Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable!!
Listened to it in my car on the way home and my response was wow! Got home and put it on my soundsystem in the office and went WOW! Put the dvd disc on DTS in the home theatre and my jaw dropped. You cannot imagine how unbelievably incredible this disc is. George Martin and son have created a masterpiece. One can only hope that when the Beatles catalogue is released...
Published on Nov. 23 2006 by northbayer

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beatles, Love
Actually purchased this item as I thought that Cirque du Soleil would be performing along with the Beatles songs. Was very disappointed. Loved the songs, but was expecting more.
Published on Feb. 17 2009 by Hilda Cusson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable!!, Nov. 23 2006
By 
northbayer (north bay, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Listened to it in my car on the way home and my response was wow! Got home and put it on my soundsystem in the office and went WOW! Put the dvd disc on DTS in the home theatre and my jaw dropped. You cannot imagine how unbelievably incredible this disc is. George Martin and son have created a masterpiece. One can only hope that when the Beatles catalogue is released remastered they are given the same technological detail. The beatles have never been heard like this.

I won't comment on the remix, other than to say it is not gimmicky...congrats to George and Giles Martin!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beatles' extravaganza is a magical mystery tour...., Dec 10 2006
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
Of all the possible posthumous incarnations for the Beatles, here's one of the most unlikely - as soundtrack to a Las Vegas circus.

It isn't any old circus, admittedly, but Canada's arty, super-acrobatic Cirque du Soleil, whose current Las Vegas show, "Love", is modelled on the story of the Beatles and characters from their songs: "Eleanor Rigby", "Sergeant Pepper" et al.

More importantly, "Love-the-show" - the result of George Harrison's friendship with Cirque founder Guy Laliberte - involved producer George Martin disinterring the group's master tapes from the Abbey Road vault for he and his son Giles to remix and remodel.

The results blast "Love" audiences from a state-of-the-art surround-sound system that includes speakers in individuual seats.

And the first thing "Love-the-album" does, at least in its DVD surround-sound format, is to blow you away with sheer sonic wizardry. Set to a noisy dawn chorus, complete with fluttering wings, the three-part vocal harmonies of 'Because' arrive with the clarity of an ice blue sky. The chugging introduction to 'Get Back' hurtles out of the mix like a train. The pumping fairground organs of 'Mr Kite' reek of steam and sawdust. Hearing many of the familiar tracks is like viewing an old masterpiece after cleaning: the light is brighter, the shadows deeper. Here, the trebles tingle while the bass end booms.

Some of this is painstaking technical restoration. After the Beatles swapped touring for the studio, they and Martin became experts at squeezing a quart of sound into a pint pot, extending the limits of four- and eight-track recordings by 'bouncing down' tracks.

Today's technology has let the Martins reverse the process, giving instruments and voices more autonomy. Ever notice the pizzicato violins on the middle 8 of 'Something'? You will now.

The ambitions of "Love" go beyond renovation, however. Its 26 tracks are set in an ambient flow of sound collages distilled from hours of Beatles tapes and containing fragments and echoes of 130 songs in all. Frequently the effect is ghostly, as the stalking strings of 'Glass Onion' and a snatch of 'Nowhere Man' drift like ectoplasm down a corridor. 'I Want to Hold Your Hand' - one of the few numbers from the moptop days - surfaces from a scratchy haze of screaming.

The most ambitious songs emerge most improved. There is not, after all, much to be done with the rock'n'roll retro of 'Lady Madonna', whereas 'Strawberry Fields' and 'I am the Walrus' sound more than ever like avant-garde masterpieces. Harrison's 'While My Guitar Gently Weeps' (the slower version from Anthology 3) is given a sumptuous string setting by Sir George.

Throughout, the McCartney/Starr rhythm section has never sounded so heavy, or the group's vocal harmonies so sharp and affecting.

"Love" vindicates the Beatles' status as master musicians and conceptualists. Not only for the spirit of optimism they embodied but artistically, they remain the act to beat. On this evidence, no one else comes close.

My favourite track is 'Here Comes the Sun/The Inner Light'.

Neil Spencer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles are wonderful in 5.1, June 21 2013
By 
Hector Hislop (Melbourne, Aust.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As much as I don't entirely like the idea of it using mash ups of Beatle songs. This is an excellent way to hear The Beatles in 5.1. DVD-Audio 5.1 is of course superior to the accompanying 5.1 audio in DTS and Dolby in the DVD-Video section of the disk. I am very sad that DVD-Audio is a disappearing format. It is superior in every way to CDs. Players are difficult to get as they always have been. This DVD includes 5.1 mixes of a number of Beatle songs including I Am The Walrus, Help, Strawberry Fields Forever and others. There are many more songs that come in and out of the music in bits. I don't recommend the CD version of this album though. It sounds messy. 5.1 is necessary to appreciate the aim of this type of mixing. I have a DVD-Audio player on a computer with 5.1 speakers. For those who do not have at all a DVD-Audio player, it can be achieved on almost any computer. Get the program Foobar 2000, which plays DVD-Audio files (AOB files) from any DVD drive. Use a program to get the files onto your computer if necessary. Be warned if you depend on HDCP to play DVD-Audio. The new standard has DVD-Audio playing at 16 bits instead of its original 24 bits, according to what I have read. So avoid HDCP. Use an analog output not HDMI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular product!, April 27 2011
By 
Erika G. Lopes "guelphseller" (Guelph, ON, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Spectacular product! This is the complete audio of the incredible LOVE show by Cirque. The audio quality is unbelievable. I wasn't sure what to expect when I purchased it, the information was not complete anywhere. In case you have the same doubts: it comes in a very nice package that contains a cd and also a DVD, so you can play it on a DVD player with surround system. Both have all 26 sound tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fresh take on some of the best music ever, July 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love (Ltd.Ed) (Vinyl) (LP Record)
Some call this album blasphemy but I really like the way they took some of the individual elements and mashed them together into an interesting and different whole. The naked 'Because' opener is stunning, especially on vinyl, with the silence sort of blended in with the gentle analog noise (and the dog hair on my turntable). The continuous mix of the tracks is quite compelling and I have trouble turning it off short of listening to the whole thing. Very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beatles 'Love', Dec 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An excellent compilation and a compliment to the show. My kids (young teenagers) 'discovered' the Beatles through this album. Way cheaper than buying it in Vegas too!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles......................., Sept. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
What can you say but - excellent! I only wish I'd seen the "Cirque du Soleil" show. I have the vinyl and now the CD and DVD Audio version which is truly amazing in "Surround"! Buy it before it's gone!
Greg B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars REFRESHING, June 19 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
Let's face it, not all Beatles tracks are for the dinner table, this well blended composition is enjoyable for your digestion...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The quality of the DVD-A is amazing., June 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Worth the money. My guitar gently weeps, sounds like Paul McCartney is in the room with you. Must but for any one with a DVD-A.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A musical landslide of Beatleology., Dec 10 2006
By 
Dhruv (Middlebury, VT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love (Audio CD)
Along with the Amazonian rainforest, there can be few natural resources which have been ransacked like the Beatles back catalogue. Anthologised, lobotomised, and generally pillaged in the pursuit of commercial gain, public demand appeared to have finally exhausted itself with the middling response to 2003's unfortunately titled "Let It Be... Naked".

Until now. Prompted by a long-term friendship between George Harrison and Cirque De Soleil's founder Guy Laliberté, and given the blessing of the Axis Powers (Paul, Ringo and Yoko), Love is the latest addition to that bulging catalogue.

Essentially the soundtrack to the Cirque show launched in Las Vegas last July, "Love" is a jaw-dropping 80- minute mash-up of The Beatles' more accessible tunes, slavishly compiled by Giles Martin and overseen by father George, all delivered in sumptuous 5.1 surround sound.

Those fearing a train-wreck along the lines of Twin Freaks - The Freelance Hellraiser's remix assault on the Wings back catalogue - can rest easy.

Starting off with "Because", it segues into the drum solo from "The End", hammers into the opening riff from "Hard Day's Night" and then lurches straight into "Get Back" before you can splutter "Stars On 45".

From there it's a musical landslide of Beatleology ( "Eleanor Rigby", "A Day In The Life", "Here Comes The Sun" ), all overlaid with snippets from every nook and cranny of their back catalogue.

So we get "Drive My Car/The Word/What You're Doing" as one continuous ebb'n'flow of mid-period drugginess, "Come Together/Dear Prudence" as an acid-fried soundscape and - best of all - the cosmic drones of "Tomorrow Never Knows" and "Within You Without You" fitted together like a glove.

Wherever a song is allowed to stand alone ("Back In The USSR", "Revolution"), it arrives with double-tracked vocals, stripped back instrumentation or - why not? - the faint tinge of sitar.

If the scale is almost beyond comprehension, "Love" also represents a sonic Da Vinci Code for Beatles trainspotters, who could spend the rest of their lives arguing over whether the snare sound is derived from "No Reply" or "Paperback Writer".

Completists will enjoy a newly unearthed demo version of "Strawberry Fields Forever", but it is the Martins' obsessive quest for innovation which deserves the garlands.

Paul Moody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love
Love by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews