Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars soo funny, May 27 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Ice Age 2: The Meltdown/L'ere De Glace:La Fonte (Full Screen) (DVD)
I had to get all of the Ice Age movies because they are so funny. It also makes you wonder what really happened way back when.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classique, March 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Très bon film et produit, je recommande, ce n'est pas juste un film pour enfant c'est pour adulte aussi et je prévois pour mes enfants plus tard, en âge d'écouter des films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie, Dec 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
it`s a funny movie for kids an adults. I would recommend this to anyone with kids or adults for a good laugh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good entertainment..., Feb. 23 2013
By 
Luc Durocher (Québec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very pro, very Disney like, for those who likes the Disney way of doing things. Once again, very good entertainment. Your kids won't be deceived by this production. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review to purchasing, Jan. 11 2012
Excellent experience. We enjoy the movie now.
I like find stuff in Amazon first because it's faster than other location.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sid is brilliant; his mini adventure is a definite highlight, June 23 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The kids really enjoyed this. At first, "Ice Age: The Meltdown" looks like the inevitable sequel to the famous 20th Century Fox animated blockbuster, trying to cash in the success of the previous movie but that wasn't the case. This new adventure of the prehistoric mammals manages to stay on its own legs and delivers nothing but great fun becoming a worthy sequel. That alone is an achievement in its own right.

"The Meltdown" continues with the style of its predecessor both in humor and animation, so those who fell in love with the original will love the sequel too. The difference however, is in the fact that now Manny is our main character. We get to know more about this character apparently anti-social and cynic, but who in the inside feels very lonely after the loss of his family. Sid and Diego make good sidekicks in this adventure and while their roles in the film are somewhat diminished, they still are very well-developed characters. Scrat, the nut-obsessed squirrel is back too in his constant quest for his lost nut, giving slapstick humor of the finest type in every scene he is in.

It is always hard for sequels to live up to the expectations, specially in family-oriented animation films, but director Carlos Saldanha and his team manage to make a funny movie that never gets boring or tiresome (something vital as it is a movie mainly oriented for kids).

While probably the story is not exactly original or complicated writers Peter Gaulke and Gerry Swallow make up for it with good character development and funny one-liners that fit the movie tone very good. Two new characters, the young possums Crash (Sean William Scott) and Eddie (Josh Peck) are a welcomed addition to the family, as well as Ellie (Queen Latifah), the lost mammoth.

Ellie, Manny and their relationship is a very important subplot in the movie, and one that was perfectly handled by the director and his crew. While Diego's subplot was also interesting and served as basis for very good jokes, it didn't had enough screen-time; a shame in my opinion, but overall the movie was very good. The only problem I had with it was the language and innuendos. Yes, the PG rating warned of that, however it is a cartoon and maybe we need to let the movie producers know that we don't have to have foul language and sexual innuendos to make a movie good.

To summarize, fans of the first "Ice Age" won't be disappointed by "The Meltdown", and it also breaks the "sequel's curse" this film is entertaining on its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sequel set during global warming(thousands of years ago) 3.5/5, Sept. 29 2007
this sequel to Ice Age came out 4 years later,and is a pretty good
sequel.i wouldn't say it's as funny as the original,but it does have
quite a few laughs.there are a few more characters this time
around,which i didn't like at first.i kind of preferred the intimate
setting of the first,with only three main characters.but,once the movie
got going,i got over it.instead of an ice age,this one is set during
global warming-thousands of years ago,of course.anyway,this movie does
tend to be a bit slow at times,but only for brief periods.Ray
Ramano,john Leguizamo and Dennis provide their voices again,and are
joined by Queen Latifah.this one is rated PG and it does have some
scenes of intense peril that might be too much for young children.there
is also some very mild sexual innuendos, but these would be above the
heads of any youngsters.as far as sequels go,this one is worth
watching. 3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel!, Sept. 26 2006
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ice Age 2: The Meltdown/L'ere De Glace:La Fonte (Full Screen) (DVD)
INTRODUCTION:The original ice age came out in 2002 this year they release a sequel ice age 2 the meltdown.Featuring Manfred(a mammoth),Sid(a sleeping sloth)and Diego(a saber toothed tiger) our heroes from the first ice age are there along with some new characters.If you liked the first one you should like it.The sequel isnt as great as the first but its very good too and if you hadnt seen the first one go see it as well.

STORYLINE:Some animal lied by telling that there would be a big meltdown and they would all die but its only to sell his articles by saying they would need them.Manfred,Sid and Diego almost got killed by walking on such melting ice.They come to the conclusion that there is really going to be a meltdown and they go tell the other animals.At first the animals dont beleve them but they finaly move out to try to get to the wodden boat that will save them(its really a basic wodden boat).Manfred is lonely becauser he thinks there are no more mammoths then he mets one but she`s special...From there the movie started.

SCRAT`S ADVENTURE:If you saw the first ice age you know what im talking about.Scrat the lovable squirrel goes on quest of acorns

again he is hilarious his part were the funniest of the movie.He will stop at nothing to get an acorn it reminds me of the roadrunner show.

MY APPECIATION:I think this movie awsome many funny parts lovable animals and great storyline.Sure its a sequel and depending on your tastes it might not be as good as the first one but its still an ejoyable movie and the audience seemed to like it a lot.Its a movie for adults and kids wich is great because not many movies fits for both but this one does.

ANIMATION:The animation looks great its computer animation wich is becoming more and ore famous.Its the kinds of technology that shrek used and many other movies.Everithing looks good.

Fnaly its a great movie you have to see it if you hadnt already!Highly recomended for parents and kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We love it, Oct. 7 2008
By 
My princesses and I laugh everytime we watch it. It's just very good. As good as the first one. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Guranteed to delight just about everybody, March 3 2007
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
While I didn't think Ice Age: The Meltdown boasted a particularly memorable storyline, it's still a five star, very funny movie all the way through. The filmmakers tend to milk things a little too far in my opinion, especially when it comes to the poor old saber-toothed squirrel just trying to get a nut, and let's face it, a wooly mammoth that thinks she's an opossum is just plain silly -- even though it, like everything else, actually manages to work pretty darn well in this movie.

As far as the story goes, Manny (Ray Romano) the wooly mammoth, Diego (Denis Leary) the saber-tooth tiger, and Sid (John Leguizamo) the sloth have to lead all of their Arctic friends to safety when their icebound home is threatened by meltdown-generated flooding (thankfully, without the story goose-stepping to today's environmentalist wacko hysteria). Along the way, they pick up Ellie (Queen Latifah) and her two opossum brothers. It takes most of the journey for Manny to convince Ellie that she is not actually a wooly mammoth (which is particularly important to Manny, as he was beginning to fear he was the last of his kind). The gang face all sorts of dangers they must overcome (and fears they must conquer) if they are to survive. On paper, it's all pretty formulaic, but the winsome depth of the characters and of course the extraordinary animation makes for a consistently funny, exciting adventure.

Sid (Leguizamo) steals the show time and time again in my opinion, but everyone will latch on to one favorite character or another. The climax is actually pretty exciting and heart-warming, helping make this a film you can't help but enjoy immensely. Ice Age ' The Meltdown doesn't distinguish itself the way, for example, Cars does, but it's definitely a film the whole family will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ice Age 2: The Meltdown/L'ere De Glace:La Fonte (Full Screen)
CDN$ 16.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews