Customer Reviews


236 Reviews
5 star:
 (142)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best release of this film to date.
This is the third release of Transformers: The Movie on DVD, and it is the best that there is to find.

The original DVD release from Séville pictures, and it's successor released by Rhino Home Video have nothing on this.

First and foremost: This edition is released by Sony, so you know they weren't scrimping on the reproduction of the film...
Published on Nov. 27 2006 by N. Peron

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Transformers: The Next Generation
The popular 1980s toy franchise hits the big screen with "Transformers: The Movie". In the distant future, the battle between heroic Autobots and evil Decepticon continues for control of Cybertron but a powerful all-consuming menace known as Unicron, threatens the Autobots' survival. With Optimus Prime lost in battle, only the Chosen One can rise up to face such evil...
Published on Dec 10 2003


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best release of this film to date., Nov. 27 2006
By 
N. Peron (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transformers: The Movie (20th Anniversary Special Edition) (DVD)
This is the third release of Transformers: The Movie on DVD, and it is the best that there is to find.

The original DVD release from Séville pictures, and it's successor released by Rhino Home Video have nothing on this.

First and foremost: This edition is released by Sony, so you know they weren't scrimping on the reproduction of the film. It's a high quality transfer, great sound.

If you're going to shell out money on a Transformers: The Movie DVD, this is the one to get. However, there are a few things you should know about it:

1.) The "bonus footage and deleted scenes" are a small collection of clips, mostly test shots and unfinished scenes, and they show the promotional trailer of the film which features alternate versions of a few scenes, and ones that were cut out of the film. However, you've got the captions over top of everything and a commentary track you can't turn off.

2.) The presentation of Scramble City, additionally has a commentary track you can't turn off, so the original Japanese audio is lost, and you've got some guy from the Transformers Collectors Club and one of the anal-retentive G-1 purists from [...] going on about the difference between Japanese and American Transformers (with obvious contempt and/or disdain.) Additionally there are no English subtitles. So if you want to watch a Transformers episode dubbed over by two guys who's opinions you don't care about explaining to you what's going on, on the screen, then this is for you. As for myself, I would have preferred if they kept the original audio track and had subtitles in English. That would have been a nice touch.

3.) This is more for the sake of humor than a complaint or observation, but all of the old Transformers toy commercials are of poor quality (In fact, you can find better quality versions of them online if you look hard enough) and they also blurred out the faces of live people in the commercials (for obvious legal reasons, it's funny to watch) it's also funny watching the Japanese versions of these commercials that were just dubs of the American toy commercials.

4.) The story board pictures are the same ones featured in the Rhino release.

Other than that, I would have to say the bonus features aren't really that exciting, or interesting, or worth the hype. If you're going to buy this 20th Anniversary edition, buy it for the GREAT quality version of the movie. Otherwise your going to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern animated classic, May 11 2002
By 
Erica Anderson (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I grew up on the animated series "The Transformers". The animation back then is considered outdated by today's standards and the writing is relatively cheesy yet entertaining. And of course due to popularity, there had to be a Transformers movie. Here the animation is vastly superior than the original series. Unfortunately in the movie a lot of classic characters were killed off to introduce new characters. When I first saw this movie as a kid, I was thoroughly disappointed to see Optimus Prime killed off as well as Prowl, Ironhide, Rachet, Wheeljack, etc..etc... . Thankfully the dinobots remained intact (although where the heck was Snarl the stegosaurus in the movie?) as well as Bumblebee, Jazz, and Cliffjumper (the few classic characters that remained on board). Of course on the decepticon side, some of my favorite characters were changed: Skywarp, Thundercracker and the Insecticons, and even Starscream when Galvatron (i.e Megatron finally got his revenge). I was thoroughly impressed that the movie producers managed to get legendary actor Orson Welles to play the voice of the destructive planet/robot Unicron. Unlike the series, the movie takes a darker tone in the storyline by killing a good number of the original characters and intensifying the war between the Autobots and Decepticons, making the war more angst-ridden and filled with despair. And in the movie, the viewer sees a grown up Spike who has a son of his own. As far as new characters are concerned, I loved the introduction of new villains the Quintessans with their minions the Sharkticons. Again, I loved the improved animation in the movie. It adds a bit more depth to the characters themselves. The silly part of this movie I thought was when the autobots were leaving earth to escape Galvatron and his cronies was that they left behind Blaster and whatever remaining Autobots were left. Where was Skyfire? Or the Aerialbots? On the Decepticon side, the Combaticons? I know there are others but I just can't seem to name them at the moment. Nevertheless the movie is a good popcorn movie and pretty much remains faithful to the series despite the loss of some of my favorite characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theatrical Re-release! Encore!!, April 24 2002
By 
This review is from: Transformers the Movie (DVD)
As something of an japanimation fan today, I went back to see this again. While it lacks the intense raw edge savagery and majic that are potent to newer MA shows like Outlaw Star, the sheer scale of the animation has seldom seen equal. I kid you not, some scenes are as intense today as those in Private Ryan. The robots are fed live into the evil of Unicron. I disagree with other commentators somewhat. The TV show and The Movie were spawn of different realms. I see the TF televised series as fitting with Justice League and Scooby Doo on afternoon TV. Kid stuff for when I was 8. But this movie belongs on every TF fan's shelf. It takes the energy of our imaginations then, and reminds us today of that world in a way we can understand now. I saw it in the theater, and its best enjoyed there! Something like the fun and fear of watching Army of Darkness... Unicron belongs on the BIG screen! Some movies, like TF and JP (Jurassic Park) aren't the same without the big screen. This movie was 20 years ahead of its audience! No one wanted to see heros die when we were 8! If you enjoy early anime - macross, gundams, or akira types especially - watching this rare gem from marvel comics animation, is as good as it gets. Go visit the friend with the HDTV set and surround sound, though! If you don't remember the transformers (do you even remember college after all those parties?!) the good guys have the red patch and the bad guys have the purple. 100% Classic! Support a theatrical re-release!! Oh yeah, cast included: Leonard Nimoy, Robert Stack, Eric Idle (Monty Python), Casey Kasem, Scatman Crothers, and Orson Welles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Till all are One......., March 13 2004
By 
Sesquiltera "sesquiltera" (Xenu City, Teegeeack) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transformers the Movie (DVD)
As a child I was obsessed with the transformers, together with about 40 million other boys of my age. This whole concept of a vehicle that could transform into a humanoid form, wich not only had a deep character but also a form of spirituality, is very mind stimulating.
Transformers The Movie is a modern myth, like Star Wars, only Star Wars is very limited in comparison to the Transformers. Like all good myths this movie has certain universal themes, the latter I shall describe below:
- The battle between good and evil (Autobots vs Decepticons)
- That wich transcends and unites good and evil (the infinte danger of Unicron that would wipe out all existence).
- A secret power from within, a spiritual essence (the Autobotmatrix).
- The transcendence of the hero (HotRod becoming Rhodimus Prime).
- The transcendence of the villain (Megatron becoming Galvatron).
- The exploration of an unknown realm (Cup and HotRod visiting Quintessa).
- The victory over the subconciouss mind (when Cup and HotRod are thrown into the Sharkticon pool they even go deeper, and drive in circles, thus creating a vortex wich throws the water out giving them free game to battle the Sharkticons).
- True comradry and friendship (well, this is just all over the movie).
- The rise and fall of pride (Starscream's coronation).
These are just a few wich are displayed but I think you have to watch the movie and decide for yourself. I rate this movie five stars because it is such a wonderfull myth (but a myth wich is greatly animated and highly entertaining and has fantastic music). And yes, maybe there are a few flaws like Starscream losing his foot and two seconds later there's nothing wrong with him and yes I would like to see some Unicron history but these are all details.
Till all are One.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The coolest Transformer movie created!, Feb. 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Transformers the Movie (DVD)
This movie rocks! Just if you're wondering, the Transformers are two legions of robots who war over the control of their home world, Cybertron. These robots convert from vehicle to robot, whenever they please. The good guys are the Autobots: Hot Rod, Kup, Blurr, RC, Ultra Magnus, Blaster, Wreck-Gar, Perceptor, Ironhide, Jazz, Cliffjumper, Bumblebee, Grimlock, Slag, Sludge, Snarl, Swoop, and of course, the legendary Optimus Prime (there are other Autobots; too many to list). The bad guys are the Decepticons: Megatron, Starscream, Astrotrain, Bombshell, Kickback, Barrage, Shrapnel, Venom, Soundwave, Thundercracker, Bonecrusher, Hook, Laung Haul (Bonecrusher, Hook, Laung Haul and a bunch of other guys combine to form the most powerful Decepticon called Devestator), and more.
What really was dumb to jam in the movie was 2 swear words. I thought the coolest scene in the movie was Hot Rod opening the Matrix of Leadership and Transform into Rodimus Prime, and also "lighting their darkest hour" while playing "The Touch" in the backround. Having the coolest soundtrack a director could dream of, this movie is probably the coolest you'll ever see! By the way, the Transformers theme song and the song called "Dare" are in my favorite range of soundtrack. Hope this reveiw helped everyone who read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous animated film, Jan. 21 2004
By 
This review is from: Transformers the Movie (DVD)
In the 1980s, it's no surprise that Transformers ruled television screens while simultaneously causing every kid to want to go out and buy the toys. I am one of the ones that grew up watching my favorite Transformers duking it out for the fate of mankind. I loved every minute of it, even if some of the episodes were really corny. However, this review isn't about the show; it's about the movie, originally released in 1986. The movie brought forth new circuits for us to admire while also killing off several of the old characters, including the beloved Optimus Prime.
The animation is ten times more advanced than that of the original show. Optimus Prime and Megatron have never looked sleaker and it's quite a shame they didn't last very long in the movie (well... Megatron turned to Galvatron... you get the idea.). Even by today's standards, they haven't aged badly at all. The voice cast is a list of well-known actors and most of them put in fine performances. While Robert Stack's portrayal of Ultra Magnus seemed somewhat bland, Leonard Nimoy's portrayal of Galvatron was nothing less than excellent. You also have to consider they were probably brought to the project based on the pay, not for the art. Other actors included Judd Nelson as Hot Rod (another good voice performance), Lionel Stander as Kup, Eric Idle as Wreck-Gar (Yes, THAT Eric Idle), and of course, Casey Kasem and Scatman Crothers as Cliffjumper and Jazz, respectively. But of course, let's not forget the legendary Orson Welles voicing the most bad(...) Transformer of them all: Unicron. The planet eating monster that transforms from planet killer to robot and vice versa. In fact, this was Orson Welles' final performance. That means Transformers is the last credit on his resume. How cool is that??
The music score was contributed by Vince DiCola, back in the day when synthesized scores were becoming huge. He previously did the score for "Rocky IV" and additional music for "Staying Alive." I really like the score and it's quite a shame that Mr. DiCola has not done many film scores since. Speaking of which, the DVD features an interview with him that's somewhat interesting for the diehard Transformers fan. The songs are from largely unknown musicians; the most notables ones are Stan Bush, who did the songs "Dare" and the hit single "The Touch," and Spectre General, who performed "Nothin's Gonna Stand in my Way" and "Hunger." Spectre General is actually a pseudonym for Canadian rock band Kick Axe. Sound familar now? They did two albums and toured with Judas Priest before their breakup (they were also produced by Spencer Proffer, the producer of Quiet Riot, which explains his credit on the two songs).
The storyline does seem a bit Star Wars-ish. But seriously, who really cares? And more importantly, what sci-fi HASN'T? It does have a few holes and/or mistakes that seem like lazy writing (for example, jettisoning injured Decepticons to "make room and less weight" doesn't apply to space; it's called MASS), but the overall good versus evil story was pretty good. It also sports some impressive dialogue like Springer's "I've got better things to do tonight than die!" or the infamous "Ba Weep Granna Weep Nini Bang" greeting the Junkions use.
The infamous (...)has been restored back in the film. The picture quality has been greatly enhanced and so has the sound quality. Including the interview, the DVD comes with the original theatrical trailer and original storyboards. My ONLY complaint with this DVD is that it doesn't come with a widescreen version. Didn't Sunbow claim they found the widescreen print? Why didn't Rhino include it? Oh well. Perhaps in the future.
A memorable piece of 80s nostalgia and a must for diehard fans. Looking back on it now, it's a pretty good animated film. I must admit I almost cried when my favorite hero, Optimus Prime, bit the dust, but it's pretty awesome they brought him back at the end of Season 3. Any Transformers fan will enjoy this. If you don't, you are an overanalyzing critic. Go back to your "Titanic," critic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Transformers: The Next Generation, Dec 10 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Transformers the Movie (DVD)
The popular 1980s toy franchise hits the big screen with "Transformers: The Movie". In the distant future, the battle between heroic Autobots and evil Decepticon continues for control of Cybertron but a powerful all-consuming menace known as Unicron, threatens the Autobots' survival. With Optimus Prime lost in battle, only the Chosen One can rise up to face such evil. "Transformers: The Movie" isn't an animated spectacle but does offer some worthy entertainment. The plot is amusing but filled with holes, and some of the dialogue is quite weak. Despite its flaws, it contains some enjoyable characters, eye-popping action and a strong emotional center. The voice cast includes Eric Idle, Judd Nelson, Leonard Nimoy and Orson Welles. The film is presented in full frame format. The picture quality is surprisingly decent and slightly sharper than its previous laserdisc release. The 2.0 Dolby Digital sound is satisfactory with some minor flaws. The DVD contains a few supplements like storyboards for some deleted scenes. For fans of the cult 1980s cartoon, "Transformers" is a decent bargain purchase and earns a "C".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Prime at his best, Oct. 18 2003
By 
Sean E. M. Dence "optimus_sean" (Quilcene, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transformers the Movie (DVD)
Optimus Prime is the greatest Transformer. He always has been. He always will be. This movie will show you why he is who I say he is.
Many Autobots (in the middle of the film) die fighting the Decepticons. They are not able to save Autobot city and they are really outnumbered. Optimus Prime comes in, runs them over and wastes them all in a matter of seconds before he has his last battle with Megatron. He did what the other Autobots could never really do in a matter of seconds because he is the best warrior there is. The scene where he comes to earth and beats the Decepticons down before he fights Megatron makes this movie worth buying. It is one of my favorite action scenes in ANY movie and it really gives you an idea of what a hero truly is. The rest of the film is also really fun to watch because the new characters (Galvatron, Kup, Rodimus Prime Ultra-Magnus and Unicron) are really cool and the score really fits well. This movie will make you fall in love with the Transformers if you are a new fan or rekindle your love for the robots that all we enjoy watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God For Nephews, Sept. 17 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Transformers the Movie (DVD)
I was talked into spending some quality time with(i.e. babysitting)my five year old nephew a few days ago. It was raining that day and he didn't want to watch Shrek again, so I took him to the video store to find a DVD for us to watch. To my suprise, there on the shelf was a title I had not thought of in over 15 years, The Transformers: The Movie. We rented the movie, brought it home, and not only did my nephew love it, but it made me nostalgic for those days of my sophmore year in highschool when I'd doodle images of Optimus Prime, Megatron and Soundwave instead of taking notes during those boring economics classes. Yes, sad to say, a fifteen year old kid in highschool enjoyed the Transformers then, and this 32 y/o uncle, along with my nephew, enjoys the Transformers now. The storyline is great, the voice acting is topnotch, and the animation, though is looks dated by todays computer anitmation standards (remember, even Southpark is done with computers, The Transformers was all handdrawn), is still astounding in its attention to detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Transformers Movie, Aug. 31 2003
By 
Daniel A. Cea II (Cortlandt Manor, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transformers the Movie (DVD)
One of my all time favorites. I loved the series when I was a kid and was first in line for the movie. About five years ago I searched long and hard to get a copy on VHS and finally found one. Now here it is on DVD right at my fingertips (of course I have to get it).
As far as the movie goes it was awesome beginning to end and now at 26 I still feel that way. Many people say that the animation is inferior by today's standards, but I say that this cartoon as well as many of the 80's cartoons are superior to the animation I see on cartoon network. What I see now are drawings, cartoon etc. However what I see in The Transformers Movie were solid characters that I still have to remind myself were cartoons. The animation (movements) my be a bit off key but the drawing on a whole look far more detailed right down to the shine on the metel as they moved. The voices were great especially Leonard Nimoy and Orson Welles. The only downsides to this movie were the killing off of so many cool characters such as Optimus Prime, Wheeljack and Ironhide, and the butchering of the series that followed the movie. Far too much emphasis on the matrix and Rodimus' insecurity as a leader. The writers knew it too because they had to bring Optimus back.
I would definatly suggest getting this movie and watching over and over again. When I show it to my kids they are amazed as to how much cooler my cartoons were to theirs, something I never said to my parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transformers: The Movie (20th Anniversary Special Edition)
CDN$ 164.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews