Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GORY.. GORY.... TRANSYLVANIA, Nov. 9 2006
By 
The Critic "Movie Maniac" (Windsor, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein: Vol. 1 (DVD)
Finally this incredible Canadian children's show from the 1970's makes its way to DVD. I picked this wonderful 3 disc set up more for nostalgia than anything else, but I must admit that I've really enjoyed watching these episodes. It's been so long I almost forgot how funny Billy Van was and how memorable his characters were; this guy was truly amazing to watch and very entertaining. It's also great to see the amazing and iconic Vincent Price again as the narrator for the show. This show ran for 25 years and it has a huge cult following. Thanks to Alliance and Critical Mass for finally releasing this 3 single sided disc set with great packaging and artwork. The video does suffer here and there and the sound isn't always perfect or consistent, but the picture and sound are definitely much better than I expected. The set only consists of 13 episodes; hopefully future sets are in the works. Enter the House of Frightenstein if you dare!

DVD Episodes Include:
Amos Moses
My Baby Loves Lovin
Tennessee Birdwalk
Gypsy Woman
I've Been Hurt
Heather Honey
Incense & Peppermints
Midnight Confessions
There Is a Mountain
Dizzy
Playgirl
Reach Out Of the Darkness
Bella Linda
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still Holds Up, Sept. 21 2008
By 
Bingo (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein: Vol. 1 (DVD)
Like so many others, I watched this show as a child. Growing up in Western New York is was carried by, I believe WKBW.

Sitting down in front of the TV with a bowl of cereal watching monsters run around doing crazy things.

I will start off by parroting what so many others have said - this version being the full 1 hour episodes is far superior the the U.S. version which has the episodes edited down to just 30 minutes and burdened with a laugh track.

This version contains 3 discs which hold 13 one hour episodes. It has a very basic menu structure. One menu showing the episode names and that's it - though it does have a clip of Igor singing the anthem and a large tombstone with the various characters popped up around it.

The episodes are as follows:
Disc 1:
Amos Moses
My Baby Loves Lovin
Tennessee Birdwalk
Gypsy Woman
I've Been Hurt

Disc 2:
Heather Honey
Incense & Peppermints
Midnight Confessions
There Is A Mountain

Disc 3:
Dizzy
Playgirl
Reach Out Of The Darkness
Bella Linda

The quality is actually pretty good. Very little audio distortion and remarkably low video noise. You can tell this is something that's 30 years or more old but I've certainly seen much worse. I would say the audio and video quality is actually better than the U.S. release.

All in all, this is absolutely worth the price where the U.S. version though cheaper is a questionable value.

So sit down with a good bowl of cereal, prepare to raise the flag and sing along...
Gory, Gory Transyl-wannnnnnia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucky 13, Aug. 14 2009
When you're in Frightenstein castle, 13 IS a lucky number. That's how many episodes are on this new DVD set from Anchor Bay Entertainment. Join the Count, Igor, the Wolfman and all the castle residents on their wacky adventures. Below are the episode contents, which are usually named after the song played on the main Wolfman segment.

Disc 1:

Amos Moses
My Baby Loves Lovin'
Tennessee Birdwalk
Gypsy Woman
I've Been Hurt

Disc 2:

Heather Honey
Incense & Peppermints
Midnight Confessions
There Is a Mountain

Disc 3:

Dizzy
Playgirl
Reach Out of the Darkness
Bella Linda

This classic children's TV show from the 1970's is filled with campy horror and will definitely bring a smile to those who remember it. These episodes are the full-length versions with no laugh track. They are very enjoyable and absolutely belong in the annals of distinguished television shows.

NOTE: For some reason, Amazon is showing the back cover of the DVD box in my customer images as the default image. Be sure to click the other image to see the front cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you KIDDING?, Aug. 19 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The very best of the Genre- Canuck, or not !!!
Billy Van was/is an undiscovered genius. People will eventually discover this great talent. Outasight, but well inside the groove, baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FIVE STARS For The Hilarious House of Frightenstein, June 11 2007
By 
Nathan O'Casey "The TV Wizard" (West Coast Of Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein: Vol. 1 (DVD)
This Cult Classic Is Low Budget, Has Bad Special Effects, And Questionable Acting....However This Show Takes All Those Things That Would Normaly Ruin A TV Show And Mixes Them All Together In A Big Witches Cauldron Of Absolute Television Genius. I Personaly Grew Up Watching This Show In The Early Mornings Before Going Off To School, And Forgot How Totaly Awsome The Show Was And How Much Of An Impact It Left On Me. Billy Van Handles Almost All The Characters And Plays The Count, The Oracle, Grizelda The Ghastly Gourmet, The Wolfman, Bwanna Clyde Batty, The Librarian, And Dr. Pet Vet. My Favorite Character I Would Have To Say Is Grizelda. And Of Course Don't Forget That The Show Is Narrated By The Late And Dearly Missed Master Of Horror, Vincent Price. The Hilarious House of Frightenstein Has A Unique Quality That Draws The Viewer Into It's Private Little World, And You Often Find Yourself Not Wanting To Leave. FIVE STARS For this Classic Cult Hit That Was A Part Of My Childhood And Now Years Later I am Able To Enjoy Again And Again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious House of Frightenstein, April 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
My mom watched this in the 1970s, and years ago she made me into a fan of this awesome series. I am so proud this is Canadian, and I am glad these DVDs were even produced. The set comes with 10 episodes, and character magnets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I just live it!, March 22 2014
By 
E. A. Schattschneider - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I would look forward to watching this show every week when it was on. The characters that Billy Van puts together are the greatest. Vincent Price to was always cool to listen to as he provided the linking narrative in classics Vincent Price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great TV show to have, Feb. 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein: Vol. 1 (DVD)
Growing up as a kid and see the reruns of this odd ball kids show on weekends in the morning, made in Hamilton in the 70's one actor dresses up for most of the characters in the show. Although it doesn't look like it . This is a great kids show.... Ages 5 and up in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blast from the past baby!, June 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great collection of episodes of one of my favorite shows when I was a kid! Out a sight! Groovy! lol!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Talk about memories, May 15 2009
By 
Therese Neufeld (Portage la Prairie, MB Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hilarious House of Frightenstein: Vol. 1 (DVD)
While my son was growing up in the 70s we watched this crazy Canadian and killed ourselves laughing. He found a way to make learning fun and zany, and must have loved his work/calling. Billy Van played almost every part in these shows, and did it week after week. Hilarious is a perfect title. Now his kids love it so it has proved to be timeless indeed. Would buy again for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hilarious House of Frightenstein: Vol. 1
The Hilarious House of Frightenstein: Vol. 1 by Riff Markowitz (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: CDN$ 24.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews