Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all-time favorite Disney animated films!
There haven't been very many well-known Disney movies that I know of that were highly successful nor as groundbreaking during the 1960s through the first half of the 1980s and some of the Disney movies that were made during that time should've been more successful. The Disney animated edition of Robin Hood is one of those and is in fact, probably my favorite Disney movie...
Published on Feb. 21 2003 by Distant Voyageur

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood won't rob you...
Although not one of the greatest Disney "canon" movies, this unusual piece is still a worthy addition to the Disney canon and a personal collection of Disney movies.
This is, so far, one of the only Disney "Canon" movies that has no human characters. ("Lion King" is another.)
The story is right out of English legend. Robin must...
Published on Dec 5 2003 by Bruce Gray


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all-time favorite Disney animated films!, Feb. 21 2003
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
There haven't been very many well-known Disney movies that I know of that were highly successful nor as groundbreaking during the 1960s through the first half of the 1980s and some of the Disney movies that were made during that time should've been more successful. The Disney animated edition of Robin Hood is one of those and is in fact, probably my favorite Disney movie of all-time.
Released in 1973, it is a wonderful adaptation of the medieval novel with the characters being animal humanoids with Robin Hood being A Fox, Little John a Bear, Friar Tuck being a badger, and the greedy and semi-evil Prince John being a Lion. It's all so entertaining and so much fun to watch and laugh to with all of the charm and charisma that I think a lot of Disney movies during the 1970s and 1980s lacked. Don't get me wrong, most of Disney's movies are great but Robin Hood in my opinion is one of the most overlooked classics of all-time and also is my favorite Disney movie of all time, alongside the also overlooked "The Great Mouse Detective".
As you might already know, it's a tale of an outlaw who robs the rich Prince John and his goon wolf The Sheriff, to feed the poor and the hungry in Nottingham and dreams of marrying a lovely lady named Maid Marian and it's all so wonderful. If those who are turned off by the excessive drama or the unsettling atmosphere of the Kevin Costner classic "Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves", this Disney edition will definitely make a wonderful substitute. I recommend both versions of Robin Hood. I like the Disney one more.
The background music is also highly memorable with some incredible catchy songs and battle scenes that are just enough to keep you laughing for a very long time and just the whole atmosphere of the movie makes Robin Hood one of the most underrated and overlooked classics of all time. A lot of more popular Disney movies while great, they don't seem to impress me as much as Robin Hood has, and some are just downright pap! Robin Hood doesn't fall into that category. It has the fun and joy for young kids to enjoy and the style and timeless music and storytelling to entertain the adults. I would even go far as to say that Robin Hood is better than Aladdin, and Prince of Egypt. Don't get me wrong, those are classics too but not at the heights of Robin Hood though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A breakthrough in Anthropomorphic characterization!, July 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
Disney's version of "Robin Hood" was a breakthrough in the use of Anthropomorphic or "humanized" animals in animation. It was the first time any animation studio created an all-animal cast playing roles usually reserved for humans in a full length movie. It holds a unique place in Disney Animation just for this reason.
Believe it or not, this movie's influence has been far-reaching on the design and stories of later animated movies (Don Bluth's "The Secret of NIMH", Disney's own "Lion King"), many animated television shows ("Ducktales", "TaleSpin"), comic books, video games (Nintendo's "Starfox"), Asian Anime and the growing "Furry" Fandom on the internet today.
The 70's were a uninspired and directionless time for Disney Animation and "Robin Hood" shows the effects of this. The animation is flat and looks cheaply done due to the use of Xeroxing the pencilled animation onto cells instead the precise but expensive way of hand tracing. Some of the animation where characters are dancing was directly copied from "Snow White" and "The Aristocats". When Sir Hiss stares hypnotically into Prince John's eyes for a few seconds - its the same exact animation you saw in 1967's "The Jungle Book". This reuse of animation was fine for Hanna-Barbera and other low-budget TV animation companies but a travesty for Disney which created and set high standards with their animation in the 1930's through the early 1960's (and thankfully recapured some of those standards in the 1990's).
Some characters are recycled from other Disney movies - Little John and Sir Hiss are carbon copies of the Jungle Book's Balloo the bear and Kaa the snake. The songs besides Roger Miller's "Oo-De-Lally" (which was sampled and sped-up for the popular Radio Disney staple "The Hampsterdance") just aren't that memorable or very good. Add to that the direction is very pedestrian with little style or "zing" - typical of most Disney films of the period.
Despite all these flaws the movie is still one of the most charming, fun and entertaining of all of Disney's 1970's output. The biggest reason is the great cast of voice actors - they sound like they were having fun making this movie and their enthusiasm give the characters "life" when the animation doesnt. Peter Ustinov almost steals the movie with his voicing of Prince John. The story is one of the better adaptations of the Robin Hood legend and the script is well paced and full of funny one-liners that might go over the head of young kids but adults will enjoy.
Disney's DVD version is a huge improvement over the old VHS tape from the 80's - but there are still scenes where the colors look washed out from a faded print. Also the movie's soundtrack is still in the original mono. Besides the original trailers and the classic Mickey Mouse short, the extras are only for the kids and not die-hard animation fans. I wish Disney would have spent more time and money for this reissue, restored the color, add archival footage, interviews and remixed the audio for 5:1 stereo like they have done for "Cinderella" and "Sleeping Beauty". This classic movie deserves better than a basic bare-bones presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Be clear on one point, this is well done..., April 5 2004
By 
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
Crazy as this might sound...
This is well done and a crafty execution of a complicated game. The game is "Fun for kids and fun for adults" some extremely talented directors and movie companies have failed (over and over again) at this delicate balance.
How does this little gem pull that delicate maneuver off? Well it starts with fantastic voices:
Peter Ustinov = Prince John (almost too good!!!)
Terry Thomas = The Snake "Sir Hiss" (Sniveling and subversive)
Phil Harris = Little John (Perfect)
Andy Devine = Friar Tuck (great voice and delivery)
And music by the very excellent Roger Miller... So good.
That's an all-star cast by any standard (period)
Many an A+ movie has been bogged down on the way to solving this issue, kids and adults, each being equally entertained. It's no small feat.
It's accomplished smoothly in this little animated classic with great (exceptionally great) voices and not a lot of "playing down" to the children. The interplay between Little John and Robin Hood is adult and vivid. The relationship between Sir Hiss and Prince John is absolutely hysterical and so well "spoken" it's comic mastery is still relevant.
Those two interactions are enough to carry the thing from start to finish. But Robin Hoods ultimate success is crowned with extra side dishes, such as The Sheriff of Nottingham and Nutsy as well as Clucky and Maid Marian's excellent interplay.
Taking it all into consideration the animation is good (not great but certainly enjoyable) and the story zips along probably compensating a bit to keep the younger group still focused. When the movie is over, touching ending and all, I'm left quite satisfied.
I am 39 and enjoy this for just exactly what it is, and that is "well done"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OO-DE-LALLY, golly! What a movie!!, Jan. 4 2004
By 
sillygirl412 "sillygirl412" (Ossining, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
The first movies I can remember watching as a kid are Robin Hood and The Jungle Book. It makes me very curious to read some of the reviews on here that claim that this is a "lesser known" Disney movie, yet so many people have given testimonials about being an adult who still loves this movie. Well... here is my suggestion - buy this movie, a package of microwave popcorn and stake out a spot on the couch with a kid you love and introduce them to this timeless classic!
It is true that the extras are not as great as those on other Disney DVDs (this is a GOLD Collection DVD remember), but are you really buying the DVD for the extras, or for the movie itself? Note to reader: if you answered "extras", then go rent this, rather than buy it. You'll be too disappointed by the one song sing-a-long, storybook option, and brief 16 question quiz to really enjoy your purchase. However, despite being a colorized version of the original, you might get a kick out of the 1933 Mickey cartoon "Ye Olden Days".
Robin Hood is a well-known old English legend, based in part on actual historical people, places and medieval life (ex. King Richard, Price John, Nottingham, caste system, etc). Sounds like a mini history lesson disguised as Disney entertainment! *wink* Older kids might be interested in comparing the Disney version of the story to other film and or book versions of Robin Hood. I know it sounds like I am analysing this too much, but having written a paper on this exact topic for a college english class, I know what I'm talking about. You can't ask for a better assignment than watching a Disney movie, eh?! :)
For whatever reason you choose to watch this DVD, and at whatever age you are, you will love this movie and it will become one of your favorites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood won't rob you..., Dec 5 2003
By 
Bruce Gray "gurpsgm" (Shenandoah Valley, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
Although not one of the greatest Disney "canon" movies, this unusual piece is still a worthy addition to the Disney canon and a personal collection of Disney movies.
This is, so far, one of the only Disney "Canon" movies that has no human characters. ("Lion King" is another.)
The story is right out of English legend. Robin must rob from King John to give back usurious tax money to the people of Nottingham and Sherwood Forest. But this story that underlies the action isn't too strong for younger viewers.
Robin's obvious infatuation with Maid Marion is one of the funnier bits. Little John is absolutely hilarious when he says things like "Aw Robin... Why don't you marry the girl." And, of course, eventually, he does.
The classic Robin Hood sword fights are there. Most of the characters are funny and original without being too far from the expected medieval classics. The scene where Robin is chased all over the grounds is just too funny. The mad football-like rush of the chicken was one of the better bits.
Worth at least a look to see if you would like to add this to any collection of Children's favorites. Well worth adding to a collection of Disney's classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet classic, June 18 2003
By 
L. Davidson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
First, I have to say that I'm 21 years old and this is my favorite cartoon. Lots of people discount this movie because it's not so big and flashy as many Disney movies, especially the more recent ones, but don't be fooled; the magic is in the details. Don't look for big band numbers like in Aladin, or melodromatic romance like Beauty and the Beast. The romance is there, but it's quiet and cute.
One aspect of Robin Hood that some people don't like is the animation style. True, it has some of that weird 70's minimalism to it, but I think it's very well done; not overdone. Much better than The Rescuers, The Sword in the Stone, etc., which can get annoying with repeated viewings. And it doesn't fall into the trap of making the villain so darn evil that it scares kids to death (I still have scars from watching The Little Mermaid as a kid).
As far as I'm concerned, however, the best part of this movie is the voicing, which is PERFECT! It really benefits from the fact that it employs several long-time professional voice actors who worked in radio in the 30's-50's, especially Phil Harris and Andy Devine. Of course, Peter Ustinov has a great voice, too. (Very distinctive!)
I can't really recommend this movie too highly. It's REALLY funny (Prince John is soooooooo my favorite character), and clever enough that you'll want to watch it over and over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood jumps to animation in this movie, June 12 2003
By 
Stephen Verhaeren (Palos Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
Phil Harris who has both voiced Baloo in the Jungle Book, and Thomas O' Malloy in the Aristocats is back again in this movie, plus this also a singing role for him, he also sung in both the Jungle Book, and the Aristocats. Plus he sounds like Baloo. The characters are all animals from a fox to a wolf. As the movie opens, Robin Hood (Brain Bedford) and Little John (Phil Harris) are swimming and having fun into the are being chased by the sheriff of Nottingham (Pat Buttham) and his men, they mange to escape, and then find out that the evil Prince John (Peter Ustinov) has come to town, so they dress up as fortune tellers, Prince John manges to get his ride to stop while he has Robin Hood (dressed up as a fortune teller), they try thier best to steal the riches that Prince John has, but get caughted in the act, by his pet snake (Terry-Thomas), but Prince John wouldn't listen, but when after they leave he realizes that he has been robbed, and puts up wanted signs with Robin Hood's picture on it. Monica Evans voices Robin Hood's sweetheart Maid Marian. Thought it may be heard to believe that this movie is about 30 years old. This is a must watch if you love Disney animated movies. The songs in this movie are
Do-de lally
Not in Nottingham
Whistle-Stop
All pefromed by Roger Miller
Love
sung by Nancy Adams
The phoney king of England
sung by Phil Harris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An unfortunately forgotten Disney classic, May 11 2003
By 
Garrett Aja (North Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
The '70s were a pretty rough decade for Disney. Without Walt, the company lacked direction, and if you've seen any of their live action films from this period, you know fully well that quality control was a *big* issue.
On the animated side of things, Disney produced features that were quickly forgotten. This movie and The Fox and the Hound turned out to be highly undeserving of being forgotten. While The Fox and the Hound more of a "classic" Disney film in style and subject, Robin Hood is, and tries to be, great fun.
Told from the perspective of the animal kingdom (with Robin Hood and Marian as foxes, King Richard and Prince John as lions, and so on), this movie relies on its humor and its music, and scores on both points. Prince John is a sniveling whiner, and stupid to boot, the prince is second only to his cronies and Little John in raking in the laughs. Equally effective is how Robin Hood is split into two halves: the first, where we meet Robin and he woos Maid Marian, and the second half where the prince gets mad and cracks down on the people of Nottingham (which of course leads to a big battle between Robin and Prince John). While the ending is certainly abbreviated, the feature is still enjoyable, and one of the most purely fun Disney movies ever produced.
This disc presents the movie nicely, although the features stink (like all the older Gold Collection releases, it seems). The one potentially rewarding feature, a Mickey Mouse short, is a colorized version of "Ye Old Days", which is an unforgivable sin, especially with a similarly themed color Mickey short, "Brave Little Tailor" available. However, if you can stomach the poor features, Robin Hood is a great purchase for your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How the animals tell the Robin legend, April 9 2003
By 
Chrijeff (Scranton, PA) - See all my reviews
As rooster-minstrel Allan-a-Dale (voiced by the late country singer Roger Miller) explains in the introductory sequence, the animal kingdom has a slightly different take on the story of Robin Hood than we humans do. And how wonderfully Disney has told it! What *would* wily Robin be but a red fox? Or Little John but a big, good-natured bear? Or King Richard and Prince John but a pair of rival lion brothers (in a fascinating foreshadowing of "The Lion King")? The voice talents are especially fine--Brian Bedford as Robin, Phil Harris as Little John, Andy Devine as Friar Tuck (a badger), Peter Ustinov as Prince John, Terry-Thomas as his sinister snake-advisor Sir Hiss, Monica Evans as Maid Marian, Carole Shelley as her lady-in-waiting Kluckie (a hen), Pat Buttram as the Sheriff of Nottingham (a wolf), George Lindsey and Ken Curtis as his vulture-deputies Trigger and Nutsy. Though somewhat more inclined to slapstick than most Disney animation, it will charm even those who don't care for that kind of humor (and being one myself I can speak with authority): the wild chase that ends the shooting match at Nottingham Fair will have you rolling on the floor. There's also plenty of intrigue, swashbuckling adventure, and clever scheming, and--as in any version of this legend--ample opportunity to start a discussion with your kids about right and wrong. One of my favorite cartoon features and one that should find favor with all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood (Disney)Brian Bedford, March 15 2003
By 
Goldenroom (Amherst, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
What a strange idea that worked! Ofcourse I mean casting the story of robin hood with animal cartoons instead of human cartoons. This cartoon was always one of my disney favorites and I decided to buy it. At the age of 23, I wasnt sure if it would still hold up and grab my attention like when I was younger, but I still love it!
This is a great movie that everyone can enjoy. I thought the characters such as Sir Hiss, Robin Hood, Friar Tuck, Prince John are wonderful. They all have such unique and funny personalities. Watching this in my older years got me thinking about currupt power, taxes, the poor, the death penalty and other adult issues. Not to worry parents! Your kids wont have to think of such things cause they will be busy loving the cute characters, jokes and great storyline. This movie sends a important message of human compassion. This movie never made me ever think of stealing when I was younger, but just incase your worried, please explain to kids that stealing is not right, but Robin Hood was taking back money from the rich that they stole from the poor(because of the insane taxes).
The songs while not the most memorable of Disneys theme songs are really great and I actually enjoy them more now. There is alot of really great folk songs that are really catchy(i even find myself singin them in the car).
The DVD quality is great and there is a bonus Mickey and Goofy cartoon included!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin Hood (Most Wanted Edition)
Robin Hood (Most Wanted Edition) by Wolfgang Reitherman (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 29.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews