Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live the Job Wheel!
This is still one of my favorite shows ever: roommates Curtis (whose dislike of leaving the house and attachment to TV have reached the point of being mental health issues) and Nathan (with anger management and anal retentive issues of his own) barely manage to co-exist in their Kensington Market apartment. In the first episode, the arrival of Nathan's newly-homeless...
Published on Aug. 1 2006 by Amanda Reno

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A wide ranging series
Probably much funnier for Canadians than anyone else, but a prophetic comment from the 90's about the state of entertainment and how people are interacting with it. Some very good episodes, mostly decent episodes, a couple of real stinkers. I suspect the filmmakers were pretty high throughout the production process.
Published 10 months ago by Generaleesimo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live the Job Wheel!, Aug. 1 2006
By 
Amanda Reno "Twitch City fan" (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twitch City: The Complete Series (DVD)
This is still one of my favorite shows ever: roommates Curtis (whose dislike of leaving the house and attachment to TV have reached the point of being mental health issues) and Nathan (with anger management and anal retentive issues of his own) barely manage to co-exist in their Kensington Market apartment. In the first episode, the arrival of Nathan's newly-homeless girlfriend Hope coincides with an incident that pushes Nathan over the edge and takes the show in a very different direction from what I had expected. I hesitate to say anything else, because if you've seen the show you don't need the plot described, and if you haven't seen it, I don't want to ruin any surprises.

The show takes characters that some people would dismiss as slackers or losers and makes them sympathetic. It's not that it excuses their behavior or makes it appealing, but the viewer does come to understand what's going on inside their heads and lives that drives Curtis to double-rent every square inch of the apartment and Hope to agree to live in a closet. Bruce McCulloch is great as slightly menacing Rex Reilly, whose Jerry Springer-like talk show is the "high" point of Curtis' day. There's also a parade of new roommates, most of whom don't even last a full episode due to either their own issues or their inability to deal with the issues of Curtis.

The second season is not as strong as the first, in my opinion. After the opening episode, which focused on Nathan's struggle to adapt after his conviction, the second season was more over-the-top. It's still good television ("Klan Bake" in particular cracks me up every time) but the pathos that worked so well in the first season wasn't there. Bruce McCulloch was also replaced by Mark McKinney, who played Rex Reilly in a completely different manner; I understand why, but still preferred Season 1 Rex.

There isn't really a category to describe "Twitch City". It's definitely not a "dramedy" although it's got both hilarious and tense/sad moments, it doesn't have a laugh track, it's not afraid to get bizarre. If you've got a darker sense of humor, you should definitely check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A wide ranging series, Sept. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Twitch City: The Complete Series (DVD)
Probably much funnier for Canadians than anyone else, but a prophetic comment from the 90's about the state of entertainment and how people are interacting with it. Some very good episodes, mostly decent episodes, a couple of real stinkers. I suspect the filmmakers were pretty high throughout the production process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Great Show, Poorly Served by DVD, Sept. 2 2012
By 
T. Rosie (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twitch City: The Complete Series (DVD)
Canadian produced DVDs really seem to be an afterthought. This is a great series and if this is the only way to see it, then grab it. However things get off to a bad start just with the cover. Look at that. One of the more garish covers I have ever seen on a recent DVD, let alone for a (in my opinion) classic series. Add to that the bizarre choice not to divide the two disks by series 1 and 2, the poor picture quality, and the commentaries that only last a couple episodes and I was disappointed. C'mon Canada. We do make a amazing films. Why aren't there great DVD versions of 32 Short Films about Glenn Gould, the films of Robert LePage, a new version of Last Night, I could go on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Show, horrible dvds, March 8 2007
By 
B. Legacey (Brantford, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Twitch City: The Complete Series (DVD)
as stated in another review, this show is excellent but the quality of the dvds is disgraceful (as is with many other vsc releases). I noticed as soon as I opened the case that the first disc has episodes 1 to 7 and the second has 8 to 13, why would they not be separated by seasons with 1 to 6 on the first disc? This was a minor detail but still shows the lack of attention vsc has put into this set. I put the first episode on and immediately noticed the grainy picture. I got out a homemade dvd-r I made of the program 3 years ago when it aired on showcase and compared the two, the picture on the dvd-r was much much clearer than the one vsc put out. If you can I would suggest catching this program on tv rather than shelling out hard-earned cash on a sub par product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Canadian TV Show Ever?, March 1 2007
By 
A. Nikkel (Charleston Lake) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Twitch City: The Complete Series (DVD)
The Wikipedia entry for Twitch City claims that an Australian television critic called it the best television show ever made. That may be going a bit too far, but if you have a soft spot for quirky Can-con, oddball sitcoms, talking cats, Bruce McDonald, Don McKellar, Molly Parker, Callum Keith Rennie, Mark McKinney, Bruce McCulloch, or if you're just a collector of Canadiana, you must get this 2-DVD set! A rare case of a TV show skewering TV without being pedantic or trite, it really is a must-see classic of Canadian comedy. These 13 episodes channel that mysterious Canadian sitcom vibe (from Beachcombers to Seeing Things - and King of Kensington, of course) while brilliantly parodying the mind numbing Jerry Springer-style talk-shows and late-night B-movie silliness that seemed to fill the airwaves in the 90s. It's full of Can-con in-jokes and a surreal Kensington Market vibe - imagine David Cronenberg directing 13 lost episodes of Three's Company... or not. OK, it defies description. Get it! Watch it! It's freakin' awesome! (CC Cupid.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love Twitch City BUT...., Jan. 30 2007
This review is from: Twitch City: The Complete Series (DVD)
I loved this show when it came on broadcast TV. Back then it was all I had and I thought Twitch City was brilliant Class A stuff. These DVD's filled in the episodes I missed, and am so glad they've been made available for a very under rated show. THAT SAID... the old VHS recordings I made (on extended play at that) captured using RABBIT EAR antenae were of higher quality than these DVD's. Grainy and poorly transferred. The overall layout is good, and I'm still glad to have them and I assume this show was not shot with huge budget cameras to begin with, but I think they coulda done better than this. Quality wise, worse than a cheap foreign knockoff you'd get ripped off on ebay or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Twitch City: The Complete Series
Twitch City: The Complete Series by Various (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 24.98 CDN$ 17.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews