Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great cartoon classic, one of Disney's best
This wonderful Disney production offers flights of fancy that appeal directly to children's fertile imaginations. The ability to fly, to be a devil-may-care youngster and never grow up, to engage in derring-do with pirates, never having to bother with school, and exploring fantasy worlds of islands, mermaids, Indians and mysterious caves is a powerful magnetic pull for...
Published on June 9 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars HEAR BOBBY DRISCOLL SPEAK FROM BEYOND
"PETER PAN" a Disney favorite from 1953 has been resurrected, remastered and restored for its premier digital transfer. The Technicolor animation is once again pristine and the sound is crystal clear.
Although the animation style is far-removed from the detailed, classic, illustrator style of "Snow White" and "Pinnochio," it is still fluid, with nicely framed...
Published on Feb. 15 2002 by Robin Simmons


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Fine Disney, Dec 16 2002
By 
blue-59 (Blount Springs, Alabama, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Pan (DVD)
Peter Pan may not be as beautifully crafted as Snow White or Pinocchio, and the music may not reach the same heights, but even four-star Disney is pretty darned fine entertainment. Like those earlier masterpieces, Disney's Peter Pan is better than the original (worried that the Disney version is not politically correct?-try Barrie's story and suffer apoplexy). Saw Peter Pan when I was three years old and enjoyed it thoroughly again 37 and now 51 years later. It may not be highly refined, but it's irresistible nonetheless, and miles ahead of anything Disney has made in the past 30 years.
To those who want Disney to edit out the knives and guns, cast the Indians and females in their modern p.c. stereotypes, and give Peter a monologue about saving the environment in Never Land, keep in mind that when the studio got finished pleasing not just you but everybody else with a gripe, there would be nothing left of the movie-or of much else written before the current age of political correctness.
Give me Hamlet and Paradise Lost exactly as they were created. Peter Pan, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fine Disney, Dec 16 2002
By 
blue-59 (Blount Springs, Alabama, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Pan (DVD)
Peter Pan may not be as beautifully crafted as Snow White or Pinocchio, and the music may not reach the same heights, but even four-star Disney is pretty darned fine entertainment. Like those earlier masterpieces, Disney's Peter Pan is better than the original (worried that the Disney version is not politically correct?ï¿try Barrie's story and suffer apoplexy). Saw Peter Pan when I was three years old and enjoyed it thoroughly again 37 and now 51 years later. It may not be highly refined, but it's irresistible nonetheless, and miles ahead of anything Disney has made in the past 30 years.
To those who want Disney to edit out the knives and guns, cast the Indians and females in their modern p.c. stereotypes, and give Peter a monologue about saving the environment in Never Land, keep in mind that when the studio got finished pleasing not just you but everybody else with a gripe, there would be nothing left of the movieï¿or of much else written before the current age of political correctness.
Give me Hamlet and Paradise Lost exactly as they were created. Peter Pan, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You'll (almost) believe you can fly, Nov. 11 2002
This review is from: Peter Pan (VHS Tape)
Of all Walt Disney's animated films, "Peter Pan" is my personal favorite. This classic tale of the little boy who never grew up has Disney stamped all over it. It also varies refreshingly from the versions that preceded it. In previous plays acted on the stage, Peter Pan was always played by a young woman, but in the Disney version he is all boy. He's brash, mischievous, more than a little cocksure of himself, able to fight and defeat a grown pirate captain, and on top of all this, he can fly. What else is needed for a children's hero? Tinker Bell is one of Disney's best inventions. On the stage she is a blob of light flitting here and there; only in animation could she be realized as a real pixie, vain, conceited, totally devoted to Peter and madly jealous of Wendy. The three children, Wendy, John and Michael, are very well done in the movie, and the opening family scenes are priceless. When Peter and Tinkerbell sneak through the children's window, and zoom back out again with the children in tow, we want to sprinkle on some pixie dust and fly right out there with them. Second star to the right, here we come. The scenes at Neverland are funny and original, and the pirates are a riot. One of Disney's most hilarious, and underrated, characters in all his films, is the crocodile, Hook's nemesis, who can't wait to get another chomp out of him. (Poor Hook is reduced to a bundle of shattered nerves every time he hears that tick-tock, tick-tock coming towards his ship.) The only negative in this film is the scene in the Indian village; the stereotypes that were accepted without question in the 1950s are almost embarrassing now. However, it can't and doesn't detract from the fun. The songs are okay, nut nothing special; it's the action and animation that make this movie. Of all Disney's animated films, "Peter Pan" was the one I used to wish was real when I was a child. Maybe there is a little of Peter Pan in all of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Held my 4-year old's attention!!, May 8 2002
This review is from: Peter Pan (DVD)
When I was a little tyke of 3, my mother took me to a drive-in theater in Los Angeles to see Disney's Peter Pan. Although I had a three-year old's attention span, Mom said I was fascinated by the music and visuals.
I debated buying one of Disney's newer movies like Atlantis, or The Emperor's New Groove, but when I saw the Special Edition of Peter Pan, my decision was made easier.
My 4-year old boy immediately tried prying the shrink-wrap off of the DVD after it arrived at our home. He had seen all of the trailers for Return to Neverland, so he recognized Peter Pan right away!
My son was captivated by this wonderful classic. What's not to like about it? Great songs ("You Can Fly", and the mildly annoying "Following the Leader"), characters to whom he could relate (John and Michael, plus the Lost Boys), magic, fairies, mermaids, and pirates -- what else could a boy ask for? My son actually sat still for the ENTIRE movie. This was an all time first!
Parts of this movie would never have made it out of the editing room in today's hyper-sensitive and politically correct environment. The segments with the Indians portrays them with a classic stereotype that comes across as mildly offensive and uncomfortable today. After all, I don't think Native Americans use words like "ugh" and "how." Plus, the references to them as "red men" would make many people cringe today.
An earlier reviewer mentioned that his daughter did not like Peter Pan. That does not surprise me. Women are painted with broad stereotypes in this movie, from jealousy and fickleness, to being helpless. This is a movie that will definitely appeal to boys, but may leave the little girls longing for Mulan or The Little Mermaid. Parents may want to consider this.
In spite of these shortcomings, this DVD has launched itself to the top of our play list at home, along with Iron Giant and Titan AE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars favorite disney film gets a deccent dvd release, Feb. 17 2002
By 
Emma Mitchell (Hye, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Pan (DVD)
Peter Pan has always been my favorite anmaited disney film I knew many people say there favorites are lady and the Tramp or The Lion King but Peter Pan has always had a special place in my heart. The limited edtion dvd release was bare bones with nothing but the trailer which is missing from this release. The new release greatly improves on the first with a great transferI mean the Godfather Trilogy was awful but this is just like the reccent Snow White and Dumbo releases. Features are good, but not up to par with Snow White i guess we will only get one release a year as comperhenisve as that one looks like it will be Beauty and The Beast in october.The features include too short features a orginal making of peter pan that is 12 minutes long that was also feautred on the vhs release four years ago another featurette that is 16 minutes and a little more informative then the first one. A sing along following the leader,a nice storybook hosted by wendy,A peter Pan interactive Treasure Hunt game and a still gallery of 63 rare storyboards, concept art and drawings.Bottom line if you love this movie as much as I do buy this version, But let's hope disney puts a two disc collectors edtion out one day it would be whorth 50 bucks to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars HEAR BOBBY DRISCOLL SPEAK FROM BEYOND, Feb. 15 2002
By 
Robin Simmons (Palm Springs area, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Pan (DVD)
"PETER PAN" a Disney favorite from 1953 has been resurrected, remastered and restored for its premier digital transfer. The Technicolor animation is once again pristine and the sound is crystal clear.
Although the animation style is far-removed from the detailed, classic, illustrator style of "Snow White" and "Pinnochio," it is still fluid, with nicely framed compositions that have a rougher, more spontaneous, almost sketchy look that ushered in a modernistic wave of Disney animation.
The bonus material is significant, especially the fabulous commentary track hosted by Roy Disney (Walt's nephew) and the making-of documentary with always affable and informed Leonard Maltin and old time animators Frank Thomas and Ollie Johnson and the voice of Wendy, Kathryn Beaumont. There's a preview of the new big screen feature "Return to Neverland" among other extras.
There's a notorious element to this movie in the haunting presence of the late, brilliant and beautiful child star Bobby Driscoll (the voice of Peter Pan). He was discovered dead of a drug overdose in a condemned New York tenement in 1968 and buried in a pauper's grave. More than a year later he was finally identified through fingerprints. "Peter Pan" is a fitting tribute to Driscoll's remarkable, natural, talents. And the genius of Walt Disney in visualizing the darker elements barely, if even, hinted at in the original fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PETER PAN: This 14th Disney Masterpiece Never Grows Old!!, Jan. 3 2002
This review is from: Peter Pan (DVD)
Disney's "Peter Pan" is one of their most enchantingly delightful animated features, telling the story of how Peter Pan whisked Wendy, John, and Michael off to his home in Never Land for a magical adventure none of them would ever forget fighting Captin Hook and his ruthless band of pirates.
Although the original 1999 "Limited Issue" DVD lacked bonus features (with the only one being the option to watch the movie in French), fans of the film have been rewarded for waiting with this Special Edition. The movie looks better then it did on any previous release, and that's reason enough to buy this masterpiece. But the extra features -- oh! True, this disc pales in comparison to the Platinum Edition release of "Snow White" (unfortunately "Peter Pan" is NOT one of the nine other Platinum Editions to be issued over the next decade) but for one disc I'd say they did a pretty nice job. "You Can Fly: The Making of Peter Pan" was also provided on the 1998 45th Anniversary Limited Edition VHS, but it's worthy of another watch. After seeing the movie again, start with that, and then see the wonderful 13-minute 1952 promotional featurette "The Peter Pan Story." They're even more exellent when viewed together.
Next, head back to the movie, but turn on the audio commentary this time. Hosted by Roy E. Disney, it provides some really amazing information on the film I never knew before. Other commentators include Walt Disney himself (pieced together from old interviews, etc.), some of his Nine Old Men, other vetran animators, Kathryn Beaumont (who provided Wendy's voice in the feature), and of course noted film critic Lenoard Multin, among others. Next, take a few minutes to examine the vast visiual gallery. Wonderful stuff in there for fans and casuial viewers alike.
The bonuses aimed at kids are worth a look too. The best by far was the "Following the Leader" sing-along, although it looked a bit dull (not being taken from the newly restored version of the film, but an older one), and the Pirate Treasure Hunt game was fun, if too easy. The DVD storybook was AWFUL, though, attempting to create a new story out of the animation that was already created for the original movie. If that sounds confusing, don't worry, don't bother with the feature. Another note: Why couldn't they have put a "You Can Fly" sing along on the disc as well? There was a Sing Along videotape devoted to that one as the title tune, so a version does exsist. I'dve much prefered it over "Following the Leader," but really would've liked both. Oh well.
Lastly, there's a new trailer for "Return to Never Land" (NOT either of the theatrical ones; this one has some really great new footage) that's worth a look before you go see the movie. And if you buy this before March 31, your child will get in free -- as an extra bonus, there's one free child's admission movie ticket for "Return" inside every Special Edition DVD and video.
In addition to all this, new trailers show that among others "Beauty and the Beast" and "The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh" will make it to DVD this year (finally) in October for the former and May for the latter. Great news, I think. Plus there's a really cute Disney TV spot called "Magic Happens" on the second menu of trailers.
All in all, this is a wonderful DVD -- much better then the Limited Issue edition -- and I'm glad to own it. Something you shouldn't miss! ***** (5/5)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fun, if dated, film with no dvd extras, Dec 27 2001
By 
audrey (white mtns) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Peter Pan (Limited Issue) (DVD)
The Disney people were awfully talented, but they sure weren't leading the political correctness parade! There are definitely some egregious sexist plot devices and racially insulting utterings here that make this film seem dated, but it is difficult not to enjoy the great plot, wonderful songs and excellent direction. Captain Hook is a colorful villain, Tinkerbell rocks, and some of the scenes just take your breath away -- flying over London on the way to Neverland and our first sight of the island, for example.
The dvd edition is disappointing. You can listen to the film in English or French, and that is about it -- no subtitles, no storyboards, no voiceover, no extras at all. For the price, you might want to buy the VHS edition instead. I believe there is a new dvd edition with extras and that may be more worthwhile. This would be a less expensive alternative if you just want a copy for kids' viewing, perhaps. If watching with children, you should also be prepared to discuss why we don't use the terms 'redskins' and 'injuns' anymore.
Recommended with reservations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitive, Classic Disney, Best of the Best!, Nov. 3 2001
By 
Schuyler V. Johnson (Lake Worth, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Peter Pan (VHS Tape)
From the first time I saw this feature back in the '50s, I have loved it most of all...there is so much here that is reminiscent of the Golden Times of childhood, what a special time it is and how fleeting...the idea that one can choose not to grow up at all, but live as a perennial child in a place of beauty, some danger, although not real danger, just enough to keep things interesting, and adventures and wonderful spots throughout the island to visit, is a universally appealing one. The music is perfectly suited to this vision of Halcyon days gone by, from the favorite "I Can Fly" to "The Pirate Song" to "What Makes the Red Man Red" to the Lullaby that Wendy sings to the Lost Boys, it's just wonderfully evocative and captures the mood of each moment perfectly.
The opening shot that slowly zooms in to the Darling house is fabulous, as is the extraordinary detail of the house itself; I notice something different every time I see it. The animators built an exact miniature of the house down to the smallest detail and fixtures, etc, to aid them in their drawing, and this attention to detail and quality are very apparent throughout.
The voices, from Bobby Driscoll as Peter to Kathryn Beaumont as Wendy are wonderfully voiced, very believable without being cloying or self conscious, real kids having real adventures.
The colors are so various and rich it stuns the eye, as does the shot of the Island of Never Never Land, the first time we see it, from high above, the Pirate Ship anchored in the harbor, Mermaid Lagoon, the Indian Camp, etc, it is SO beautiful and amazing that they (the animators) were so astute in their picture of a child's fantasy, their own island of adventures. The interaction between Captain Hook and the Crocodile is very funny, as is the byplay with Hook and Smee, the bumbling, endearing servant to the Captain. Tinker Bell is great as the jealous, somewhat snippy fairy who accompanies Pan wherever he goes and displays loyalty of the first order, being willing to sacrifice her life for his.
I also love the animal outfits worn with great joy by the Lost Boys, who are a fascinating group in their own right. Despite all the fun and adventure, the Darling children opt to return to their own home and Pan obliges them in yet another visually stunning scene when Tinkerbell transforms the Pirate Ship into a thing of beauty by showering it completely with golden fairy dust.
When they have been safely deposited back into their room, the Darlings return from their party just in time to see Peter sailing across the night sky in the wonderful Pirate Ship, which travels across the Moon on a sea of clouds...Wendy, Mr. and Mrs. Darling watch from the Nursery window, and we leave them there, a family, happy and united in their wonderment, the adults and the child, together in their memories of a wonderful chapter of Youth Eternal, as all remember their own experiences with Peter Pan, the boy of Youth and Joy forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Disney film, Nov. 2 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Peter Pan (VHS Tape)
"Peter Pan" still retains its charm, wit and heart expressed in its animation, which has been cleaned up quite a bit, while faithfully following Barbie's book. It's probably the film that spawned the adventurous 1991 "Hook," but this animated feature is far better than "Hook."
"Peter Pan" is when two English parents leave for a party, leaving behind the nursemaid dog Nana and their three children, Wendy, Michael, and John behind. Not long after their parents have left, Peter Pan and his tiny accomplice Tinker Bell crash in, looking for Peter's shadow, spawning the entertaining, funny, and charming results, leading to a fluffernutter happy ending.
What this is one of Disney's latter classics that remains one of my favorite Disney classics, among the handsomely made "Sleeping Beauty" that wins you over with its captivating animation and the lush classical music, while "Bambi" wins you over with heart and good nature. But "Peter Pan" wins you over with heart, humor and just the right amount of magic.
The special edition VHS and DVD come with a free movie ticket to see the sequel "Return to Neverland" and it comes fully restored to its original brilliance, which makes it all the more enjoyable to see and hear this delightful Disney feature. Perfect for anyone looking for 77 minutes to spare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peter Pan (Two-Disc Platinum Edition)
Peter Pan (Two-Disc Platinum Edition) by Wilfred Jackson (DVD - 2007)
CDN$ 36.99 CDN$ 23.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews