Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Airplane listening
Was on a flight to Europe, bored out of my mind.... started surfing the music they have programed into the tv sets and came accross this. Listened to it twice and was hooked. Had to buy it. Reminded me about how much great music there is out there that I'd forgotten about. A must have for any music collection!!!
Published on July 3 2008 by Penny A. Renaud

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Algo está faltando
Algunos meses antes que Led Zeppelin se apropiara de la formula ganadora heroe guitarrista/cantante estrella, Jeff Beck ya había hecho el intento pero sin mucha suerte ante las masas. Hablar de plagio sería injusto, si se toma en cuenta que Beck y Page venían de la misma escuela y por si fuera poco el último hasta participó en el...
Published on Feb. 17 2004 by jaimeurrutia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Airplane listening, July 3 2008
By 
Penny A. Renaud "Penny Renaud" (Belle River, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Was on a flight to Europe, bored out of my mind.... started surfing the music they have programed into the tv sets and came accross this. Listened to it twice and was hooked. Had to buy it. Reminded me about how much great music there is out there that I'd forgotten about. A must have for any music collection!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a start for a lot of "Icons", Feb. 2 2009
By 
This review is from: Truth (Expanded) (Audio CD)
Check the people involved in this album.
Now check their lives.
God bless our good Jeff that fire them up the sky.
This album should be part of any research on "classic rock".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A defining moment in proto-metal and hard rock, June 18 2004
This review is from: Truth (W/Orig Art) (Audio CD)
Jeff Beck never attained the success of other hard rock/proto-metal artists like Led Zeppelin, but he was just as important and influential. On his debut album "Truth", Beck lays down the law for hard rock guitar playing, and his fantastic band showed everyone how to do the rest.
Beck's days with the Yardbirds don't go untold - the opening track is an interesting and inspired cover of the old 'birdie's hit "Shapes of Things". Some people don't like it as much as the original, and maybe it's not as psychedelic or as bouncy, but I think it is a fine performance. Beck and his band really shine on other tracks, though. "Let Me Love You", "You Shook Me" and "I Ain't Superstitious" are all highlights and some of the hardest rocking tunes in the set. The fine crew of musicians supporting Jeff includes Ron Wood's incredible bass (which at times rivals Jack Bruce), Mick Waller's thundering drums, and Nicky Hopkins' awesome piano and organ work. John Paul Jones of (later) Led Zeppelin fame even contributes some organ work on "Ol' Man River", the latter of which is also a showcase for Rod Stewart's fantastic vocals.
"Truth" is often described as the blueprint for Led Zeppelin's first album. There is no doubt that "Truth" was a huge influence on the Zep (Jimmy Page's guitar work echoes Jeff's leads on "Let Me Love You" very clearly). There are very direct similarities between the two: "Shapes of Things" is Beck's "Good Times Bad Times", "Let Me Love You" and "I Ain't Superstitious" are "I Can't Quit You", "You Shook Me" was done by BOTH groups (I like Beck's version the best - rawer and more dynamic, although too short), and "Morning Dew" and "Ol' Man River" = "Babe I'm Gonna Leave You". Rod Stewart's vocals must have influenced Robert Plant hugely.
Let's see, of the tracks I haven't mentioned yet, let's start with "Greensleeves" ("Aye, that's a lovely toon"). Although this track is often described as a weak point, it's one of my favorites. As noted in the liner notes, it *is* a lovely "toon". Fantastic guitar playing (as usual from old Jeff). Okay, "Rock My Plimsoul": basically a slightly altered cover of B.B. King's old standard "Rock Me Baby". Not really a highlight of the album, as it offers nothing really new, but it's still a good track with great playing. And, "Beck's Bolero" seems to be the "big" track, according to everybody. Seeing as it features Jimmy Page on second guitar and Keith Moon of the Who on drums, it is one hell of a performance and one hell of a track. It's awesome. I also have to mention "Ol' Man River" as being one of my favorites. No, it doesn't feature devastating guitar-work, but it's a great song with *amazing* singing by Mr. Stewart.
"Truth" is a good one, a *really* good one. It's just as good as Zeppelin's first effort, and definitely more varied. Kudos goes to the remastering as well - great sound, not "harsh" and not too much noise reduction. Overall, "Truth" stands the test of time as one of classic rock's great recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Blues Album, Aug. 10 2011
By 
Mark Anderson (Victoria, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Truth (Expanded) (Audio CD)
There seems to be a major resurgence of interest in 1970s music as today's 15-25 year olds rediscover music from that decade. I grew up in the 70s and my friends' teenaged sons are now frequently asking me about 70s bands and looking for lesser known bands and albums from that era.

Jeff Beck is hardly a "lesser known" artist but, in my defence, I've discovered that many of the young guys asking me about 70s music have, surprisingly, never heard of Jeff Beck. So to help rectify that situation.......

This is one of my favorite Jeff Beck albums. It's actually from 1969 rather than the 1970s but close enough.

Some well known musicians appeared with Beck on this album; Rod Stewart did vocals, Ron Wood (later of The Faces, now with The Rolling Stones) played bass,, and Mick Waller (who also appeared on those classic early 1970s Rod Stewart Mercury recordings, like Maggie May and Every Picture Tells A Story) was on drums.

Before this album came out, Jeff Beck had come to prominence as the lead guitarist for The Yardbirds, a spot occupied earlier, at different times, by Eric Clapton and Jimmy Page. Clapton, Page and Beck were all blues based players and one of the most interesting things about this album is that it highlights the different directions Jimmy Page and Jeff Beck were taking British blues after their respective stints in The Yardbirds.

This album came out in the same year as Led Zeppelin's first album and both albums featured Willie Dixon's "You Shook Me." It's interesting to hear the differences in the approaches Beck and Page took to that song, and others. Jimmy Page and Led Zeppelin went their way, Jeff Beck went his.

Any guitar player, or aspiring guitar player, should have this album.

If you're exploring 1970s music, check out this album. It's less that $10 and it's well worth the money. If you like this, I'd also suggest checking out Jeff Beck's guitar instrumental albums "Blow By Blow" and "Wired", released in the mid 1970s. Both are great albums which will be of particular interest to guitar fans and guitar players. Both are less than $10 on Amazon.

If you're not familiar with Jeff Beck and you want to check out some other Beck material before you buy it, there's plenty of Jeff Beck material on You Tube.

To sum up, this is great album. If you're discovering/re-discovering 1970s (OK, this was actually from 1969) music, this one should be in your music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This and Beck-Ola are my favorite Jeff Beck albums, July 28 2011
This review is from: Truth (Expanded) (Audio CD)
I love Jeff Beck playing rock and roll. This is a companion to Beck-Ola. Both with Rod Stewart singing and Ron Wood on bass.
Favorite songs: Beck's Bolero, You Shook Me, Blues Deluxe, I Ain't Superstitious, ... well all of them really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars historically relevant, May 14 2009
This review is from: Truth (Expanded) (Audio CD)
typically uneven given the times -- but nevertheless an important historical document of an amazing musician.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars jeff beck-#1 album, March 6 2004
By 
cool j "res7kpnx" (elkhart, indiana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Truth (W/Orig Art) (Audio CD)
i can't give any bad credits on this one. excellent digitally remaster. there was not 1 song i disliked on this cd. first time in owening jeff beck masterpiece. the only songs i heard before was off rod stewart-storyteller. shape of things and i ain't superstitious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic hard rock from the 60's, Feb. 24 2004
This review is from: Truth (W/Orig Art) (Audio CD)
Forget Rod Stewart's solo pop hits. Listen to him here with the great Jeff Beck. Jeff Beck heads this talented group with Rod on vocals of course, Ron Wood on bass, and Mick Waller on drums. Turn up the volume and enjoy. Hard blues rock will turn out in the "Shapes of Things", the great "Morning Dew, and "I Ain't Superstitious. These are just a few of the great gems on this album. The whole album is a classic that any Led Zep fan would appreciate. This is how rock really sounds when played by a group of talented musicians. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Algo está faltando, Feb. 17 2004
By 
"jaimeurrutia" (MIAMI, FLORIDA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Truth (W/Orig Art) (Audio CD)
Algunos meses antes que Led Zeppelin se apropiara de la formula ganadora heroe guitarrista/cantante estrella, Jeff Beck ya había hecho el intento pero sin mucha suerte ante las masas. Hablar de plagio sería injusto, si se toma en cuenta que Beck y Page venían de la misma escuela y por si fuera poco el último hasta participó en el álbum. Y aunque el tiempo se ha encargado de elevar a Truth a la categoría de obra fundamental del blues rock más pesado de los 60's, a mi juicio le sigue faltando algún ingrediente para merecer tal categoría.
Como el rock no puede eludir las comparaciones, aquí van algunas: la versión de Shapes Of Things, pese a la impecable ejecución, no tiene la misma dinámica que la de los Yardbirds. La de You Shook Me, además y por el hecho de ser más breve no logra la intensidad y sentido de aventura que abunda en la de Zeppelin. Rock My Plimsoul y Blues Deluxe son dos piezas ejecutadas a la perfección, con un dúo que ya se lo quisiera cualquier grupo de la época, pero se pide a gritos algo más que las haga sobresalir entre los miles de intentos similares, no tanta limpieza y más viscersalidad
Cuando el grupo se atreve a algo distinto funciona mejor, como en el caso de Beck's Bolero (que pertenece a Page y está basada en Ravel, muy original!!). I Ain't Superstitious no tiene peros, estupenda guitarra como es habitual, potente vocalización de Stewart como en todo el álbum, contundente sección rítmica y por sobre todo mucha crudeza. Truth gusta pero no apasiona, algo peligroso en el ambiente del rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ROCK MY PLIMSOUL!!!, Oct. 20 2003
By 
Josh H. (Toledo, Oh (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Truth (W/Orig Art) (Audio CD)
Mere words cannot do this album justice. All the songs are excellent. The only one that's below average is the lackluster rearrangement of "Shapes Of Things. Jeff solos like wildfire on "Let Me Love You", "Blues Deluxe" and "Rock My Plimsoul", which is one of the most AWESOME blues songs ever recorded. The pounding bass and sensual vocals of Rod Stewart make it even better. "Morning Dew" and "Old Man River" are both haunting pieces of work that take one's breath away. "You Shook Me" is not quite as good as Zeppelin's version, although you can't really compare one to another. And "Greensleeves" is pure Heaven. The most beautiful, emotional notes to ever emanate from an acoustic guitar. It never ceases to amaze me. "Beck's Bolero" is a total trip, an otherworldly experience. I love it when Beck slows down and plays those oh so lovely notes at about 0:34 into the song. "Blues Deluxe" features some astounding piano from Nicky Hopkins and a BLISTERING solo from Jeff. And Stewart sounds simply kick-a** on "I Ain't Superstitious".
All in all, I would definitely recommend this album to any blues/rock lover. Jeff Beck is unreal, and this is his masterpiece. "Rock My Plimsoul" alone is worth the price of the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Truth (Expanded)
Truth (Expanded) by Jeff Beck (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews