Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A genuine family-friendly comedy that's actually funny
If you want a good, safe comedy the whole family can enjoy, RV fits the bill. Sure, it doesn't exactly break any new ground, but the reason they keep making family vacation comedies like this is because they tend to be pretty entertaining -- especially when a Robin Williams is featured in the cast. There's more to this film than mere comedy, of course, as it has a lot...
Published on Nov. 22 2006 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Robin Williams falls to new lows.
I cannot understand why, if possibly in desperation, Robin Williams took part in this lowest of low movies. The whole movie from beginning to end is one of the worst movies that I have ever viewed. The jokes are predictable, if you can call them jokes. I would guess if you think having an RV holding tank ending up being sprayed over your entire body is funny, this movie...
Published on Sept. 10 2006 by H. David Palmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A genuine family-friendly comedy that's actually funny, Nov. 22 2006
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RV (Bilingual) (DVD)
If you want a good, safe comedy the whole family can enjoy, RV fits the bill. Sure, it doesn't exactly break any new ground, but the reason they keep making family vacation comedies like this is because they tend to be pretty entertaining -- especially when a Robin Williams is featured in the cast. There's more to this film than mere comedy, of course, as it has a lot to say about family. The plot synopsis describes this family as dysfunctional -- this could not be more wrong. This is a completely normal family that almost everyone can identify with. Bob Munro (Robin Williams) works hard to support his family, worries that he's going to lose his job to some stuck-up kid fresh of college, his wife has to deal with the pressures of getting the kids everywhere they need to go while also taking care of everything on the home front, and the kids are distant and always complaining (i.e., they're teenagers). If this is dysfunctional, then America is overflowing with dysfunctional families.

When his boss pulls the rug out from under Bob's upcoming business trip (with family) to Hawaii and replaces it with a scheduled presentation in Colorado, Bob tries to make up for the disappointment by renting an RV and spending some quality time with his family on the way to the Centennial State. He knows he is running out of time if he's ever going to reconnect with his kids, Cassie (Joanna "JoJo" Levesque) and Carl (Josh Hutcherson). No one is excited at the prospect, and the trip gets off to a bumpy start, but the Munro family soon rolls its way into many a comical situation. Naturally, you have a whole sequence built around emptying the RV's sewage tank and the obligatory face-off against nature (raccoons, in this case), but you also have the family's encounter(s) with the Gornicke family. Jeff Daniels and Kristin Chenoweth put on a great show as seeming bumpkins who just keep popping up, despite the Munros' efforts to avoid them. They're good people, though, even though they do come across as a little bit too happy -- and they enjoy a kind of closeness with one another that Bob dreams of rediscovering with his own wife and kids.

Juggling the rigors of the whole RV experience while surreptitiously trying to get a presentation written is a challenge, and then Bob still has to figure out a way to get to his meeting without his family knowing about it. It's just the kind of thing to bring everyone together in the end, though - or maybe not. Either way, it makes for quite a memorable family outing.

There is a lot of physical comedy in the film, which Robin Williams pulls off with his trademark ease. I think Williams is funniest when he gets into one of his manic, fast-talking states of random weirdness, but his character is pretty restrained in this regard. That disappointed me a little, but that's just a matter of me asking this film for something it wasn't designed to give me. It's still a very funny movie with great performances all around, and -- as I mentioned earlier -- it's a lot more family-friendly than most comedies being produced these days. That makes it a real winner, in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Robin Williams falls to new lows., Sept. 10 2006
By 
H. David Palmer "musical ear" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: RV (Bilingual) (DVD)
I cannot understand why, if possibly in desperation, Robin Williams took part in this lowest of low movies. The whole movie from beginning to end is one of the worst movies that I have ever viewed. The jokes are predictable, if you can call them jokes. I would guess if you think having an RV holding tank ending up being sprayed over your entire body is funny, this movie is for you. Save your money, an hour and a half nap would be far more redeeming. Giving this movie a one star rating is one star more than I should be giving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Poor Man's "Vacation", Aug. 18 2006
If you have seen Vacation then you have seen this movie however this one is not nearly as good. This one has some pretty funny moments and focuses a lot more on "family" than Vacation but while Vacation was hilarious from start to finish this one is a lot more hit and miss with a very predictable ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Le son est aussi excellent. Contient bien les pistes françaises et originale anglaise, July 7 2014
By 
Mart666 (Quebec, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Très bonne commédie familiale, l'édition haute définition sur bluray est excellente. L'image est très nette. Le son est aussi excellent. Contient bien les pistes françaises et originale anglaise. Très content de cet achat. C'est vraiment plaisant de le réécouter en haute définition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, Jan. 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and entertaining, Aug. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
RV it is a repetitive theme but what movies are not these days, Seems new ideas are elusive. I found RV fun and entertaining with an familiar cast. If you like Lampoons Vacation movies you will enjoy RV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars RV, July 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RV (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
as funny & entertaining as I expected, I would recommend this movie to anyone who loves a good laugh. Robin Williams is always funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars funny, Feb. 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RV (Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I enjoyed this dvd ,as have others who I have lent it to will watch it again happy happy happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie! Delivered very quickly! Great Experience over all!, Jan. 23 2012
By 
Jedidja Nawolsky (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: RV (Bilingual) (DVD)
Great Movie! First movie we have ordered on line and it was a great experience. Movie arrived through regular mail very quickly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Sept. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Always loved this movie.
Really nice to watch in Blu-Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

RV (Bilingual)
RV (Bilingual) by Barry Sonnenfeld (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 5.97
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews