Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Emily Haines goes in a different direction
If you buy this album expecting to hear everything Metric than you will be disappointed. This is first and foremost a side project with completely different band members. It isn't supposed to be another Metric album or even directly related to that style of music which is why you get a slower and stripped down sound. It's dark, it's simple, it's beautiful. [...]...
Published on Oct. 16 2006 by Ian Thomson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Knives Don't Have Your Attention
Emily Haines of Metric has strayed from her usual indie-rock-pop sounds, and instead has come out with an entirely piano-orientated album. The album itself sounds more like "Police and the Private" (off of Live It Out), than anything else Metric has released. While Haines has come up with some engaging little melodies in this album, it flounders slightly, weighed down...
Published on Sept. 13 2006 by C. Horgan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Knives Don't Have Your Attention, Sept. 13 2006
By 
C. Horgan "chorgs" (calgary, canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Knives Dont Have Your Back (Audio CD)
Emily Haines of Metric has strayed from her usual indie-rock-pop sounds, and instead has come out with an entirely piano-orientated album. The album itself sounds more like "Police and the Private" (off of Live It Out), than anything else Metric has released. While Haines has come up with some engaging little melodies in this album, it flounders slightly, weighed down by the similarities of each tune.

Apart from this fairly evidend drawback, "Knives Don't Have Your Back" has some points of interest, including "Our Hell," "The Maid Needs a Maid", and "Winning" - oddly which are positioned at the beginning, middle, and end of the album.

Overall, a nice companion to anyone's Metric album collection - Haines demostrates a talent that will most likely become more developed with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emily Haines goes in a different direction, Oct. 16 2006
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Knives Dont Have Your Back (Audio CD)
If you buy this album expecting to hear everything Metric than you will be disappointed. This is first and foremost a side project with completely different band members. It isn't supposed to be another Metric album or even directly related to that style of music which is why you get a slower and stripped down sound. It's dark, it's simple, it's beautiful. [...]

Standout tracks are the edgy Doctor Blind, introspective Our Hell, melancholy Maid needs a Maid and inspirational Winning. There is alot of piano used throughout and can be a little repetitive at times, but suit the lyrics. All the songs lack the synth and strong guitar riffs of Metric, but that doesn't make it bad. People who like Elliott Smith, Cat Power or Fiona Apple and similar sounding artists will really like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the maid needs emily haines and the soft skeleton., Jan. 22 2008
Ce commentaire est de: Knives Dont Have Your Back (Audio CD)
i have loved (or grown to love) practically eveything emily haines has been involved with. therefore, i did not hesitate to buy this CD. no, this is not a metric CD. all tracks on "knives don't have your back" are mainly piano driven. it is extremely MELLOW.
honestly, it took me awhile to get into it. it isn't the type of CD you can pop into your car player and groove down the highway with.
it has become, however, one of my fave discs to listen to while reading or doing homework. the songs grow on you. among my faves are: "our hell", "doctor blind", "crowd surf off a cliff", "detective daughter", and "the maid needs a maid".
in a night i have been known to put this CD on repeat. it is NOT to be missed. but it may need repeated listening. keep that in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emily, Nov. 18 2006
By 
Olivier Campeau (Montreal, Quebec) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Knives Dont Have Your Back (Audio CD)
Emily haines has such a soothing voice, there is something about it that makes you want to close your eyes and rest peacefully. With a gorgeous voice like that, this album is definatly underrated. Now people can actually enjoy and realize emily haines pure and natural talent. while in the background of BSS and Metric worldwide success, Haines still manifest an enjoyable down to earth attitude and you can tell in her collection of well crafted songs here.

As delectable as a delicious midnight snack.

(the album cover and art is very cool, hardcover, just like a little book)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty and sweet, Sept. 13 2006
By 
M. Brigden-Rene de Cotre "Wildchild" (Ottawa, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Knives Dont Have Your Back (Audio CD)
Emily Haines (of Metric) creates a soft touch kind of album. This album would be the soft spoken cousin of Metric, with its light vocals, reminiscing of Cat Powers and Beth Gibbons. My only (small) beef with this CD is that several of the tracks start the same way, with a repetitive piano cord. Otherwise, I find this album very soothing, just what you need when taking a hot bath or drinking a cup of tea.

4 stars out of 5!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, Oct. 28 2006
By 
Efrain "e." (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Knives Dont Have Your Back (Audio CD)
the people who gave this album a poor rating are ignorant critics. Firstly the album is amazing, filled with meloncholy sounds and amazing lyrics. Secondly, they fail to realize that most metric songs are made with emily as the composer with her piano and the band coming in after. If you have liked metric since their underground days, and aren't hipsters, than you will enjoy the album. It's amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never heard of one of Canada's finest artists?, Nov. 30 2009
By 
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Knives Dont Have Your Back (Audio CD)
Perhaps you've never heard of Emily Haines. Maybe you've heard of Metric, she's the lead singer of a talented alternative music group called Metric. If you have, you know what I'm talking about. If you have not, it's a shame, she deserves to be widely known, like internationally. This CD is a quiet, but profoundly interesting collection of her personal work. My highest recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mistake On Tracklisting, Oct. 27 2011
On the back of my "KDHYB" there are only 5 tracks on side A not 6 like the tracklist states. Side A begins with "Our Hell" and ends with "the Lottery" , Side B begins with "the Maid Needs a Maid" and ends with "Winning".

Am I the only one with this small but never the less mistake?

Though "Knives Dont Have Your Back" has to be one the decades most profound and beautiful records.
I am still hoping for a follow-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, July 21 2011
Achat vérifié(Quest-ce que cest?)
Ce commentaire est de: Knives Dont Have Your Back (Audio CD)
This is not Metric, this is not Metric, warn the aghast popsters. No, it is not Metric, but it is the pure, stripped-down creative genius upon which Metric is based. So simple and quiet, yet so devastating. I shiver in awe every time I hear "Crowd Surf Off a Cliff" - that voice, that piano part. It is always so interesting to have these proto-documents from artists that have made it in rock or pop: it's like going to wellhead, finding out where it all comes from. (Another example: Martina Sorbara's "The Cure for Bad Deeds": her later reincarnation -- Dragonette). Now if we could only have "Cut in Half and Also Double", which is well-nigh impossible to find. Emily, could you please pull a "Grow Up and Blow Away" and see that "Cut in Half" is reissued? I doubt it can be as good as Knives, but it sure would be lovely to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, Sept. 15 2006
By 
J. Tan (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Knives Dont Have Your Back (Audio CD)
i'm a big fan of metric, and i love her sweet, sexy voice, but this album is monotonous and incredibly boring. i cannot find a mood wherein i would actually want to listen to this self-indulgent music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knives Dont Have Your Back
Knives Dont Have Your Back by Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews