Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worthy of 10 stars
I have been a Doctor Who fan since before birth. This is a true statement as my mother watched the show with Jon Pertwee (the third doctor) when she was pregnant with me. Like many people I was overjoyed when the show came back. Chris Eccleston was to paraphrase fantastic and I was disappointed when he left at the end of the first season. However in David Tennant they...
Published on Feb. 21 2007 by TV conoisseur

versus
2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but uneven
The 2005 "first" series of the revitalized Doctor Who was astonishing, its darker tone and deeper themes wrapped in humour, warmth, a positive tone about standing on one's own feet, and the astonishing chemistry between Christopher Eccleston and Billie Piper. Even when the production team stumbled a bit in pacing in the first block, the acting carried the show and...
Published on April 15 2007 by dedicated follower of pop culture


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worthy of 10 stars, Feb. 21 2007
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Second Series (DVD)
I have been a Doctor Who fan since before birth. This is a true statement as my mother watched the show with Jon Pertwee (the third doctor) when she was pregnant with me. Like many people I was overjoyed when the show came back. Chris Eccleston was to paraphrase fantastic and I was disappointed when he left at the end of the first season. However in David Tennant they have the perfect replacement. David is by turns funny,sarcastic, brave ,terrified,outraged,sad and noble. He combines the best qualities of his predecessors and puts his own stamp very firmly on the role. Billie Piper is wonderful as Rose Tyler the ordinary girl from London who is gleefully soaking up every second of this wild adventure. The second season is absolutely incredible. You have some great stand alones and some even better 2 parters. The stories with the cybermen are amazing. As the first season managed to pull off the nearly impossible ie. making the daleks scary again, the second season does the same with the cybermen. The special effects are impressive. The relationships make sense and are unashamedly emotional which gives this show a real heart and soul. Roll on season 3 and long may it continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tennant as The Doctor does great job, July 20 2014
By 
Kory Scott "Kory Scott" (Brandon, Manitoba Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Second Series (DVD)
David Tennant , coming to play the Doctor in Christmas 2005 and Second Series for Doctor Who; does a great job as the Doctor. Bringing things like the Cybermen back to the series is awesome and bringing in an element known as Torchwood, later to be come a spin off in 2006. Rose (Billy Piper) does a smashing job in her final series. Or is it? love that we first hear the Torchwood theme here and an actress that would be come a future companion late in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some combinations are out of this world..., March 17 2014
By 
Helen (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Second Series (DVD)
... like mint choc chip ice cream, or fish & chips. The Dr and Rose have a magical formula on screen that makes this such a re-watchable series... again and again and again. Great storylines, including the final two episodes which rank as my all time favourites. Can't recommend this series enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, Oct. 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Second Series (DVD)
Who doesn't love David Tennant, he is fast, funny and strangely sad. He and Rose are fantastically dynamic and the sad parts are truely sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love for doctor, Aug. 6 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Second Series (DVD)
This was a great box set, it's got the pamphlet with episode list, and it's got the discs, and it's in great condition, came in good time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Who 2, July 8 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Second Series (DVD)
In my opinion, the best pairing of two actors for the Dr Who series. The actors fit the characters so well that they make the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Fantastic Season, June 9 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Second Series (DVD)
I really enjoyed this season, I didn't know if I was going to take to this new Dr cause well his acting was kind of strained at the beginning. But I found he fell into the roll quiet well eventually. AND WELL! Billie is back crawl space scene FTW! LOL.

But yes another enjoyable season, the plots were good. And the Effects were very nice, but of course they were no way for the SYFY channel to cheap out on it since its a BBC show. So this was more then worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great Doctor, Feb. 24 2010
By 
Lotusland Lady (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Second Series (DVD)
Doctor Who appeals to the child in each of us. Who would not want to step into a time machine and travel the universe, back and forward in time, with such a charismatic companion? David Tennant may be the best Doctor of them all. He is a skilled, talented actor who is able to take a iconic children's character and create a complex being, capable of joy, mischief and grief and to suggest the ultimate loneliness of an immortal being with no home who must inevitably lose everyone he loves. Fun for the whole family is a cliche but, in this case, it is true. The monsters are scary, the love interest is engaging and the final ending is heartbreaking. I also enjoyed David Tennant's video diary. He was new in the role and you can see him taking charge of the part and growing into the role of public figure that first season. His Scottish accent is so clear in his candid diarization and undetectable when he is "The Doctor" (at least to me.) I loved the segment when he comes home for Christmas and is sitting around with his mum and dad, watching the Christmas special, his first appearance in a part he watched as a child. And he nails it! Billie Piper, continuing from the previous season with a new Doctor, is a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great series, Aug. 26 2007
By 
T. Ridler (BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Second Series (DVD)
Love this series. Sorry to see Billie Piper gone at the end. Would love to buy the first series as well but the cost is prohibitive. Note to BBC - bring down your prices in line with other TV series box sets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Television, Oct. 10 2009
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Complete Second Series (DVD)
I simply cannot say enough about how fantastic this series is. There were a number of absolute gems, but the season finale is special even amoung them. I laughed, I cheered, and I cried. I even cried watching the Audio commentary!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Complete Second Series
Doctor Who: The Complete Second Series by James Strong (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 99.90 CDN$ 42.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews