Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars19
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$9.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on July 3, 2008
Was on a flight to Europe, bored out of my mind.... started surfing the music they have programed into the tv sets and came accross this. Listened to it twice and was hooked. Had to buy it. Reminded me about how much great music there is out there that I'd forgotten about. A must have for any music collection!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 26, 2003
Jeff Beck's most innovative and creative work was made between the years 1965-68, beginning with the Yardbirds and then with the first lineup of the Jeff Beck Group, who recorded their debut album "Truth" in 1968. On the basis of these few years alone, Beck deserves a place as one of rock's two or three greatest guitarists, and "Truth" gives the listener an example of his genius when he was still a groundbreaking pioneer.
"Truth" basically sounds like a blueprint for Led Zeppelin's
first album; you have the supergroup formula of previously
unknown virtuoso singer, thunderously heavy rhythm section and
amplified psychedelic blues heroics laying the groundwork for
heavy metal. The two albums even share a cover of "You Shook Me": play them both to compare. "Truth" is only slightly less impressive than "Led Zeppelin I", although it gains points for having been released a whopping seven months earlier. Rod Stewart *never* sounded better, particularly on epics like "Morning Dew" and "I Ain't Superstitious", where his sincerity and unpretentiousness is a stark contrast to his current image. Nicky Hopkins plays some brilliant piano, and Micky Waller's thumping drum style very much parallels John Bonham's. Speaking of Zep, both Jimmy Page and John Paul Jones appear with Hopkins and Keith Moon on "Beck's Bolero", a soaring psych instrumental recorded when Beck was still in the Yardbirds and a truly tasty confection that remains a high point in his
entire career.
Beck's guitar work essentially picks up right where he left off on The Yardbirds' 1966 "Roger The Engineer" album, with the addition of an ear-shattering wah-wah on tracks like "You Shook Me" and "I Ain't Superstitious". The blues quotient is also a bit higher, and he lays down some fine licks and solos that fit right in with the heavy atmosphere of the time. A cover of "Shapes Of Things" and the aforementioned "Beck's Bolero" provide moments of psychedelic greatness, while "Morning Dew" features some very sensitive, emotional playing. Beck's unique style colors even his interpretation of "Greensleeves", which foreshadows the acoustic interlude sections of later metal albums (think "Orchid" on "Master Of Reality").
I still slightly prefer "Zep I"; Page's band was a little
tighter, the production was a little better, and Plant was even more awesome than Stewart. But for anyone who likes The Yardbirds, early Zep or early metal in general, this is an easy pick and the best tracks here ("Shapes Of Things", "Morning Dew", "Beck's Bolero", "I Ain't Superstitious") are about as good as rock gets.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2003
Mere words cannot do this album justice. All the songs are excellent. The only one that's below average is the lackluster rearrangement of "Shapes Of Things. Jeff solos like wildfire on "Let Me Love You", "Blues Deluxe" and "Rock My Plimsoul", which is one of the most AWESOME blues songs ever recorded. The pounding bass and sensual vocals of Rod Stewart make it even better. "Morning Dew" and "Old Man River" are both haunting pieces of work that take one's breath away. "You Shook Me" is not quite as good as Zeppelin's version, although you can't really compare one to another. And "Greensleeves" is pure Heaven. The most beautiful, emotional notes to ever emanate from an acoustic guitar. It never ceases to amaze me. "Beck's Bolero" is a total trip, an otherworldly experience. I love it when Beck slows down and plays those oh so lovely notes at about 0:34 into the song. "Blues Deluxe" features some astounding piano from Nicky Hopkins and a BLISTERING solo from Jeff. And Stewart sounds simply kick-a** on "I Ain't Superstitious".
All in all, I would definitely recommend this album to any blues/rock lover. Jeff Beck is unreal, and this is his masterpiece. "Rock My Plimsoul" alone is worth the price of the album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on June 18, 2004
Jeff Beck never attained the success of other hard rock/proto-metal artists like Led Zeppelin, but he was just as important and influential. On his debut album "Truth", Beck lays down the law for hard rock guitar playing, and his fantastic band showed everyone how to do the rest.
Beck's days with the Yardbirds don't go untold - the opening track is an interesting and inspired cover of the old 'birdie's hit "Shapes of Things". Some people don't like it as much as the original, and maybe it's not as psychedelic or as bouncy, but I think it is a fine performance. Beck and his band really shine on other tracks, though. "Let Me Love You", "You Shook Me" and "I Ain't Superstitious" are all highlights and some of the hardest rocking tunes in the set. The fine crew of musicians supporting Jeff includes Ron Wood's incredible bass (which at times rivals Jack Bruce), Mick Waller's thundering drums, and Nicky Hopkins' awesome piano and organ work. John Paul Jones of (later) Led Zeppelin fame even contributes some organ work on "Ol' Man River", the latter of which is also a showcase for Rod Stewart's fantastic vocals.
"Truth" is often described as the blueprint for Led Zeppelin's first album. There is no doubt that "Truth" was a huge influence on the Zep (Jimmy Page's guitar work echoes Jeff's leads on "Let Me Love You" very clearly). There are very direct similarities between the two: "Shapes of Things" is Beck's "Good Times Bad Times", "Let Me Love You" and "I Ain't Superstitious" are "I Can't Quit You", "You Shook Me" was done by BOTH groups (I like Beck's version the best - rawer and more dynamic, although too short), and "Morning Dew" and "Ol' Man River" = "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You". Rod Stewart's vocals must have influenced Robert Plant hugely.
Let's see, of the tracks I haven't mentioned yet, let's start with "Greensleeves" ("Aye, that's a lovely toon"). Although this track is often described as a weak point, it's one of my favorites. As noted in the liner notes, it *is* a lovely "toon". Fantastic guitar playing (as usual from old Jeff). Okay, "Rock My Plimsoul": basically a slightly altered cover of B.B. King's old standard "Rock Me Baby". Not really a highlight of the album, as it offers nothing really new, but it's still a good track with great playing. And, "Beck's Bolero" seems to be the "big" track, according to everybody. Seeing as it features Jimmy Page on second guitar and Keith Moon of the Who on drums, it is one hell of a performance and one hell of a track. It's awesome. I also have to mention "Ol' Man River" as being one of my favorites. No, it doesn't feature devastating guitar-work, but it's a great song with *amazing* singing by Mr. Stewart.
"Truth" is a good one, a *really* good one. It's just as good as Zeppelin's first effort, and definitely more varied. Kudos goes to the remastering as well - great sound, not "harsh" and not too much noise reduction. Overall, "Truth" stands the test of time as one of classic rock's great recordings.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2003
Fine blusy guitar work by Jeff Beck on his fine debut solo recording. Not to mention some excellent wailing by Rod The Bod Stewart. Rock My Plimsoul and Aint Superstitious are the ultiamte highlights featuring Rod and Jeff. To think this man would record such schlock as Do Ya Think I'm Sexy? Some nice piano touches by Nicky Hopkins particularly on Blues Deluxe.
There are a few moments the band strays away from the blues. Like the acoustic treatment of Greensleeves. Old Man River however just seems a little out of place. Shape Of Things is a little haphazard but still features some fine playing by Beck.
If you are a fan of the blues and want to hear some legendary guitar performances, pick this one up for sure.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2003
Any quitarist worth her salt will tell you that Beck is the only player who can rate with Hendrix in terms of raw talent (maybe Duane Allman slips in there as well). This record is pure, unadorned blues/rock Beck and is essential listening for anyone serious about rock guitar. This is not to slight Blow By Blow or Wired from the mid-70s fusion period, but as a *rock* player, this is Beck at his best. Many have said that this album is the template for heavy rock, released slightly before the first Led Zeppelin album. Nevermind who came first, this is the one to go to, guitar-wise.
Album overall is three and one-half stars. As a testament to quitar genius, it rates five.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2004
Forget Rod Stewart's solo pop hits. Listen to him here with the great Jeff Beck. Jeff Beck heads this talented group with Rod on vocals of course, Ron Wood on bass, and Mick Waller on drums. Turn up the volume and enjoy. Hard blues rock will turn out in the "Shapes of Things", the great "Morning Dew, and "I Ain't Superstitious. These are just a few of the great gems on this album. The whole album is a classic that any Led Zep fan would appreciate. This is how rock really sounds when played by a group of talented musicians. Enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on February 2, 2009
Check the people involved in this album.
Now check their lives.
God bless our good Jeff that fire them up the sky.
This album should be part of any research on "classic rock".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2003
like everyone else seems to think so this is great. i had never heard any of jeff's material, only some yardbirds, so, having heard some rod stewart, being a fan of the rolling stones (particularly the 70s era and on, with ron wood) i was curious. throw in the fact that beck is renowned as one of the best guittarist, i went and bought this cd on a whim, and i was thrilled with the results, very similar to zep's music, this could be the foundation for the "shapes of things to come"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2003
This is one of my favorite albums ever. I stole if from my dad a few years back just to hear some good guitar work, and it has not been out of the cd player. It is not quite Led Zepplin, but it is great. Some of the best gutair and singing (Rod Stwert at his best) there is. All the songs are great. Just put it in and listen from begin to end. Note: have it loud.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Blow By Blow
Blow By Blow by Jeff Beck (Audio CD - 2001)

Beck-Ola (Vinyl)
Beck-Ola (Vinyl) by Jeff Beck (LP Record - 2009)

Live +
Live + by Jeff Beck (Audio CD - 2015)