Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Most epic album and one of their best!
The nineties were a disastrous time for Iron Maiden. Then came the awesome Brave New World but I was still sceptical and I thought that maybe their reunion inspiration will fade. Indeed, Dance of Death showed some signs of fatigue although it contains some of Maiden's finest songs (Pashendale, No More Lies, Dance of Death, Face in the Sand) besides some of their worst...
Published on Sept. 16 2006 by Customer from Quebec

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice try..
wow..as a serious maiden fan, i really,REALLY wanted to love this and was thinking that it would be a fresh start for the band,but no. the main problem with the album is the band seems stuck in rut,with almost every song sounding alike, each one clocking in at about 8 or 9 minutes. the "epic" feel of the songs gets old real fast. the first cut"different world " is great...
Published on Dec 31 2006 by David R. Robert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Most epic album and one of their best!, Sept. 16 2006
By 
Customer from Quebec (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
The nineties were a disastrous time for Iron Maiden. Then came the awesome Brave New World but I was still sceptical and I thought that maybe their reunion inspiration will fade. Indeed, Dance of Death showed some signs of fatigue although it contains some of Maiden's finest songs (Pashendale, No More Lies, Dance of Death, Face in the Sand) besides some of their worst (Wildest Dreams). But I never imagined that their third post-reunion effort will be such a masterpiece! This is the most epic album of the group, the songwriting is brilliant ( I wish some of the new groups learn from that). Bruce Dickinson is one of the last great voices in metal. His singing is impeccable throughout the album. The rest of the band is also in top shape, the sound of the album is perfect.

Some fans critisize the length of the songs, but I think that metal is not meant to be a fast food music. For me Different World (4 minutes, the only short song on the album) is the weakest. It's an OK opener, but it's poppy refrain doesn't fit with the dark and heavy mood of the rest of the album. All the rest of the tracks deserve 10 stars, but probably Brighter than a Thousand Suns, The Longest Day , For the Greater Good of God, These Colours Don't Run, The Reincarnation of Benjamin Breeg and the Legacy stand slightly higher above the rest with their intensity. This album ranks among the best albums of the group (for me they are at least six, I count the bad ones which are three) and it will become a classic in the history of Iron Maiden and heavy metal. And after six great reunion years, Maiden are rejuvenated and definitely back to stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best., Sept. 19 2006
By 
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
OMG...Maiden just keep impressing me. Usually with older metal bands, their new albums are all crap. This album is definatly not. I would have to say it's probably there third best album, definatly the best since ssoass. There is not on bad track on this album. The sound is truly amazing, kinda of a darker feel, but extremly entertaining to listen too. It's hard to pick just one great song on here, but if I would have to I would pick For the greater good of god. The lagacy has some nice acoustic guitar work. Some parts in the legacy reminds me of Led Zepplin. Every metal fan should have the album. Truly a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums, Sept. 9 2006
By 
Chowdhury Hasib "Chowdhury Hasib" (Toronto,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
This is one of the best albums of Iron Maiden.

Certainly this album can easily fit into IM's golden era albums (1984 -1989) with 7th son and PowerSlave and somewhere in time.

For some of you, it might take a few listening before you can start liking the album, but if you are a true fan of Maiden's style, this album will certainly exceed all your expectations.

I will give it a 9.1 out of 10

Best tracks: The legacy, For the greater good of God, These colours don't Run, Out of the shadows.

PS: The legacy is probably one of their best tracks ever !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Iron Maiden Masterpiece, Nov. 5 2006
By 
Shred Stylist (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
I have spent last 33 years of my life as a hard rock/metal fan.

In my opinion this is the best album by Iron Maiden predominantly due

to the fact that, unlike some of their earlier efforts where it is

easy to pick the best song of the album, this album is a battery of

one masterpiece after the other. Some say that it is for the mature metal

music lovers. I think the maturity is demanded only in the understanding

of the music and even my teenage son who is a musician likes the album a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Maiden Still Kickin Strong, Nov. 9 2006
Yet another good album released by Bruce and the band. Thank heavens Bruce came back because I hadn't purchased an Irom Maiden Album in the 90's after Bruce left. Since Brave New World they have released Dance of Death and now Breeg, and they continue to be great!!! Out of the Shadows a 2nd favorite on this album is a good tune to mellow down to after a hard days work. This album is classic maiden with again a strong sound of bass which continues to signiture their good albums.....

Rated - Giggidy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums in a long time from Iron Maiden!!, Sept. 6 2006
Iron Maiden's Matter of life and death is one of their best albums and is consistent with previous efforts. This album showcases Iron Maiden at their best. Each song is similiar to Run to the hills, The Number of the beast and other Maiden classics. This is quite possibly one of the best metal albums to be released in 2006 and this is a must-have for every Maiden fan.

I would recommend this album for every Maiden fan. A Matter of Life and Death is the best album from Iron Maiden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once Again the Irons top the Scale, Sept. 18 2006
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
This album was a treat for most if not all maiden fans. With tracks showing reflections from their work in the early ninties, and the brooding slow intros from the reunion era Maiden have done it again.

Bruce's prefromance tops all he has done within the last 12 years both with maiden and on solo projects. With a album like this fans cant wait to see it on the road.

Up the Irons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden at Their Best, Sept. 16 2006
By 
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
This is easily the best and most focussed IM album since SSOASS. I'm happy to hear that they have returned to the more progressive concept album format. Bruce's soaring vocals are back is the trademark Maiden guitar sound. Hopefully they continue to release more great albums but if this is the last we hear from IM, it's a fantastic cap to an amazing career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album since the 80's, Aug. 29 2006
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
Just like Seventh Son of a Seventh Son is different from Powerslave in style, A Matter of Life and Death brings a new dimension to the Iron Maiden repertoire. But one thing is for certain, although the music here is modern and kickass, this album brings back Maiden to their 80's greatness!!! Up the irons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEAST IS BACK, Sept. 6 2006
By 
D. Bray (Montreal, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This cd is on my top 3 MAIDEN album. Great sound (very raw).

Most of the song are writen by Adrian Smith (5). I have 1 thing to tell you, go to the nearest ATM machine, get money and buy this amazing album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Matter of Life and Death
A Matter of Life and Death by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews