Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining and fun
I must be honest - I hate reading reviews - and hate writing them - but sometimes I just must make a comment. In giving it 4 stars - that is my review. And I certainly understand that everyone may have a different taste in movie watching just as in everything else - and each person is free to make known their opinion of a particular movie. Young Guns is no exception - And...
Published on June 10 2012 by David H. Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars just in english...ooouuups....
it is a good choice for cowboy movie,for sure.but.i didnt know this one was not a french version...little problem for my mother(she dont understand english).for me,all is okay.i recommand this one to my friends who understand the two language.(french and english)
Published 8 months ago by michelle laliberte


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining and fun, June 10 2012
By 
David H. Smith (Niagara Falls, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Young Guns (Special Edition) (DVD)
I must be honest - I hate reading reviews - and hate writing them - but sometimes I just must make a comment. In giving it 4 stars - that is my review. And I certainly understand that everyone may have a different taste in movie watching just as in everything else - and each person is free to make known their opinion of a particular movie. Young Guns is no exception - And we can all see this when the reviews range between 1 and 5. So who do we believe.
What really annoys me is the whining about historical accuracy. I have seen this before in other reviews. This is a MOVIE people. If you are so big on historical accuracy - stop watching movies and tune into the biography channel.
Movies are about entertainment - spending some time with our heads out of the rat race - no matter what genre you happen to be watching. Quite often when I watch a movie with a historical base- it peaks my interest to learn something about what really happened. ( Braveheart and William Wallace being a popular example. Sure it has historical inaccuracies - so what - that is hollywood -- but I was glued to
the screen during the battle scenes - and I did start looking into the real history as did many others.) Anyhow. To you who have never seen YOung Guns -- quit reading reviews and watch it for yourself and just enjoy it for what it is - a good shoot em up western movie with names you know. To you legalistic history majors - lighten up and enjoy The History Channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best westren, May 18 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
it is the best western I have seen in a long time my copy got damage so I had to get this other copy .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars just in english...ooouuups...., Nov. 11 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
it is a good choice for cowboy movie,for sure.but.i didnt know this one was not a french version...little problem for my mother(she dont understand english).for me,all is okay.i recommand this one to my friends who understand the two language.(french and english)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A classic western, June 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
was a good movie when it came out and is still a thrill to watch to day. two thumbs up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Young Guns & Young Guns 2, March 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I must say that I have enjoyed watching these movies and reliving the first time I saw them in the theater. I received both Young Guns and Young Guns2 in a timely manner and in excellent condition. I would recommend purchasing both or either of these DVD's. Yours truly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LIKE THESE ODDS UH HA HA! ,,, REGULATORS LETS DANCE., Nov. 21 2007
This review is from: Young Guns (Special Edition) (DVD)
Another 80's classic.
Although I like westerns there aren't too many that you can watch over and over again. Young guns 1 and 2 are exceptions. They are without doubt two of the best westerns ever made. They are traditional as they follow the 'rules of westerns' but they differ also, being more based on character than most other westerns. Emilio Estevez was great as Billy, playing him as the legend suggests, attractively wicked and high spirited. These two are my favourite movies of all time and can never be replaced.

I love westerns, there Philosophy, the way they spoke, the homes, saloons, and evrey town had a bar with poker and fights. The always famous corrupt sheriff and the outlaws. Also in the time period was very unlawness. This movie did a good job of keeping the genre accurate. The best is the ending when we all just cant hardly wait for that anticipation of revenge like Clint Eastwood made famous. This film isnt just an All Star Cast its an Outcast. If you saw Wall Street with Charlie Sheen and Martin Sheen,Father and Son, wait till you see Brother and Brother, Charlie Sheen and Emilio Estevez.

The year is 1870 and the place is Lincoln County in New Mexico territory. A young William H. Bonney is rescued from a possible hanging by John Tunstall, who befriends the youth and makes him part of the family of young guns known as Regulators. This puts Billy in the midst of a territorial dispute between Tunstall and the Santa Fe Ring, led by Lawrence G. Murphy, villainously portrayed by Jack Palance. Another western legend, Pat Garrett, is played by Patrick Wayne, the son, of course, of John Wayne.

After the killing of Tunstall by Murphy's henchmen, the Regulators and Billy hit on all cylinders in extracting revenge for the slaughter of their benefactor. The Regulators are branded as outlaws, and the "legal forces" of Murphy attempt to pare them down to nothing. This leads to a final shootout on the streets of Lincoln, and very few of the original Regulators escape, which leads to the sequel of "Young Guns," appropriately called "Young Guns II." The cast of young and upcoming Hollywood stars include Emilio Estevez as Billy, Kiefer Sutherland, Charlie Sheen, Lou Diamond Phillips, Casey Siemaszko, and Dermot Mulroney. What a CAST.

One final note: the DVD includes as part of its special features section a Trivia Track, which flashes western facts and information about the stars or the characters being portrayed on screen without detracting from the viewing of the film. This is worth seeing and owning.

The Five Day Battle, one of the most famous in the west, was done reasonable well. Col Dudley did get involved in the fray, and brought a six pounder howitzer and a Gatling Gun with him. His intent, while he denied it was to "even the odds", which meant to give the Murphy-Dolan gang a 2 to 1 advantage. However, the gun was NOT used to kill McSween, but to intimidate McSween's men housed in two other buildings in Lincoln.

You will start to to say you son of bitch at the end of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Brutal quality for a Blu Ray, Jan. 4 2012
This review is from: Young Guns [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The movie was great but dont expect to be awed by the quality of HD 1080p. The film was basicaly put on blue ray but its not blue ray quality. Its grainy AND if you pay attention closely the picture jumps up and down like a film in the movie theatre that has been used too much on the projector!!!
VHS tape has better quality, dont buy this. Morgan Creek and Maple pictures did a brutal job reproducing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mindless western fun - but a classic it ain't, May 8 2004
By 
Brash, loud, and totally rock and roll, "Young Guns" is less a classic western and more a typical late 80s, early 90s action flick. And that's just fine. It's a stupidly fun, turn-off-your-head flick if you're willing to approach it that way. Watch it as a serious western, though, and you're likely to be disappointed. This is an MTV western. No more, no less.
Emilio Estevez puts a lot of energy into Billy the Kid, keeping the movie brisk. The rest of the cast are all solid, playing their clichéd characters as well as can be expected.
Compared to today's rapid-fire action, "Young Guns'" blast em ups might seem lacking and tame, but it all works pretty well (for what it is). The style is all late-80s -- flashy, loud and rude. Big gun shots, rock and roll soundtrack, and car chases on horses. If that's your thing, "Young Guns" fits the bill. It's pure Bs to the wall action.
But take note: If what you want is a strong western that lives beyond the genre as a standout film, western or not, you'd be better off seeking "Once Upon A Time In The West" or "Unforgiven." This ain't it.
The DVD is of fine quality. The picture has never looked better, the audio is very impressive, and the packaging will look nice on your shelf. The extras are pretty good, too. A nice behind the scenes featurette, an excellent documentary on the real Billy The Kid, and a decent commentary make this a great bang-for-your-buck buy. You can't beat the price.
As a DVD set for Young Guns fans, this is a five-star set (*****). As a film, this is a three-star film (***). For Amazon.com, I'm splitting the difference with four stars (****)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Loveable Outlaws, March 3 2004
By 
Daniel Hancock (Jefferson City, MO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Artisan Entertainment's 1988 Young Guns is a witty story mostly based on part of the life of William H. Bonney (aka Billy The Kid). This film has the traditional Western theme of revenge. This is a common theme within the Western Genre; and why not, it tends to make for good entertainment. The difference with this film is it is (at least in part) based on a true story.
This is not to say that this movie should be taken as a true historical representation of how things happened. But, there is a fair amount of fact built into the story. What is really impressive is the way that the filmmaker gets everyone to like this gang of outlaws.
It's easy at first to feel good about the characters involved. Most are just misguided youths who have been taken in by a man who helps them better themselves. Our main character, Billy (played by Emelio Esteves), is the newest edition to the group that calls themselves 'The Regulators'. Soon after making himself a home with this band of men, William and the rest of the gang sees their mentor slaughtered by a business competitor. The local justice of the peace is then convinced to deputize these young boys so that they can serve warrants to the killers and help expose a long standing ring of corruption.
Up until now, there is everything to like about these characters. That ends quickly, though. The group of orphaned men are supposed to serve legal warrants to the murderers. This does not quite happen, though. The new deputy gang takes it upon themselves to avenge the death of their surrogate father. They go across the countryside killing all who were involved. The behavior under is considered to be reprehensible, even under the circumstances.
What keeps you from hating this gang that follows Billy The Kid are the wonderful personalities of the men. Billy is one in particular, that a person loves to hate, but cannot get enough of. He is harsh and offensive, cocky and annoying, yet for some reason he draws people to him. His cohorts (played by Charlie Sheen, Keifer Sutherland, and Lou Diamond Phillips) have equally intriguing personalities. Each one keeps the watcher drawn in close to see how everything will turn out, even though their behavior should make a person hate them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Myth over mind, Dec 26 2003
By 
Vagabond77 (Tennessee, USA) - See all my reviews
So "Young Guns" is not an accurate record of the Billy the Kid legend. It is a pretty good action western, though. Emilio Estevez is the leader of the outlaw pistoliers going for revenge against the men responsable for their father-figure boss's murder. The Billy of this movie is a rash young man with a quick temper and even quicker trigger finger. The other famous man of the legend (Pat Gerrett) shows up here for a second. But it revolves around the other Brat Pack kids of the day. Charlie Sheen, Kiefer Sutherland, and Lou Dimond Philips round out his first gang. Jack Palence plays the ring leader of the bad guys (well, maybe the wrost guys, Billy was pretty reckless and a little evil hinmself) and he plays it to the hilt. The acting is not great, be warned now. It is still entertaining, if your more interested in the myth of Billy the Kid, rather than the real person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Young Guns (Special Edition)
Young Guns (Special Edition) by Charlie Sheen (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: CDN$ 9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews