Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Countdown to Black Friday in Home & Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Countdown to Black Friday in Lawn & Garden

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars17
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$89.99+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on February 21, 2007
I have been a Doctor Who fan since before birth. This is a true statement as my mother watched the show with Jon Pertwee (the third doctor) when she was pregnant with me. Like many people I was overjoyed when the show came back. Chris Eccleston was to paraphrase fantastic and I was disappointed when he left at the end of the first season. However in David Tennant they have the perfect replacement. David is by turns funny,sarcastic, brave ,terrified,outraged,sad and noble. He combines the best qualities of his predecessors and puts his own stamp very firmly on the role. Billie Piper is wonderful as Rose Tyler the ordinary girl from London who is gleefully soaking up every second of this wild adventure. The second season is absolutely incredible. You have some great stand alones and some even better 2 parters. The stories with the cybermen are amazing. As the first season managed to pull off the nearly impossible ie. making the daleks scary again, the second season does the same with the cybermen. The special effects are impressive. The relationships make sense and are unashamedly emotional which gives this show a real heart and soul. Roll on season 3 and long may it continue.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2010
Doctor Who appeals to the child in each of us. Who would not want to step into a time machine and travel the universe, back and forward in time, with such a charismatic companion? David Tennant may be the best Doctor of them all. He is a skilled, talented actor who is able to take a iconic children's character and create a complex being, capable of joy, mischief and grief and to suggest the ultimate loneliness of an immortal being with no home who must inevitably lose everyone he loves. Fun for the whole family is a cliche but, in this case, it is true. The monsters are scary, the love interest is engaging and the final ending is heartbreaking. I also enjoyed David Tennant's video diary. He was new in the role and you can see him taking charge of the part and growing into the role of public figure that first season. His Scottish accent is so clear in his candid diarization and undetectable when he is "The Doctor" (at least to me.) I loved the segment when he comes home for Christmas and is sitting around with his mum and dad, watching the Christmas special, his first appearance in a part he watched as a child. And he nails it! Billie Piper, continuing from the previous season with a new Doctor, is a delight.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on August 26, 2007
Love this series. Sorry to see Billie Piper gone at the end. Would love to buy the first series as well but the cost is prohibitive. Note to BBC - bring down your prices in line with other TV series box sets!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2015
We are completely hooked on this series. The BBC does everything with such depth of plot and character development. Even the fact that this is total fantasy there are plot issues that are very applicable to today's world issues. When we started watching Dr. Who it was with some trepidation, thinking maybe this is not for, but we were so pleasantly surprised and drawn in to the characters and themes that I can honestly say we're hooked and have recommended the series to all of our friends.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2013
I really enjoyed this season, I didn't know if I was going to take to this new Dr cause well his acting was kind of strained at the beginning. But I found he fell into the roll quiet well eventually. AND WELL! Billie is back crawl space scene FTW! LOL.

But yes another enjoyable season, the plots were good. And the Effects were very nice, but of course they were no way for the SYFY channel to cheap out on it since its a BBC show. So this was more then worth the purchase.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2014
David Tennant , coming to play the Doctor in Christmas 2005 and Second Series for Doctor Who; does a great job as the Doctor. Bringing things like the Cybermen back to the series is awesome and bringing in an element known as Torchwood, later to be come a spin off in 2006. Rose (Billy Piper) does a smashing job in her final series. Or is it? love that we first hear the Torchwood theme here and an actress that would be come a future companion late in this series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2014
... like mint choc chip ice cream, or fish & chips. The Dr and Rose have a magical formula on screen that makes this such a re-watchable series... again and again and again. Great storylines, including the final two episodes which rank as my all time favourites. Can't recommend this series enough.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2009
I simply cannot say enough about how fantastic this series is. There were a number of absolute gems, but the season finale is special even amoung them. I laughed, I cheered, and I cried. I even cried watching the Audio commentary!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2013
Who doesn't love David Tennant, he is fast, funny and strangely sad. He and Rose are fantastically dynamic and the sad parts are truely sad.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2013
This was a great box set, it's got the pamphlet with episode list, and it's got the discs, and it's in great condition, came in good time
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Doctor Who: The Complete First Series
Doctor Who: The Complete First Series by Christopher Eccleston (DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 49.99

Doctor Who: The Complete Specials
Doctor Who: The Complete Specials by David Morrissey (DVD - 2013)
CDN$ 42.29

Doctor Who: Series 8
Doctor Who: Series 8 by Various (DVD - 2014)
CDN$ 59.99