Customer Reviews


235 Reviews
5 star:
 (141)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkabley Amazing
For those who grew up in the 80's should never forget what Hasbro brought into our lifes, the TRANSFORMERS!!!
Just when I thought the episodes couldn't get any better, they release 'The Transformers Movie' which should be written down in the history books.
This Movie is simply stunning....and if you thought the movie was great then watch it on DVD!! Bloodly...
Published on Dec 1 2002 by Darius Alomes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Transformers
This item received was in good condition. The only thing I did not like was the price showed on the website. I went to get my Visa card and all of the sudden it jumped up by about $10.00. I wrote to the company and they said their supplier uped their rates.
I feel the company should have been on the ball and showed the correct price on the Amazon website. I felt...
Published on Dec 1 2011 by rani bains


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkabley Amazing, Dec 1 2002
By 
Darius Alomes (AUSTRALIA, Tasmania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Transformers the Movie (DVD)
For those who grew up in the 80's should never forget what Hasbro brought into our lifes, the TRANSFORMERS!!!
Just when I thought the episodes couldn't get any better, they release 'The Transformers Movie' which should be written down in the history books.
This Movie is simply stunning....and if you thought the movie was great then watch it on DVD!! Bloodly Awesome! I can speak for Thousands, since I live in Australia and the DVD wasn't release over here, everyday I sat outside waiting for the postie to come with my DVD.
Thanks to Rhino for taking it on to release it on DVD.
Any Transformer Fan, or who grew up in the 80's this is a must see, and for those poor souls (In Australia, which it isn't available)...THIS IS A MUST BUY!!!
TRUST ME, You'll Never want to watch anything else...
5 stars, Remarkabley Amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best release of this film to date., Nov. 27 2006
By 
N. Peron (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transformers: The Movie (20th Anniversary Special Edition) (DVD)
This is the third release of Transformers: The Movie on DVD, and it is the best that there is to find.

The original DVD release from Séville pictures, and it's successor released by Rhino Home Video have nothing on this.

First and foremost: This edition is released by Sony, so you know they weren't scrimping on the reproduction of the film. It's a high quality transfer, great sound.

If you're going to shell out money on a Transformers: The Movie DVD, this is the one to get. However, there are a few things you should know about it:

1.) The "bonus footage and deleted scenes" are a small collection of clips, mostly test shots and unfinished scenes, and they show the promotional trailer of the film which features alternate versions of a few scenes, and ones that were cut out of the film. However, you've got the captions over top of everything and a commentary track you can't turn off.

2.) The presentation of Scramble City, additionally has a commentary track you can't turn off, so the original Japanese audio is lost, and you've got some guy from the Transformers Collectors Club and one of the anal-retentive G-1 purists from [...] going on about the difference between Japanese and American Transformers (with obvious contempt and/or disdain.) Additionally there are no English subtitles. So if you want to watch a Transformers episode dubbed over by two guys who's opinions you don't care about explaining to you what's going on, on the screen, then this is for you. As for myself, I would have preferred if they kept the original audio track and had subtitles in English. That would have been a nice touch.

3.) This is more for the sake of humor than a complaint or observation, but all of the old Transformers toy commercials are of poor quality (In fact, you can find better quality versions of them online if you look hard enough) and they also blurred out the faces of live people in the commercials (for obvious legal reasons, it's funny to watch) it's also funny watching the Japanese versions of these commercials that were just dubs of the American toy commercials.

4.) The story board pictures are the same ones featured in the Rhino release.

Other than that, I would have to say the bonus features aren't really that exciting, or interesting, or worth the hype. If you're going to buy this 20th Anniversary edition, buy it for the GREAT quality version of the movie. Otherwise your going to be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Transformers, Dec 1 2011
This review is from: Transformers: The Movie (20th Anniversary Special Edition) (DVD)
This item received was in good condition. The only thing I did not like was the price showed on the website. I went to get my Visa card and all of the sudden it jumped up by about $10.00. I wrote to the company and they said their supplier uped their rates.
I feel the company should have been on the ball and showed the correct price on the Amazon website. I felt ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Happy and satisfied buyer :~), Jan. 13 2011
This review is from: Transformers: The Movie (20th Anniversary Special Edition) (DVD)
I am very happy and satisfied with my purchase on amazon.ca.
They are really professionnal and effective. Buy Amazon.ca
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best animated movies of all-time and one of my favorites!!, Aug. 4 2007
This review is from: Transformers: The Movie (20th Anniversary Special Edition) (DVD)
I remember the scene when Stan Bush starts to sing "You got the touch, You got the power" when Optimus Prime transforms after saying Megatron must be stopped. We see the epic battle between Megatron and Optimus Prime and one scene that is burned into my head and I'll never forget that scene and that's when Megatron begs for mercy after being nearly destroyed by Optimus Prime. He pleads for mercy while reaching for something to ambush Optimus Prime. Hot Rod attempts to come to the rescue and Kup says that it's Prime's fight. The death scene in the movie is one that always upsets when Perceptor says "I fear the wounds are fatal. Daniel tearfully cries out, "Prime, you can't die". He passes the Matrix of Leadership to Ultra Magnus and Hot Rod catches it and the matrix flickers in Hot Rod's hand. He passes to Ultra Magnus and Magnus can't open it. "Light our darkest hour" and "until all are one". THe movie is in my head. Starscream becomes leader of the deceptions and the coronation is crashed by Galvatron- who destroys Starscream in a single blast. This movie is one of my favorite movies and it's hard to forget. One of my favorite movies. It's amazing.

I remember the movie like it was yesterday.

Who can forget "Arise, Rodimus Prime" and Rodimus sends Galvatron to a plasma bath. After 21 years, I still remember the movie like it was yesterday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST for any transformer fan., Nov. 11 2006
This review is from: Transformers: The Movie (20th Anniversary Special Edition) (DVD)
This dvd has a ton of stuff plus even more in "easter eggs", basically everything you would want in a dvd for a very affoardable price. The only thing wrong with this dvd is that it didn't come out earlier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disney can take their movies and stick em up their wazoos, June 11 2004
By 
Tim (NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Transformers the Movie (DVD)
Disney artists need to take lessons from this movie. Disney uses a lot of lazy computer animation, which usually looks horrible.
This movie is 99 percent actual hand drawn animation. All of which looks superb.
The music is also great. About 6 great songs with that 80's hard rock attitude.
For another example for great hand drawn animation, check out G.I. Joe the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Till all are One......., March 13 2004
By 
Sesquiltera "sesquiltera" (Xenu City, Teegeeack) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transformers the Movie (DVD)
As a child I was obsessed with the transformers, together with about 40 million other boys of my age. This whole concept of a vehicle that could transform into a humanoid form, wich not only had a deep character but also a form of spirituality, is very mind stimulating.
Transformers The Movie is a modern myth, like Star Wars, only Star Wars is very limited in comparison to the Transformers. Like all good myths this movie has certain universal themes, the latter I shall describe below:
- The battle between good and evil (Autobots vs Decepticons)
- That wich transcends and unites good and evil (the infinte danger of Unicron that would wipe out all existence).
- A secret power from within, a spiritual essence (the Autobotmatrix).
- The transcendence of the hero (HotRod becoming Rhodimus Prime).
- The transcendence of the villain (Megatron becoming Galvatron).
- The exploration of an unknown realm (Cup and HotRod visiting Quintessa).
- The victory over the subconciouss mind (when Cup and HotRod are thrown into the Sharkticon pool they even go deeper, and drive in circles, thus creating a vortex wich throws the water out giving them free game to battle the Sharkticons).
- True comradry and friendship (well, this is just all over the movie).
- The rise and fall of pride (Starscream's coronation).
These are just a few wich are displayed but I think you have to watch the movie and decide for yourself. I rate this movie five stars because it is such a wonderfull myth (but a myth wich is greatly animated and highly entertaining and has fantastic music). And yes, maybe there are a few flaws like Starscream losing his foot and two seconds later there's nothing wrong with him and yes I would like to see some Unicron history but these are all details.
Till all are One.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The coolest Transformer movie created!, Feb. 6 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Transformers the Movie (DVD)
This movie rocks! Just if you're wondering, the Transformers are two legions of robots who war over the control of their home world, Cybertron. These robots convert from vehicle to robot, whenever they please. The good guys are the Autobots: Hot Rod, Kup, Blurr, RC, Ultra Magnus, Blaster, Wreck-Gar, Perceptor, Ironhide, Jazz, Cliffjumper, Bumblebee, Grimlock, Slag, Sludge, Snarl, Swoop, and of course, the legendary Optimus Prime (there are other Autobots; too many to list). The bad guys are the Decepticons: Megatron, Starscream, Astrotrain, Bombshell, Kickback, Barrage, Shrapnel, Venom, Soundwave, Thundercracker, Bonecrusher, Hook, Laung Haul (Bonecrusher, Hook, Laung Haul and a bunch of other guys combine to form the most powerful Decepticon called Devestator), and more.
What really was dumb to jam in the movie was 2 swear words. I thought the coolest scene in the movie was Hot Rod opening the Matrix of Leadership and Transform into Rodimus Prime, and also "lighting their darkest hour" while playing "The Touch" in the backround. Having the coolest soundtrack a director could dream of, this movie is probably the coolest you'll ever see! By the way, the Transformers theme song and the song called "Dare" are in my favorite range of soundtrack. Hope this reveiw helped everyone who read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous animated film, Jan. 21 2004
By 
This review is from: Transformers the Movie (DVD)
In the 1980s, it's no surprise that Transformers ruled television screens while simultaneously causing every kid to want to go out and buy the toys. I am one of the ones that grew up watching my favorite Transformers duking it out for the fate of mankind. I loved every minute of it, even if some of the episodes were really corny. However, this review isn't about the show; it's about the movie, originally released in 1986. The movie brought forth new circuits for us to admire while also killing off several of the old characters, including the beloved Optimus Prime.
The animation is ten times more advanced than that of the original show. Optimus Prime and Megatron have never looked sleaker and it's quite a shame they didn't last very long in the movie (well... Megatron turned to Galvatron... you get the idea.). Even by today's standards, they haven't aged badly at all. The voice cast is a list of well-known actors and most of them put in fine performances. While Robert Stack's portrayal of Ultra Magnus seemed somewhat bland, Leonard Nimoy's portrayal of Galvatron was nothing less than excellent. You also have to consider they were probably brought to the project based on the pay, not for the art. Other actors included Judd Nelson as Hot Rod (another good voice performance), Lionel Stander as Kup, Eric Idle as Wreck-Gar (Yes, THAT Eric Idle), and of course, Casey Kasem and Scatman Crothers as Cliffjumper and Jazz, respectively. But of course, let's not forget the legendary Orson Welles voicing the most bad(...) Transformer of them all: Unicron. The planet eating monster that transforms from planet killer to robot and vice versa. In fact, this was Orson Welles' final performance. That means Transformers is the last credit on his resume. How cool is that??
The music score was contributed by Vince DiCola, back in the day when synthesized scores were becoming huge. He previously did the score for "Rocky IV" and additional music for "Staying Alive." I really like the score and it's quite a shame that Mr. DiCola has not done many film scores since. Speaking of which, the DVD features an interview with him that's somewhat interesting for the diehard Transformers fan. The songs are from largely unknown musicians; the most notables ones are Stan Bush, who did the songs "Dare" and the hit single "The Touch," and Spectre General, who performed "Nothin's Gonna Stand in my Way" and "Hunger." Spectre General is actually a pseudonym for Canadian rock band Kick Axe. Sound familar now? They did two albums and toured with Judas Priest before their breakup (they were also produced by Spencer Proffer, the producer of Quiet Riot, which explains his credit on the two songs).
The storyline does seem a bit Star Wars-ish. But seriously, who really cares? And more importantly, what sci-fi HASN'T? It does have a few holes and/or mistakes that seem like lazy writing (for example, jettisoning injured Decepticons to "make room and less weight" doesn't apply to space; it's called MASS), but the overall good versus evil story was pretty good. It also sports some impressive dialogue like Springer's "I've got better things to do tonight than die!" or the infamous "Ba Weep Granna Weep Nini Bang" greeting the Junkions use.
The infamous (...)has been restored back in the film. The picture quality has been greatly enhanced and so has the sound quality. Including the interview, the DVD comes with the original theatrical trailer and original storyboards. My ONLY complaint with this DVD is that it doesn't come with a widescreen version. Didn't Sunbow claim they found the widescreen print? Why didn't Rhino include it? Oh well. Perhaps in the future.
A memorable piece of 80s nostalgia and a must for diehard fans. Looking back on it now, it's a pretty good animated film. I must admit I almost cried when my favorite hero, Optimus Prime, bit the dust, but it's pretty awesome they brought him back at the end of Season 3. Any Transformers fan will enjoy this. If you don't, you are an overanalyzing critic. Go back to your "Titanic," critic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb833e4d4)

This product

Transformers: The Movie (20th Anniversary Special Edition)
CDN$ 159.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews