march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage scflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars102
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$18.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 30, 2005
To anyone who is a fan of the horror genre from any decade, Black Christmas is a must see. Unlike other horror/suspence movies such as Seven or Jaws, both of which are engaging yet polished, Black Christmas has that rough around the edges dated appeal much like Cabin Feaver and 28 Days Later. What I enjoy most about the movie is the ambiguity of the villian, and the manner in which it's role is played out. And although Black Christmas may not be the first movie to slip between anyone's lips when this genre is either mentioned or thought of, it is on a level with John Carpender's Halloween and Ridley Scott's Alien, if not in cinematic profit, then certainly in it's respect for the genre.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2003
Black Christmas is without a doubt the greatest horror film you've probably never seen. I hadn't heard anything about it myself until I noticed it cropping up on a lot of people's favourite horror film lists, so decided it was about time I saw what all the fuss was about. The film centres around a Sorority house in the Christmas holiday season, where the girls begin receiving a series of disturbing phone calls from an unknown source. It soon becomes apparent that a faceless killer is stalking them, a killer who has snuck in through an open window and is inhabiting their attic... Pre-dating all of the classic horror films of the late 70s and 80s, Black Christmas is a stark, stylish and creepy film that boasts some chilling moments and some great performances. The genius of the film lies in it's ability to evoke an intense atmosphere of forboding which leaves you constantly unsettled and totally immersed which it does without the need for special effects, gore, or cheap scares. The direction, framing, POV shots, and lighting all work toegther seemlessly to provide moments that really leave you cold (especially the eye through the crack of the door). The script deserves a mention too, because it really is superb. There are some great characters, some good threads of drama and even comedy, but these are brilliantly and appropriately contained within their scenes without detracting from the menacing atmosphere and overall theme of the film. The phone calls are one of the high points, containing shades of Reagan's multi-voice outbursts in the Exorcist but with overtones of despair and confusion which give an insight into the psychological state of the deranged killer. All in all, if you are a fan of horror, and looking for something more than the slick disposable dime a dozen slasher films of recent years, you simply have to own this little gem.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2004
Bob Clark (III) who also directed the lighthearted family friendly, "A Christmas Story" takes us into the more darker, nightmarish setting of the familiar holiday season. This 1974 Canadian masterpiece in cinema history wasn't known as well around its time until today, where the more controversial slasher flicks exist. Setting the atmosphere with John Carpenter's "Halloween" franchise, "Black Christmas" stars Margot Kidder in one of her first roles, though in this she later finds herself as one of the killer's victims (in a very gruesome way indeed. Gore hounds rejoice!) But she is only one amoung the many other victims who fall prey to a psychotic monster living upstairs in a Sorority home attic that murders them in some of the most clever ways ever filmed in a horror movie. Meanwhile, the girls are getting scary phone calls, while the townsfolk discover the corpse of a young girl who was murdered in the park. Could this all have a connection with the beast? Or could it be something much more terrifying from out of the ordinary? All that is certain is that Christmas time is coming, and if something is not done, nobody will be left to celebrate.
This SPECIAL EDITION version of the DVD includes all theatrical trailers (Both English & French), and T.V./radio spots along with a behind the scenes BONUS feature to how the film came to be and the actors/actresses who helped bring the low-budget nightmare to life. The plot can be a little confusing and hard to follow at times, therefore giving the viewer the hint that this is one of those rare films that make you THINK, meaning that you may have to watch it more than once to understand! While not the best horror film, I believe that this helped spawn many other clones such as "Halloween" (as explained earlier) and "Scream". Not to worry though, for this carries enough of the suspense and thrills to scare the living daylights out of you! This is recommended viewing for a date-type movie or watching alone at night in the dark--IF YOU DARE!
If you're a diehard fan of the good ol' low-budget horror cult classics such as myself, this is the one to add in your collection! Whether you love it or hate it, it STILL packs enough punch for the hardcore of average horror film fanatic! There isn't as much blood to be found in this, and instead the film relies more on the originality and suspense in order to keep the viewer at the edge of his/her seat! Don't miss this very rare and hard to find classic, and remember:
"If this film doesn't make your skin crawl, it's on too tight!" >:)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2004
The first time I saw this movie was in the 80's. I had already been subjected to Freddy, Jason and Michael, and this scared me more than the three of them combined. Don't get me wrong, Nightmare, Friday and Halloween were, and still are, very scary movies. I went into it expecting the worst and came out of it wanting to go back to a time before I had witnessed it. It scared me soooo bad that I had to sleep with the lights on for weeks afterwards. Every time the phone rang I sank inside from fear.
Now I am older, wiser and more mature......... I am no longer a teen as I was when I watched this the first time. I have been subjected to things much worse and more horrifying over the past 20 years........... or so I thought......
I thought that the padding of time and the advancements of movies and cinema would cushion me.....
I was wrong.
I watched this movie again with some friends who had not seen it, yet alone even heard of it.
I watched in horror as every feeling came rushing back. I watched in amusement as my friends lost every ounce of cool. I watched in sheer delight as I witnessed, once again, one of the most terrifying movies ever made tear me and my friends to shreds of useless nothing. Even with all the camp that is now visible in the movie, it does not let loose of its horrifying grip.
The premise is that there is a killer loose. It appears that he has chosen the attic of the sorrority house to hold up in. He uses the phone to do some of his or her terrorizing. One by one the sorrority sisters and housemother are picked off. And one by one the list of suspects grows until the climax at the end when everything is solved... or is it?
I could go on about the plot, but others have already done so.
If you watch this with the knowledge that this is one of the originals, not a knock off, then you will have more appreciation for it.
Sure, the acting is questionable, as is the directing, camera work and editing.
But, this is the real deal.. this is what other movies have molded themselves after. This is the movie that deserves all the credit that others get.
Watch this and see if you feel the same way about unicorns that you did before you saw it.
And I dare you to sleep with the lights out afterwards......
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon February 3, 2016
Released several years before the original "Halloween", "When a Stranger Calls" and "Friday the 13th", this overlooked and under-rated horror film isn't as famous as its imitators but is superior in almost all aspects with the sole exception of Carpenter's "Halloween". Like "Halloween", this film has a low body count and is low on gore but offers loads of thrills, some spills and suspense.

The story involves sorority sisters Jess (Olivia Hussey), Barb (Margot Kidder) and Phyl (Andrea Martin), who are terrorized on Christmas Eve in their sorority house by a deranged crank caller. The escalating phone calls keep the young girls on edge and only adds more emotional trauma to the already vulnerable Jess, who is going through some personal tough times of her own. All the while a search party wanders through town searching for a missing girl and one of their own sorority sisters - Claire Harrison (Lynn Griffin) appears to be missing also.

Directed by Bob Clark- yes, that Bob Clark, the man who brought you "Porky's", "Black Christmas", in my opinion, is one of the best films of the genre and on the same level as the classic "Halloween". It offers good performances (Margot Kidder is especially delightful), a great cast (along with the 3 leading female stars, John Saxon and Keir Dullea also turn in good performances), loads of suspense and it moves along at a good pace. Unlike the later less ingenious but gorier films of its kind, "Black Christmas" is executed so brilliantly that there is no need to throw in extra liters of blood to provide its shocks. This film prefers to build the tension, slowly but surely. The mood and setting is perfect; a large, dimly lit house, almost empty, with creaking floors, and a phone that just doesn't stop ringing. You may squirm with fear as you see the pretty Jess try to stay calm as she listens to the vulgarly offensive ramblings of an evil and insane caller and the film's climax is pure gold; a type of ending you no longer see in modern horror films. It is a shame that this clever little shocker went unnoticed for so many years considering it is light years ahead of the more famous films it inspired. "Black Christmas" is shocking, skillfully constructed and innovative (for it's time); it needs to be in every horror film fans DVD/BluRay collection.

As with many classic horror films, this one also got a much inferior remake back in 2006 that also featured Andrea Martin, but it doesn't even come close to matching the dread and suspense of this one. The remake is gorier, filthier, and an incoherent mess; stick with the classic instead.

**** 1/2 out of 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon November 29, 2015
Just wanted to point out that even though Amazon lists this German CapeLight blu-ray version as being region B only, it is indeed region A compatible and will work in your North American blu-ray player. This release includes the following:
Bonus material:
--"Black Christmas Revisited" documentary
--"The 12 Days of Black Christmas" (2006) documentary
--Audio commentary with director Bob Clark
--Audio commentary with the actors John Saxon and Keir Dullea
--Interviews with the cast Olivia Hussey, Margot Kidder and Art Hindle
--Black Stories - A talk at the movies (2004)
--"Uncovered" Sound Scenes: Trellis and Final Climb Pan
--TV commercials, radio commercials and movie trailers

Audio formats: DTS HD Master Audio 5.1 in both English and German

Subtitles: German only

Picture Format: Widescreen (1.78:1) 1080p

***Please note, the original mono audio track is not on this release. Also, some of the special features may be in PAL format and may not be playable in your blu-ray player. However, the film itself will play fine.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2004
This movie is said to be one of the first slasher flicks so im giving it 3 stars, but the same year texas chainsaw massacre was released and it is 1000 times better than this film. I just got down watching this obscure little film and i give it merit for contributing to the horror genre and starting it off but as far as this being good or scary i disagree. Alot on this site are saying its the best horror film and the scariest. Its not. They are saying dont watch it with the lights off- the calls made by the killer were freaky but they wernt scary to me. The story revolves around a sorority house and a killer hiding in the house killing each girl off one by one , he is making obsene and crazy phone calls from the upstairs attic without the girls knowing hes in the house. The killings didnt scare me or surpise me. There was little gore and the killers face is never shown , only his eye so we dont know who the killer is, even at the end. We are led to beleive its the boyfriend at first but at the end it is obvious it isnt. John Saxon (nightmare on elm street) plays the detective trying to trace the calls and investigate and find out who the killer is. The end of the film the cops dont even search the attic and the killer is still there. Never even get to know who did it. The only half likeable characters in the film are the detective and olivia hussey. She sounds foreign and the voice can get annoying. But other than that this is a so so film, maybe it was good for its time but texas chainsaw massacre and psycho outdo this. Ive seen better. For horror film buffs i say maybe you should buy it just to have in collection as one of the earlier horror films but i cant say i would recomend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2004
This movie was definetly one of the first slasher movies ever made!I thought this was a great horror film maybe even a classic!Olivia Hussey did a wonderful job.The plot is that it is Christmas time and these girls are disapearing one by one.No one knows who or what it could be doing this in a small New England town.The plot is great! The characters are memorable!I think that all equals a classic.The killer was extremely scary when he was killing that girl in her room sleeping.The whole movie is a phenomenom; a Canadian film being so popular in the U.S.A. is fascinating.I also enjoyed how the camera was always acting like the killer's eyes when he was shown or heard.It kind of reminded me of a little film called Halloween.I think Halloween owes a little of it's success.The only problem I had was the killer.He was very confusing, but I guess that added to the suspense!(SPOILERS)That one part when the killer's eye is seen through the door is so scary.The phone calls that they get also scared the crap out of me. I loved the ending to.Make sure to watch this one in the dark.Check it out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2004
Director: Bob Clark
Cast: Olivia Hussey, Keir Dullea, Margot Kidder, John Saxon.
Running Time: 98 minutes.
Rated R for violence and profanity, yet by today's horror standards would more likely fall into the PG-13 category.
Seemingly a forgotten horror tale due to the over-publicized "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and "The Exorcist", the brilliance of "Halloween", and the development of the summer blockbuster ("Jaws"), this thrill-a-minute chiller is just as original as any horror/slasher film ever made.
The basic premise of the film revolves around a sorority house/college dormatory that is mysteriously being tormented by an obscene phone caller. At first, the girls think that the guy is just a prank caller and will eventually goes away, but dead bodies start to turn up. Olivia Hussey stars as the main female squeeze, who suspects that the killer may be her boyfriend Dullea, who has been acting stranger and stranger throughout the events. John Saxon is good as the police detective investigating the abnormal case, while Margot Kidder (who would later play Lois Lane in the 1978 action classic "Superman") is excellent as the profane, alcohlic college girl who is stricken with asthma.
"Black Christmas" is shot brilliantly by director Bob Clark, using many elements of foreshadowing and using a fine musical score to add to the tension. The first half of the film slightly drags, but the finale is superb as Hussey confronts the evil stalker. A must-see for those who respect the horror genre and are fans of the "Halloween" and "Friday the 13th" series. Does not receive the praise or recognition it deserves; "Black Christmas" is a superb suspense piece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2004
Black Christmas is a movie about a killer who hides in the attic of a sorority house on Christmas and kills people one by one in typical slasher horror movie style. Besides the fact that Black Christmas was one of the first slasher movies and set the standard for the rest, you might ask yourself why Black Christmas is even worth a viewing. There are two reasons in particular. First, everything that happens in the movie is completely realistic. The killer is not invincible like Freddy or Jason, he is just well-hidden. We are spared the usual "wait, he was shot, stabbed, and thrown from a window, how can he still be alive?". When sisters begin disappearing, there is a completely logical explanation ("she went to meet her father, remember?" or "she must have left for home a few hours earlier than she had told us"). Second, there is a large amount of mystery surrounding the events of the movie, which makes it seem that much more realistic. The killer is never revealed, and the baby of which the killer speaks in some of his obscene phone calls is never explained. Black Christmas comes highly reccommended, especially if you are sick of the typical slasher fare.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse