Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Where it all began
This first Pogues album is not their best, but MacGowan's take on "Kitty," (the obscure Irish Republican lament he learned from his mother)alone is worth the price. "Streams of Whiskey," MacGowan's homage to Brendan Behan, was the first hint of the songwriter Macgowan would become. MacGowan's vocal on Behan's "Auld Triangle" is outstanding as well. The remaining cuts,...
Published 23 months ago by Bob Mamrak

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Seeds of Future Greatness
Not their best album (that would be Rum Sodomy and the Lash) but this is quite good. Streams of Whiskey and Transmetropolitan showcase the original songwriting, and The Auld Triangle and Kitty show their sensitive renderings of Irish folk songs. They would get better with time, but this is where it all started.
Published on May 20 2002 by Sean Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Where it all began, May 4 2012
This review is from: Red Roses For Me (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
This first Pogues album is not their best, but MacGowan's take on "Kitty," (the obscure Irish Republican lament he learned from his mother)alone is worth the price. "Streams of Whiskey," MacGowan's homage to Brendan Behan, was the first hint of the songwriter Macgowan would become. MacGowan's vocal on Behan's "Auld Triangle" is outstanding as well. The remaining cuts, both the MacGowan originals and the covers, are all barnburners that made up the Pogues' early live sets. Rake at the Gates of Hell: Shane Macgowan in Context
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A few things you should know about 'Red Roses For Me', May 6 2010
This review is from: Red Roses For Me (Remastered / Expanded) (Audio CD)
The Pogues were typecast as Irish, but it should be remembered they were in fact Anglo-Irish, and this debut album actually evokes London more than Ireland. 'Transmetropolitan' is a love/hate paean to that very city, and my personal favourite track 'Dark Streets of London' is a catchy but deeply beautiful song which stands alongside 'Lullaby of London' from their third album.

Other tunes range from drunken cavorts ('Streams of Whiskey', 'Waxie's Dargle') to the plaintive 'Kitty', a sad ballad of love and loss. 'Down in the Ground Where the Dead Men Go' is a furious McGowan-penned piece of folkloric necro-horror, while 'Greenland Whale Fisheries' is a traditional whaling ballad which animal welfare advocates should like, because the whale wins!

This is a raw and kick-stomping debut, from a band who went on to even better things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ahh i love it, Jan. 31 2004
By 
Jojo (Athens, GA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Roses for Me (Audio CD)
if i should fall from grace with god was the first pogues cd i heard. then i listened to red roses for me and now love it more than if i should fall from grace with god. i mean, mein Gott, shane's voice, especially in "boys from the county hell". i love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Pogues Album Ever!, Oct. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Roses for Me (Audio CD)
I feel personally that this is the best pogues album because the tracks are so raw with emotion.Once the pogues hit the big time there music although brilliant was too professional. I think that this is the best album because it sounds as if it is being recorded in the back of a pub. The best songs are of course Boys From The County Hell and Streams of Whiskey.Plus this is the pogues with Siobhan O Riordan. She made this album brilliant.Take one example the boys from the county hell it has a simple guitar beat while another song for example Fiesta it sounds so practised and unnatural. This is THE Pogues album to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where it all began..., Sept. 25 2003
By 
BMD (Cleveland Heights, OH United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Red Roses for Me (Audio CD)
I think this album is underrated as hell. Although the best songs from "If I Should Fall..." are much better than the best songs from "Red Roses," I would nevertheless say that Red Roses is a better listen song-by-song from start to finish. Shane's characteristic sharp wit and black humor are well represented here, from Transmetropolitan, to Dark Streets Of London, to Streams Of Whiskey, to the (disturbingly) hysterical Down In The Ground Where The Dead Men Go. Add some choice covers, thrown in with a few ballads that would make a sphinx weep, and you've got a damn good album. Even if you don't think this is as good as the next two Pogues' albums, think about it... is anything as good as the next two Pogues' albums? Nope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Early Sound of the Pogues, Aug. 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Roses for Me (Audio CD)
As others have mentioned, Shane MacGowan and couple other of the founding members of the Pogues were veterans of the British punk scene of the late 70's. In the early 80's, the Pogues got their start in the pubs around London as a sort of novelty act by playing old Irish folk tunes with a punk attitude: fast, loud, and obnoxious. A novelty act the Pogues would have remained if it had not been for two key elements: the abilty of Shane MacGowan's boozy growl of a singing voice to put on edge on even the most mundane lyric and even more importantly was his ability to write some of the finest songs of his generation. In time, MacGowan's talents as a singer/songwriter would turn the Pogues from a crude pub band into one of the most exciting and unique groups of the 80's.
In their first studio album, "Red Roses for Me," one can hear the early sound of the Pogues' as they make their first toddling steps towards greatness. Unfortunately, the musicianship is not exactly of the highest quality and sound of the entire CD is raw. Overall, the Pogues' sound on this CD is that of a band that had just recently been playing for beer money in some dive. But, hey, we're dealing with ex-punks here! The Pogues would eventually acquire a better guitarist and bassist and their sound would be polished by more accomplished producers. Although "Red Roses for Me" shows a band that needs to improve musically, there is one element present here that showed that it had definite promise: MacGowan's songwriting. Although the album does contain a number of covers of old folk tunes, it's MacGowan's songs that jump out at the listener: "Boys from the County Hell," "Streams of Whiskey," and "Transmetropolitan."
I would recommend this album to people who are already familiar with the Pogues and want to see how they sounded at the start of their career. However, for someone looking for just one Pogues CD then I would rank this album way below "If I Should Fall from Grace with God" and "Rum Sodomy and the Lash" Also, I would be hesitant to recommend it over "Peace and Love" or "Hell's Ditch." I mainly gave it four stars because it's the Pogues and for the importance of hearing the raw early version of this great band for die hard fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The 1st Pogues Album!, March 25 2003
By 
This review is from: Red Roses for Me (Audio CD)
Probably the most "traditional" sounding of the Pogues albums, and that works just fine for me! Not as good as "Rum, Sodomy and the Lash" or "If I Should Fall From Grace With God", but let's remember that the latter are two of the finest trad/rock albums EVER recorded. The playing is a little ragged, and the recording isn't as polished as later albums, but who cares? This is Shane and the Pogues (with Cat O'Riordan!!), man!!! For those who know, no more needs to be said. For those who don't, stick with the Clancy Brothers. Peace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Down In The Ground, Aug. 1 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Red Roses for Me (Audio CD)
By 1984 when this was released, "Punk" had by and large fallen prey to cliche. The fury of The Sex Pistols was rapidly being tamed by MTV and mascara bands like The Cure. Then along came the Pogues. Led by MacGowan, a bit of a celebrity from Punk's glory days, this band went and socked the whole scene in the nose, proving that despite all the hype, Punk was more attitude than musical innovation. As their blistering version of "Poor Paddy" goes to show, behind any musical stance, it's all good old fashioned Folk music at heart. In fact, I'll go so far as to say, this record put the last nail into Punk's coffin.
IF I SHOULD FALL...is surely the band at their peak but don't overlook this somewhat underrated gem. Amid raging covers of Irish Folk standards lie some of MacGowan's best loved originals. There's the live staple, "Streams of Whiskey" and "Boys From County Hell", which has to be one of my favorite MacGowan tunes. Another neglected classic is the manic ghost tale, "Down In The Ground Where The Dead Men Go". Fenced on all sides by convivial rowdiness, the ballads really stand out."Kitty" could make a dead man weep and their renditon of Brendan Behan's "The Auld Triangle" is probably the greatest version ever recorded. If you've sampled the virtues of RUM SODOMY & THE LASH, not to mention their masterpiece, FALL FROM GRACE, let your curiousity get the best of you and pick this up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Seeds of Future Greatness, May 20 2002
By 
Sean Smith (Freehold, New Jersey, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Red Roses for Me (Audio CD)
Not their best album (that would be Rum Sodomy and the Lash) but this is quite good. Streams of Whiskey and Transmetropolitan showcase the original songwriting, and The Auld Triangle and Kitty show their sensitive renderings of Irish folk songs. They would get better with time, but this is where it all started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album of the 1980s..., Oct. 14 2001
This review is from: Red Roses for Me (Audio CD)
This album is simply the best release of popular music of the 1980s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb94eef3c)

This product

Red Roses For Me (Remastered / Expanded)
Red Roses For Me (Remastered / Expanded) by the Pogues (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews