Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "....A Level That Most Will Never See"
First of all, I would like to supply all you prospective Devil's Rejects buyers with my honest opinion and review on the film itself.
The Devil's Rejects is a brilliant follow-up to the acclaimed House of 1000 Corpses. While not milking the previous film's success formula, The Devil's Rejects has the capacity to stand alone as a fantastic masterpiece in cinematic...
Published on Feb. 10 2006 by A Buff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars love the movie
but the actual blu-ray was used and re-packaged, and there was no effort to even try to hide it lol.
Published 3 months ago by GREGADETH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "....A Level That Most Will Never See", Feb. 10 2006
By 
A Buff (The West Coast of Newfoundland) - See all my reviews
First of all, I would like to supply all you prospective Devil's Rejects buyers with my honest opinion and review on the film itself.
The Devil's Rejects is a brilliant follow-up to the acclaimed House of 1000 Corpses. While not milking the previous film's success formula, The Devil's Rejects has the capacity to stand alone as a fantastic masterpiece in cinematic horror.
The film opens with the re-introduction of the Firefly family, and with just enough 'screen-time' elapsing since the first film, (4-6 months plot-wise), this gives us an opportunity to gather a fresh take on these unforgettable characters, and within minutes you'll forget about 'cute and seductive' Baby, 'Quick-witted' Otis, and of course the 'Raunchy, laugh out loud' Captain Spaulding, from '1000 corpse' fame. You'll quickly realize that this is a completely different film than "1000 Corpses", and not necesscarily as comfortable to watch.
Gore abounds in this film, as well as huge shock implications. You may find yourself glancing at the floor during the rather disturbing (and yes, I mean real disturbing) scenes. This film is not for the faint of heart, as it pulls absoloutly no punches. I am a huge horror fan, and I've seen all the gorriest, frightening, low-budget, cult-classic and rare horror films you could imagine. I would easily put "The Devil's Rejects" in the same catagory as, "Ed Gein", "Henry:Portrait of a Serial Killer",The Original "Texas Chainsaw Massacre","Deranged", "Dawn of the Dead" and "American Psycho", just to name a few.
Rob Zombie is a wonderfully capable director who is able to use film as it was intended to be used, to make art. The preformances were all amazing. Bill Mosely always gives 110% to every role he's ever had. Sheri Moon-Zombie is developing into a strong screen presence. Sid Haig, what more could you say about him ? Ken Foree, came into an established franchise and made himself at home, and finally William Forsythe. A confrontational film only works if the heroes and villians are clearly defined and are completely believable, which William Forsythe was able to deliver with conviction. Once you see this film, you'll never look at heroes or villans in the same light again. Ask yourself, what really constitutes being a 'Hero'?
I'll leave you with this bit of behind-the-scenes information that you can find on disc 2 of the 2-Disc Unrated Edition DVD.
During one particularly intense scene involving Bill Mosely (Otis) and Pricilla Barnes' character, Mr. Mosely went to Rob Zombie and said that the scene was really "Bumming" him out, to which Rob replied, "Art isn't safe!"
Neither is "The Devil's Rejects"
Love it or hate it, just don't ignore it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "....A Level Most Will Never See", Dec 2 2009
By 
A Buff (The West Coast Of Newfoundland) - See all my reviews
First of all, I would like to supply all you prospective 'Devil's Rejects' buyers with my honest opinion and review on the film itself.

The Devil's Rejects is a brilliant follow-up to the acclaimed House of 1000 Corpses.
While not milking the previous film's success formula, The Devil's Rejects has the capacity to stand alone as a fantastic masterpiece in cinematic horror.

The film opens with the re-introduction of the Firefly family, and with just enough 'screen-time' elapsing since the first film, (4-6 months plot-wise), this gives us an opportunity to gather a fresh take on these unforgettable characters, and within minutes you'll forget about 'cute and seductive' Baby, 'Quick-witted' Otis, and of course the 'Raunchy, laugh-out-loud' Captain Spaulding, from '1000 corpse' fame. You'll quickly realize that this is a completely different film than "1000 Corpses", and not necesscarily as comfortable to watch.
Gore abounds in this film, as well as huge shock implications. You may find yourself glancing at the floor during the rather disturbing (and yes, I mean real disturbing) scenes. This film is not for the faint of heart, as it pulls absoloutely no punches.
I am a huge horror fan, and I've seen all the goriest, frightening, low-budget, cult-classic and rare horror films you could imagine. I would easily put "The Devil's Rejects" in the same category as, "Ed Gein", "The Last House On The Left"[Both the Original as well as the Re-make], "Henry:Portrait of a Serial Killer", The Original "Texas Chainsaw Massacre", "Deranged", "Dawn of the Dead" and "American Psycho", just to name a few.

Rob Zombie is a wonderfully imaginative director who is able to use film as it was intended to be used, to make art. The performances were all amazing. Bill Mosely always gives 110% to every role he's ever had. Sheri Moon-Zombie has developed into a strong screen presence. Sid Haig, what more could you say about him ? Ken Foree, came into an established franchise and made himself at home, and finally William Forsythe. A confrontational film only works if the heroes and villains are clearly defined and are completely believable, which William Forsythe was able to deliver with conviction.
Once you see this film, you'll never look at heroes or villains in the same light again.
Ask yourself, what really constitutes being a 'Hero'?

I'll leave you with this bit of behind-the-scenes information that you can find on disc 2 of the 2-Disc Unrated Edition DVD.
During one particularly intense scene involving Bill Mosely (Otis) and Pricilla Barnes' character, Mr. Mosely went to Rob Zombie and remarked that the scene was really "Bumming" him out, to which Rob replied, "Art isn't safe!"

Neither is "The Devil's Rejects"
Love it or hate it, just don't ignore it!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing not for weak constitutions, Nov. 19 2005
an amazing movie with an attitude all i can really say is its a goreinfested psycho billy thriller that will totaly leave an impact on you. the characters are well acted i especialy liked captain spaulding. so much that i went out on halloween as him. otis and baby were also hardcore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I calls 'em like I sees 'em", Dec 8 2009
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I'm generally not a horror movie guy although I grew up on all the classics in the 80's. I thought I just outgrew the genre. Then I saw Rob Zombie's House Of 1,000 Corpses, and its sequel The Devil's Rejects.

Picking up several months after the end of 1,000 Corpses, the cops are closing in on the Firefly family. The house is surrounded and a surpisingly cool gun battle unsues, which is only the first of many surprises in this excellent continuation. It may be a sequel, but its realistic texture is completely different from the original film. Shot mostly outdoors in the deep south, the Rejects are soon on the run. But not all of them.

Mama's been arrested, Rufus is dead, and Tiny has escaped. Baby & Otis meet up with Spaulding (who is revealed to be baby's daddy) and the three are on the run from a cop out for revenge. Like something out of a Sergio Leone film, music and scenery compliment each other to take you on a trip that will shock and disgust you while questioning the nature of these character's dark souls. This is not your daddy's horror movie.

Yes, there are buckets of blood, more body parts removed from the body they were originally attached to, and lots of evil deeds. I must stress again: This is not your daddy's horror film. This is a character piece, and a road movie. By the time you get to "Free Bird", you will be asking yourself just why you're feeling the way you feel. And you will never hear "Free Bird" again without seeing the three faces of the Devil's Rejects in your mind.

Cudos to Sherri Moon Zombie, Sid Haig, and Bill Mosely for creating characters that will not soon be forgotten. Great documentary and deleted scenes included as well. Look for a fantastic deleted scene with Dr. Satan that ties the two films together!

5 stars, and 1 blood-splattered face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not a nice movie (I can't spell), Dec 1 2005
Devils Rejects... Rob Zombies second motion picture is a strange little piece, that to be honest... I didn't like after it's first screening. I, in a way, felt cheeted that this movie had NOTHING to do with its predicessor aside from the fact that it makes use of the same lead characters. Another thing which I thought was strange... was how angry Devils Rejects came across. Where House of 1000 was a cute, campy tribute to 70's horror-house movies. Devils Rejects is a anachistic slap to the face.
However... for some un-explainable reason, it grew on me, like a fungus. While House of 1000 was a tribute to campy 70's horror, Devils Rejects is a tribute to Grindhouse-exploitation films of the same era. Which just so happens to be my favorite sub-genre. SO, with open arms I welcome this nasty little movie into my DVD collection, and if you smell what I'm steppin' in, I advise you do the same.
One thing tho' WHAT OF DR. SATAN?!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars love the movie, May 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
but the actual blu-ray was used and re-packaged, and there was no effort to even try to hide it lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, May 2 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fast shipping got here befor I tnouhht it would. The movien was in perfect condition. Great movie for anyone looking for a movie where u cheer for the bad guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Future Cult Classic!!, April 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie rocks!! Sick and depraved, it'll make you shake in the night. Rob Zombie hit it out of the park with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, March 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm very happy with my purchase. And it arrived in great timing! Will purchase again from you in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film - until it runs out of steam, then overstays its welcome, June 30 2006
Director Rob Zombie breathed new life into the horror genre with House of 1000 Corpses. He gives us another taste of horror brilliance with its sequel, The Devil's Rejects. The DVD is packed with special features, but there's no cute character hosted menus this time. Among the special features are a tear-jerking tribute to the now deceased Matthew McGrory, and the entire episode of The Morris Green Show that was on the TV in the motel. And I must say, the image of Captain Spaulding that appears onscreen (after pressing 'Play Movie' on the DVD menu) is AWESOME. When accompanied by the chilling sound effects, Spaulding's image looks frightening.

This film begins six months after the events depicted in House of 1000 Corpses. The opening scene of The Devil's Rejects greets us with the sight of a young woman who appears to have been sexually assaulted and brutally slain. The corpse is being dragged by a towering man wearing a supercool mask that looks like a burlap sack (with eyeholes of course). The mere imagery of this scene is disturbing enough, but the chilling background music makes it especially unsettling. Anyone familiar with the first movie will know straightaway that the man is Tiny, even before we get a glimpse of his face. It's obvious Tiny's troubled by the sight of a long column of police vehicles heading for the family farm. The rest of the murderous family (except Rufus) are asleep at the farmhouse, and it becomes obvious to viewers that Otis has a penchant for necrophilia. We are then introduced to Sheriff Wydell (William Forsythe) the leader of this "search and destroy mission". He's eager to wipe out the Firefly family, for reasons later revealed in the film. The family refuse to surrender, and they don steel masks before opening fire. An AWESOME gun battle ensues, which puts most action movies to shame. The part where Otis rises up from behind a table wearing his steel skull mask (in slow-motion with the awesome background music blaring) is some of the coolest imagery I've ever seen in any movie. And the sight of the wounded cop using one hand to spray Rufus with an M-16 is almost as cool. But even all that body armor can't save Rufus. Then Mother Firefly is apprehended, Baby and Otis escape, and the movie is just getting started! (All that excitement took place in the first ten minutes!)

Unsurprisingly, there's lots of cool death scenes. But this sequel has very little in common with its predecessor. The violence is more graphic, there's even more splatter, and there's a much more serious undertone in The Devil's Rejects. But there's still some humorous moments - I especially enjoyed the part where Spaulding leaves a little boy in tears, and the part when Otis refuses to stop for ice cream. Throughout the film, we follow the remaining Fireflys on the run. As the saying goes, desperate people do desperate things. But Otis and Baby also do incredibly perverse things, especially at the motel. Needless to say, it's the end of the line for the Banjo and Sullivan road show.

This movie is better made than House of 1000 Corpses (better acting, directing, storyline, and so on), but I found The Devil's Rejects less enjoyable. This movie tries a clever trick on its viewers - to get us to root for the Fireflys. I admire the way Rob Zombie tries to achieve this, which reminded me of A Clockwork Orange. But my complaint is that I was ALREADY rooting for the Fireflys. Then after they arrived at the brothel (which by now most viewers would be rooting for the Fireflys) I found myself rooting for Wydell! Wydell makes a great antihero for the first hour or so of the film, and he's just as entertaining when he stops being the good guy and becomes another of this film's villains. The Fireflys remain villains throughout the entire film, but after Wydell goes bad, there's no good guys left in the movie. The Fireflys don't even seem evil towards the end of the movie, they seem more like antiheroes along the lines of Bonnie and Clyde. But the Fireflys leave such a powerful impression on viewers when they're butchering people, that the movie lost a lot of steam when Rob Zombie tried to portray them as antiheroes. But I'll give him credit for showing us the human side of the Fireflys. So anyway, the last half hour is a lot less enjoyable, bit it's still cool.

Another cool scene is when Wydell and the two bounty hunters (played by Danny Trejo and Dallas Page) attack the Fireflys at Charlie's brothel. Spaulding delivers a memorable quote once he turns around and sees Wydell. If you've ever seen 'Diamond' Dallas Page back when he was in the WCW as a pro wrestler, you'd remember that he was one of the biggest dorks in professional wrestling history. But I loved his sinister performance in this movie.

I enjoyed the scenes where the Fireflys get what they deserve. But the movie is marred by the final scene on the highway - that's when the film overstays its welcome. That highway scene is touching, but it would've been better if such a poignant moment took place earlier in the film, like before a final showdown between Wydell and the Fireflys. I wish the film ended in a violent bloodbath at the brothel (in which NO ONE would survive) instead of the violent bloodbath that happens later in this movie - but I loved the use of 'Freebird' and 'Seed of Memory'. Unfortunately, we never get to see Spaulding torturing anyone in House of 1000 Corpses or in this movie. The Spaulding character deserves to have an entire movie made about him, where he'd go on a murderous rampage. He'd need to be in his clown make-up for that entire film! And make sure you buy the AWESOME Original Motion Picture Score!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Devil's Rejects (Unrated) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 8.77
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews