Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, really?
I don't know what the All Music Guide's Jeremy Wheeler finds implausible about the original Saw's finale, as the final two to five minutes (for me) revealed the sheer twisted, diabolical genius of Leigh's script. The denouement basically catapulted the film head and shoulders above any other horror movie I've ever seen (prompting multiple rewinds), breaking out of its...
Published on Feb. 14 2006 by Glen Burg

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars 2 gory 2 repeating
After Saw became a success, Saw 2 put mindless characters in mindless situations where each would be a nuisance to the others. Not only was it a futility but it made for a very ineffective movie experience where it could have asked serious questions about humanity and its voyeurism needs... but the series isn't that, so we got messy gory effects with sugar on top instead...
Published 4 months ago by Simon Bergeron


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, really?, Feb. 14 2006
By 
Glen Burg "distantshore" (the Maritimes of Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Saw II (Widescreen) (DVD)
I don't know what the All Music Guide's Jeremy Wheeler finds implausible about the original Saw's finale, as the final two to five minutes (for me) revealed the sheer twisted, diabolical genius of Leigh's script. The denouement basically catapulted the film head and shoulders above any other horror movie I've ever seen (prompting multiple rewinds), breaking out of its genre and entering my shortlist of "recent classics". By attempting to echo the previous film's ending without as much substance, "Saw II" pales in comparison. Slightly.
(And not to reveal any surprises, but a certain element central to "Saw II" makes the previous ending much more plausible, if one notices it. I risk spoiling the movie if I say any more.)
Now, on to "Saw II": yes, this movie's ending attempts to treat the viewer to another quick-resolving ending, in which details are given in machine-gun fashion so that all is revealed... only this time, nothing is as amazingly brilliant. The first movie left us with more questions than answers. The second answers most of those questions, then just doesn't bring more up. While "Saw"'s puzzles and games seemed terrifyingly impossible to win, "Saw II" left me wanting to slap the participants silly, asking "How _could_ you?" Throughout the film, clues are laid out for most of the puzzles... yet the clues, in plain sight, go by unnoticed by the participants. Adrenaline? Fear? Distrust of their captor? This, combined with the ending, makes it impossible for me to give this five stars.
Still, four stars as a film rating isn't shabby. The movie shocks and makes blood curdle by playing on many of our common fears. Take away the situation and put the same elements in, and many of us would still squirm in our seats. My fear is that "Saw II"'s partial use of "slasher gore" tactics (which, on the other hand, may increase delight from viewers who love watching slasher-type films) risks pointing the way to much more commonplace, and therefore mundane, "Saw" films to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, really?, Feb. 14 2006
By 
Glen Burg "distantshore" (the Maritimes of Canada) - See all my reviews
I don't know what the All Music Guide's Jeremy Wheeler finds implausible about the original Saw's finale, as the final two to five minutes (for me) revealed the sheer twisted, diabolical genius of Leigh's script. The denouement basically catapulted the film head and shoulders above any other horror movie I've ever seen (prompting multiple rewinds), breaking out of its genre and entering my shortlist of "recent classics". By attempting to echo the previous film's ending without as much substance, "Saw II" pales in comparison. Slightly.
(And not to reveal any surprises, but a certain element central to "Saw II" makes the previous ending much more plausible, if one notices it. I risk spoiling the movie if I say any more.)
Now, on to "Saw II": yes, this movie's ending attempts to treat the viewer to another quick-resolving ending, in which details are given in machine-gun fashion so that all is revealed... only this time, nothing is as amazingly brilliant. The first movie left us with more questions than answers. The second answers most of those questions, then just doesn't bring more up. While "Saw"'s puzzles and games seemed terrifyingly impossible to win, "Saw II" left me wanting to slap the participants silly, asking "How _could_ you?" Throughout the film, clues are laid out for most of the puzzles... yet the clues, in plain sight, go by unnoticed by the participants. Adrenaline? Fear? Distrust of their captor? This, combined with the ending, makes it impossible for me to give this film five stars.
Still, four stars as a film rating isn't shabby. The movie shocks and makes blood curdle by playing on many of our common fears. Take away the situation and put the same elements in, and many of us would still squirm in our seats. My fear is that "Saw II"'s partial use of "slasher gore" tactics (which, on the other hand, may increase delight from viewers who love watching slasher-type films) risks pointing the way to much more commonplace, and therefore mundane, "Saw" films to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars even better than the 1st movie, March 6 2007
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Saw 2 (2-Disc Uncut Edition) (DVD)
while i thought 'Saw' was agreat movie,i think number 2 is even better.the storyline is expanded and some questions from number1 are answered.of course there are also more questions.this movie a bit heavier on the gore than the 1st one,but there is nothing gratuitous.at least i didn't think so.if you liked the original 'Saw'give the sequel a try.you should enjoy it at least as much.you also might like 'Hostel' and 'Wolf Creek' although i found both gratuitously violent with less story than gore.anyway,that's just 1 person's opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars 2 gory 2 repeating, May 13 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Saw 2 (2-Disc Uncut Edition) (DVD)
After Saw became a success, Saw 2 put mindless characters in mindless situations where each would be a nuisance to the others. Not only was it a futility but it made for a very ineffective movie experience where it could have asked serious questions about humanity and its voyeurism needs... but the series isn't that, so we got messy gory effects with sugar on top instead of a story... better get used to it, there's 5 more flicks to go afterwards...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saw II is a clever and stylish horror movie and one of the best in years!!, Oct. 28 2006
This review is from: Saw 2 [Import] (DVD)
Jigsaw is back with more people to play his sick and twisted game of survival. This time, individuals are trapped in a house and methods that these people die are sick and twisted. Donnie Walhberg must play the game in order to save his son- who is trapped in a house with others who have been poisoned. The only way to appreciate this horror movie is to see it. It is well crafted and one of the best in years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the better sequels., April 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Set a lot of the styles and standards for the series, later perfected, but it's a good movie. Donnie is actually great in it, and speaking of actors, this is the debut of Jigsaw being a main character, and is notable for giving him a lot of lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series!, Aug. 12 2013
By 
Michael Milley "BrinLondo" (Toronto, Ont. Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Saw 2 (2-Disc Uncut Edition) (DVD)
In an era of torture-porn horror movies, this series stands out as it actually has something to say. A couple movies fell flat but overall A+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great sequel, if not better than the last movie., Feb. 23 2012
By 
Robert Blais (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saw 2 (2-Disc Uncut Edition) (DVD)
If you enjoyed the first movie of the franchise, then I can say that the second is definitely worth a try. I don't exactly recommend this version, because I feel that the additional footage subtracts from the film. Regardless, the second installment of the franchise is still my favorite. It took the concept of the first film and incorporated the "trap segments" that people liked about the previous film into the overall plot which makes it a lot more exciting, rather than leaving the intense moments in the backseat or saving it for last.

The best part, in my opinion, is that the antagonist has the spotlight. Because of his only brief appearance in the preceding film, we get to learn who he is and what he stands for. In return, that makes him more frightening and more identifiable. This makes the sequel not as mysterious, but it still manages to pull off some good twists that in the end, compliments our villain.

While some characters make a return, this film introduces a lot of new ones, most which don't carry over to the next sequel. However, the chemistry that the characters share is enough to make you care, no matter how big or small our performers act.

I highly recommend this movie, no- the first trilogy of the Saw films for any horror genre fan to watch. The first to third movies are great to their own extent; each do something different while keeping the same recognizable formula, which leaves the experience fresh and extinguishable.

Once again, I believe that the original cut of the film is more solid. The only difference in the uncut version that's worth the buy is the revised "needle pit" scene from the movie's climax. Besides that, you aren't missing too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same like the first, exept with no sawing, oh man, April 3 2006
By 
scott (In a white house, HELP ME) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Saw II (Widescreen) (DVD)
A lot of people really liked saw 2 more than the first. Why? It's still the same just with more wicked perdicaments. The story is basic, same as the first, the old man is still having his fun making games for the little children. Giving them little hints how to save themselves.
The gore is good and so are the traps. The acting is good also, you feel what they are going through which make the suspence even better. There are some little twists to the movie which makes it alittle more interesting. But other than that it's like watching a remake of the first one. But if your a fan of the first one than Saw 2 will further sustain your enjoyment of gore and punishment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars saw II, May 18 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Saw II (Full Screen) (DVD)
The DVD of saw II is in excellent condition when it arrived and the movie itself is normal to watch,no defects that i could see.I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saw 2 (2-Disc Uncut Edition)
Saw 2 (2-Disc Uncut Edition) by Darren Lynn Bousman (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 14.95 CDN$ 9.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews