Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How the Grinch Steals Christmas and our hearts year after year
As first a beloved children’s book and then a classic TV special, Dr. Seuss’ Grinch has been entertaining kids of all ages on Christmas every year for decades. The story (which premiered on TV in 1966) follows the grumpy, holiday-hating Grinch’s evil plot to ruin the Who’s Christmas. Can he steal their holiday spirit by stealing their presents? Or...
Published on Nov. 19 2012 by Jamie MacDougall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars sound quality is poor
Even with the volume turned to max, the voices were 'thready', AND I remembered incorrectly: this is not a full-length movie; it's only 26 minutes' long.
Published 23 months ago by m


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How the Grinch Steals Christmas and our hearts year after year, Nov. 19 2012
By 
Jamie MacDougall "Film/TV Addict" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's How the Grinch Stole Christmas (50th Birthday Bilingual Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
As first a beloved children’s book and then a classic TV special, Dr. Seuss’ Grinch has been entertaining kids of all ages on Christmas every year for decades. The story (which premiered on TV in 1966) follows the grumpy, holiday-hating Grinch’s evil plot to ruin the Who’s Christmas. Can he steal their holiday spirit by stealing their presents? Or in the end will they teach him that Christmas means just a little bit more?

There’s a reason that this has become the much-loved Christmas classic it has. It captures the spirit of Seuss, his book and viewers alike, offers beautiful animation by the amazing Chuck Jones, some truly unforgettable and catchy songs, and boasts the loving narration/voice talents of the late great Boris Karloff. I’m a real sap at Christmas and the old classics like the Grinch and Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer are my favorites.

This 50th Birthday Deluxe Edition DVD of the Grinch features both wonderful video & audio quality highlighted by vivid colors and a clean crisp soundtrack. Special features include ‘Dr. Seuss and the Grinch: From Whoville to Hollywood’ (16 min), ‘TNT’s How the Grinch Stole Christmas: Special Edition’ (20 min), ‘Dr. Seuss’ Horton Hears a Who!’ (26 min), ‘Songs in the Key of Grinch’ (8 min), ‘Who’s Who in Whoville’ text-based biographies, song selections, and three pencil tests.

With a great eye-popping video transfer, solid audio and a nice collection of special features, the 50th Birthday Deluxe Edition DVD of ‘Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas!’ comes highly recommended for viewers both young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Perfect Christmas Special, May 10 2014
There isn't a way for a viewer to hate it,
dislike it, abhor it or even berate it.
It's Doctor Seuss, Silly, and what you don't know,
is it's your heart, not Grinch's, that happens to grow.
It's easy to love L'il Cindy Lou Who,
who tugs at your heart strings with her babyish coo.
Her eyes are the size of those great pumpkin pies,
and she ties up your heart strings the moment she cries.
But, like I said, "easy" to love such a tot,
but loving the Grinch, well, I'll tell you, it's not.
But Seuss makes it possible, even for me,
to learn to love Grinches, despite what I see.
In fact, to be honest, I see some of me
in that Green Grinchy carcass who hates heartlessly.
But as he is touched by the Spirit of Christmas,
and I'm able to peer into that Green Grinchy carcass,
I discover that everyone needs to grow too,
that everyone does things that make others "boo."
And If a cold, hard heart like mine can still grow
by seeing the Grinch's while watching this show,
then everyone else's can grow just as well,
so thankfully Amazon can this cartoon sell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This disc is a cinch you can't go wrong with the Grinch!,, June 28 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"How the Grinch Stole Christmas" is a Christmas classic that usually receives repeated viewings in my household. The Grinch is a timeless tale of tolerance, discised as a fantasy. It's the perfect way to put your Little Cindy Lou Who to bed on Christmas Eve, or any night of the year. "Hurton Hears A Who" is another delightful story, which will be especially popular with animal lovers. The animated adaptations of these two stories are a "hateful" of fun! Here's more on each of the shorts, because a person is a person no matter how small and you deserve some good protect information.

You can keep your Frosty the Snowman, Rudoplh the Red Nosed Reindeer, and all the rest. Just let me have my Grinch. Quite simply, this is the best movie that money can buy- a wonderful gift and you never can have too many Grinch movies. Any family should own this movie. After all, who can resist this tale of selfishness conquered by love? Not me, that's for sure. I'm not really into seeing the Jim Carrey version; nothing can top this Dr. Seuss masterpiece. Not even Hollywood.

The Grinch is a mean one, and your kids will think YOU'RE mean if you don't stuff their stocking with this. It's collectively a perfect disc, and kids will be excited to hear that the soundtracks to both films appear unabridged on a single disc. This is a very special DVD release sure to satisfy the ones who aren't getting a lump of coal this year....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, Feb. 22 2012
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's How the Grinch Stole Christmas (50th Birthday Bilingual Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
Short but a great movie for christmas time. Don't don't bluray is that great since such an old movie. Dvd would be fine for older films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Chuck Jones' Christmas Classic, Dec 20 2008
By 
Frances L. Arsenault "lover of literature" (Nanaimo, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This show is a classic holiday special for everyone to enjoy. The animation is fantastic (I love animation from Chuck Jones),and the voice acting of horror film star Boris Karloff is really good (I have a
few of Karloff's films too).

I grew up with this special (like a few others), and I always love how the Grinch said "Sing! Sing! Sing!" And I always love the "Wonderful Awful Idea" part too (I just like the sound of it). I also love the music and songs,I would use the "Trim Up The Tree" song,each year whenever I decorate the tree; and I love to sing "Welcome Christmas" too (I remember every word of it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars haha, what a movie!, April 4 2011
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's How the Grinch Stole Christmas (50th Birthday Bilingual Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
this movie is very old and not long, but o man does it make you laugh. i watch it every year at christmas and it realy never gets old. This is a hilarious movie that can be viewed by the whole family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can you not love this?, Nov. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's How the Grinch Stole Christmas (50th Birthday Bilingual Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
A movie that will never grow old for me. Updating my tired VHS to a nice new DVD was a needed change. 30 minutes of fun music and the classic lessons of the holiday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Xmas Memories..., Dec 21 2010
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's How the Grinch Stole Christmas (50th Birthday Bilingual Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
This is a definite must-have for Christmas! It brought back so many memories...ones I can't wait to create for my daughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars horray for the Grinch!, Nov. 19 2006
Contrary to what some other people have said, this particular 50th anniversary edition IS remastered. The colours are exactly as they should be and, if I remember correctly, it looks better than it usually does each year on TV. I admit that the special features are nothing all that exciting, but having the classic Grinch on dvd to watch whenever I want is still worth having!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned way!, June 12 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Dr. Seuss's How the Grinch Stole Christmas (50th Birthday Bilingual Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
This movie is just magic for everyone no matter how old you are. It's the pure Christmas spirit with so great drawing fora movie made in the 50's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr. Seuss's How the Grinch Stole Christmas (50th Birthday Bilingual Deluxe Edition)
CDN$ 24.95 CDN$ 7.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews