Customer Reviews


141 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not quite up to the standard of "The Mummy" films,but still rates pretty high
this film is a prequel to both of "The Mummy"films and stars "The
Rock"(Dwayne Johnson)in the title role.i don't think this film measures
up to either of the two "Mummy" films,but it's still pretty good.the
fight scenes are quite good,there is some humour,tons of action and
good acting.The Rock actually impressed me with his acting ability.he...
Published on Aug. 22 2007 by falcon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Action figures on a generic quest
There's no single thing about this movie that ruins it, it's everything put together. One never gets the feeling that they're anywhere but on a Hollywood set - you're not transported back in time to an exotic, lawless time. The characters have no depth at all - instead of a feared assasin, The Rock comes off as a really nice guy, good with children, wouldn't hurt a fly...
Published on April 3 2004


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Action figures on a generic quest, April 3 2004
By A Customer
There's no single thing about this movie that ruins it, it's everything put together. One never gets the feeling that they're anywhere but on a Hollywood set - you're not transported back in time to an exotic, lawless time. The characters have no depth at all - instead of a feared assasin, The Rock comes off as a really nice guy, good with children, wouldn't hurt a fly. Forced to do battle, but he certainly wouldn't otherwise. And the whole thing is just so silly and cheesy. There's a comic relief character, but there's absolutely no need for him as there's nothing to "relieve" us from - the whole movie is little more than comic relief. It's just so unrealistic - it's obviously made for "the whole family", but that just points out it's major flaw - making a movie set in a time where people hacked each other up with swords to settle disputes, but do it in a way that the kiddies will be able to watch and think it's fun. It comes off as extremely watered down. As if it's a pilot for a Saturday morning cartoon or something.
Needless to say, you don't care about any of these generic Hollywood do-gooders, and there's never any doubt that they'll all come out okay in the end. Even the action sequences leave you with the feeling that that you're watching the World Wrestling Federation, where one guy might lose the fight, but he'll be back in the next episode good as new. It's not like anyone's getting gruesomely dismembered like in a real barbarian movie.
Basically, if you want to see an adventure movie, but it has to be something the kids can watch as well, you might get stuck with this. If you're looking for a real, involving adventure, get something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not quite up to the standard of "The Mummy" films,but still rates pretty high, Aug. 22 2007
this film is a prequel to both of "The Mummy"films and stars "The
Rock"(Dwayne Johnson)in the title role.i don't think this film measures
up to either of the two "Mummy" films,but it's still pretty good.the
fight scenes are quite good,there is some humour,tons of action and
good acting.The Rock actually impressed me with his acting ability.he
showed a lot of potential in this film and didn't stink up the
theatre,as i thought he would.this movie doesn't have a lot to do with
the previous entries.the story is quite a bit different.there is a lot
more mysticism and romance and none of the main characters from the
first two have returned for this movie.this is really The Rock's
movie,and he has to carry it.he does a pretty good job for his first
big starring feature.though not as good as the two "Mummy" films,it
still rates high in my book.for me,"The Scorpion King"is a solid 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sword - Action movie., March 29 2004
By 
JediMack (VALRICO, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Waste of time?! Not! That was the opinion of one reviewer and I disagree. This is a fun ancient-times action - sword movie. Born of the MUMMY duology, the Rock delivers a strong performance in his fight against a powerful, well crafted opponent. This movie is to much fun to be a waste of time. As my 8 year old son always, there are two things that make a movie great: Swords. Sword Fighting. there you go! This movie is also reasonably family friendly, as we don't recall any Spurting blood, nudity or simulated sex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Moose Hole - 'King' Shows Strength but Faulters, March 6 2004
Here's a real brain teaser for you: The Scorpion King is the prequel to the sequel to the remake of The Mummy. Confused yet? Let's hope not but if so then let's break it down for you. The Scorpion King is the new star vehicle for former WWE star Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson. The Rock played a small role in The Mummy Returns, which was a sequel to The Mummy. The Mummy was a remake of the original mummy movie series from the 1950's. Got it? With that cleared up, a new question of why they would make a spin-off to The Rock's character emerges. The Rock has become a very popular "actor" in recent years, coming a far way from his early years in the wrestling ring, and Universal Pictures believe a good mint could be made off that popularity. If Dwayne Johnson plays his cards correctly, he could be the next Bruce Willis, Sly Stallone, or even Arnold Schwarzenegger of action films.
The story centers on a leader of a band of assassins, who is hired to kill an important royal figure but gets more in this job then anybody bargained for. Mathayus, the last of a fleeting group of assassins, is hired by the leaders of rebel tribes to kill a sorcerer they believe their enemy is using to help him conquer the lands of Egypt. He accepts the job and arrives in the city of Gomorrah but when he realizes that the sorcerer is a beautiful woman, plans change quickly. He chooses to kidnap her instead of an assassination thus forcing the evil tyrant to bring everything he's got into a final confrontation between the remaining rebel tribes and ruling forces. Stephen Sommer was the director of the previous Mummy films but choose not to direct this spin-off feature and the pacing of this film showcases that. Though critics hammered The Mummy films for being hookie and cheesy, they never said once that they were not consistent. This is a problem that The Scorpion King never seems to solve as moments of romance and hilarity seem forced compared to the non-stop action sequences that work so well.
The relatively small cast for The Scorpion King can only be described at meeting some expectations but not exceeding them if they some members even get to that level. This is the first major leading role for Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson and surely won't be his last, at least based on the action sequences. The role of Mathayus (aka The Scorpion King) seems specifically designed for the former wrestler as he fits extremely well into the character though there aren't many well designed sequences to showcase his true acting chops. But then again, do you really expect those kinds of sequences in action flicks? Kelly Hu, who plays Cassandra, seems, at times, too confined into the typical woman role in action films but does get involved in some of the fight sequences, which is a welcomed change in Hollywood today. The remainder of the cast worked well together but not great.
Overall, The Scorpion King, with its flashes of skin and heavy metal music, will no doubt satisfy the hardcore action freaks but will leave others starving. Unlike the previous Mummy films, The Scorpion King suffers in the story department as the story seems too caught up with the action sequences to makes the rest of the film as consistent. The film will no doubt bring out fans of action flicks as well as fans of The Rock and they will get everything they are looking for. But women and those who care more about the story then the action may find it on the bland side of things. If you are looking for a decent feature to start off your summer then hold your money for Spider-Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, Feb. 15 2004
By 
Topher (SLC, UT, USA) - See all my reviews
I'm a pretty big fan of the Mummy Movies, so when I heard this was comming out I was soo excited!
The whole storyboard in this movie is really good, and the acting is pretty good, but not great.
Still a great prologue to the Mummy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A Waste of Time, Jan. 13 2004
By 
Dave Capo "nighthawk86" (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
There is only one word to describe "The Scorpion King": ridiculous. Everything about this movie is just plain goofy. This is nothing more than a vehicle for Dwayne Johnson, better known as The Rock. The Rock does what he can in his given role, which has him playing a sort of superhuman hitman of an ancient tribe. But that "role" is limited. It consists of nothing more than swinging his biceps around, looking tough, and making the babes go crazy over him. The script of the movie is very amatuerish and so is the acting. Basically, this is just a typical action movie that puts the brawn and bold heroics over the story and the characters. I suppose this could have been a decent made-for-TV movie but they brought it to the big screen instead and made people pay to see it and I'm sure most viewers were disappointed that they didn't get their money's worth. If you have to buy "The Scorpion King", I'd recommend getting the DVD. It has plenty of bonus material (very surprising for a low-grade movie) which makes it worth the price. But take my advice: avoid this dud and save your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly and pleasantly entertaining, Oct. 15 2003
By 
One is often dubious when a star of some other profession leverages their popularity to enter the acting field. Legion are the failures, and few (though sometimes spectacular) the successes. I did not see this one in theaters, and indeed wouldn't have seen it at all if a friend of mine had not insisted.
I was wrong to avoid it. The Rock certainly demonstrates more range of acting ability than Schwarzenegger did in HIS early career, a comparison both apt and inevitable as there's more than coincidental similarity between the Scorpion King and Conan the Barbarian. The main villain is also interesting -- strongly, in fact, reminiscent of Russell Crowe's Maximus gone bad, a smart and resourceful warrior who may not have the sheer physical strength of someone like the Rock but whose speed and skill far outmatch virtually any opponent.
I don't know how much influence the Rock had over the production, but they avoided one of the major pitfalls of movies of this sort: making the star-vehicle hero TOO good. The "Scorpion King" is tough, yes, good at what he does, yes, but his victories are often hard-fought. They also avoid too much humor without becoming grim. All in all, a well-balanced, fun action movie. Not great cinema, but a lot better than I would have thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars this movie would not receive any awards, Oct. 12 2003
By 
E. B. Williams "youth minister" (chattanooga, tn United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
as i said this movie would not receive any awards,but it gives a decent beginning to the mummy series....the rock is not a profound actor,(not yet),but everyone has to start somewhere.this does not compare to the other mummy movies it was the wwf that produced it,but i enjoyed the performaces by the various actors though not written well they certainly did there best,with a limited script,the action was enjoyable(basic),from the start to the finish.as a three parter you should go ahead and get this to complete your collection(godfather 3,aliens).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Synergy, Sept. 28 2003
By 
Geoffrey F. Beneze "geoffbeneze" (Tempe, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The enjoyment level of this movie is out of proportion to the pieces. Our kids love the movie, and I've watched it many times with them. The story isn't new, the acting isn't that great, but the overall story jells very nicely.
I've also had to play the Godsmack (music) video many, many times at top volume. Having grown up in the Jimi Hendrix era, I'm surprised to find such appeal in this "modern" music (G).
All in all, a very enjoyable movie that gives more value than one would have the right to expect. I'll be watching to see what kinds of movies Dwayne Johnson makes in the future. While no great shakes as an actor, he has a good visual and a pleasing personna.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Between The Rock and a Hard Place, Sept. 16 2003
By 
Erin (Vajta, Hungary) - See all my reviews
It is clear from the opening scene that Scorpion King aspires to be little more than a historic version of WWE Smackdown. The plot centers around Mathayus (played by The Rock), an impeccably chiseled Armenian warrior, and Memnon, a warlord slowly conquering the land. Memnon holds prisoner what every sinister ruler needs, a sorceress. With the ability to predict the future, she serves as the main source of his power, also fulfilling the action flick quota of one scantily-clad maiden in distress, making her first appearance in a weird cape and the number one apparel choice for women in 3200 BC: the halter top.

Mathayus swears revenge on Memnon because, why else, he killed his brother, and spends most of the movie falling in love with the sorceress and body slamming everyone else. Along the way he decides his second purpose is to free and unite and nomadic tribes, keeping some shred of historical value in the story.

Teaming up with a tribal king and his band of Amazon warriors, the plot culminates as Mathayus finally comes up against his nemesis in a battle to the death. And if you were thinking that because of the ancient setting you would be free of the typical fiery pyrotechnics ending, you were wrong. Yes, gunpowder was actually invented before the pyramids.
Despite a lacking script and ridiculous plot, the film has decent action and special effects. The Rock actually comes off well onscreen and his bantering lines with the comic relief character make it mildly amusing. Basically though, the main draw is watching The Rock kick butt. Did we really expect more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xed9dfcc)

This product

The Scorpion King [HD DVD]
The Scorpion King [HD DVD] by Chuck Russell (HD DVD - 2006)
CDN$ 44.95 CDN$ 14.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews