Academy Award nominations for Picture (Warner Bros), Screenplay, Best Writing (John Huston) and Best Supporting Actor (Sydney Greenstreet)

George Raft was originally cast as Sam Spade. He turned it down because it was "not an important picture," taking advantage of a clause in his contract that said he did not have to work on remakes.

Although this was the 62-year old Sydney Greenstreet's film debut, he had already worked as a prominent stage actor for forty years.

Notable for being also the initial combination of Greenstreet & Lorre on film (they appeared 8 times together).

Other films to feature the Greenstreet / Lorre combination were Casablanca (1942), Background to Danger (1943), Passage to Marseille (1944), The Mask of Dimitrios (1944), The Conspirators (1944), Three Strangers (1946) & The Verdict (1946)

BIOS:
1. John Huston [Director]
Date of Birth: 5 August 1906 - Nevada, Missouri
Date of Death: 28 August 1987 - Middletown, Rhode Island

2. Humphrey Bogart [aka: Humphrey DeForest Bogart]
Date of Birth: 25 December 1899 - New York City, New York
Date of Death: 14 January 1957 - Los Angeles, California

3. Mary Astor [aka: Lucile Vasconcellos Langhanke]
Date of Birth: 3 May 1906 - Quincy, Illinois
Date of Death: 25 September 1987 - Woodland Hills, Los Angeles, California

4. Sydney Greenstreet [aka: Sydney Hughes Greenstreet]
Date of Birth: 27 December 1879 - Sandwich, Kent, England, UK
Date of Death: 18 January 1954 - Hollywood, California

5.Peter Lorre (aka: László Löwenstein)
Date of birth: 26 June 1904 - Rózsahegy, Austria-Hungary [now Ruzomberok, Slovakia]
Date of death: 23 March 1964 - Los Angeles, California

6. Barton MacLane
Date of Birth: 25 December 1902 - Columbia, South Carolina
Date of Death: 1 January 1969 - Santa Monica, California

7. Gladys George [aka: Gladys Clare Evans]
Date of Birth: 13 September 1900 - Patten, Maine
Date of Death: 8 December 1954 - Los Angeles, California

Mr. Jim's Ratings:
Quality of Picture & Sound: 5 Stars
Performance: 5 Stars
Story & Screenplay: 5 Stars
Overall: 5 Stars [Original Music, Cinematography & Film Editing]

Total Time: 101 min on DVD ~ Warner Bros. Pictures ~ (10/05/2010)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Bogart performance, Dec 12 2011
I was very happy with this blu-ray, for the quality of the transfert and the extra features offered. This was one of Bogart's great performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Overrated, July 5 2003
By 
Dhaval Vyas (Dallastown, PA U.S.A) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maltese Falcon [Import] (VHS Tape)
'The Maltese Falcon' is considered a classic, but I found it extremely overrated. I just couldn't get into a film where everyone is trying to take possession of a statue falcon. Seemes pretty shallow to me, plut the ending was kind of a cop-out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sticking with my VHS copy for now, June 14 2004
By 
This review is from: The Maltese Falcon (DVD)
I would love to own a restored version of the Maltese Falcon on DVD, if it existed. I'll just stick with my 10 year old VHS tape for now. The film needs to be restored. Take a look at the way the second scene with Spade and Mrs. Archer ends. The film always seems broken at this spot, even when it runs on the movie channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Come on, Warner Bros!, March 29 2004
This review is from: The Maltese Falcon (DVD)
How is it in this age of computer technology, Warner Bros. is still churning out these black-and-white DVD's? Colorization should be a given. As it is, I can't make out a thing in this non-colored transfer. Until the colorized version is released for everyone to enjoy, I'm not going to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Maltese Falcon: Three-Disc Special Edition
The Maltese Falcon: Three-Disc Special Edition by Humphrey Bogart (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 45.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews