Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars My second favourite movie
This and the Casablanca are my favourite movies of all time. great for any collection. I've played it many times.
Published 4 months ago by Gordon Rickards

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warners Doesn't Do It Again
Warner Brothers has one of the greatest film catalogs of any studio; yet they don't appear to take their DVD issues very seriously. Who on earth would put "Goodfellas" on two sides of a disc? or not release the "Director's Cut" version of "Eyes Wide Shut" (imagine the added revenue if they had)? or release a slapdash collection of...
Published on Feb. 21 2000 by Nowhere Man


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great film, sloppy dvd, Sept. 10 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Maltese Falcon (DVD)
Many know of how much fun this movie is to watch. What is inexcusable is that such a famous, well loved movie would be so sloppily placed on dvd. Among other problems, a scene is actually left out, I can only assume that the people transferring this movie to the dvd were not fans of the movie, had never seen it in the past, and had no idea they left out this scene. The deleted scene is the one whereby Lorre is given back his gun by Bogart, lorre then points it at Bogart yet again-and the dvd fades to black to prepare for the next scene. What is deleted is Bogart laughing at Lorre and saying "Go right ahead (laugh, laugh), You go right ahead" THEN fade to black. I saw this scene in the old RCA video disk (1982?), and I still have the disc, I know it exists. Inexcusable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great film, underwhelming DVD, May 8 2000
By 
Roquentin (Austin, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Maltese Falcon (DVD)
Another DVD for which the makers seemed more concerned with rushing out a DVD than taking the opportunity to clean up the audio and video and make it the definitive release this classic deserves. Picture quality is noticeably inconsistent; audio flutters and is recorded too low--there is white noise during the quieter moments at normal playing volume. A VHS-quality release, but at least it won't degrade with repeated viewings. The extras are worthwhile, except for the ill-conceived cast bios, which fool one into thinking there's supposed to be more, when in fact there's only one bio--Bogart's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Bogart performance, Dec 12 2011
I was very happy with this blu-ray, for the quality of the transfert and the extra features offered. This was one of Bogart's great performances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Overrated, July 5 2003
By 
Dhaval Vyas (Dallastown, PA U.S.A) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maltese Falcon [Import] (VHS Tape)
'The Maltese Falcon' is considered a classic, but I found it extremely overrated. I just couldn't get into a film where everyone is trying to take possession of a statue falcon. Seemes pretty shallow to me, plut the ending was kind of a cop-out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sticking with my VHS copy for now, June 14 2004
By 
This review is from: The Maltese Falcon (DVD)
I would love to own a restored version of the Maltese Falcon on DVD, if it existed. I'll just stick with my 10 year old VHS tape for now. The film needs to be restored. Take a look at the way the second scene with Spade and Mrs. Archer ends. The film always seems broken at this spot, even when it runs on the movie channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Come on, Warner Bros!, March 29 2004
This review is from: The Maltese Falcon (DVD)
How is it in this age of computer technology, Warner Bros. is still churning out these black-and-white DVD's? Colorization should be a given. As it is, I can't make out a thing in this non-colored transfer. Until the colorized version is released for everyone to enjoy, I'm not going to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Maltese Falcon: Three-Disc Special Edition [Import]
CDN$ 45.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews