Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monster house blueray 3d
One of the better 3d movies for active shutter/3dtvs you can buy. Having watched Coraline, Ice age and Cloudy and a chance of meatballs I found it a worthy purchase. I do not recommend this one and coraline for young children though a little too spooky for 8 and under. I suggest a parent screening prior to buying this one for your family on regular dvd
Published on Oct. 17 2010 by Clinton92000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Spooky fun a Halloween story
Well told story with suspense pathos ignorant cops, unaware parents, bottles of pee, and a house with an appetite. Neighbors form bonds as they try to fathom the secrets of what motivates a house to consume kites and cars.

Then there is the great dialog "That must be its uvula." "Oh it is a girl house."

The film is animated which allows for many...
Published on Nov. 3 2006 by bernie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Monster house blueray 3d, Oct. 17 2010
One of the better 3d movies for active shutter/3dtvs you can buy. Having watched Coraline, Ice age and Cloudy and a chance of meatballs I found it a worthy purchase. I do not recommend this one and coraline for young children though a little too spooky for 8 and under. I suggest a parent screening prior to buying this one for your family on regular dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty fun and exciting 3d animated movie(though some kids under 13 may find it a bit intense), Sept. 4 2007
This review is from: Monster House (Bilingual) (DVD)
in my my mind,this is a pretty good movie.it's a stop motion/CGI 3d
animation combination.it's a very fun movie.it would be easy to see how
scary it would be for young children,as there are some thrilling
sequences and scenes of peril.i think it might be too much for young
kids,and i would have rated it PG13,instead of just PG.i think most
kids over 13 would enjoy it.i thought the animation was well done and
the voice actors suited their characters well.the movie is very
entertaining and pretty fast paced.if you enjoyed this movie,you might
also like "ice Age and "Ice Age 2,as well "Toy Story 1 and 2"and "The
Incredibles".for me, "Monster House" is an 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastique!, July 20 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
La qualité 3d est de première qualité. Le film est excellent. Un des premiers en son genre. J'ai beaucoup aimé mon expérience et c'est certain que je regarderai régulièrement ce beau film .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very funny and scary in parts, Jan. 26 2013
By 
Dean Wirth "Mcdean" (Calgary Alberta) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Extremely funny, occasionally sad and some scary moments make this one of my favourite movies
The effects are very good and the voicework is perfect.
An overlooked classic. Keep the little ones away from this one until they about 8 or older at least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Movie, Dec 1 2012
By 
Andrea Y Card (London, Ontario, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Monster House (Bilingual) (DVD)
Totally worth owning! My daughter has had it for a week and watched it 20 times...she does not watch any television just movies. This is her new fave and Mommy and Daddy enjoy it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE THIS MOVIE!, May 12 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie is amazing. I have watched it countless times with my daughter, and by myself and I never get sick of it.
Definitely recommend that everyone watch it, it is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie Destined to Become an Annual Halloween Favorite, June 30 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Monster House (Bilingual) (DVD)
I wasn't able to catch this in theater but was able to purchased this DVD yesterday and watch it with my entire family on Halloween night. After viewing this I thought it was good and frightening for the event. My kids were mesmerize buy it while my husband on the other hand was frighten by it (Just kidding). "Monster House" is defiantly good and cool for kids (7 years and up), yet certain to be a hit with grown-ups but defiantly not for the younger tot's. It manages to strike a chord with children by inhabiting the world they live in, full of creepy old men living in haunted houses, while at the same time, offering up enough scares and laughs to keep any 30 year old kid at heart thoroughly entertained.

The animation is nothing short of inspired, as the motion capture technology truly breathes life into the CGI animation. Facial expressions, "camera angles" and "tracking shots" are planned with painstaking detail; it's truly a sight to behold. You'll forget you're watching a 'cartoon' right from the fluttering leaf of the opening credits.

Not content to stop there, the filmmakers have added to the superb animation with equally superb writing and a cast to deliver those lines. Familiar voices (see the above credits) fill the adult characters with a lot of humor, even though each adult is given only about 5 minutes of screen time. Each actor does a lot with their 5 minutes, completely deserving of their pay check. The clever casting of Jon Heder makes this the first film to get full dynamite for his cameo, as he fits in perfectly as an arcade legend.

Still, with all this going for it, "Monster House" would have failed if its child roles didn't measure up. Fortunately, the three leads steal the show, aptly performing voice work that stretches from childhood tomfoolery to ghastly terror to puppy love, all within the same scene. Their honest approach to the scripts' clever and accurate depiction of children almost too old for trick or treating, yet not quite old enough to forget the bogeyman makes this a film that will certainly become a perennial Halloween favorite under the kids listing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A heck of a lot of fun to watch, and the animation is incredible, Jan. 16 2007
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monster House (Bilingual) (DVD)
No matter where you grew up, there was almost surely a nearby house that gave you the spooks. Maybe it was an abandoned, rotting hulk of a haunted house, or maybe it was the inhospitable dwelling of a scary old man you suspected of doing very bad things behind his dark walls. Both scenarios apply to the Monster House. Dare to even step foot on the lawn, and mean old Mr. Nebbercracker (Steve Buscemi) comes out of the front door like a banshee, yelling for you to go away if you don't want to be eaten. It's easy to see why DJ (Mitchel Musso) and his friend Chowder (Sam Lerner) are so scared of the place. From his window across the road, DJ has seen things no adult would ever believe. When Chowder's brand new basketball rolls into the yard, though, DJ bravely sets out to claim it before the house does. That leads to a confrontation with Nebbercracker, who keels over while shaking DJ around like a rag doll. That is when things really get bad. Nebbercracker may be gone, but the house is alive ' and it's Halloween.

Clearly, there's no way DJ and Chowder are going near the spooky old house again. Then they spy a cute girl strolling toward its door, oblivious to the danger she is in. Eager to impress Jenny (Spencer Locke), they decide that they have to do something before the house feasts on all of that night's trick-or-treaters. Adults, such as DJ's babysitter and the local police, are no help at all. The kids are going to have to do this on their own. After seeking the sage advice of the local video game wizard, they devise a plan to stop the house by destroying its heart (and they have a good idea of just what and where that is). Naturally, the plan goes awry, trapping the kids within the very mouth of the monster. There, they learn the secret of the killer domicile (which they never saw coming), but will they live to tell anyone about it? More importantly, will they be able to save Halloween for all the local children by ridding the neighborhood of this deadly menace?

When you talk about this movie, you have to start with the animation. It is truly something to behold; you might even be creeped out by how incredibly real everything and everyone looks -- especially in terms of the facial expressions that communicate the characters' emotions (especially those of fright) incredibly well. The house itself is a model of anthropomorphic CGI, particularly when it really comes to life and goes on the attack. This is a PG movie, but young children might get the heebie-jeebies from some of the house's more frightful manifestations. For the most part, though, Monster House is rollicking good fun, especially when subtlety is thrown out the window and the story becomes far too outrageous for even a wee little tyke to take seriously.

Here's the bottom line: children should get a real kick out of this film. Any possible frights should quickly be forgotten thanks to all of the humor built into the story. I think most adults will enjoy the film, as well. Monster House is certainly no Shrek, but it should prove pretty entertaining to one and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Spooky fun a Halloween story, Nov. 3 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Monster House (Bilingual) (DVD)
Well told story with suspense pathos ignorant cops, unaware parents, bottles of pee, and a house with an appetite. Neighbors form bonds as they try to fathom the secrets of what motivates a house to consume kites and cars.

Then there is the great dialog "That must be its uvula." "Oh it is a girl house."

The film is animated which allows for many scenarios that are not physiologically possible. This actually adds to the spookiness. There is a socially relevant story with a positive ending.

However the there is nothing unique about the story or the characters. This makes it attractive for people that like formula films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3649aa4)

This product

NEW Monster House - Monster House (Blu-ray)
CDN$ 15.87
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews