Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all-time favorite Disney animated films!
There haven't been very many well-known Disney movies that I know of that were highly successful nor as groundbreaking during the 1960s through the first half of the 1980s and some of the Disney movies that were made during that time should've been more successful. The Disney animated edition of Robin Hood is one of those and is in fact, probably my favorite Disney movie...
Published on Feb. 21 2003 by Distant Voyageur

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ce n'est pas un grand film de Disney, mais il est toujours amusant pour les enfants :-)
La version animée de "Robin des Bois" de Dinsey a été sortie de l'atelier au cours de la plus importante sécheresse. En regardant ce film, vous pouvez ressentir que l'équipe de l'atelier ont essayer de rétablir elle-même la situation après la mort de son fondateur. Les scènes du films précédents ont...
Published on June 14 2009 by Markyoloup


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all-time favorite Disney animated films!, Feb. 21 2003
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
There haven't been very many well-known Disney movies that I know of that were highly successful nor as groundbreaking during the 1960s through the first half of the 1980s and some of the Disney movies that were made during that time should've been more successful. The Disney animated edition of Robin Hood is one of those and is in fact, probably my favorite Disney movie of all-time.
Released in 1973, it is a wonderful adaptation of the medieval novel with the characters being animal humanoids with Robin Hood being A Fox, Little John a Bear, Friar Tuck being a badger, and the greedy and semi-evil Prince John being a Lion. It's all so entertaining and so much fun to watch and laugh to with all of the charm and charisma that I think a lot of Disney movies during the 1970s and 1980s lacked. Don't get me wrong, most of Disney's movies are great but Robin Hood in my opinion is one of the most overlooked classics of all-time and also is my favorite Disney movie of all time, alongside the also overlooked "The Great Mouse Detective".
As you might already know, it's a tale of an outlaw who robs the rich Prince John and his goon wolf The Sheriff, to feed the poor and the hungry in Nottingham and dreams of marrying a lovely lady named Maid Marian and it's all so wonderful. If those who are turned off by the excessive drama or the unsettling atmosphere of the Kevin Costner classic "Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves", this Disney edition will definitely make a wonderful substitute. I recommend both versions of Robin Hood. I like the Disney one more.
The background music is also highly memorable with some incredible catchy songs and battle scenes that are just enough to keep you laughing for a very long time and just the whole atmosphere of the movie makes Robin Hood one of the most underrated and overlooked classics of all time. A lot of more popular Disney movies while great, they don't seem to impress me as much as Robin Hood has, and some are just downright pap! Robin Hood doesn't fall into that category. It has the fun and joy for young kids to enjoy and the style and timeless music and storytelling to entertain the adults. I would even go far as to say that Robin Hood is better than Aladdin, and Prince of Egypt. Don't get me wrong, those are classics too but not at the heights of Robin Hood though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long métrage d'animation Disney, produit en 1973, Sept. 25 2009
By 
I. Theoret "sardonyx" (Longueuil, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robin Des Bois (VHS Tape)
Walt Disney présente une aventure de cape et d'épée avec de nombreux personnages attachant dans un contexte médiéval, avec un adaptation de la légende classique de Robin des Bois. Profitant de la guerre qui fait rage, un monarque fantoche, le Prince Jean, s'empare du trône d'Angleterre. Aidé de son acolyte Persifleur , un serpent malin, qui écrase le peuple de Nottingham afin d'extraire des taxes exhaustives, il tenteront de s'enrichir avant que le vrai Roi Richard soit de retour. Robin des bois sera rusé et déjouera le prince par surprise. Entouré de sa bande d'amis dont le frère Toc, Robin gagnera le coeur la Belle Marianne et devra rendre le trône au roi Richard.
Animation classique, couleur, pour tous
Produite en 1973
Version française, durée 83 minutes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ROBIN HOOD – 40th Anniversary Edition [1973] [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] [US Import], Oct. 26 2014
By 
Andrew C. Miller - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
ROBIN HOOD – 40th Anniversary Edition [1973] [Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy] [US Import] Bring Your Family Together With A Beloved Disney Classic!

To commemorate its 40th Anniversary, Disney proudly presents the unforgettable animated classic ‘Robin Hood’ on Blu-ray for the first time ever. Experience all the fun, thrills and celebrated music of this legendary adventure with perfect picture and sound!

Join Robin Hood, his trusted companion Little John and his hilarious band of Merry Men as they outfox greedy Prince John to save the good people of Nottingham. Dashing from one daring deed to the next, Robin won’t rest until he wins the hand of Maid Marian and restores King Richard to the throne. One of Disney’s most beloved movies is even better on Blu-ray Combo Pack! Narrated by Roger Miller.

Voice Cast: Roger Miller, Peter Ustinov, Terry-Thomas, Brian Bedford, Monica Evans, Phil Harris, Andy Devine, Carole Shelley, Pat Buttram, George Lindsey, Ken Curtis, Candy Candido, John Fiedler, Dana Laurita, Barbara Luddy, J. Pat O'Malley, Billy Whitaker and Dori Whitaker

Director: Wolfgang Reitherman

Producer: Wolfgang Reitherman

Screenplay: Larry Clemmons

Composer: Score: George Bruns. Songs: Floyd Huddleston, Johnny Mercer and Roger Miller

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.75:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, French: 5.1 DTS-HD HR, Spanish: 5.1 Dolby Digital, Portuguese: 5.1 Dolby Digital and English: 2.0 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English, English SDH, French, Spanish and Portuguese

Running Time: 83 minutes

Region: Blu-ray: All Regions and DVD: NTSC

Number of discs: 2

Studio: Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: I've always tried to be clear in my reviews when childhood nostalgia takes control. Such is the case with Disney's 'Robin Hood.' As a young lad, I used to watch this animation film over and over. I wore out the VHS tape. We got a new one. I wore that out too. 'Robin Hood' is simply one of those animation films I've always adored, because I adored it as a child. It's one of the few animation films that reminds me of my childhood and brings back a flood of memories every time I watch it. Sometimes nostalgia is just too strong to ignore.

Most of the time 'Robin Hood' gets lumped somewhere in the middle when discussing classic Walt Disney titles. It doesn't compare to the grandiosity of Disney's run of popular films in the '90s, and it doesn't quite measure up to the stalwart classics of the '50s and '60s. It is, however, a story that ages well, has some memorable songs, and some entertaining action scenes.

It's a simplified tale of 'Robin Hood,' placing anthropomorphized animals in the story. Robin Hood [Brian Bedford] is a fox. He pals around with his bear buddy Little John [Phil Harris], in the woods outside of Nottingham. Their sworn enemy is the cowardly lion Prince John [Peter Ustinov]. Like the many tales of Robin Hood that have come to fruition over the years, Walt Disney's always sticks to the basics. Robin and Little John steal from the rich and give to the poor. They do so with more cartoony antics, but the principle is the same.

Trying to pinpoint why I loved 'Robin Hood' so much as a child is a difficult task. There isn't any one thing about it that made me love it. Instead there are a variety of aspects I admire about the movie. I remember thinking that it was one of the most exciting Disney movies I'd ever seen. Archery contests chase scenes, and sword fights in burning castles. It was indeed a harrowing experience for a youngster. Now as I say I loved this animation film from a young age, and it had a great impression on me, as did all other Walt Disney output and this why I also love the whole Disney magic with all his animation films output and this why my other animation film favourites that goes the top of my list are 'Alice in Wonderland' and 'Lady and the Tramp,' so 'Robin Hood' is a good companion.

'Robin Hood' will never be thought of as one of the classics. That's one of the reasons that it got a simple anniversary release instead of a Diamond Edition. Still, it will always remain one of my personal favourites even if just for nostalgia's sake.

Blu-ray Video Quality – Something to remember about 'Robin Hood' and Walt Disney animation, is that this film has always had a much rougher look. The animation has a sketchy feel to it, which is stark in contrast to Walt Disney's later films which are pristinely animated. 'Robin Hood' isn't as rough looking as Don Bluth's signature animation style, but there is certain grittiness to it that people may mistake for a lack of care. As the film opens you'll notice that the opening credits appear to have needed a bit more work. There's some colour fluctuation here and there, colour fills become unstable as the characters run across the screen. The entire opening sequence has an overall gauzy appearance.

Once the animation film starts, however, all worry subsides. Colour starts to stabilise – only wavering slightly on occasion. The movie's line art is splendidly captured. At times it might appear "messy" as lines appear and disappear as the animation moves along (these give the illusion of specks or flecks that some might think should've been cleaned up), but that's the nature of the animation itself. The rougher animation gives the movie a life of its own. Colours are strong and vibrant. Banding is nowhere to be found. As for errant noise, I didn't really notice any that isn't supposed to be there. Disney has done an admirable job getting this ready for HD presentation. Sure, a Diamond Edition may have brought out just a tad more beauty, but for what we have here I'm not complaining.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio mix isn't the sort of sonic wonder that is provided to the Diamond releases. While satisfying, it does sound a bit hollow at times. With the surround sound aspect of the mix suffering slightly. Most of the animation film dialogue is focused up front and centre. Some cheering and other action is captured in the rear speakers, but it's never really impressive. The best surround sound can be had during the archery tournament and the subsequent chase. Dialogue is clear. I didn't detect any anomalies such as hissing or static. The track sounded clear, free from any sort of troubles that may befall films of this age. The film songs have a great stage to perform. They provide the best all-around audio enjoyment.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Deleted Storyline: Love Letters [1080p] [8:00] This never-before-seen deleted storyline comes courtesy of the Disney Vault, and is constructed of animated black and white storyboards.

Alternate Ending [1080p] [5:00] Another lost gem for Robin Hood fans.

Disney Song Selection [1080p] [8:00] Four isolated, subtitled songs from the film: "Oo-De-Lally," "Love," "The Phony King of England" and "Not in Nottingham."

Robin Hood Art Gallery [1080p] [9:00] A behind the scenes look at the original artwork for the film.

Robin Hood Storybook [1080p] [14:00] A read-along for the children.

Disney Sing-Along [1080p] Sing along with the film, karaoke style.

Oo-De-Lally Sing-Along [1080p] [2:00] A vintage sing-along video.

Bonus Short: Ye Olden Days [1080p] [8:00] Mickey Mouse stars in this classic black and white short.

Finally, ‘Robin Hood’ will continue to hold a special place in many fans' hearts. It still has a home in mine. But it's possible to enjoy a trip down nostalgia lane without getting lost along the way. The animation film doesn't hold up next to other Walt Disney classics, and feels more lightweight and aimless than an animated adaptation of the Hood mythos should. Oh, there's still plenty of fun to be had, sure. Just none that grabs hold of the imagination or lingers long after the credits roll. Disney's Blu-ray release is better, with a commendably re-mastered video presentation and a solid 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio surround track, but a few more supplements would have gone a long way. Even so, ‘Robin Hood’ deserves a place on every Walt Disney Blu-ray Collection. It may not be among the best of the studio's animated features, but that doesn't mean it deserves to be forgotten. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An underrated gem, Nov. 23 2010
By 
Christopher Van-Lane (Newmarket, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Robin Hood (Most Wanted Edition) (DVD)
This is one of my favourite films, bar none. Though considered one of the lesser works to come out of Disney's animation studios, Robin Hood (1973) is nonetheless a true gem in my estimation. The transformation of the characters into animals works surprisingly well, and lends a levity to the story without diluting the impact of the Robin Hood legend. And, oh, the humour! I had forgotten what a genuinely funny film this is. Yet, at the same time, there is drama, pathos and, of course, romance. This is an easy, sweet, non-threatening introduction to the Robin Hood story, ideally suited for the younger set, yet full of subtleties that adults will appreciate. The animation and voices are outstanding, and help this film come to life. I first saw this as a boy in 1982, and adored it then. Now, as an adult, I adore it no less. The "Most Wanted Edition" DVD is worth the price, as it contains interactive content that is both fun and educational. This is a wholesome, life-affirming treat that the whole family will enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ce n'est pas un grand film de Disney, mais il est toujours amusant pour les enfants :-), June 14 2009
By 
This review is from: Robin Hood (Most Wanted Edition) (DVD)
La version animée de "Robin des Bois" de Dinsey a été sortie de l'atelier au cours de la plus importante sécheresse. En regardant ce film, vous pouvez ressentir que l'équipe de l'atelier ont essayer de rétablir elle-même la situation après la mort de son fondateur. Les scènes du films précédents ont été recyclées (note de la scène dans une séquence musicale beaucoup de liens entre "Blanche-Neige" et "Les Aristochats"). Seulement une ou deux chansons sont mémorables, mais ce n'est pas aussi mauvais que ça puisse paraître. L'animation de "Robin des Bois" a un rachat de choses sur elle.
La raison pour laquelle les adultes ne trouve pas ce film passionnant, car il est strictement destiné à des enfants. Mais l'accent mis sur le maintien des relations saines avec les êtres chers au cours des temps difficiles est quelque chose à admirer. Faut dire que "Robin des Bois" manque de cœur est un peu de dure. Oui, il manque d'une histoire forte, mais il est injuste de rejeter tous l'ensemble, juste pour cela. Le film sans prétention et la simplicité de la nature a aidé "Robin des Bois" à recevoir l'attention du grand public et de l'appréciation au cours des années. Il peut ne pas être un "classique" des film de Disney, mais c'est certainement un des plus admirable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A breakthrough in Anthropomorphic characterization!, July 1 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
Disney's version of "Robin Hood" was a breakthrough in the use of Anthropomorphic or "humanized" animals in animation. It was the first time any animation studio created an all-animal cast playing roles usually reserved for humans in a full length movie. It holds a unique place in Disney Animation just for this reason.
Believe it or not, this movie's influence has been far-reaching on the design and stories of later animated movies (Don Bluth's "The Secret of NIMH", Disney's own "Lion King"), many animated television shows ("Ducktales", "TaleSpin"), comic books, video games (Nintendo's "Starfox"), Asian Anime and the growing "Furry" Fandom on the internet today.
The 70's were a uninspired and directionless time for Disney Animation and "Robin Hood" shows the effects of this. The animation is flat and looks cheaply done due to the use of Xeroxing the pencilled animation onto cells instead the precise but expensive way of hand tracing. Some of the animation where characters are dancing was directly copied from "Snow White" and "The Aristocats". When Sir Hiss stares hypnotically into Prince John's eyes for a few seconds - its the same exact animation you saw in 1967's "The Jungle Book". This reuse of animation was fine for Hanna-Barbera and other low-budget TV animation companies but a travesty for Disney which created and set high standards with their animation in the 1930's through the early 1960's (and thankfully recapured some of those standards in the 1990's).
Some characters are recycled from other Disney movies - Little John and Sir Hiss are carbon copies of the Jungle Book's Balloo the bear and Kaa the snake. The songs besides Roger Miller's "Oo-De-Lally" (which was sampled and sped-up for the popular Radio Disney staple "The Hampsterdance") just aren't that memorable or very good. Add to that the direction is very pedestrian with little style or "zing" - typical of most Disney films of the period.
Despite all these flaws the movie is still one of the most charming, fun and entertaining of all of Disney's 1970's output. The biggest reason is the great cast of voice actors - they sound like they were having fun making this movie and their enthusiasm give the characters "life" when the animation doesnt. Peter Ustinov almost steals the movie with his voicing of Prince John. The story is one of the better adaptations of the Robin Hood legend and the script is well paced and full of funny one-liners that might go over the head of young kids but adults will enjoy.
Disney's DVD version is a huge improvement over the old VHS tape from the 80's - but there are still scenes where the colors look washed out from a faded print. Also the movie's soundtrack is still in the original mono. Besides the original trailers and the classic Mickey Mouse short, the extras are only for the kids and not die-hard animation fans. I wish Disney would have spent more time and money for this reissue, restored the color, add archival footage, interviews and remixed the audio for 5:1 stereo like they have done for "Cinderella" and "Sleeping Beauty". This classic movie deserves better than a basic bare-bones presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Be clear on one point, this is well done..., April 5 2004
By 
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
Crazy as this might sound...
This is well done and a crafty execution of a complicated game. The game is "Fun for kids and fun for adults" some extremely talented directors and movie companies have failed (over and over again) at this delicate balance.
How does this little gem pull that delicate maneuver off? Well it starts with fantastic voices:
Peter Ustinov = Prince John (almost too good!!!)
Terry Thomas = The Snake "Sir Hiss" (Sniveling and subversive)
Phil Harris = Little John (Perfect)
Andy Devine = Friar Tuck (great voice and delivery)
And music by the very excellent Roger Miller... So good.
That's an all-star cast by any standard (period)
Many an A+ movie has been bogged down on the way to solving this issue, kids and adults, each being equally entertained. It's no small feat.
It's accomplished smoothly in this little animated classic with great (exceptionally great) voices and not a lot of "playing down" to the children. The interplay between Little John and Robin Hood is adult and vivid. The relationship between Sir Hiss and Prince John is absolutely hysterical and so well "spoken" it's comic mastery is still relevant.
Those two interactions are enough to carry the thing from start to finish. But Robin Hoods ultimate success is crowned with extra side dishes, such as The Sheriff of Nottingham and Nutsy as well as Clucky and Maid Marian's excellent interplay.
Taking it all into consideration the animation is good (not great but certainly enjoyable) and the story zips along probably compensating a bit to keep the younger group still focused. When the movie is over, touching ending and all, I'm left quite satisfied.
I am 39 and enjoy this for just exactly what it is, and that is "well done"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OO-DE-LALLY, golly! What a movie!!, Jan. 4 2004
By 
sillygirl412 "sillygirl412" (Ossining, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
The first movies I can remember watching as a kid are Robin Hood and The Jungle Book. It makes me very curious to read some of the reviews on here that claim that this is a "lesser known" Disney movie, yet so many people have given testimonials about being an adult who still loves this movie. Well... here is my suggestion - buy this movie, a package of microwave popcorn and stake out a spot on the couch with a kid you love and introduce them to this timeless classic!
It is true that the extras are not as great as those on other Disney DVDs (this is a GOLD Collection DVD remember), but are you really buying the DVD for the extras, or for the movie itself? Note to reader: if you answered "extras", then go rent this, rather than buy it. You'll be too disappointed by the one song sing-a-long, storybook option, and brief 16 question quiz to really enjoy your purchase. However, despite being a colorized version of the original, you might get a kick out of the 1933 Mickey cartoon "Ye Olden Days".
Robin Hood is a well-known old English legend, based in part on actual historical people, places and medieval life (ex. King Richard, Price John, Nottingham, caste system, etc). Sounds like a mini history lesson disguised as Disney entertainment! *wink* Older kids might be interested in comparing the Disney version of the story to other film and or book versions of Robin Hood. I know it sounds like I am analysing this too much, but having written a paper on this exact topic for a college english class, I know what I'm talking about. You can't ask for a better assignment than watching a Disney movie, eh?! :)
For whatever reason you choose to watch this DVD, and at whatever age you are, you will love this movie and it will become one of your favorites!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Robin Hood won't rob you..., Dec 5 2003
By 
Bruce Gray "gurpsgm" (Shenandoah Valley, VA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
Although not one of the greatest Disney "canon" movies, this unusual piece is still a worthy addition to the Disney canon and a personal collection of Disney movies.
This is, so far, one of the only Disney "Canon" movies that has no human characters. ("Lion King" is another.)
The story is right out of English legend. Robin must rob from King John to give back usurious tax money to the people of Nottingham and Sherwood Forest. But this story that underlies the action isn't too strong for younger viewers.
Robin's obvious infatuation with Maid Marion is one of the funnier bits. Little John is absolutely hilarious when he says things like "Aw Robin... Why don't you marry the girl." And, of course, eventually, he does.
The classic Robin Hood sword fights are there. Most of the characters are funny and original without being too far from the expected medieval classics. The scene where Robin is chased all over the grounds is just too funny. The mad football-like rush of the chicken was one of the better bits.
Worth at least a look to see if you would like to add this to any collection of Children's favorites. Well worth adding to a collection of Disney's classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet classic, June 18 2003
By 
L. Davidson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robin Hood (Full Screen) (DVD)
First, I have to say that I'm 21 years old and this is my favorite cartoon. Lots of people discount this movie because it's not so big and flashy as many Disney movies, especially the more recent ones, but don't be fooled; the magic is in the details. Don't look for big band numbers like in Aladin, or melodromatic romance like Beauty and the Beast. The romance is there, but it's quiet and cute.
One aspect of Robin Hood that some people don't like is the animation style. True, it has some of that weird 70's minimalism to it, but I think it's very well done; not overdone. Much better than The Rescuers, The Sword in the Stone, etc., which can get annoying with repeated viewings. And it doesn't fall into the trap of making the villain so darn evil that it scares kids to death (I still have scars from watching The Little Mermaid as a kid).
As far as I'm concerned, however, the best part of this movie is the voicing, which is PERFECT! It really benefits from the fact that it employs several long-time professional voice actors who worked in radio in the 30's-50's, especially Phil Harris and Andy Devine. Of course, Peter Ustinov has a great voice, too. (Very distinctive!)
I can't really recommend this movie too highly. It's REALLY funny (Prince John is soooooooo my favorite character), and clever enough that you'll want to watch it over and over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Robin Hood (Most Wanted Edition)
Robin Hood (Most Wanted Edition) by Wolfgang Reitherman (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 35.99 CDN$ 29.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews