Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Movies Ever!
This is probably the biggest overlooked gem of 2005. It is one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. It is quite complicated -- the first time I saw it, I really didn't understand what was happening -- but on a second viewing, the plot will probably make sense.
Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang stars Robert Downey Jr. and Val Kilmer. They have incredible chemistry, and...
Published on March 24 2006 by Rose

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing redeeming...
Nothing redeeming about this movie. Sure Downey and Kilmer are great actors, but the story line is not good.
Published 5 months ago by D


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Movies Ever!, March 24 2006
By 
Rose (Victoria, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This is probably the biggest overlooked gem of 2005. It is one of the funniest movies I have ever seen. It is quite complicated -- the first time I saw it, I really didn't understand what was happening -- but on a second viewing, the plot will probably make sense.
Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang stars Robert Downey Jr. and Val Kilmer. They have incredible chemistry, and are absolutely hysterical. The film's humour is absolutely crazy, and all over the place -- some of it is light gay humour, some slapstick, some romantic (Downey Jr.'s character isn't very suave, to put it lightly).
I would definitely recommend this movie to ANYONE (as long as you don't mind women's nipples. Or people's fingers being cut off (by a door being slammed on it)). Anyone who enjoys humour, mystery, or any of the actors in this movie will LOVE it, guaranteed.
The only reason Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang was not an enormous success was because of a lack of marketing. But with the DVD release, this can change! You should definitely check out this movie! It is superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Film, May 31 2006
I found this film to be one of the funniest films I've seen in a while. I heard a lot of negativity in the press about it, but when I finally got to see it I was pleasantly suprised how involved with the story I got, how much I enjoyed watching the characters interact with each other and just how funny it is from start to finish. I love movies that make fun of the genre that they're in and try to be a little different. Shane Black is a great writer and this helps further prove that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining mix of pretty women, guns, corpses, quick hands, and a missing finger, June 22 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang" was originally the name of a 1966 Italian movie, "Bacia e spara," the noted film critic Pauline Kael used for her second collection of film reviews in the 1960s. Kael had seen a poster for the movie in Italy and considered it to be a reduction of the basic appeal of the movies to its simplest terms, sex and violence, a reality of which she despaired. Director Shane Black, working in part from Brett Halliday's novel, "Bodies Are Where You Find Them," tries to provide a bit more than sex and violence in this 2005 film, but more importantly he has fun with the sex and violence.

Black wrote most of the "Lethal Weapons" pictures as well as "The Last Action Hero," although my personal favorite (and the only one I have on the shelf) was "The Long Kiss Goodnight" (Hey, "chefs do that"). His central character and narrator is Harry Lockhart (Robert Downey, Jr.), who we meet at a Hollywood party. This necessitates explaining how he ended up at the party where he met a girl, Harmony Faith Lane (Michelle Monaghan), which then requires Harry to backtrack and explain how she ended up at the party, as well as the story about the robot. Harry is not exactly up to speed on what is required of a decent narrator, but you should be paying attention to what he shows you if not to what he says, because things will matter down the road. Off the cuff references to the properties of Silly Putty turn out to be foreshadowing, and if Black does that with minor points you can expect the larger ones to pop up that way as well.

In addition to the girl, Harry meets up with (saw it slow and elongate the last syllable) Gay Perry (Val Kilmer), a private eye who is supposed to provide Harry with private eye lessons on the off chance he ends up playing on in a movie, which gets us back to why Harry is in Hollywood, not to mention the party. Then Harry stumbles upon what will be the first of several dead bodies and the next thing we know Harry is pretending to be a detective in order to impress the girl. There is more bang bang than kiss kiss in this film, and some of the kiss kiss is not exactly in the traditional Hollywood mold. I really do not want to get into details because you are better off if you just experience the film instead of me trying to explain it.

All things considered, I liked the bits and pieces of this movie more than the summation of the parts. I especially liked the bit where Harry tries to persuade someone to persuade to a bluff only to find the math did not work out in his favor, and the piece where Harry finally gets to toss aside his gun with one of the more understated big lines of recent memory. There is a bit more of black comedy here than of film noir, even if Harmony is fascinated by the pulp detective yarns of her youth, but that is fine with me. For all of his ups and downs Downey usually makes movies only during the ups, which is why he is almost always worth watching. He also shows a nice sense of restraint as an actor in the face of the over the top action that Black concocts for him again and again. Kilmer lays things on a bit thick, but he is clearly trying to have fun (even on the commentary track with Downey and Black), and Monaghan certainly manages to keep pace with her male co-stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Down(ey) by law, March 4 2009
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Although this movie commits the usually worst sin in Hollywood filmmaking (voiceover narration) thanks to the abilities of Robert Downey and the writer to poke fun at that technique, it works.

Definitely a convoluted plot that you really need to just forget worrying about figuring out and just follow the violent fun. Val Kilmer is classic as a wise cracking smartass gay (yes, you heard that right) P.I. but every character commands the screen either dead or alive.

The whole update on the film noir genre also works thanks to its ability to integrate a wide world of El Lay landscape from Hollywood parties, MacArthur's Park, a mental hospital (reminiscent a bit of the old folks' home in "Chinatown"), hotel rooftop pools and the ubiquitous roads and freeways of the county.

Having said all this, I would rate this more a rental than a purchase given the DVD has lousy extras--just the usual commentary track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, June 13 2013
This review is from: Kiss Kiss Bang Bang [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This was the movie that made me love Robert Downey Jr. Great product! Fast shipping! Thank you very much! It's one of my favorite movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move over Fim Noir, Nov. 12 2012
By 
Big Bill - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Do you like old Film Noir? This is the modern version. Think " The Thin Man " on steroids. The hero and the side kick and the girl all have their warts
but are angels next to the bad guys. The one-liners come fast and furious and you will giggle non-stop. I love it, and will watch it a number of times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Bang-on, April 21 2010
By 
Dominick Grace (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiss Kiss Bang Bang [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Kiss Kiss Bang Bang is a very funny send-up of the noir genre, partially based on a Brett halliday thriller that I assume played it straight. It's a meta-film, very self-conscious, which some might find irritating or distracting, but which helps the send-up of the typical self-conscious noir narrator. Typically convoluted noir plot, turned sideways. Excellent performances from Kilmer and Downey really make it. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing redeeming..., July 12 2014
Nothing redeeming about this movie. Sure Downey and Kilmer are great actors, but the story line is not good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, June 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Kiss Kiss Bang Bang [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love Robert Downey Jr, Sept. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love Robert Downey Jr. so loved this movie. Different kind of movie so was totally not expecting to enjoy it so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kiss Kiss Bang Bang [Blu-ray]
Kiss Kiss Bang Bang [Blu-ray] by Shane Black (Blu-ray - 2006)
CDN$ 14.98 CDN$ 6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews