Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars That's one ladies night out I don't want to be in
"The Descent" is a good movie in almost every way. The tension and claustrophobia of being trapped in an unknown cave system is palpable. The previous movie of Neil Marshall was, in essence, a black comedy. There is none in here. Everything is horrifying, terrifying, thrilling and scary. Six girls trapped underground and a common enemy. This film brought two things to...
Published on June 24 2007 by Jenny J.J.I.

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kill them all and put us out of our misery!
After 20 minutes of watching a bunch of stupid chicks in a cave... being stupid, I was cheering for the cave monsters. Save your money.
Published 21 months ago by Kenneth J. Hickey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars That's one ladies night out I don't want to be in, June 24 2007
By 
Jenny J.J.I. "A New Yorker" (That Lives in Carolinas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
"The Descent" is a good movie in almost every way. The tension and claustrophobia of being trapped in an unknown cave system is palpable. The previous movie of Neil Marshall was, in essence, a black comedy. There is none in here. Everything is horrifying, terrifying, thrilling and scary. Six girls trapped underground and a common enemy. This film brought two things to mind while I was watching it, Aliens and the Thing, these two movies set the bar when it comes to atmosphere, and this above all others is key to a good horror film. Neil Marshall seems to be a master of this, in an era when great horror films are tough to come by. From the very beginning this movie grabs you by your collar and doesn't let go. It seems to place right in the mix of everything that is happening, and emotion, what was the last horror film anyone has seen that had emotional attachment to its characters.

The gore comes pretty hot and heavy in the second half of the film, and the ending of the film is appropriately surprising and bleak, without being corny. Another big plus in my book is that the "creature" FX aren't over-the-top and don't rely on much, if any CGI. When I first heard that "The Descent" was a "creature" film, I was kind of worried because I feel that those types of films have gone severely down-hill with the advent of the over-use of CGI...but this film doesn't fall into that category. Some of the acting isn't the greatest but it doesn't really detract from the film overall, and some seem to think that the first half of the film is slow. Personally, I think that the early sequences in the caves are a great "tension-builder" as things go from bad-to-worse, and right when you think it can't go any lower, the audience is clued in to the existence of the other "inhabitants" of the caves and all hell breaks loose. "The Descent" is a pretty good horror film and shouldn't be ignored.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a veritable masterpiece, Oct. 8 2006
By 
falcon "disdressed12" (canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
neil marshal's The descent" is a great movie.the outline is as follows.six girlfriends go caving only to find out they are not alone in the cave.what follows is a fast paced adrenaline fueled thrill ride that grabs you by the throat and won't let go.there are many scary moments in the film.there is a nice buildup of suspense before the creatures are revealed, and once they are, they are terrifying.the acting is good and there characters are well developed in the early stages of the film(before the caving scenes).you may be out of breath before this one ends.if you get scared easy, you may want to watch this movie with someone or you might not get through it,as it is intense.i liked the twist ending, which sets up nicely for a sequal.i saw the britsh version, in which the ending apparrently differs from the north american.i can't wait to check out the north american version to compare.you have to check out this movie. 5* out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Horror Movie, Jan. 5 2007
By 
Kelly Russell "Horror Fan" (Regina, SK Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you like scary movies, see this one. I am a huge fan of horror movies and this movie REALLY scared me. Watch it in the dark with no interuptions and you'll get the full effect. The real action doesn't begin until about halfway through the movie, but that doesn't mean it isn't suspenseful. And when the real action does begin, it's WELL worth the wait. I rented this movie and watched it twice and am now buying it. Just my opinion of course, but definitely one of my most favs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IT WILL SCARE...try it...imagine it..., Jan. 1 2007
By 
Anthony Chiu (Vancouver, CANADA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
All I can say is...WOW. The creatures themselves are creepy enough to freak the heck out of ya... you don't really want to miss this. One of the best horror films out there, really... I don't think I'd want to go caving again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars it is a xmas present, Sept. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It will be good it was on my friends wish list. The dvd is in great shape.... Fast shipping Excellant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A horror film actually about something, April 22 2013
The Descent is a smart and interesting film, more about about character and story than endless gore of jump scares. It's a film that's not only great to watch but is notable better a second time through, being less about scaring the viewer (which it will still likely do) than telling a story. It's about the about what it takes to ultimately destroy our self control and learned civility. And it's about what we find in ourselves when civilization is truly gone.

The plot of that of a group of lady friend going cave diving a year after one member lost her husband and daughter in a terrible car accident. The one leading the group decides to 'make it interesting' and things go south and they become trapped. That's when things start to go really bad. Not to spoil too much, things get bloody eventually and that former wife and mother is pushed back so unbearably far as to truly awaken a deeper, fight or flight part of herself.

What makes the film so excellent is how well all the characters are written and how simple, true and honestly all the motivations are and how decisions ring true. This is a realer, smarter group of people than are featured in most horror films. It's a group of real people in a terrible situation. And the best part is it all serves the main story about the main characters inability to recover from the accident and what it's done to her life. She's been running from what happened up until these friends come back together and as they go deeper into the cave system she's forced to come to terms with what happened.

It's a really great film that knows it's strengths and works within a small scope. It uses sparse but brutal violence to help tell it's story rather than be weighed down with non stop gore and tired genre conventions. It would never have won an oscar, but it's a great one to see.

For context, some of my favorite films:
The Limey, Lost in Translation, Solaris, The Bourne Supremacy, The Matrix, Solaris (2002), Kung Fu Hustle, In Bruges
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Descent (2006) [Blu-ray], Dec 4 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Descent (Original Unrated Cut) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you like horror and suspense films this one is really good, its also a bit messed up but really good i gve this movie a 4 out of 5 stars. Must buy and to your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Acclaim From A Horror Newbie, Oct. 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am not a fan of horror movies, but managed to enjoy the twists in this one, even though one person I talked to who had seen the movie found them predictable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are u afraid of the dark???, March 23 2007
By 
Suds (Guelph, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
This movie rocks...I have watched 'Dog Soldiers' from the same director and really enjoyed it. So, I knew this one wouldn't be disappointing. After watching, it is one of my top horror movies of all time. The movie does have a morbid ending and that what makes it different from the rest. Over time this movie will gain a cult following....if not already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, Nov. 21 2014
By 
Louise Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
good scary descent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Descent (Original Unrated Cut) [Blu-ray]
The Descent (Original Unrated Cut) [Blu-ray] by Neil Marshall (Blu-ray - 2007)
CDN$ 19.95 CDN$ 8.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews