countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
154
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$14.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 20, 2008
Home Alone (Family Fun Edition) has audio commentary, about 6 featurettes, 15 deleted scenes, gag reel and 2 games.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2004
I am EXTREMELY happy that this movie finally made it to DVD because this is one of the most exciting and nicest holiday and family movies ever made. Everything from beginning to the end reminds me of the Back to the Future movies - when I watch that movie, I always notice something interesting, familiar, funny, or exciting when I see those movies and Home Alone. Many people may not like this DVD release because of inferior picture and sound quality and lack of bonus features - I THINK THIS DVD IS GREAT! Of course, the only bonus features on this DVD are the trailers to the Home Alone trilogy, and the sound is only stereo, but still, that's great because I LOVE THIS MOVIE! You know, because I love the funny parts - including the fake movie Kevin watches and uses to scare off the pizza guy and the villians (I always wanted to try that!) The fake movie, in case you didn't know, is translated into foreign languages as well! Speaking of which, this DVD comes in English, French, and Spanish audio and English subtitles. I've seen this DVD in English sound with closed-captioning from the TV, and on the computer in Spanish sound with English subtitles (still remains Kevin's infamous scream)! Yeah, I'm glad Fox has a Spanish option for this disc because I'm currently finishing up my Spanish class at my prep school and from time to time, I watch DVDs in Spanish (if available; otherwise it's French for the Canadian viewers!) You know, this week or next week, I'm bringing this DVD into Spanish class for my teacher to show. EVERYONE WOULD LAUGH!
This is a sweet movie. The DVD may not be the best, but it's still a great buy! Enjoy!
sethn172
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2004
Dont get me wrong. I didnt give 2 stars to the movie, i gave 2 stars for the DVD!
Home Alone smashed box offices with an unexpected christmas story of a kid who accidently finds himself alone at home. Now every one shoudl have seen it by now, and most of the people who loved the film as like me already have it on VHS anyway. right?
So why does one of the most succsesfull and popular movies of all time get a poor treatment when it comes to putting it onto DVD? It comes in widescreen, and a trailer, and subtitiles, and thats all!!! ITS NOT EVEN IN SURROUND SOUND!!!!!!!! (5.!)
I remember when the first two movies came out I watched behind the scenes things about the movie on TV and I remember them talking specidly on the second film about how it wasnt shot at christmas and how they used fake snow, and the pigeons wernt real, and Daniles saying he was the guy in charge of the comedy, and if he didnt find somthign funny, it was his desicion.... so WHERE ARE THOSE FEATURETTES????????
For anyone who dosent care for bonus features, then pick this movie up, youll love it. But if your like me, and do enjoy bonus features, then this movie has been abused!!!!!
No bonus features? Not in surround sound? No featurettes? which i know for sure exsist. Dont you think a smash hit like this movie, which is without a doubht one of the most popular movies of all time,should have had better treatment as a DVD? I think they have done a poor job with this DVD and had better realese a speichel edition one day to justify what a poor effert they have done with this DVD for such a great movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2004
This movie is largely a pretty serious affair except for two parts: One is the pizza delivery boy scene. The second is the booby-trapping climax. Macaulay Culkin is endearing as a little boy at home. However, he has a few continuity flaws. One minute he's calmly stating that he destroyed his father's new fishing hooks, the next he's yelling, the next he's calmly assessing his liberties of being Home Alone, the next he's screaming like any kid, the next... These changes are very real, but the movie never makes its mind up about whether or not Culkin is a frenetic little kid who happens to think his plan through (my bet), a cold little boy who, except for his sense of humor, is extremely mature. Or he may be a nice-looking kid with his moments of hyperactive bliss as well as his moments of talking like a four-foot high tactical strategist as well as his moments of swearing and leading people to believe they're being shot at (if that scene is not copied once sometime by another movie, either nobody has the guts to do it or America's directors and script writers are getting smarter). If that was a run-on sentence, pardon me, you P.C. people. Now zat I am done raving aboot ze star of ze motion picture (that's with a French accent), I'll get to the review.
Kevin McAllister (that's Culkin) is an ordinary kid whose family (with all relatives) is about to leave for France. When he gets in a fight with one of his many siblings, Kevin is sent to his room. The power goes off during the night, and the family sleeps too late before hectically packing everything and dashing into the airplane just in time. Kevin is forgotten, and he stays home alone. He enjoys himself for a while (tormenting pizza boys, looking at his brother's Playboys, shooting an air rifle, sledding down stairs, watching violent movies) but soon figures out he'll have to wash clothes and buy groceries. This movie would be a drama about a kid becoming a grown-up if it were not for the two bumbling bandits, Harry and Marv. Kevin's street is full of big houses, and they use the holidays, when everyone's on vacation, to rob houses. They disguise as policemen that supposedly watch over the houses for the holiday season. With access to the homes, it's easy to rob them. It was the perfect crime... until they try to rob the McAllister home. Keven diverts it, but now he knows they'll be back. They do come back, but eventually they figure out that the only inhabitant of the house is an 8-year old. But Kevin is prepared. He rigs the house with some of the funniest (and most unbelievable; how many homes have a blowtorch?) traps ever; so many, in fact, that it's amazing the sequels had any left over. Over the course of the movie, Kevin realizes how much he needs his family, and how much families are really worth. He also meets an old man who is mistaken for a "shovel murderer" by the juvenile population, but really he's just an old man, sad but not embittered by an argument with his son. Both help each other to understand their families even more.
The only flaws in the movie are some unconvincing supporting roles, Culkin's shifting personality, and an unnecessary amount of profanity. This didn't bother me, but it detracted from what could have been a real, PG movie. Why the heck did Kevin have to call the bandits "horse's (rear end)?" It just wasn't necessary. It wasn't bad but it just wasn't necessary. It's like that rave scene in Matrix Reloaded. Why the heck was it there? Granted, profanity is not as out of place as that rave scene, but you know what I mean.
If you have a child between 13 and 3, your car should be parking in the Blockbuster lot any time now. That's if you listen to this recommendation: If you have kids, watch it. If you don't have kids, don't watch it. It's the opposite of Calvin and Hobbes books, but with all the fun action and endearing characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2004
This Christmas classic is so enjoyable, due to the engagement between Kevin and two superb burglars (ala Pesci and Stern). In my view, these two burglars make it the great comedy that it is. There expressiveness in being duped by the redhead protecting his family home is creative and simply good comedy to enjoy.
The neighbor with the shovel is another outstanding character that pops up in key spots in the plotline. Candy is so-so as the polka king. The mother played by O'Hara is authentic too in her concern, and the rest are just support cast in this.
The plot is possible due to the setup of the busy family preparing for the trip with all the chaos and Kevin being somewhat of a sore-thumb in all this.
The results are a howl! Enjoy watching this periodically over the years. Too my way of thinking, this makes a movie truly great, its ability to have lasting power. This might be one of those that endures the fads and all that make many flicks ok, but would one buy them or rent them or watch them again? Likely not. But this, this one I've did all three, finally purchasing a copy for our own collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2002
Home alone is a great family film to watch. I've watched this movie since I was 4 and I am now 14 and I still laugh at it. Macaulay Culkin does wonderful job portraying an 8 year old boy who is accidently left alone in his home by his family and also protecting his home from 2 criminals (Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern) by setting up mischivous contraptions that cause horrible pain! Although Culkin's acting career has not been doing so well these days,his early movies like this one is something you will love.
Anyway, the story starts off with a family known as the McCallisters getting ready to go on a vacation. At dinner, the youngest child, Kevin (Culkin)creates a big mess in the kitchen (After getting anoid by his brother) and is punished to sleep in the attic. Because of that,kevin wishes his family would just dissapear.but coensidently a storm comes in the middle of the night and takes out the electricity causing the alarm clocks to go out. The family over sleeps and then rushes to get ready when they realize they are behind scedule and are on the verge of missing their flight. With all the hurrying and a miss count, the family goes on vacation not knowing they left kevin behind. Kevin on the other hand wakes up and sees that there is nobody there and assumes that his wish came true. Kevin automatically goes wild and does things he would need permission to do. But Kevin's fun isn't going as well as he thought, 2 crooks by the name of Marve(Stern) and Harry (Pesci)want to robb his home. Kevin does what he can to make it look like there are people in his home but Marve and Harry smell something fishy because they know the McCallister family went on vacation. Eventually the crooks realize that they were just being outsmarted by a little kid who is home alone and decide that the next time they come, nothing will stop them. Kevin knows this is bad news for him and wishes his family would come back. To protect his home, Kevin builds wild contraption that anybody laugh. These contraptions show dumb robbers can be.
Anybody who sees this movie for the first time will laugh their heads off. Although a little boy trying to take out two crooks is totally impossible, Home Alone is a really great family film that shows that what you wish for may not be something you want. This movie is appropriate for all ages so If I were you I'd by this movie and watch with my family because it will be something they will enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2001
Take a cheeky eight-year-old, put him in a situation he has to slapstick his way out of with the kind of antics most cartoon characters wouldn't survive, and what you have is one of the most wildly popular, commercially successful comedies of all time. And when it's over, though most likely you'll have had a good time, you'll be tempted to ask the question: Why? Because "Home Alone," directed by Chris Columbus and written by John Hughes, is mediocre at best, though it does have it's moments. It's a matter of the filmmakers being very astute, perhaps, and wisely mixing in a potpourri of elements with universal appeal and touching upon that common nerve they calculated would give just about anyone in the audience something to which they could relate. And they were right. Kids, Christmas, family, vacation, independence, a scary situation; it's all in here. But, interestingly enough, it lacks the sentimental value that would seemingly have made this a movie one could truly embrace. As it is, it's engaging fare, but somehow manages to keep the viewer at arm's length. Then again, maybe that's even part of the appeal; it may be that audiences at this particular time and place were more comfortable just watching without having to invest anything of themselves in order to have a good time.
This was, after all, 1990, and this film played to a generation weaned on more than a decade of Saturday Night Live, whose keen sense of biting satire and parody definitely had an influence on the mind-set of audiences everywhere. And is that a bad thing? No, absolutely not. It merely points up one possible reason why a film centered around an eight-year-old with a somewhat derisive attitude could be so wholeheartedly received. Also, it may be that the second half of the film, with it's over-the-top slapstick, is what made the final impression on the audience. And this IS funny stuff; and it's going to get to even those who usually prefer humor that doesn't involve slapstick, because it's so well done. Again, credit the filmmakers with having their fingers on the pulse of our culture and standards at the time. But you also have to give credit to Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern who bring the "Wet Bandits," Harry and Marv, to life, and know how to put across this kind of comedy, which is no easy task.
The story itself is simple: The extended McCallister family sets off for a Christmas vacation in Paris, and inadvertently, Kevin (Macaulay Culkin) gets left behind. Left alone. At home. Where, rising to the occasion beyond anything even the most prodigious teenager could manage, he discovers the thrill of being independent and thwarts a pair of bungling burglars in the balance. Meanwhile, mom and dad (Catherine O'Hara as Kate, John Heard as Peter) go out of their minds when they get to Paris and discover what has happened. If only they knew what an ingenious and imaginative son they had...
Culkin is certainly a cute kid, but can he act? Well, the jury is still out on that one. It's hard to say, since the dialogue he is given is so ridiculously above that of an eight-year-old, and the situations he encounters are so far-fetched, that there is no real frame of reference by which to consider it objectively. His timing and rhythm are lacking, however, that much is clear. His responses-- or, if you will, the punch lines he delivers-- are always a beat behind what they should be. And it robs the humor of the spontaneity that would have made it funnier, even hilarious. As it is, the only real laughs come from Kevin's assault on the Wet Bandits, and there are plenty to be had there.
Pesci and Stern become the real stars of the show as they play out their slapstick antics, which are truly deserving of the laughs they generate. Their expressions of incredulity in the face of the violence that is visited upon them is what makes this movie. Everything else merely sets the stage for Harry and Marv's descent into the maelstrom. And what Pesci and Stern do here should not be taken for granted, nor taken lightly artistically. To put this kind of humor across takes some real talent on the part of consummate professionals, and Pesci and Stern certainly deliver it. Their secret? They play it straight, which keeps the silliness out of it. Had they played it strictly as farce, it simply wouldn't have had the same impact; but by playing to the characters in the situation, rather than to a situation involving characters, it works. And, once again, chalk up another one for Columbus and Hughes, who really know how to deliver this kind of material.
The only truly poignant moment in the film involves Kevin's encounter with a mysterious neighbor, "Old Man Marley," played wonderfully by character actor/poet Roberts Blossom. The revelation of his secret earlier in the film sets up the purest moment of the ending, and though it is brief, it's inspired and adds a much needed perspective to the story.
The supporting cast includes Devin Ratray (Buzz), Angela Goethals (Linnie), Gerry Bamman (Uncle Frank), Hillary Wolf (Aunt Leslie), Ralph Foody (Gangster Johnny), Billie Bird (Irene), Bill Erwin (Ed) and John Candy, memorable in the role of Gus Polinski, the Polka Band shuttle Chief. Considering the ratio between this movie's substance and the success it still enjoys today, "Home Alone" is something of an anomaly in the history of the genre. it lacks insight, yet delivers some real belly laughs. It lacks a single character the audience can truly embrace, yet is accepted overwhelmingly as is. It lacks inspiration, yet is an inspired film in the way it is crafted and delivered. It's one you're probably going to like and enjoy, but upon reflection may wonder, "Why." And the answer? Who can say. Go figure. It's the magic of the movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2003
I haven't watched this film in years, and was slightly doubtful as to whether would love it as I did when I was younger. But I loved it! I found myself laughing along with all the familiar scenes - the bad guys, Kevin's mum realising she's left her son at home, and the scene where Kevin splashes on aftershave I will never tire of! I think this movie is one of a kind, and I don't think the other THREE can match up to the original. I watched the trailer for Home Alone 3, and although were some funny moments, I guess a lot of trailers will show the best moments. And the new kid just doesn't have the same innocence and cheekiness as Macaulay Culkin. It's weird watching him so young, when you see him now, just released his "comeback" movie - he's only 23 and has been married & separated (not divorced). He still looks the same, and this film was definitely a joy to watch again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Directed by Chris Columbus (Bicentennial Man, The Harry Potter Films, Nine Months, Mrs. Doubtfire) this film was a smash succes when it opend and still is a Holiday favorite for the family to sit and watch together.
This Film put Micaulay Culkin (Richie Rich, The Good Son) on the map. It's about every kids dream and every parents nightmare - (Or is it the revers?) - being left behind by your parents.
Starting with a simple wish of making his family dissappear - Micaulay realizes that they actually forgot him on their trip on the way to Paris.
Add to the plot two mischievious burglers played brilliantly by Jope Pesci (My Cousin Vinny, With Honors, JFK) and Daniel Stern (City Slickers, My Blue Heaven, Dilbert), they bumble and create havok on the unsuspecting youth trapped alone in his house.
The stunts ad gags are hysterical and somewhat not realistic, but the fun and humor is universal. And the appearance of the late John Candy (Wagon's East, JFK, Spaceballs)as the Polka King is hysterical.
Key perfomances by the mother and father played by Cathrine O'Hara (Best In Show, Home Fries, The Nightmare Before Christmas) and John Herd (My Fellow Americans, the Pelican Brief, Awakenings) who are incredibly resourceful in getting themselves back from Paris to Chicago to get their son.
Funny, adventurous and a lesson in life, love and family. There is even a key scene with the olderly man who lives next door and is thought to be a killer played by Robert Blossom (Doc Hollywood, Visionquest)who eventually teaches Macaulay what family is all about
With a wonderful Acadamy Award winning score by John Williams (Star Wars, Indiana Jones, ET) this movie is great for everyone in the whole family. Watch it every holiday! (11-30-03)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2003
Home Alone has always been one of my favorite Christmas movies, It's funny and entertaining!
The movie is about a boy named Kevin McCallister[Macaulay Culkin] who accidently gets left behind in his home in Chicago when his family goes off on a trip to France. While Kevin is at home, two burglars are trying to break in. The burglars are played by Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern. One of the burglars was at the house at the beginning, pretending to be a policeman, to check out the house. After Kevin finds out, he sets up a set of booby traps on the night they arrive. Meanwhile, Kevin's mom[Catherine O'Hara] wan'ts to get home as quickly as she can when she finds out that Kevin was left behind. So, instead of going on a plane she travels back to Chicago on a truck with a group of musicians and their polka king of the midwest[John Candy] when they offer to take her home. After the burglars get arrested with one of Kevin's plans, Kevin's mom arrives home with the rest of the family including his dad[John Heard] and they all feel so grateful to see him.
This is a movie your whole family will enjoy!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse