Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid from start to finish.
An upbeat solid work, all the songs are memorable, if you only want one CD from The Cure, this is it.
Published on June 26 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Understandably inconsistent.
"Inconsistent" is the right word for Head on the Door. That makes sense - Robert Smith and his homies had just tired of their horribly scary goth posturing (Faith, Pornography) and were searching for a new style. Head on the Door is a very strange venture into dance-pop.
It's certainly something, and there's no other Cure album quite like it. The first...
Published on July 6 2001 by Angry Mofo


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost 20 years gone by..., July 2 2004
By 
Michael (New York City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Head on the Door (Audio CD)
Wow, hard to believe. I grew up with this album.
The new album "The Cure" has me breaking out my Cure collection. This album is a masterpiece of pop songcraft, and still has enough of an edge to keep it intriguing all these years. The production sounds a bit dated and tinny, but that should be fixed real soon as The Cure get ready to release the re-masters later in 2004.
There's not a bad song on this album. It's a great place to start if you are interested in getting into The Cure. This is the album that they splashed big with in the US. Then you could work your way backwards and forwards to fill in the gaps. I would give it 5 stars, if not for what was to come in the future...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid from start to finish., June 26 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Head on the Door (Audio CD)
An upbeat solid work, all the songs are memorable, if you only want one CD from The Cure, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't get tired of it!, May 5 2004
By 
C. Mackey (Somerville, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Head on the Door (Audio CD)
This isn't the best Cure album by any means, but boy is it good. It's one of those RARE albums where every track is listenable (and re-listenable). I disagree with those who say THOTD is incoherent, part of it's charm is the fact that it takes you to different places. However, this is an exceptionally short affair, and when the final track "Sinking" closes out, it leaves you wanting more. Just listen to "Push", "The Blood", or "The Baby Screams" and realize that you will never be that creative. Best songs are all of them, end of story. If you don't own THOTD, you should!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXACTLY THE SAME CLEAN ROOM, EXACTLY THE SAME CLEAN BED, March 31 2004
This review is from: The Head on the Door (Audio CD)
This is quite possibly the height of how creative the Cure got, while i wouldnt call it their *best* album (that title belongs to 'Disintegration') i would call it their most musically creative...
to listen to songs like "Six Different Ways", & "Close to Me", youll mind will hurt just trying to picture how someone came up with those songs, the creativity is off the wall
'Push' is the greatest song off the album, its a very melodic high energy tune which some people will call a sad song, & others, a happy song -
Its one of my most cherished albums in my cd collection... only one bad song on the album i think, but the rest of the album is so great, it saves it from being a 4 star review
Other highlights are "InBetween days", & "A Night like this" which are two more of the Cure's best songs
Highly recommended to start here if youre new to the Cure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars solid gold cure, March 15 2004
By 
Tim Knight (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Head on the Door (Audio CD)
Back in my goth days of the late 1980's I kinda scorned this album, I loved The Cure of course but thought that this was just a bit too poppy and chirpy for it's own good. Hearing it again, after many years, I was blown away by how well this has stood the test of time, perhaps better than any other of Robbie Smith's offerings.
From start to finish this album bounces and rocks through many different styles and influences and colours, though maintains it's 'Cureness' through Smith's deliciously crazy lyrics, his definitive, angular guitar work and instantly recognizable voice.
I would have to say in hindsight the sonwriting on this album is better than any other Cure album. There is just not one bad moment on all 10 tracks. The angst of earlier (and later) releases is still there, it's just less relentless, and expressed in a wider tapestry of musical references.
People always associate The Cure with doom and gloom - they were always much more than that. They are one of the most interesting, eccentric and unique bands of that emerged in the 80's and Robert Smith is about the only guy who looks good in lipstick and eyeliner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sensational Cure, Dec 21 2003
By 
Christopher R. Cicatelli "cicatelli" (bethesda, md) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Head on the Door (Audio CD)
this Cure album, to me, is one of the most complete recordings in the entire Cure catalogue. i remember back in '85 when i first heard this album, and it quickly became a classic in my music collection as track #10, Sinking, came to a close.
everything from In Between Days with its undeniable groove to the flamenco sip of The Blood....wow, good stuff.
The Kyoto Song is a slow groove....The Baby Screams is some of the quirky, fun Cure that us Cure fans love so much. A Night Like This, Sinking, Six Different Ways, and Push are simply some of the finest Cure songs ever written....they feel "grand" "deep"...i dunno, there is just something about those tracks that i dig....the words, guitar, keys, and of course, Smith's voice...trust me, this release is about alot more than the hit "Close to Me" (which i skip 8 times out of 10 anyway) Head on the Door is a different side of the Cure, but it is still the Cure, and it is fantastic.
Heaven
Give me a sign
Waiting for the sun to shine
Pleasure fills up my dreams
And I love it
Like a baby screams
- The Cure/The Baby Screams/Head on the Door/1985/R. Smith
peace,
cic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure for musical ennui, Nov. 9 2003
By 
Alison Ross "Creative loafer" (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Head on the Door (Audio CD)
Whenever I'm mourning the death of our old friend, Good Music, I just slap any Cure CD onto the disc player. The Cure is the definitive "80s and beyond" band. Their mercurial pop melodies mingled with singer Robert Smith's Poe-meets-Rimbaud-meets-Dr. Seuss lyrical musings and plaintive wail make The Cure a truly mesmerizing presence. All of its albums are stunningly solid efforts, including the recent "Bloodflowers," but 1985's "Head on the Door" is its most intriguingly layered offering, serving up an experimental foray into various musical styles; bits of flamenco, Japanese new wave, funk, hard rock, and even jazz sneak their way onto this magical album. The best part is, the Cure manages all the musical genre-melding without surrendering its trademark surrealistic sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of The Cure's Finest, Sept. 11 2003
This review is from: The Head on the Door (Audio CD)
For The Cure, the instrumentation on this album is surprisingly upbeat with lots of new-wave/synth/europop beats, but the music contrasts starkly to the darkness and angst of Robert Smith's lyrics. This dichotomy makes for one of the best Cure albums available.
The album kicks off with the beat laden "In Between Days", and the contrast between lyrical content and music is very evident on this great song. Other classics include "Push", the exotic "Kyoto Song", and the nifty spanish guitars of "Blood". My personal favorite on this album is the deceptively simple "Six Different Ways", which is another confessional song from Robert. The balance between darkness and light has always been a central theme in the Cure's work, and nowhere is it maintained better than on "The Head on the Door".
For those looking for an introduction to the Cure, this is a great album to get started. Other strong contenders would have to be "Disintegration" and "Pornography", but the more upbeat moments on THOTD help to ease you into some of their even darker work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 10 perfect pop songs, Aug. 25 2003
This review is from: The Head on the Door (Audio CD)
The Cure's discography can be divided in half with a thick, black line into two halves. On one side, are the dark albums (Pornography, Disintegration, Bloodflowers, Faith), where epic, depressing soundscapes are plenty. And on the other side are their lighter, poppier works (Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Kiss Me, Boys Don't Cry, Wish), which favor catchiness and instrumental experimentation over raw emotion. The Head On The Door falls into the latter category. All ten tracks are perfect 80s pop songs that get stuck in your head and never fail to delight.
Whether it be the dancable Eurobeat of "In between days", the spanish-flavored "The Blood", or the quirky "Six Different Ways", this album has something for everyone and is a good introduction to the Cure. It won't stick with you immediately, but you'll soon come to love it.
If you're looking to get into the Cure, make The Head on the Door your first purchase. Or, if you're already a Cure fan, I give this album my *highest* recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Head on the Door, Aug. 20 2003
By 
Richard Cunningham (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Head on the Door (Audio CD)
A good album to start with the Cure. It isn't dark and gloomy like a lot of their stuff. I think the best of Robert Smith's songwriting comes through when he concentrates on upbeat yet quirky ballads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Head on the Door -Remaster
The Head on the Door -Remaster by the Cure (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews