Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST!!!
this is an amazing CD every song awsome it shiped fast worth every cent i love this CD and if your a maiden fan you have to buy this it not the same as the 80's stuff but diferent dosent make it any less awsome
Published 22 months ago by samuelynch

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars nice try..
wow..as a serious maiden fan, i really,REALLY wanted to love this and was thinking that it would be a fresh start for the band,but no. the main problem with the album is the band seems stuck in rut,with almost every song sounding alike, each one clocking in at about 8 or 9 minutes. the "epic" feel of the songs gets old real fast. the first cut"different world " is great...
Published on Dec 31 2006 by David R. Robert


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST!!!, June 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
this is an amazing CD every song awsome it shiped fast worth every cent i love this CD and if your a maiden fan you have to buy this it not the same as the 80's stuff but diferent dosent make it any less awsome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Most epic album and one of their best!, Sept. 16 2006
By 
Customer from Quebec (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
The nineties were a disastrous time for Iron Maiden. Then came the awesome Brave New World but I was still sceptical and I thought that maybe their reunion inspiration will fade. Indeed, Dance of Death showed some signs of fatigue although it contains some of Maiden's finest songs (Pashendale, No More Lies, Dance of Death, Face in the Sand) besides some of their worst (Wildest Dreams). But I never imagined that their third post-reunion effort will be such a masterpiece! This is the most epic album of the group, the songwriting is brilliant ( I wish some of the new groups learn from that). Bruce Dickinson is one of the last great voices in metal. His singing is impeccable throughout the album. The rest of the band is also in top shape, the sound of the album is perfect.

Some fans critisize the length of the songs, but I think that metal is not meant to be a fast food music. For me Different World (4 minutes, the only short song on the album) is the weakest. It's an OK opener, but it's poppy refrain doesn't fit with the dark and heavy mood of the rest of the album. All the rest of the tracks deserve 10 stars, but probably Brighter than a Thousand Suns, The Longest Day , For the Greater Good of God, These Colours Don't Run, The Reincarnation of Benjamin Breeg and the Legacy stand slightly higher above the rest with their intensity. This album ranks among the best albums of the group (for me they are at least six, I count the bad ones which are three) and it will become a classic in the history of Iron Maiden and heavy metal. And after six great reunion years, Maiden are rejuvenated and definitely back to stay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Majestic, June 17 2010
By 
LeBrain - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
Majestic is the best word I can think of to describe A Matter of Life and Death, the 14th studio album by Iron Maiden (and 3rd of the "reunion era). That, and classic. This truly is classic Maiden: Most songs running between 7 and 9 minutes long, recorded virtually live off the floor, raw and epic. I truly believe that this represents the absolute peak of Maiden's creativity. While not a concept album like Seventh Song, it does indeed follow themes: war, religion, storytelling.

Anybody who thought Dance of Death sounded tired had better get ready to be blown away by a revitalized band. Maybe doing that "Early Years" tour got Maiden hungry to write something new and epic. Who knows what happened? Either way, this is the best album of the reunion era, and a shining moment in the Maiden canon. While "Different World" starts the show in a fast and furious way, similar to "Wildest Dreams" from Dance of Death, this is no re-tread. This time, melody is at the forefront.

The triple guitars have never sounded better, the songwriting has never been stronger, and Bruce is still wailing the whole way through. I can't pick a favourite song, every one is excellent, but here are some highlights:

"Wildest Dreams", a killer fast opener.
"These Colours Don't Run", a war epic, the three guitars meshing into one ferocious whole.
"The Longest Day", another war epic, with mournful melodic chorus.
"Bejamin Breeg", riffiness emphasized.
"For The Greater Good of God", which is perhaps the most epic of all the epics, absolutely stunning, every second of it is dramatic.

The sound of this album is the perfect mix of heavy and raw with just enough polish. The sound straight from the mix was so hot, they didn't even have to master this album, so they left it unmastered. Seriously. Even the cover art is a vast improvement over Dance of Death. Eddie leading his troops of death into some unknown battle.

Try to pick up the version that came with the insightful documentary DVD. Also, be sure to pick up the singles. B-sides included:
Hot live 2006 versions of "Hallowed", "The Trooper", "Run To The Hills", "Iron Maiden", "Different World" and even "Benjamin Breeg". There was also a studio version of their cover of "Hocus Pocus" by Focus!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!, Dec 29 2008
By 
danny (montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
I am a life long maiden fan so my review is probably biased but this is an outstanding album. Maiden went through a tough period in the 90's but with the re-introduction of Bruce and Adrian Smith, the band has been progressively improving with each subsequent release in the 2000's. This album can qualify with Maiden's best from the 80's. The music is typical Maiden but some songs like the Legacy and Brighter than a thousand suns, go somewhat beyond the Maiden box. As well, the lyrics are outstanding especially in the aforementioned the legacy. Give it a listen, you will not be disappointed. Noteworthy songs: they're all good but the ones that will stick in your head are Brighter than a thousand suns, Benjamin Breeg, these colours don't run, and the legacy is an absolute masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Maiden Still Kickin Strong, Nov. 9 2006
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
Yet another good album released by Bruce and the band. Thank heavens Bruce came back because I hadn't purchased an Irom Maiden Album in the 90's after Bruce left. Since Brave New World they have released Dance of Death and now Breeg, and they continue to be great!!! Out of the Shadows a 2nd favorite on this album is a good tune to mellow down to after a hard days work. This album is classic maiden with again a strong sound of bass which continues to signiture their good albums.....

Rated - Giggidy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Iron Maiden Masterpiece, Nov. 5 2006
By 
Shred Stylist (Toronto, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Matter of Life and Death (Audio CD)
I have spent last 33 years of my life as a hard rock/metal fan.

In my opinion this is the best album by Iron Maiden predominantly due

to the fact that, unlike some of their earlier efforts where it is

easy to pick the best song of the album, this album is a battery of

one masterpiece after the other. Some say that it is for the mature metal

music lovers. I think the maturity is demanded only in the understanding

of the music and even my teenage son who is a musician likes the album a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best., Sept. 19 2006
By 
OMG...Maiden just keep impressing me. Usually with older metal bands, their new albums are all crap. This album is definatly not. I would have to say it's probably there third best album, definatly the best since ssoass. There is not on bad track on this album. The sound is truly amazing, kinda of a darker feel, but extremly entertaining to listen too. It's hard to pick just one great song on here, but if I would have to I would pick For the greater good of god. The lagacy has some nice acoustic guitar work. Some parts in the legacy reminds me of Led Zepplin. Every metal fan should have the album. Truly a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Once Again the Irons top the Scale, Sept. 18 2006
This album was a treat for most if not all maiden fans. With tracks showing reflections from their work in the early ninties, and the brooding slow intros from the reunion era Maiden have done it again.

Bruce's prefromance tops all he has done within the last 12 years both with maiden and on solo projects. With a album like this fans cant wait to see it on the road.

Up the Irons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden at Their Best, Sept. 16 2006
By 
This is easily the best and most focussed IM album since SSOASS. I'm happy to hear that they have returned to the more progressive concept album format. Bruce's soaring vocals are back is the trademark Maiden guitar sound. Hopefully they continue to release more great albums but if this is the last we hear from IM, it's a fantastic cap to an amazing career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums, Sept. 9 2006
By 
Chowdhury Hasib "Chowdhury Hasib" (Toronto,Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of the best albums of Iron Maiden.

Certainly this album can easily fit into IM's golden era albums (1984 -1989) with 7th son and PowerSlave and somewhere in time.

For some of you, it might take a few listening before you can start liking the album, but if you are a true fan of Maiden's style, this album will certainly exceed all your expectations.

I will give it a 9.1 out of 10

Best tracks: The legacy, For the greater good of God, These colours don't Run, Out of the shadows.

PS: The legacy is probably one of their best tracks ever !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad3f36d8)

This product

A Matter of Life and Death
A Matter of Life and Death by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews