Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LIKE THESE ODDS UH HA HA! ,,, REGULATORS LETS DANCE.
Another 80's classic.
Although I like westerns there aren't too many that you can watch over and over again. Young guns 1 and 2 are exceptions. They are without doubt two of the best westerns ever made. They are traditional as they follow the 'rules of westerns' but they differ also, being more based on character than most other westerns. Emilio Estevez was great as...
Published on Nov. 21 2007 by Rassool Auckbaraullee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Loveable Outlaws
Artisan Entertainment's 1988 Young Guns is a witty story mostly based on part of the life of William H. Bonney (aka Billy The Kid). This film has the traditional Western theme of revenge. This is a common theme within the Western Genre; and why not, it tends to make for good entertainment. The difference with this film is it is (at least in part) based on a true...
Published on March 3 2004 by Daniel Hancock


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LIKE THESE ODDS UH HA HA! ,,, REGULATORS LETS DANCE., Nov. 21 2007
This review is from: Young Guns (Special Edition) (DVD)
Another 80's classic.
Although I like westerns there aren't too many that you can watch over and over again. Young guns 1 and 2 are exceptions. They are without doubt two of the best westerns ever made. They are traditional as they follow the 'rules of westerns' but they differ also, being more based on character than most other westerns. Emilio Estevez was great as Billy, playing him as the legend suggests, attractively wicked and high spirited. These two are my favourite movies of all time and can never be replaced.

I love westerns, there Philosophy, the way they spoke, the homes, saloons, and evrey town had a bar with poker and fights. The always famous corrupt sheriff and the outlaws. Also in the time period was very unlawness. This movie did a good job of keeping the genre accurate. The best is the ending when we all just cant hardly wait for that anticipation of revenge like Clint Eastwood made famous. This film isnt just an All Star Cast its an Outcast. If you saw Wall Street with Charlie Sheen and Martin Sheen,Father and Son, wait till you see Brother and Brother, Charlie Sheen and Emilio Estevez.

The year is 1870 and the place is Lincoln County in New Mexico territory. A young William H. Bonney is rescued from a possible hanging by John Tunstall, who befriends the youth and makes him part of the family of young guns known as Regulators. This puts Billy in the midst of a territorial dispute between Tunstall and the Santa Fe Ring, led by Lawrence G. Murphy, villainously portrayed by Jack Palance. Another western legend, Pat Garrett, is played by Patrick Wayne, the son, of course, of John Wayne.

After the killing of Tunstall by Murphy's henchmen, the Regulators and Billy hit on all cylinders in extracting revenge for the slaughter of their benefactor. The Regulators are branded as outlaws, and the "legal forces" of Murphy attempt to pare them down to nothing. This leads to a final shootout on the streets of Lincoln, and very few of the original Regulators escape, which leads to the sequel of "Young Guns," appropriately called "Young Guns II." The cast of young and upcoming Hollywood stars include Emilio Estevez as Billy, Kiefer Sutherland, Charlie Sheen, Lou Diamond Phillips, Casey Siemaszko, and Dermot Mulroney. What a CAST.

One final note: the DVD includes as part of its special features section a Trivia Track, which flashes western facts and information about the stars or the characters being portrayed on screen without detracting from the viewing of the film. This is worth seeing and owning.

The Five Day Battle, one of the most famous in the west, was done reasonable well. Col Dudley did get involved in the fray, and brought a six pounder howitzer and a Gatling Gun with him. His intent, while he denied it was to "even the odds", which meant to give the Murphy-Dolan gang a 2 to 1 advantage. However, the gun was NOT used to kill McSween, but to intimidate McSween's men housed in two other buildings in Lincoln.

You will start to to say you son of bitch at the end of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars entertaining and fun, June 10 2012
By 
David H. Smith (Niagara Falls, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Young Guns (Special Edition) (DVD)
I must be honest - I hate reading reviews - and hate writing them - but sometimes I just must make a comment. In giving it 4 stars - that is my review. And I certainly understand that everyone may have a different taste in movie watching just as in everything else - and each person is free to make known their opinion of a particular movie. Young Guns is no exception - And we can all see this when the reviews range between 1 and 5. So who do we believe.
What really annoys me is the whining about historical accuracy. I have seen this before in other reviews. This is a MOVIE people. If you are so big on historical accuracy - stop watching movies and tune into the biography channel.
Movies are about entertainment - spending some time with our heads out of the rat race - no matter what genre you happen to be watching. Quite often when I watch a movie with a historical base- it peaks my interest to learn something about what really happened. ( Braveheart and William Wallace being a popular example. Sure it has historical inaccuracies - so what - that is hollywood -- but I was glued to
the screen during the battle scenes - and I did start looking into the real history as did many others.) Anyhow. To you who have never seen YOung Guns -- quit reading reviews and watch it for yourself and just enjoy it for what it is - a good shoot em up western movie with names you know. To you legalistic history majors - lighten up and enjoy The History Channel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mindless western fun - but a classic it ain't, May 8 2004
By 
Brash, loud, and totally rock and roll, "Young Guns" is less a classic western and more a typical late 80s, early 90s action flick. And that's just fine. It's a stupidly fun, turn-off-your-head flick if you're willing to approach it that way. Watch it as a serious western, though, and you're likely to be disappointed. This is an MTV western. No more, no less.
Emilio Estevez puts a lot of energy into Billy the Kid, keeping the movie brisk. The rest of the cast are all solid, playing their clichéd characters as well as can be expected.
Compared to today's rapid-fire action, "Young Guns'" blast em ups might seem lacking and tame, but it all works pretty well (for what it is). The style is all late-80s -- flashy, loud and rude. Big gun shots, rock and roll soundtrack, and car chases on horses. If that's your thing, "Young Guns" fits the bill. It's pure Bs to the wall action.
But take note: If what you want is a strong western that lives beyond the genre as a standout film, western or not, you'd be better off seeking "Once Upon A Time In The West" or "Unforgiven." This ain't it.
The DVD is of fine quality. The picture has never looked better, the audio is very impressive, and the packaging will look nice on your shelf. The extras are pretty good, too. A nice behind the scenes featurette, an excellent documentary on the real Billy The Kid, and a decent commentary make this a great bang-for-your-buck buy. You can't beat the price.
As a DVD set for Young Guns fans, this is a five-star set (*****). As a film, this is a three-star film (***). For Amazon.com, I'm splitting the difference with four stars (****)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Loveable Outlaws, March 3 2004
By 
Daniel Hancock (Jefferson City, MO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Artisan Entertainment's 1988 Young Guns is a witty story mostly based on part of the life of William H. Bonney (aka Billy The Kid). This film has the traditional Western theme of revenge. This is a common theme within the Western Genre; and why not, it tends to make for good entertainment. The difference with this film is it is (at least in part) based on a true story.
This is not to say that this movie should be taken as a true historical representation of how things happened. But, there is a fair amount of fact built into the story. What is really impressive is the way that the filmmaker gets everyone to like this gang of outlaws.
It's easy at first to feel good about the characters involved. Most are just misguided youths who have been taken in by a man who helps them better themselves. Our main character, Billy (played by Emelio Esteves), is the newest edition to the group that calls themselves 'The Regulators'. Soon after making himself a home with this band of men, William and the rest of the gang sees their mentor slaughtered by a business competitor. The local justice of the peace is then convinced to deputize these young boys so that they can serve warrants to the killers and help expose a long standing ring of corruption.
Up until now, there is everything to like about these characters. That ends quickly, though. The group of orphaned men are supposed to serve legal warrants to the murderers. This does not quite happen, though. The new deputy gang takes it upon themselves to avenge the death of their surrogate father. They go across the countryside killing all who were involved. The behavior under is considered to be reprehensible, even under the circumstances.
What keeps you from hating this gang that follows Billy The Kid are the wonderful personalities of the men. Billy is one in particular, that a person loves to hate, but cannot get enough of. He is harsh and offensive, cocky and annoying, yet for some reason he draws people to him. His cohorts (played by Charlie Sheen, Keifer Sutherland, and Lou Diamond Phillips) have equally intriguing personalities. Each one keeps the watcher drawn in close to see how everything will turn out, even though their behavior should make a person hate them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone will hack on you if you do not buy this DVD, June 3 2003
By 
James N Simpson (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
Young Guns is definitely one of the best Westerns ever made. It is the story of how Billy the Kid and his legend was created. John Tunstall an English merchant takes in runaways and those on a downward spiral in life and in return for protecting his ranch from poachers gives them (his regulators) an education and board. After he is murdered by L.G. Murphy's men, Tunstall's regulators are deputised and set out to bring in those responsible. The Lincoln War is on and William H. Bony and the other regulators have prices on their heads.
The Young Guns DVD also contains a featurette, which was made in 1988. It's kind of a behind the scenes, interview with the actors type thing. It's quite interesting and a flash back to 1988 with mentions of Tom's Cruise latest movie being Cocktail re-enforcing this was made in 1988. Seeing Charlie Sheen, Emilio Estevez, Keifer Sutherland and Lou Diamond Phillips over fifteen years younger than today and hearing them talk about their careers to that point is also rather interesting.
I don't really like Westerns but I loved Young Guns. Check out the sequel Young Guns II as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bad history, good movie, April 29 2003
By 
E. Callaway (Grand Rapids, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Emilio Estevez, Charlie Sheen, and Kiefer Sutherland are just a few of the all-star cast who fill out this film about outlaws set in the old west: The story of Billy the Kid & Co. Aside from the fact that its historical accuracy is more than highly questionable, the movie was more than entertaining.
Emilio Estevez plays William H. Bonney, a.k.a. Billy the Kid who was a runaway and an alleged murderer, who was taken in by Mr. John Tunstall, an English cattleman. Tunstall was murdered by a rival cattleman, a Mr. Murphy, played by Jack Palance. The movie goes on from there with a killing spree of those who were responsible for the death of Tunstall. The acting was great. "Dick," played by Charlie Sheen, was very good and one of Sheen's better roles. Lou Diamond Phillips was absolutely amazing as the Mexican Indian: Jose Chavez y Chavez. Charlie, played by Casey Siemasko, was a great and devoted friend, to Billy, and to the rest of the "Regulators."
It is said that Billy the Kid was no where near as arrogant, nor as trigger happy as the film portrays, but Estevez was rather impressive in his skills both as an actor and a gunslinger. Sutherland's "Josiah 'Doc' Scurlock" was an admirable man; full of character and class given the circumstances. Terrance Camp's role as "John Tunstall" was short-lived but excellent.
This movie is highly entertaining. I recommend it to anyone who likes a good Robin Hood story (who isn't terribly concerned of historical accuracy). It is fun to watch, and the cast is second to none.
epc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fun movie, April 12 2003
By A Customer
This is a pretty good film from the 80's, which is widely hailed as a "bratpack" western. But if you look below the surface, and at what is really going on in this movie it provides some interesting counterpoints to the mainstream interpretation of the film.
The story itself is partly a traditional coming of age story, but the lessons taught are strictly late 20th century (despite the setting). There are huge themes of searching for a purpose and a place, the almost unbearable uncertainty of life in a world that seems so intent on running life its own way and then our "Regulators" who are not really "regulating" anything except the chaos and carnage they're causing.
The metaphor of a "whirlwind" is used repeatedly throughout the film, and it hints at the unstoppoable sense of alienation those born between 76 and 80 feel towards the rest of the world. There is a great loss of identity here that hints at the same nerve Nirvana's Cobain would later tap into musically.
Traditional notions of family, morality and sanity are thrown aside and instead the characters develop from their own initial world views into something of their own... "pals". Whatever that means.
My own personal overanalysis aside, watch this flick for fast paced gun fights, some great one liners ("he was hackin' on me" and "no, no, no... it's 'you and I'" come to mind). Not to mention Jack Palance as an over the top stereotypical Irish gangster villain. And a great peyote scene that shows some people (Dirty Steve and Billy Come to mind) should NOT use drugs. For Chavez and Doc, it's an illuminating experience that shows not all drug use is "bad".
All in all this film is one of my favorite flicks to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mamas Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up to Be Cowboys., April 7 2003
By 
tvtv3 "tvtv3" (Sorento, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Young Guns (VHS Tape)
YOUNG GUNS isn't a typical "classical" Western that were massed produced in the 1950s and 1960s. Nor is it like the darkly tragic Westerns of the 1970s. In fact, about the only thing that YOUNG GUNS shares with Westerns of the past is that just about all of them like to mess around with and screw up historical accuracy. The movie also has a terrible soundtrack (usual for movies in the 80s) which distracts from one's interest in the film.
However, despite it's flaws, YOUNG GUNS remains one of the best Westerns from the "modern" era (after Star Wars) and is still entertaining to this day. The movie does portray events in Billy the Kid's life that have been overlooked in many movies about his life, e.g. the murder of Tunstall and the Linoln County Wars. It also stars a cast of actors that at the time of filming were considered by many women to be "hotties". Despite their sex appeal, these actors were able to bring to life some difficult characters in a totally believable and memorable fashion.
The film moves at a believable pace and is full of action and gunfights. Athough the film is full of cheesy dialogue, the movie does have some great one-liners and memorable scenes (e.g. killing the man in the outhouse and the draw with the man in the bar). I hadn't seen the film in over ten years and after watching it recently, I was impressed by how entertaining and interesting the movie is. Of course, it may also remind mothers of all the reasons why they shouldn't let their babies to grow up to be cowboys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "I Ain't Left Handed!", April 17 2002
By 
Matthew S. Schweitzer "zohoe" (Columbus, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Young Guns could be seen as the one that started it all. This great western adventure has inspired over a decade of imitators on the big and small screen, but none of them nearly as successful or as fun as this one.
Young Guns, of course, tells the story of William H. Bonney, the young New Mexico outlaw better known to history as Billy the Kid. Billy is taken in by the kind-hearted English merchant John Tunstall, who is invloved in a trade dispute with local Irish mob boss John Murphey, a powerful member of a circle of corrupt New Mexico politicians known as the Santa Fe Ring. After Murphey's Boys assasinate Tunstall, The Kid and his Regulators are deputized to bring in the perpatrators. But instead of issuing the warrants as ordered, Billy goes on the war path, knocking off Tunstall's killers, becoming outlaws in the process, and escalating the war, intending to ultimately bring down Murphey and the Ring. What ensues is action adventure history as Billy and his Regulators ride across the New Mexico desert with guns blazing.
Despite it's Hollywood overtones, this a great western adventure that unlike many earlier Billy the Kid films, shows time went into researching the actual history of the events that shaped Billy's short but famous life. Emilio Estevez, as Billy, plays a darkly likable outlaw leader alongside his brother Charlie Sheen as Dick Brewer, the foreman of the Regulators. A fantastic supporting cast including Keiffer Sutherland, Lou Diamond Phillips, Jack Palance, Terrence Stamp, and many others bring this classic 80s western to life . Young Guns inspired in me an intense interest in the history of the West as well as a love of great western movies like this one. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST SEE, Jan. 24 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Young Guns (VHS Tape)
I can't believe how anyone can talk bad about this movie.
This movie is why I lived in New Mexico for 5 weeks recently.
To travel and see the OLD WEST.
After having read about it I know that some of the facts are bent. Well, IT'S A MOVIE.
Its called Entertainment.
All of the actors had their special moments, the dialog was well writen and sometimes humorous.
The tension between the brothers(emilio and charlie s.) in real life's characters, Billy and Dick Brewer were very convincing. I believe Dick called Billy a little rodent and certainly meant it.
Dirty Steve was just soooooo dirty, it was gross, but right on.
When Chavez admitted to putting a knife to Dirty Steves throat everynight, ... They don't show that part on TV!
YOu can tell the bond between these boys and feel for how they got themselves into this situation.
But like I said- It's just a movie, it's HOLLYWOOD.
And darned it, it's entertaining!
A note about costumes,With one scene being rather cold outside, I wonder how they managed to stay WARM in those rags???
It isn't always balmy in New Mexico in the winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Young Guns (Special Edition)
Young Guns (Special Edition) by Charlie Sheen (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: CDN$ 9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews