Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (49)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome !!
Very Good Movie. Bought a collection of these type of movies for my better half-he enjoys the war movies for the stories these people tell on behalf,of those who sacrificed. Excellent Movie!
Published 20 months ago by Grammies

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but it just didn't do it for me
You can't really call "Tears of the Sun" a bad movie. By any account it's certainly a decent action war movie, and I enjoyed it. Where "Tears of the Sun" fails to succeed is in it's somewhat one-dimensional and shallow aproach at including policical and social messages, and in it's seeming impotence at crossing the lines from mediocrity to...
Published on July 10 2004 by Logical Paradox


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome !!, Nov. 15 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tears of the Sun / Les Larmes du soleil (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Very Good Movie. Bought a collection of these type of movies for my better half-he enjoys the war movies for the stories these people tell on behalf,of those who sacrificed. Excellent Movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars underrated Willis movie, Jan. 5 2012
This review is from: Tears of the Sun / Les Larmes du soleil (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Yes Bruce plays yet another " soldier / cop " but this movie is more than about just
him ( although he does step it up - you believe he IS this guy ).

The story may seem cliche but the writing , directing , cinemetography definitely bring
it up to being a tense and heartbreaking movie with people you genuinely believe in
and want to see come out of their harrowing escape alive.

Some scenes are hard to watch - some are definitely not for the squeamish - but in the end
it is a very satisfying action movie with a heart at it's core. It may not happen in real life
all the time but you have to wish American soldiers in this predicament would act this way all the time.

I do - and I'm not American.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Action, June 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tears of the Sun / Les Larmes du soleil (Bilingual) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you enjoy Bruce and action you will like Tears of the Sun. The seal team is well cast and plays their roles well. This is one of my rewatch on a rainy day movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burk, Nov. 25 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Nigeria is being taken over and the royal family is dispatched. Still a few Americans are left to be extracted. We are so used to this happening on a regular basis that we forget or will never know what it is like. Lieutenant A.K. Waters (Bruce Willis) is tasked with extracting Dr. Lena Fiore Kendricks (Monica Bellucci) but she will not leave without 40 injured patients. We know what is going to happen; however the story is on how it plays out.

If you buy the DVD do not over look the two voice over commentaries as they add to the experience. Then watch the film again and see what you missed.

As a rule I usually avoid this kind of movie as we know the end and the travel time thought the story is mostly blood and guts; in this film it is verging on gratuitous. Of course with a few exceptions this is a Bruce Willis signature. To its credit the background music was not the standard shoot-em-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but it just didn't do it for me, July 10 2004
You can't really call "Tears of the Sun" a bad movie. By any account it's certainly a decent action war movie, and I enjoyed it. Where "Tears of the Sun" fails to succeed is in it's somewhat one-dimensional and shallow aproach at including policical and social messages, and in it's seeming impotence at crossing the lines from mediocrity to greatness.
The plot is pretty much a no brainer that gets set up right from the get-go. The Democratic government in Nigeria gets ousted by a military coup and rebel forces execute the presidential family and begin an genocidal killing spree, killing christians and rival tribes. Bruce willis and his small special forces team is sent to to find and evacuate several US Citizens, including a doctor working at a christian mission. The doctor wont leave without her patients, and so Willis and his team agree to escort the people to the Cameroon border. Of course they are followed by the rebels the whole way and are grossly outnumbered and it becomes a race to get to the border and to safety before they are completely over run.
Not exactly full of surprises and not much food for thought. of course there is the initial lie/double cross, and then the classic (not to mention very cliche) moment where our heroes grow a conscience after witnessing the horrors and extent of ethnic cleansing that is taking place and decide to help the people as thier way of making amens with thier own guilty consciences. other than this there is little to talk about plot-wise.
The acting is pretty good, although it varies throughout. Willis himself does a very good job playing his charcter though other than him and the doctor none of the characters grew on me. The setting is great, and the shots of the african landscape were very nice. For being an action war movie, "Tears of the Sun" offered only sporadic action until the climatic battle at the end which was mildy impressing, though nothing you havent scene before.
There is a constant attempt throughout the movie to bring attention to the brutality the ethnic cleansing that occurs in Africa that most americans are unaware of. We hear about bosnia, kosovo, but not so much about the many war torn regions in africa many of which are subject to constant guerilla warfare, famine, tribal clashes, and civil wars. The current attention being given to the situation in Sudan is very similar to what is shown in the movie. The look we are given however, although sad and mildly graphic, is a little one dimensional, and doesnt really explore the complexity of the political, ethnic, and religious angles of african conflicts. instead this is all reduced to "good guys vs bad guy" with the US as the good guys who sit idley by of course. I think many people will wish that the movie had a more realistic and more complete look at this angle of the plot rather than just showin "a bunch of rebel guys in red hats who run around killing all the christians and guys from the other tibes".
Other than that there is an overwhelming lack of depth and substance to the movie. Character development was underdone and there just arent many layers beyond what you see on the surface. And what is on the surface, though not bad, is not spectacular either. While I liked the movie over all, it just didnt have enough meat to it I felt. There were times I would just feel like something I couldnt put my finger on was missing to this one.
"Tears of the sun" does win points however for atleast trying to shed some public light to the attrocities in africa that most of the world lives happily ignorant to. It also serves as an effective, and enjoyable military action movie that is hard to hate but impossible to love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Tears Of The Disappointed..., May 13 2003
By 
Nathan D. Ludwig (Culpeper, VA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You know, from all of the advertising and promotion for this film, you get the idea that 'Tears Of The Sun' promises to be a nice blend of macho action heroics and remorseful anti-war sentiment. Well, that's what it wanted to be. In the end, it's not any of that by a long shot. There are two blaringly obvious problems with this movie. Let's talk about them a little.
The first and most obvious setback with 'Tears Of The Sun' is that it tries to be both an action flick and an anti-war film at the same time and just cancels itself out in the process. The plot, about an elite team of Navy SEALS (aren't they all supposed to be elite?) are assigned to save a doctor who is American by marriage from possible death at the hands of militant guerillas in the remote jungles of an African nation in revolutionary turmoil. Pretty heady stuff, right? It sure would make for a compelling film, right? I agree. Unfortunately, director Antoine Fuqua has studder-stepped here with this heartless hole of a movie. The dialogue is stilted and wooden, even coming from such actors as Bruce Willis, (the team leader) Monica Belluci, (the stubbornly stupid doctor) and Tom Skerritt (Willis' commander).
This brings me to the second problem with this film. There is zero character development in this movie. None. Not even a smidgen. You'd think with all of the high-minded ambition teeming in this movie, just waiting to bubble over and take effect, that there'd be some great character moments. There's not a one. Bruce Willis' character is as emtionless and uninteresting as they come. We don't even get a single tiny hint as to why he's such a space cadet. He just is. On the other hand, his performance is oscar-caliber compared to the epic blunder that's disguised as Monica Belluci's painfully annoying performance. As the tactless and inconsiderate doctor in charge of a refuge/mission for African dissidents of that specific nation, she is completely annoying and throughly aggravating. I was hoping the team would give up and hand her over to the rebel guerillas just for the sake of relief. The rest of the SEAL team is so forgettable, you'll wonder if there even was a team at all after the movie is over. Unsympathetic characters that not even the most vacuous of personalities can relate to does not make a good movie even marginally passable by any stretch of the imagination.
The only reason I warranted the film with two stars instead of one, is that the cinematography is very nice, potraying the African jungle wilderness as dangerous and beautiful all at once. Also, you can tell that Willis and Skerritt and a few others are really trying to break free from the frozen script and do some good here, however they don't really hit the mark.
Bottom Line: 'Tears Of The Sun' is an empty and failed hybrid of an action flick and war film with lifeless chracters, but has some nice scenery and decent but pointless action battles. If you're a fan of this stuff, wait for video at best. Everyone else will be alright without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "God already left Africa", Aug. 1 2011
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
A quip from Bruce Willis' character Lt.Waters as he leaves a missionary run by a French priest and his wife.Africa,often referred to as the "dark" continent,while not literally true,certainly is so figuratively speaking.It has seen so much unrest and brutal bloodshed over the past untold decades with rebels fighting governments,tribes fighting tribes and warfare on a genocidal scale.Tears of the Sun(released Mar/03),produced by Bruce Willis' own company,lifts back a small curtain and gives us a look into this world.
The plot involves Lt Waters and his small squad of Navy seals aboard an aircraft carrier,"somewhere off the coast of Africa".They have just come back from a mission and must turn around,within about three hours,and mount a rescue operation to a French mission to retrieve the missionary,his wife,an assistant and a doctor working there.They arrive at their destination in Nigeria,and the area is full of refugees;some who can walk and others who can't.The missionary,his wife and assistant won't leave.The only one Waters can talk into leaving is the doctor,who in turn,will not go if her patients cannot do so.The refugees are NOT part of Waters assignment but he relents and anyone that is mobile is allowed to accompany the Seals to the evac zone.
They arrive and the choppers are on the ground awaiting their cargo.Waters then reveals he lied to get the good doctor to the zone and says he must leave the rest behind.They lift off but as they pass over the mission all aboard become witness to the full scale atrocities committed there.Waters orders the choppers turned around and they return to the evac zone.They get as many aboard the chopper as they can and Waters decides to escort the remainder across the boarder to Cameroon.Waters is definitely conflicted as he says this is the first time he has ever done the "right thing";at least he hopes it is.His commanding officer aboard the carrier orders him to stop what he is doing but Waters in all conscience can't.And as events unfold it becomes clear his decision definitely was the right thing to do.
Behind the party and dogging them all the way are Nigerian rebel forces.As they are within about 30 Klicks of the Cameroon border they come upon an ethnic cleansing in a remote village in progress.Waters orders were not to engage the enemy unless forced to but again Waters cannot stand by and watch this unfold.His team enters the village and takes out the rebels there.This side operation has taken precious time away from their schedule and it soon seems that the rebels that follow the party have some inside help in tracking them as they get within about an hour of them.It turns out one of them had a tracking device on them.It also turns out the rebels have another reason to dog the party.The reigning leader of the country,now killed,sent his only son(and now tribal king)to the missionary and he is also among those fleeing.It now gives Waters and his squad that much more impetus to reach safety.
The soldiers have a running/retreating battle with the rebels and as they are within a stones throw of the border the rebels give their final push to destroy the Navy team and their charges.In the end the squad is reduced to half its strength with many of the refugees dead.However the doctor and the future king do make it to the border as the Navy sends in a pair of birds to take out the attacking rebels with some napalm rockets.The film ends as the future king is surrounded by his future subjects promising freedom to his people.
Tautly directed and edited,with high score all around in the acting department,this film has rarely if any a dull moment as the characters flee for their lives.The horrors of African warfare,or just senseless warfare anywhere,is amply illustrated throughout.Touches like one soldier finding out a rebel dying in his arms is just a kid,or a woman who died after being brutally raped and had her breasts cut off,are poignant touches indeed and drive the movies on going theme home in spades.It certainly raises this film above its basic premise of being a military rescue op.
Technically speaking the film has been transferred into its`widescreen a/r of 2:40:1 and is clear and crisp.Extras include deleted scenes,commentary,a making of featurette,an interactive map of Nigeria and more.
All in all a highly recommended piece of film making by Willis and company.I give it a solid four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One-dimensional but..., July 10 2004
By 
Vahania63 (Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
I really have quite ambivalent felings about this movie. From one hand, it's full of cliches and very simpleminded. You pretty much know what will happen, a lot of things are overdramatized (not the scenes of atrocities though). The acting is mediocre but it's not a problem of actors but rather of a bad script. On the other hand, the scenes of atrocities in the movie (somewhere in Africa - Sudan comes right away to mind) make people to realize that such terrible things are really happening today. It did really resonate through probably some shock - at least that's the way I feel. And who knows, maybe a simplemindness of this movie helps to deliver the message. I would give one star for cinematographic qualities and five stars for revealing the problem and showing disasters really happening in the world today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars DOA Near the End...., June 30 2004
By 
Corey Reynolds "Retired paramedic/FF" (Cocoa, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Rent it when you've seen the better combat stories. Well I had high hopes for this one at the theater, and the first half was good enough. Then on the second half the whole "reality" of the movie fell through. If you ever read any real SEAL stories you will wonder what happened at the end. Bad tactics, bad acting, and just poor story. They all died about the start of the "big battle", somehow walking out in the B-movie end. Total science fiction. Sorry, that was just too much. And Why? No one to write a realistic script? Ran out of ideas? What a waste for the budget and huge effort. Thats my take. BlackHawk down Was a good movie though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, May 8 2004
Tears of the Sun is an amazing picture. It is one of the few movies that makes you a better person for watching it. If you like War movies, this needs to be in your collection. If you don't like war movies, watch it anyways because it not just a testosterone filled blow stuff up movie. It's a real movie with a real plot that will touch anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tears of the Sun / Les Larmes du soleil (Bilingual) [Blu-ray]
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 9.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews